In the USA: Russian interference in elections was worse than Pearl Harbor


While President Donald Trump is in the hospital and is undergoing treatment for coronavirus, the US election campaign continues, and opponents of the incumbent head of state do not sit idly by. Andrew Weissman, a former federal prosecutor who served on the team of Special Attorney Robert Mueller, told Business Insider that Russia's interference in the 2016 election was "much worse" than what happened at Pearl Harbor in 1941.


The first and most important part of our work was to document Russia's actions against our elections. We remember from history what happened at Pearl Harbor was killed. I'm not trying to say that this is directly comparable, but from the point of view of the impact and undermining of our democracy, it is much worse.

- he said.

The Müller Commission was also tasked with investigating whether members of the presidential candidate Trump's team colluded with Moscow to tip the balance in his favor. Weissman believes Moscow has waged an elaborate and unprecedented campaign of meddling in the 2016 elections with the clear aim of nudging Trump into the Oval Office.

The second question (about collusion - ed.) Should not touch on the first (about interference - ed.). It is wrong to think of an attack by a foreign government in light of whether it undermines someone's legitimacy as president

- he added.

The special attorney also examined whether Trump himself, as president, obstructed justice during the investigation. At the same time, Trump has consistently tried to downplay or even reject the conclusions of the special prosecutor's commission.

Weissman is confident that Trump deliberately did not want to resist interference. And when he became president, officials out of fear began to manipulate intelligence information so as not to anger the head of state.

He recently released a new book, Where the Law Ends: Mueller's Insider Investigation. It reveals the inner world of the team of the special prosecutor, which conducted the loudest criminal investigation in modern history. In his opinion, one of the most serious problems of our time has become the politicization of the special services and the media.
  • Used photos: http://www.kremlin.ru/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. beeper Offline beeper
    beeper 4 October 2020 17: 52
    +3
    I did not understand, did not the American congressmen themselves, after a long-term commission "investigation" of alleged "Russian interference in the 2016 presidential elections", terrorizing their own President Trump, did not recognize these sweeping accusations as unsubstantiated ??! Wasn't this stupid anti-Russian "inquiry" closed as a result of the "investigation" ??! winked
    After all, it is the "Ukrainian" Kiev "Maidan authorities" - the kleptoligarchs "w / Bandera" openly interfered in these elections, not Russia! fool
    And now again the American prosecutor, who is clearly bad with bare ... geography, whines about the alleged "intervention of Russia": "soap, wet, our song is good, start over!" ??! Well, isn't it DBL ??! yes
  2. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 4 October 2020 19: 11
    +2
    Paranoia has become part of government policy. Internal and external.
  3. Valentine Offline Valentine
    Valentine (Valentin) 4 October 2020 19: 58
    +3
    Absolutely you, Washington peasants, have spoken out, quarreled with each other over who to sit in the White House, muddied an unthinkable bunch of your own jambs, which you still cannot figure out yourself, and Russia is to blame for all this ... .. What a wretched mentality you have, although what can you take from you, which in life is only 244 years old, while historical Russia is already more than 1000 years old. But nothing, gentlemen Yankees, in a month you will have another hysteria about Russia's interference in your next elections, but these will be only flowers, and berries will be when your black population will act with you as you did with the Indian population when colonizing their territories 500 years ago, and you have this process already gone.
  4. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 4 October 2020 20: 05
    +2
    If someone likes to think of this as a banana republic, in which any third-grader can appoint a president within 6 km, free will ...
  5. Pacifist Offline Pacifist
    Pacifist (Victor) 4 October 2020 21: 55
    +2
    The commission proved that there was no interference. By the way, sanctions were introduced in this regard, isn't it time to cancel? But the stoned ones continue to talk about their own. I don't care if they want to be idiots - let them be. It's boring already from this.

В США: вмешательство России в выборы было хуже Пёрл-Харбора


Пока президент Дональд Трамп находится в больнице и проходит курс лечения от коронавируса, предвыборная кампания в США продолжается, и оппоненты действующего главы государства не сидят сложа руки. Эндрю Вайсман, бывший федеральный прокурор, работавший в команде спецпрокурора Роберта Мюллера, сообщил в интервью порталу Business Insider, что вмешательство России в выборы 2016 года «намного хуже», чем случившееся в Перл-Харборе в 1941 году.


Первая и самая важная часть нашей работы заключалась в том, чтобы задокументировать действия России, направленные против наших выборов. Мы помним из истории, что случилось в Перл-Харборе погиб. Я не пытаюсь сказать, что это напрямую сравнимо, но вот с точки зрения воздействия и подрыва нашей демократии это намного хуже.

– сказал он.

Комиссии Мюллера было поручено также выяснить, вступали ли члены команды кандидата в президенты Трампа в сговор с Москвой, чтобы склонить чашу предвыборных весов в его пользу. Вайсман считает, что Москва проводила тщательно продуманную и беспрецедентную кампанию по вмешательству в выборы 2016 года с явной целью подтолкнуть Трампа к Овальному кабинету.

Второй вопрос (про сговор – ред.) не должен затрагивать первый (про вмешательство – ред.). Неправильно думать о нападении со стороны иностранного правительства в свете того, подрывает ли это чью-либо легитимность как президента

– добавил он.

Специальный прокурор также изучил, препятствовал ли сам Трамп, будучи уже президентом, правосудию в ходе указанного расследования. При этом Трамп последовательно пытался преуменьшить или вообще отвергнуть выводы комиссии спецпрокурора.

Вайсман уверен, что Трамп сознательно не желал противостоять вмешательству. А когда стал президентом, чиновники из опасений начали манипулировать разведданными, чтобы не рассердить главу государства.

Недавно он выпустил новую книгу «Где заканчивается закон: инсайдерское расследование Мюллера». В ней раскрывается внутренний мир команды спецпрокурора, которая проводила самое громкое уголовное расследование в новейшей истории. По его мнению, одной из серьезнейших проблем современности стали политизация спецслужб и СМИ.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.kremlin.ru/
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 4 октября 2020 17:52
    +3
    Не понял, разве сами же американские конгрессмены, после многолетнего комиссионного "расследования" якобы "вмешательства России в президентские выборы-2016", затерроризировав этим собственного президента Трампа, не признали эти огульные обвинения бездоказательными??! Разве этот глупый антироссийский "запрос" не был закрыт по результатам "расследования"??! winked
    Ведь это же "украинствующие" киевские "майданные власти"-клептолигархи "ж/бандеровцы" откровенно вмешивались в эти выборы, а не Россия! fool
    И теперь снова американский прокурор, у которого явно плохо с голо....географией, мЫчит про якобы "вмешательство России": "мыло, мочало, наша песня хороша, начинай сначала!"??! Ну не ДБЛ ли??! yes
  2. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 4 октября 2020 19:11
    +2
    Паранойя стала частью государственной политики. Внутренней и внешней.
  3. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
    Валентин (Валентин) 4 октября 2020 19:58
    +3
    Совсем вы,вашингтонские мужички,опсовели-сами перегрызлись между собой по поводу,кому сидеть в Белом доме,замутили немыслимую кучу своих же косяков,в которых и до сих пор сами разобраться не можете,и во всём этом у вас виновата Россия.....Какой же у вас убогенький менталитет,хотя что можно с вас взять,которым и по жизни то всего 244 года,в то время,как исторической России уже более 1000 лет.Но ничего,господа янки,через месяц у вас опять начнётся очередная истерика по поводу вмешательства России в ваши очередные выборы,но это будут только цветочки,а ягодки будут тогда,когда ваше темнокожее население будет с вами поступать так,как вы поступили с индейским населением при колонизации их территорий 500 лет назад,и этот процесс у вас уже пошёл.
  4. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 4 октября 2020 20:05
    +2
    Если кому-то нравится полагать се6я банановой республикой, в которой любой третьеклассник за 10 000 км может президента назначить, вольному воля...
  5. Pacifist Офлайн Pacifist
    Pacifist (Виктор) 4 октября 2020 21:55
    +2
    Комиссия доказала, что никакого вмешательства не было. Кстати, санкции по этому поводу ввели, отменить не пора? Но упоротые продолжают балаболить о своем. Плевать, хотят быть идиотами - пусть будут. Скучно уже от этого.