Finland assessed the ban on the export of Russian timber


In the Russian Federation, from the beginning of 2022, a ban on the export of raw timber will be introduced. At first, this stunned the Finns, for whose industrial needs about 9 million cubic meters of timber is exported from Russia every year. However, assessing the nuances, experts from Finland reacted more calmly to the initiative of the Russian authorities. This is reported by the Finnish edition of Etelä-Saimaa.


According to experts, the ban on the export of untreated timber from Russia will not have too much impact on the Finnish timber industry. According to Juha Palokangas, who studies the cooperation between Moscow and Helsinki in the field of forest use, the banned round timber of coniferous trees accounts for only 15 percent of the timber imported to the Finns, the expert said in an interview with Helsingin Sanomat.

Finnish woodworking is mainly provided with local raw materials, and the only problem of this northern country in this context is the lack of birch for industrial needs, and the Russian ban does not apply to it.

The cessation of the supply of untreated wood comes from the Russian president himself, so it will most likely be implemented. Apparently, the main reasons for such an initiative by the Kremlin are the opposition to illegal timber trade, as well as improving the quality of timber processing within Russia.

Finnish woodworking firms are investing in their respective industries in Russia, and Putin is unlikely to create problems for them. Apparently, wood trade between the two countries will continue after 2022, if birch raw materials do not fall under the bans.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 7 October 2020 15: 14
    +3
    Exporting any "raw" resources is a waste of the country.
    1. tagil Offline tagil
      tagil (Sergei) 7 October 2020 23: 54
      +2
      The Finns have been exporting timber since Soviet times, but unlike others, they immediately planted felling with young seedlings, which they grow at home. And decent money is allocated for this business. By the way, this is spelled out in the agreement, which they have been observing since the 70s. Although I agree with you that it is necessary to supply products and not raw materials, sometimes it is impossible to replace raw materials with products.

В Финляндии оценили запрет на экспорт российской древесины


В РФ с начала 2022 года будет введен запрет на экспорт сырой древесины. Поначалу это ошеломило финнов, для нужд промышленности которых из России каждый год вывозится порядка 9 млн кубометров леса. Однако, оценив нюансы, специалисты из Финляндии более спокойно отнеслись к инициативе российских властей. Об этом передает финское издание Etelä-Saimaa.


По мнению экспертов, запрет на вывоз необработанной древесины из России не слишком сильно скажется на лесной промышленности Финляндии. По данным Юхи Палокангаса, изучающего вопросы взаимодействия Москвы и Хельсинки в области использования леса, на подпадающий под запрет кругляк пород хвойных деревьев приходится лишь 15 процентов ввозимой финнам древесины – об этом эксперт заявил в интервью Helsingin Sanomat.

Деревообработка Финляндии в основном обеспечивается местным сырьем, и единственная проблема этой северной страны в данном контексте – нехватка для промышленных нужд березы, а на нее российский запрет не распространяется.

Прекращение поставок необработанного дерева исходит от самого российского президента, поэтому оно с большой вероятностью будет реализовано. Видимо, основные причины такой инициативы Кремля – противодействие незаконной торговле лесом, а также повышение качества переработки древесины внутри России.

Финские деревообрабатывающие фирмы инвестируют в соответствующие отрасли в РФ, и Путин вряд ли станет создавать им проблемы. Судя по всему, торговля деревом между двумя странами будет продолжаться и после 2022 года, если под запреты не попадет сырье из березы.
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 7 октября 2020 15:14
    +3
    Экспорт любых "сырых" ресурсов - разбазаривание страны.
    1. тагил Офлайн тагил
      тагил (сергей) 7 октября 2020 23:54
      +2
      Финны вывозят древесину еще с советских времен, но в отличии от других они вырубки тут же засаживают молодыми саженцами, которые выращивают у себя. И на это дело выделяют приличные деньги. Кстати это прописано в договоре, который они соблюдают с 70-х годов. Хотя я согласен с вами, что надо поставлять продукцию а не сырье, но иногда сырье продукцией заменить невозможно.