In the US, they talked about the successes and failures of Russia in 2020


2020 was to be a personal triumph for Russian leader Vladimir Putin and a time for Russia to return to its greatness. At the beginning it seemed that the head of state had calculated everything correctly, but the year turned out to be difficult, there were successes and failures, both for him and the country, writes the American edition of US News & World Report.


Putin wanted to go down in world history as an exceptional statesman who became king for his merits. In January, the 67-year-old ruler announced the start of constitutional reform. She helped him maintain his power until 2036, and if implemented to the end, he will become the leader of the country who has been in power in Russia for the longest time since the time of Joseph Stalin.

Celebrating the 75th anniversary of the USSR's victory over Nazi Germany was supposed to help Putin legalize his new status. US President Donald Trump said he was interested in Russia's return to the G7 club. Putin's speech on September 22, 2020 at the 75th session of the UN General Assembly was supposed to be humanity's recognition of his position and the strengthening of Russia's role in the world.

It was a great plan. But then it all went awry

- said Ivan Kurilla, professor at the European University at St. Petersburg.

The COVID-19 pandemic has made adjustments to these plans. The referendum and the Victory Parade had to be postponed. The effect of their implementation was literally crumpled. Coronavirus has caused Russia a serious economic harm, so hasty statements from Moscow about the development of a vaccine against infection were met with skepticism. In addition, many Russians question the veracity of the authorities' statistics on the coronavirus. They believe that the authorities deliberately underestimate the numbers of infections and deaths. And in July, the protests of the residents of Khabarovsk began, which very much frightened the Russian authorities.

In early August, due to suspicions of electoral fraud, political crisis in Slavic Belarus - Russia's only ally in Europe, a real bridgehead in the western direction. At the end of the month, an attempt was made on the life of Alexei Navalny, the most famous Russian opposition leader. The poisoning of a dissenting politician drew criticism in the West and made it possible to talk about the imposition of sanctions against Moscow. All this only added to the problems of the Russian authorities. Now all these complications threaten Putin's position. But the biggest pressure on the Kremlin comes from the situation in Belarus.

Recently, there is a popular saying: Belarus in 2020 is Russia in 2024. Then the next presidential elections should be held in the country. We believed that Belarusians are so politically passive and so used to tyranny and totalitarian rule that they would never protest against Lukashenka. We were wrong. This is a pattern that inspires. And it could hit Russia

Added Kurilla.

It should be noted that despite the pandemic, economic crisis and political problems, Putin still won several notable victories in 2020, which, combined with the ongoing bacchanalia in the United States, served him well. Therefore, Putin's next steps will determine whether this year will be successful for him and Russia or not.
  • Used photos: http://www.kremlin.ru/
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Dear sofa expert. 3 October 2020 19: 01
    +5
    2020 was to be a personal triumph for Russian leader Vladimir Putin and a time for Russia to return to its greatness. At the beginning it seemed that the head of state had calculated everything correctly, but the year turned out to be difficult, there were successes and failures, both for him and the country, writes the American edition of US News & World Report.

    Well, first of all, the year is not over yet to sum up such categorical results.
    By the way, first of all, this year has not ended for the Americans themselves, in order to divert their attention to Russian successes / failures.
    Let them better predict how their own year after the elections will end.
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 3 October 2020 20: 27
    -5
    Shame and contempt for Putin !!!
    1. Yuri Suvorov Offline Yuri Suvorov
      Yuri Suvorov (Yuri Suvorov) 3 October 2020 20: 43
      0
      Glory to Putin!
    2. isofat Online isofat
      isofat (isofat) 3 October 2020 20: 50
      +1
      steelmaker, and what are the tariffs for today?
      1. Rum rum Offline Rum rum
        Rum rum (Rum rum) 4 October 2020 22: 13
        0
        Support.
        How much opium for the people?
  3. Yurets Offline Yurets
    Yurets (Yuri) 4 October 2020 07: 46
    +4
    It is more dear to what they say in the United States, it is more common to lie, provoke and lie there. Anglo-Saxons are the meanest and most rotten people!
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 4 October 2020 13: 50
      -1
      The praise of the Anglo-Saxons to V. Putin is alarming - why and for what! It looks like the actions of the last ten years that V. Putin became promising and further contributes to the plundering of Russia and the impoverishment of the people ..
  4. The comment was deleted.

В США рассказали об успехах и неудачах России в 2020 году


2020 год должен был стать личным триумфом российского лидера Владимира Путина и временем возвращения России своего величия. В начале казалось, что глава государства рассчитал все верно, но год выдался трудным, были успехи и неудачи, как для него, так и страны, пишет американское издание U.S. News & World Report.


Путин захотел войти в мировую историю, как исключительный государственный деятель, который стал царем за свои заслуги. В январе 67-летний правитель объявил о начале конституционной реформы. Она помогла ему сохранить свою власть до 2036 года и если будет реализована до конца, то он станет руководителем страны, который дольше всех пребывал у власти в России со времен Иосифа Сталина.

Празднование 75-летия победы СССР над нацистской Германией должны были помочь Путину в легализации нового статуса. Президент США Дональд Трамп заявил, что заинтересован в возвращении России в клуб G7. Выступление Путина 22 сентября 2020 года на 75-й сессии Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН должно было стать признанием человечеством его положения и усилением роли России в мире.

Это был отличный план. Но потом все пошло наперекосяк

– сообщил Иван Курилла, профессор Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге.

Пандемия COVID-19 внесла свои корректировки в эти планы. Референдум и Парад Победы пришлось перенести. Эффект от их проведения был буквально скомкан. Коронавирус нанес России серьезный экономический вред, поэтому поспешные заявления из Москвы о разработке вакцины от инфекции были встречены скептически. Кроме того, многие россияне сомневаются в правдивости статистики властей по поводу коронавируса. Они считают, что власти сознательно занижают цифры заражений и смертей. А в июле начались протесты жителей Хабаровска, которые очень напугали российскую власть.

В начале августа из-за подозрений в фальсификации выборов разразился политический кризис в славянской Беларуси – единственном союзнике России в Европе, настоящем плацдарме на западном направлении. В конце месяца было совершено покушение на Алексея Навального – самого известного российского оппозиционера. Отравление инакомыслящего политика вызвало критику на Западе и дало возможность говорить о введении санкций против Москвы. Все это лишь добавило проблем российской власти. Теперь все эти сложности угрожают положению Путина. Но самое большое давление на Кремль оказывает ситуация в Беларуси.

В последнее время популярна поговорка: Белоруссия 2020 года – это Россия 2024. Тогда в стране должны состояться очередные президентские выборы. Мы полагали, что белорусы настолько политически пассивны и так привыкли к тирании и тоталитарному правлению, что никогда не станут протестовать против Лукашенко. Мы были не правы. Это образец, который вдохновляет. И это может ударить по России

– добавил Курилла.

Нужно отметить, что несмотря на пандемию, экономический кризис и проблемы политического характера, Путин в 2020 году все-таки одержал несколько заметных побед, которые в сочетании с творящейся вакханалией в США, сослужили ему хорошую службу. Поэтому последующие шаги Путина определят, будет ли этот год для него и России удачным или нет.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.kremlin.ru/
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 2020 год должен был стать личным триумфом российского лидера Владимира Путина и временем возвращения России своего величия. В начале казалось, что глава государства рассчитал все верно, но год выдался трудным, были успехи и неудачи, как для него, так и страны, пишет американское издание U.S. News & World Report.

    Ну во первых, год ещё не закончился, что бы уже подводить такие категорические итоги.
    Кстати в первую очередь год этот ещё и для самих американцев не закончился, что бы отвлекать своё внимание на российские удачи/неудачи.
    Пусть лучше прогнозируют чем закончится их собственный год после выборов.
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 3 октября 2020 20:27
    -5
    Путину позор и презрение!!!
    1. Юрий Суворов (Юрий Суворов) 3 октября 2020 20:43
      0
      Путину слава!
    2. isofat Офлайн isofat
      isofat (isofat) 3 октября 2020 20:50
      +1
      сталевар, и какие тарифы на сегодня?
      1. Ром Ром Офлайн Ром Ром
        Ром Ром (Ром Ром) 4 октября 2020 22:13
        0
        Поддерживаю.
        Почем опиум для народа?
  3. Юрец Офлайн Юрец
    Юрец (Юрий) 4 октября 2020 07:46
    +4
    Тому, что рассказывают в США, верить себе дороже, там лгать, провоцировать и подлиничать - в порядке вещей. Англосаксы - самый подлый и гнилой народец!
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 4 октября 2020 13:50
      -1
      Похвала англосаксов В.Путину настораживает,- почему и за что! Похоже за действа последних десяти лет, что В.Путин стал обещалкиным и далее способствует разворовыванию Россию и нищанию народа..
  4. Комментарий был удален.