The entire US is in danger: scientists warn of the awakening of Yellowstone


Located in the northwestern United States, the Yellowstone supervolcano, upon awakening, threatens innumerable destruction not only in the United States, but throughout the world. Writes about this British edition Express according to the scientist Brian Walsh.


The caldera (a volcanic circus basin) inside Yellowstone National Park is called a supervolcano because of its ability to cause a global catastrophe in the event of an eruption. It was formed during the last three major geological events: the eruption of the Huckleberry Ridge volcanoes 2,1 million years ago, Mesa Falls 1,3 million years ago, and Lava Creek about 630 thousand years ago. The territory of Yellowstone is under the control of the United States Geological Survey (USGS) - scientists are monitoring the situation, as the history of the eruptions of this natural object may continue.

Walsh explored this possibility in detail in his recently published book End Times: A Brief Guide to the End of the World. He believes that the beginning of a series of small earthquakes, as well as rising magma, may indicate a relatively imminent eruption.

This will continue for several days and Yellowstone will sink into lava within a forty-mile radius of the event.

- writes the researcher.

A plume of ash and volcanic gases from Yellowstone will reach an altitude of at least 25 km and float over the whole of North America - that is, the entire territory of the United States and neighboring countries is in danger. Hospitals will be overrun with people coughing up blood - the silicate in the ash will infect their lungs. Ash can poison crops and cause volcanic winters around the world, in which global average temperatures can drop by 8 degrees Celsius per decade. This can lead to global hunger, bringing hundreds of millions of Earth's inhabitants to the brink of extinction.

According to estimates by FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency), the total damage to the United States from the eruption of the Yellowstone supervolcano will be about 3 trillion. dollars, which corresponds to about 16 percent of the country's GDP.

The consolation is that, according to the US Geological Survey, the probability of this event is estimated at 1 in 730 thousand.
  • Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Indifferent Offline Indifferent
    Indifferent 5 October 2020 15: 19
    +1
    The author of the article is a little behind in time. Yellowstone has been demonstrating miracles of tranquility lately. Over the past six months, the number of geyser eruptions has returned to normal, the soil has become less heated and has dropped lower than it was last year by several centimeters. And this speaks of an imminent eruption. So don't listen to alarmists. Everything will be fine with the volcano, which cannot be said with the States themselves. There, political tension is growing and could explode within a month.
    1. Yuri Nemov Offline Yuri Nemov
      Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) 5 October 2020 18: 09
      +1
      They say before death there is always an improvement ... short-term. How often do heroes of war films say - "I don't like this silence ..." wassat
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 October 2020 15: 37
    +3
    Right. Zadolbali authors ..... foreign with their supervolcano.
    He calmed down, apparently the PR budget for disaster films has recently ended ...
  3. BMP-2 Offline BMP-2
    BMP-2 (Vladimir V.) 5 October 2020 18: 09
    0
    This is what happens: the probability of the eruption of Yellowstone is only two orders of magnitude less than the chances of dying from the coronavirus :?)
  4. Kuramori Reika Offline Kuramori Reika
    Kuramori Reika (Kuramori Reika) 6 October 2020 18: 38
    0
    How bored they are with this hole. The Americans are too poor for the volcano to wake up for them.
  5. Larisa Larisa Offline Larisa Larisa
    Larisa Larisa (Larisa Larisa) 7 October 2020 12: 03
    0
    Well, what then! Lived on the Indian continent and hore!

Вся территория США в опасности: ученые предупреждают о пробуждении Йеллоустоуна


Находящийся на северо-западе США Йеллоустонский супервулкан при своем пробуждении грозит неисчислимыми разрушениями не только в Соединенных Штатах, но и по всему миру. Об этом пишет британское издание Express со слов ученого Брайана Уолша.


Кальдеру (циркообразную котловину вулканического происхождения) внутри Йеллоустонского национального парка называют супервулканом из-за ее способности вызвать глобальную катастрофу в случае извержения. Она образовалась во время последних трех крупных геологических событий: извержение вулканов Хаклберри-Ридж 2,1 млн. лет назад, Меза-Фолс – 1,3 млн. лет назад и Лава Крик – около 630 тыс. лет назад. Территория Йеллоустоуна находится на контроле Геологической службы США (USGS) – ученые мониторят ситуацию, поскольку история извержений этого природного объекта может продолжиться.

Уолш подробно исследовал эту возможность в своей недавно опубликованной книге «Окончание времен: краткое руководство к концу света». Он полагает, что начавшаяся серия мелких землетрясений, а также подымающаяся магма могут свидетельствовать об относительно скором извержении.

Это будет продолжаться несколько дней, и Йеллоустоун погрузится в лаву в радиусе сорока миль от эпицентра события

– пишет исследователь.

Шлейф из пепла и вулканических газов Йеллоустоуна достигнет высоты не менее 25 км и проплывет над всей Северной Америкой – то есть, в опасности находится вся территория США и близлежащих стран. Больницы будут переполнены кашляющими кровью людьми – содержащийся в золе силикат поразит их легкие. Пепел может отравить посевы и вызвать вулканическую зиму во всем мире, при которой глобальные средние температуры могут упасть на 8 градусов Цельсия на десятилетие. Это может привести к глобальному голоду, ставящему на грань исчезновения сотни миллионов жителей Земли.

По оценкам FEMA (Федеральное агентство по управлению в чрезвычайных ситуациях), общий ущерб США от извержения супервулкана Йеллоустоун составит около 3 трлн. долларов, что соответствует примерно 16 процентам ВВП страны.

Утешает пока то, что, согласно данным Геологической службы США, вероятность этого события оценивается в 1 на 730 тысяч.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Безразличный 5 октября 2020 15:19
    +1
    Автор статьи немного отстал во времени. Йеллоустон как раз последнее время демонстрирует чудеса спокойствия. За последние пол года число извержений гейзеров пришло в норму, почва стала меньше нагреваться и опустилась ниже, чем была в прошлом году на несколько сантиметров. А это говорит о не скором извержении. Так что не слушайте паникеров. Все будет хорошо с вулканом, чего не скажешь с самими Штатами. Там политическое напряжение растет и может взорваться уже через месяц.
    1. Юрий Немов Офлайн Юрий Немов
      Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 5 октября 2020 18:09
      +1
      Говорят перед смертью всегда улучшение наступает... кратковременное. Как часто произносят герои военных фильмов -"Не нравится мне эта тишина..." wassat
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 октября 2020 15:37
    +3
    Верно. Задолбали авторы.....забугорные со своим супервулканом.
    Успокоился он, видно бюджет пиара фильмов-катастроф недавно кончился....
  3. БМП-2 Онлайн БМП-2
    БМП-2 (Владимир В.) 5 октября 2020 18:09
    0
    Это что же получается: вероятность извержения Йелоустоуна всего лишь на два порядка меньше, чем шансы умереть от коронавируса:?)
  4. Kuramori Reika Офлайн Kuramori Reika
    Kuramori Reika (Kuramori Reika) 6 октября 2020 18:38
    0
    Как они надоели с этой дырой. Американцы слишком убогие, чтобы вулкан ради них просыпался.
  5. Лариса Лариса (Лариса Лариса) 7 октября 2020 12:03
    0
    Ну, что же! Пожили на индейском континенте и хорэ!