"We used it before": in the USA they paid special attention to the Volga-Don Canal


The fact that the United States should turn its attention to the Sea of ​​Azov and the Volga-Don shipping canal, writes political scientist and retired US Army captain Luke Coffey. His article was published on the website of the Washington Institute of the Middle East (Middle East Institute).


The author emphasizes that after its annexation to Russia, the Crimean peninsula serves as a springboard for projecting military power in the widest range - from Georgia and Ukraine to Syria and Libya.

Also, the expert reminds overseas readers that there is also the Sea of ​​Azov, which attracts attention at once for several geopolitical reasons. First, it is vital for the economic and military well-being of Ukraine, part of the coast of which, including the port of Mariupol, is now locked up by Russia.

The Sea of ​​Azov is also of paramount importance for Russian access to Crimea and related logistics. It is with the help of cargo ships and a new bridge across the Kerch Strait that the peninsula is supplied with everything necessary under the conditions of the Ukrainian blockade.

The author also pointed out the strategic importance of the Volga-Don Canal, which connects the Caspian Sea with the Azov Sea. Russia used this shipping route to move warships between the Caspian and Azov Seas. The ability to move squadrons from the Caspian to the Black Sea (and vice versa) allows the Kremlin to project power in a given region of the world, giving the Russian authorities flexibility and freedom of maneuver in the event of crises.

Interestingly, the United States used to use the Volga-Don Canal. In the period from 2000 to 2003, the US Coast Guard transferred three boats to Azerbaijan. These ships proceeded from the US West Coast to Azerbaijan through the Black and Azov Seas to the Caspian through the Volga-Don Canal. It is obvious that such a feat would be impossible in the current geopolitical situation.

- notes the author.

It should be noted that this is not the first example of the suddenly awakened interest of overseas analysts in the distant Volga-Don channel. On August 6, 2020, a review article by Paul Goble was published on the Jamestown Foundation website, which collected critical assessments of the activities of the Russian authorities on this waterway. In particular, it was pointed out that the channel was very outdated, and "Moscow's inability to provide foreign funding for any project drives it into a dead end."

It is worth noting the fact that the Caspian Sea is the only large body of water of this magnitude and importance, which is not controlled by the US Navy in any way - for obvious geographical reasons.
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 3 October 2020 10: 50
    +9
    Yes, the amers have sadness. The Caspian Sea is an important region, but there is no way to bring ships there past Russia. And not only from Azov, but also from the White and Baltic Seas. And from the White and Baltic Seas - to Azov. After all, "Moskava is the port of five seas" (C). And ships built on the Volga and Kama rivers go through the Volga-Don. Yes, Comrade Stalin was concerned. Thanks to him.
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. orange Offline orange
      orange (ororpore) 3 October 2020 21: 11
      -3
      The eye sees, but the tooth does not. But alas, in connection with the shallowing of the Volga, the production of ships, including military and coastal sailing of dry cargo ships and river-sea tankers from the North to the South of Russia and vice versa, may stop and then non-Americans will complain, “We used to use it” , and Russia.

      1. Ibuprofen Offline Ibuprofen
        Ibuprofen (Novel) 3 October 2020 23: 48
        +4
        Where did you hear such nonsense about the "shallowing of the Volga"? The above photo does not count, this is a one-time extraordinary case.
  2. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 3 October 2020 14: 31
    +2
    We are waiting for the resolution of the Congress to transfer the Volga-Don Canal to American ownership.
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. volk.bosiy Offline volk.bosiy
    volk.bosiy (Volk Bosiy) 3 October 2020 22: 49
    +4
    here is a disgusting people ... already put their eyes on the channel ...
  5. DeGreen Offline DeGreen
    DeGreen 4 October 2020 20: 24
    +1
    Poor poor Americans. Close elbow, not bite
  6. Pishenkov Offline Pishenkov
    Pishenkov (Alexey) 5 October 2020 16: 20
    +1
    ... it is necessary that S.K. Against this background, Shoigu was sharply concerned about the state of the St. Lawrence River ... Suddenly, we will need it, if that ... wink It is necessary to write an article on this topic, see which ships of the Russian Navy are suitable for passage, etc. laughing Or maybe everything is running there too without Russian investments? ... Let the Americans get nervous laughing
    For those with poor geography, this river connects the Atlantic Ocean with the Great Lakes between the United States and Canada. Well, a similar situation with Volgo-Don ...
  7. assault 2019 Offline assault 2019
    assault 2019 (assault 2019) 6 October 2020 01: 31
    0
    And why shouldn't Russia ask a question about the deployment of the Buyan-M MRK brigade in the Great Lakes of the USA and Canada ...

«Раньше мы им пользовались»: в США обратили особое внимание на Волго-Донской канал


О том, что Соединенные Штаты должны обратить свое внимание на Азовское море и Волго-Донской судоходный канал, пишет политолог и капитан армии США в отставке Люк Коффи (Luke Coffey). Его статья опубликована на сайте вашингтонского Института Ближнего Востока (Middle East Institute).


Автор подчеркивает, что Крымский полуостров после его присоединения к России служит ей плацдармом для проецирования военной мощи в самом широком диапазоне – от Грузии и Украины до Сирии и Ливии.

Также, эксперт напоминает заокеанским читателям о том, что есть ещё и Азовское море, которое привлекает внимание сразу по нескольким геополитическим причинам. Во-первых, оно жизненно важно для экономического и военного благополучия Украины, часть побережья которой, включая порт Мариуполь, теперь заперто Россией.

Азовское море играет первостепенную роль и для российского доступа к Крыму и соответствующей логистики. Именно при помощи грузовых судов и нового моста через Керченский пролив полуостров снабжается всем необходимым в условиях украинской блокады.

Также автор указал на стратегическое значение Волго-Донского канала, который связывает Каспийское море с Азовским. Россия использовала этот судоходный путь для перемещения военных кораблей между Каспийским и Азовским морями. Возможность перебрасывать эскадры из Каспия в Черное море (и наоборот) позволяет Кремлю проецировать силу в данном регионе мира, давая российским властям гибкость и свободу маневра в случае возникновения кризисов.

Интересно, что Соединённые Штаты раньше использовали Волго-Донской канал. В период с 2000 по 2003 год Береговая охрана США передала Азербайджану три катера. Эти корабли проследовали с Западного побережья США в Азербайджан через Черное и Азовское моря в Каспийское посредством Волго-Донского канала. Очевидно, что подобный подвиг был бы невозможен в современной геополитической ситуации

– отмечает автор.

Стоит отметить, что это не первый пример внезапно пробудившегося интереса заокеанских аналитиков к далёкому Волго-Донскому каналу. 6 августа 2020 года на сайте Джеймстаун-фонда была опубликована обзорная статья Пола Гобла (Paul Goble), в которой были собраны критические оценки деятельности властей РФ на этой водной магистрали. В частности, указывалось, что канал сильно устарел, а «неспособность Москвы обеспечить иностранное финансирование для любого проекта загоняет ее в тупик».

Стоит отметить и тот факт, что Каспийское море является единственным крупным водоёмом такого масштаба и значения, который никак не контролируется ВМС США – в силу очевидных географических причин.
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 3 октября 2020 10:50
    +9
    Да, печалька у амеров. Прикаспий - важный регион, а ввести туда корабли мимо России - никак. И не только с Азова, но и с Белого и Балтийского морей. И с Белого и Балтийского морей - в Азов. Ведь "Москава - порт пяти морей" (С). А ещё через Волго-Дон идут корабли, построенные на Волге и Каме. Да, озаботился товарищ Сталин. Спасибо ему.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. померанец Офлайн померанец
      померанец (орорпора) 3 октября 2020 21:11
      -3
      Видит око, да зуб неймёт. Но увы,, в связи с обмелением Волги производство судов, в том числе военных и каботажное плавание сухогрузов и танкеров "река-море" с Севера на Юг России и обратно, может прекратиться и тогда уже не американцы будут сетовать "Раньше мы им пользовались", а Россия.

      1. ИбуПроФен Офлайн ИбуПроФен
        ИбуПроФен (Роман) 3 октября 2020 23:48
        +4
        Где вы такую чушь услышали по "обмеление Волги"? Приведённое фото не в счёт, это разовый экстраординарный случай.
  2. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 3 октября 2020 14:31
    +2
    Ждём постановления Конгресса о переводе Волго-Донского канала в американскую собственность.
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. volk.bosiy Офлайн volk.bosiy
    volk.bosiy (Volk Bosiy) 3 октября 2020 22:49
    +4
    вот же мерзопакостный народ...уже на канал глаз положили...
  5. DeGreen Офлайн DeGreen
    DeGreen 4 октября 2020 20:24
    +1
    Бедные бедные америкосы. Близок локоть, а не укусить
  6. Пишенков Офлайн Пишенков
    Пишенков (Алексей) 5 октября 2020 16:20
    +1
    ...надо чтобы С.К. Шойгу на этом фоне резко озаботился состоянием реки Святого Лаврентия ... Вдруг и нам понадобится, если что... wink Надо статью на эту тему написать, посмотреть какие корабли ВМФ РФ подходят для прохода итп laughing Или может там тоже всё запущено без российских инвестиций?... Пусть америкоты понервничают laughing
    Для тех, у кого плохо с географией - эта река соединяет атлантический океан с Великими озёрами между США и Канадой. Ну, похожая ситуация с Волго-Доном...
  7. штурм-2019 Офлайн штурм-2019
    штурм-2019 (штурм-2019) 6 октября 2020 01:31
    0
    А почему бы России в ответочку не задаться вопросом по размещению бригады МРК Буян-М на Великих озёрах США и Канады....