Why it will not be easy for Americans to give up Russian uranium


The USA declares "atomic war" to Russia. A bill has been submitted to the US Congress, according to which the volume of purchases of uranium from our country should be reduced by almost half. Washington believes that Rosatom is undermining the national security of the "hegemon" with its cheap raw materials. Is it really?


Objectively, the United States and Russia are two great nuclear powers that have mastered both military and peaceful nuclear energy. After the end of the Cold War, the Megatons to Megawatts program or the HEU-LEU agreement was considered one of the symbols of the USSR's defeat. According to this international document from 1993, the Russian Federation has pledged to process at least 500 tons of highly enriched weapons-grade uranium into low-enriched uranium and supply it to American nuclear power plants. Over the twenty years of the program, 14 reprocessed nuclear fuel has been removed from our country. Despite the humiliation of this agreement for Russia and the obvious benefit for the United States, it ultimately played a cruel joke with the "hegemon" himself.

Over the years since the collapse of the Soviet Union, the United States has almost completely lost technology nuclear fuel production. Own raw materials, mainly mined in Wyoming, account for about 10% of total consumption. The rest of the uranium comes from Russia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Canada. One of the initiators of the bill is Senator John Barrasso, representing Wyoming. According to his idea, over the next twenty years, the volume of supplies of Russian uranium should be reduced from 595,7 tons to 267,7 tons. Yes, despite the expiration of the HEU-LEU agreement, Rosatom continues to sell low-enriched uranium to the Americans. Hundreds of power units in an industrialized country are a tasty market for any serious company. However, it will not be so easy for the United States to get off this “atomic needle”.

At firstRussia will continue to control a significant portion of the uranium deposits. In particular, the state corporation "Rosatom" through its subsidiary owns 100% of the shares of Uranium One. The Russian company has 50% and 49% stakes in Kazakhstani uranium mining projects in Zarechny and Akbastau. Uranium One also owns mining operations in Australia, South Africa, Canada and the United States itself. Two years ago, its total mineral resource base was estimated at 216 thousand tons.

SecondlyAs strange as it may sound, the United States is seriously lagging behind Russia on the issue of nuclear technology. It is not enough just to get raw materials, it also needs to be processed. This requires gas centrifuges. Fortunately, we were able to preserve this part of the Soviet legacy, and now the country owns 30-40% of the world market for uranium enrichment services. Accustomed to receiving ready-made Russian fuel for nuclear power plants over the past decades, the United States has not kept its centrifuges as unnecessary. Those that are on their territory belong to European corporations.

In addition, domestic technologies have important competitive advantages. Uranium mining, for example, in Canada is quite difficult and expensive due to the great depth of the ore. It is almost impossible to increase production quickly. The specialists of Rosatom have developed a very effective technology for leaching uranium ores: acid is introduced into the underground layer, and then this solution is pumped out by special pumps. That is, instead of large fluorescent pits in the steppes of Kazakhstan, there are several compact wells. As a result, Uranium One fuels are in high commercial demand.

Americans face a difficult choice. They can fundamentally abandon Russian raw materials and begin the process of import substitution. But this will take many years and will immediately lead to an increase in electricity tariffs, which will include all these costs. They can force Rosatom to change its supply chain so that the fuel looks like another company's paper. Or they will begin to exert comprehensive pressure on the Kremlin so that Uranium One has new co-owners and Western top managers on the board of directors, as has already happened with Rusal.
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 2 October 2020 13: 54
    +2
    There is nothing strange here. This is all in the canvas of the reanimation of the Iron Curtain, or rather, shifted by the bitten off republics of the USSR, drawn into their own sphere of "interests." They will have to completely abandon purchases in the Russian Federation, this is inevitable, the whole problem is in terms. It is also necessary to organize the "privatization" of the shares of the same Uranium Ore in their favor (it is not excluded that sanctions and raider arrests). Kill Kazakhstan and Belarus in order to drag their corpses behind their curtain again (which never once contradicts the strategy of gradual strangulation and deprivation of resources). To give your limotrophs and "allies" the opportunity to "earn" on the enrichment of uranium (read - to have the funds to purchase the products of the American military-industrial complex). This is again in the concept of "make America strong" and return to production. Kicks to drive other consumers of a peaceful and not very atom to these strikebreakers .... like I haven't forgotten anything. Oh yes. The main thing is to take advantage of the mistakes of the Russian leadership, provoke them to these mistakes, constantly feed discontent and praise their "shining example of democracy and freedom." Then you can think about defragmenting the territories of the Russian Federation into smaller Washington formations.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 2 October 2020 14: 25
    +1
    Bullshit question.
    Earlier, it was written that the Americans missed a chip with uranium, and have already decided to revive the industry.
    So they will both revive and apply all the listed methods. And why hurry up when they sell everything so cheaply?
    Look how rocket engines were sold below cost to amers, they were also in no hurry. they were shaking with papers, but they understood perfectly well that money did not smell ...
    1. AdmiralHood Offline AdmiralHood
      AdmiralHood (Vladimir) 11 October 2020 13: 58
      0
      They could not master the centrifugal technology, although they tried three times. Diffusion can and will be recreated in 10 years with a cost that is an order of magnitude higher than that of our centrifuges.
  3. Kuramori Reika Offline Kuramori Reika
    Kuramori Reika (Kuramori Reika) 2 October 2020 14: 28
    +2
    We need to help them and reset the supply now in order to further promote this banana republic.
  4. AdmiralHood Offline AdmiralHood
    AdmiralHood (Vladimir) 11 October 2020 13: 53
    0
    The ban is very easy to get around. Unenriched uranium is bought in Canada or Kazakhstan and sent to Russia for enrichment.
  5. 933454818 Offline 933454818
    933454818 (Ivan Ivanov) 31 October 2020 21: 04
    -1
    That is, instead of large fluorescent pits in the steppes of Kazakhstan, there are several compact wells.

    Those. instead of one "fonite quarry" acid enriched with uranium spreads over underground voids and underground waters, the devil knows where and "fonit" the whole district. Large territories have already been dirtied in Uzbekistan, thank God in Russia this does not seem to apply.

Почему отказаться от российского урана американцам будет непросто


США объявляют России «атомную войну». В американский Конгресс внесен законопроект, согласно которому почти в два раза должны быть сокращены объемы закупок урана из нашей страны. В Вашингтоне считают, что «Росатом» подрывает национальную безопасность «гегемона» своим дешевым сырьем. Так ли это на самом деле?


Объективно Соединенные Штаты и Россия – это две великие ядерные державы, овладевшие как военным, так и мирным атомом. После окончания «Холодной войны» одним из символов поражения СССР считалась программа «Мегатонны в мегаватты» или соглашение ВОУ-НОУ. Согласно этому международному документу от 1993 года, Российская Федерация обязалась переработать не менее 500 тонн высокообогащенного оружейного урана в низкообогащенный и поставить его на американские атомные электростанции. За двадцать лет действия программы из нашей страны было вывезено 14 446 переработанного ядерного топлива. При всей унизительности этого соглашения для России и очевидной выгодности для США оно в конечном итоге сыграло с самим «гегемоном» злую шутку.

За прошедшие с распада Советского Союза годы США почти полностью утратили технологию производства ядерного топлива. Собственное сырье, добываемое в основном в штате Вайоминг, дает порядка 10% от общего потребления. Остальной уран идет из России, Казахстана, Австралии и Канады. Одним из инициаторов законопроекта является сенатор Джон Баррассо, представляющий Вайоминг. По его идее, за ближайшие двадцать лет объем поставок российского урана должен сократиться с 595,7 тонны до 267,7 тонны. Да, несмотря на окончание действия соглашения ВОУ-НОУ, «Росатом» по-прежнему продает низкообогащенный уран американцам. Сотня энергоблоков в промышленно-развитой державе – это лакомый рынок для любой серьезной компании. Однако соскочить с этой «атомной иглы» Соединенным Штатам будет не так просто.

Во-первых, Россия по-прежнему будет контролировать значительную часть месторождений урана. В частности, госкорпорация «Росатом» через свою дочернюю структуру владеет 100% акций компании Uranium One. Российская компания имеет доли в размере 50% и 49% в казахстанских проектах по добыче урана в Заречном и Акбастау. Uranium One также владеет добывающими предприятиями в Австралии, ЮАР, Канаде и самих США. Два года назад ее совокупная минерально-сырьевая база оценивалась в 216 тысяч тонн.

Во-вторых, как бы странно это ни прозвучало, США серьезно отстают от России в вопросе атомных технологий. Сырье мало просто добыть, его надо еще и переработать. Для этого требуются газовые центрифуги. По счастью, эту часть советского наследия у нас смогли сохранить, и теперь страна владеет 30-40% мирового рынка услуг по обогащению урана. Привыкшие получать за минувшие десятилетия готовое российское топливо для АЭС, Соединенные Штаты своих центрифуг не сохранили за ненадобностью. Те, что имеются на их территории, принадлежат европейским корпорациям.

Ко всему прочему, отечественные технологии имеют важные конкурентные преимущества. Добыча урана, например, в Канаде достаточно сложна и дорогостояща из-за большой глубины залегания руды. Быстро нарастить добычу практически невозможно. Специалисты «Росатома» разработали очень эффективную технологию выщелачивания урановых руд: в подземный пласт вводится кислота, а после этот раствор выкачивается специальными насосами. То есть, вместо больших фонящих карьеров в степях Казахстана стоит несколько компактных скважин. Благодаря этому, топливо от Uranium One пользуется большим коммерческим спросом.

Перед американцами стоит непростой выбор. Они могут принципиально отказаться от российского сырья и начать процесс импортозамещения. Но это займет многие годы и незамедлительно приведет к росту тарифов на электроэнергию, куда будут заложены все указанные расходы. Они могут вынудить «Росатом» изменить схемы поставок, чтобы топливо выглядело по бумагам, произведенным иной компанией. Либо начнут оказывать комплексное давление на Кремль с тем, чтобы у компании Uranium One появились новые совладельцы и западные топ-менеджеры в совете директоров, как это уже произошло с «Русалом».
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. g1washntwn Офлайн g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 2 октября 2020 13:54
    +2
    Тут ничего странного. Это все в канве реанимации железного занавеса, точнее - сдвинутого за счет откушенных республик СССР, втянутых в собственную сферу "интересов". Им придется полностью отказаться от закупок в РФ, это неминуемо, вся проблема в сроках. Нужно еще организовать "приватизацию" долей той же Ураниум Оре в свою пользу (не исключено что санкциями и рейдерскими арестами). Убить Казахстан с Белоруссией чтоб их трупы втащить опять же за свою занавеску (что ни разу не противоречит стратегии постепенного удушения и лишения ресурсов). Дать своим лимотрофам и "союзникам" возможность "зарабатывать" на обогощении урана (читай - иметь средства для закупки продукции американского ВПК). Это снова в концепции "сделаем Америку сильной" и вернем к себе производства. Пинками загнать прочих потребителей мирного и не очень атома к этим штрейхбрехерам.... вроде ничего не забыл. Ах, да. Главное - воспользоваться ошибками руководства РФ, провоцировать их на эти ошибки, постоянно прикармливать недовольство и восхвалять свой "сияющий образчик демократии и свободы". Потом можно и подумать про дефрагментацию территорий РФ на более мелкие вашингтоно-образования.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 2 октября 2020 14:25
    +1
    Фигня вопрос.
    Раньше уже писали, что американцы просекли фишку с ураном, и уже решили возродить отрасль.
    Так что и возродят, и применят все перечисленные методы. А что торопиться, когда и так задешево все продают?
    Вон, как ракетые двигатели ниже себестоимости продавали амерам, они тоже не торопились. бумагами трясли, но отлично понимали - деньги не пахнут...
    1. AdmiralHood Офлайн AdmiralHood
      AdmiralHood (Владимир) 11 октября 2020 13:58
      0
      Центрифужную технологию не смогли освоить, хотя пытались трижды. Диффузионную может и воссоздадут лет через 10 с себестоимостью на порядок выше, чем у наших центрифуг.
  3. Kuramori Reika Офлайн Kuramori Reika
    Kuramori Reika (Kuramori Reika) 2 октября 2020 14:28
    +2
    Надо им помочь и обнулить поставки уже сейчас, чтобы сильнее промотивировать эту банановую республику.
  4. AdmiralHood Офлайн AdmiralHood
    AdmiralHood (Владимир) 11 октября 2020 13:53
    0
    Запрет обходится очень просто. Необогащённый уран покупается в Канаде или в Казахстане и отдаётся на обогащение в Россию.