Yerevan can pay for a blow to Azerbaijani hydroelectric power plant with its nuclear power plant


The war in Nagorno-Karabakh can lead to a real regional humanitarian and environmental disaster. Yerevan threatens to flood half of Azerbaijan, destroying the Mingechevir hydroelectric power station, and Baku threatens to turn the capital of Armenia into a radioactive wasteland by striking a nuclear power plant located just 30 kilometers from the city. Similar threats sounded before, but much has changed since the intervention of an external player, Turkey, in a long-standing conflict.


The Armenian army is gradually retreating before the onslaught of the more numerous and better armed Azerbaijani. Turkish F-16 fighters appeared in the sky over Nagorno-Karabakh. If Ankara actively begins to use its aviation in support of the allies, things will go very badly for the unrecognized republic. Yerevan has warned that in this case it will be forced to use Iskander-E OTRK. How effective will it be as a deterrent, and will it not bring more trouble to the Armenian people?

When discussing this topic, it is necessary to take into account a number of factors:

At first, Iskander-E missile systems in Armenia have a limited range of destruction, about 280 kilometers instead of 500 for Iskander-M. There are a lot of important facilities on the territory of Azerbaijan that could serve as targets: the Baku oil refinery, the Garadagh oil refinery, offshore oil fields, the Sangachal gas terminal, etc. The problem is that they are all outside the range of the export version of the Iskander. But the Mingechevir hydroelectric power station falls into it.

This is one of the most important sources of energy supply for Azerbaijan. Destruction of its dam by a missile strike could instantly wipe out half of the country in the valley downstream. It will be a real humanitarian and ecological catastrophe, which in the future with good reason in the international tribunal will be defined as a war crime and genocide of the Azerbaijani people.

Secondly, Baku will have something to answer to Yerevan. Using the Israeli LORA missiles at their disposal, the Azerbaijani military can destroy the nuclear power plant in Metsamor. The capacity of its two power units is 407,5 MW. As a result, little Armenia can get its own local "Chernobyl".

ThirdlyIt is not entirely clear who exactly controls the Iskander-E OTRK. According to one information, they are located on the territory of our base in Gyumri. But according to Defense Minister Vigen Sargsyan, the complexes have been at the disposal of the Armenian military since 2016:

The fact that the Iskander were delivered to Armenia, in my opinion, is obvious to everyone, because everyone saw them with their own eyes. The fact that they belong to the Armed Forces of Armenia, I can also confirm with absolute certainty.

It is quite obvious that Russia, which is considered an informal mediator in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, will not be satisfied with any of the scenarios described above. But there are important nuances. The defenders of Nagorno-Karabakh have the Tochka-U missile systems at their disposal, which they allegedly have already unsuccessfully launched in the direction of the Mingechevir hydroelectric power station. It is unclear to what extent such attacks can be controlled by the Russian Defense Ministry at all.

The second difficulty lies in the fact that it is practically impossible to control the actions of President Erdogan, who can order his aircraft to attack the positions of the Armenians. If something like this happens, then Yerevan and the Kremlin behind it will still have to answer. Of course, there can be no talk of destroying the reservoir, but the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline, the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline, the Baku-Tbilisi-Supsa port, and the Baku-Tbilisi-Erzurum gas pipeline on the territory of Azerbaijan can be chosen as the target of a missile strike. By damaging or destroying the infrastructure for the transportation of hydrocarbons, Moscow can achieve a temporary cessation of supplies to Turkey and Georgia, which will be a strong enough retaliatory strike.
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 7 October 2020 16: 20
    -4
    For a blow to the Azerbaijani hydroelectric power station.

    Is it possible that with the loss of Karabakh, the Armenians can do this? Why then did Azerbaijan not think of attacking nuclear power plants in 30 years? It turns out that Pashinyan is completely sick in the head? And then, in Putin's entourage, is there anyone who is friends with the head? I don't even want to present such versions of the author. Don't upset me.
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 7 October 2020 17: 56
    0
    Need Chernobyl in five countries? Fine...
  3. Dear sofa expert. 7 October 2020 21: 42
    +3
    In short, it looks like everything is heading for big trouble, and therefore Russia needs to be more actively involved in this conflict now.
    To sit on the sidelines and so it does not work.
    At least take the Armenian nuclear power plant under the protection of all possible air defense means.
    Naturally, to warn the Armenians against this blatant stupidity, with the destruction of the hydroelectric power station.
  4. rrt Offline rrt
    rrt (rrt) 7 October 2020 21: 44
    +1
    Does the author know that according to international conventions a strike on a nuclear power plant is equated to a nuclear attack? this is the same as someone throwing nuclear weapons on Armenia. Judging by how routinely and calmly the material is presented, there are doubts. Infrastructure facilities are one thing, but nuclear power plants are quite another. Even Hitler, when he was retreating along the entire front, did not dare to transfer the conventional war to the non-conventional one. But he had a large arsenal of chemical weapons and had nothing to lose. The consequences will be disastrous for everyone in the region. Fonit will be for centuries. Radionuclides will get into the Caspian Lake and you can forget about fishing. I don’t even speak about radioactive dust, it’s like someone will be lucky. And one more important point, if God forbid this happens, sooner or later the Armenian people will answer symmetrically according to whom they need. Sincerely.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 8 October 2020 07: 27
      0
      Quote: rrt
      Is the author aware that according to international conventions, a strike on a nuclear power plant is equated to a nuclear attack? this is the same as someone throwing nuclear weapons at Armenia. Judging by how routinely and calmly the material is presented, there are doubts.

      Do you want me to throw a tantrum in the text? laughing
      I am writing calmly because such a scenario will not be allowed.
  5. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 8 October 2020 16: 26
    0
    Are you completely crazy?
  6. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 9 October 2020 12: 05
    -2
    In the sky over Nagorno-Karabakh, Turkish F-16 fighters appeared demonstratively.

    Information with dubious reliability. The only source is the Armenian Defense Ministry.
  7. Shapalla Offline Shapalla
    Shapalla (Rustam) 11 October 2020 10: 39
    -1
    Quote: steel maker
    For a blow to the Azerbaijani hydroelectric power station.

    Is it possible that with the loss of Karabakh, the Armenians can do this? Why then did Azerbaijan not think of attacking nuclear power plants in 30 years? It turns out that Pashinyan is completely sick in the head? And then, in Putin's entourage, is there anyone who is friends with the head? I don't even want to present such versions of the author. Don't upset me.

    It does not work, but it is.
  8. Shapalla Offline Shapalla
    Shapalla (Rustam) 11 October 2020 10: 41
    0
    Quote: rrt
    Does the author know that according to international conventions a strike on a nuclear power plant is equated to a nuclear attack? this is the same as someone throwing nuclear weapons on Armenia. Judging by how routinely and calmly the material is presented, there are doubts. Infrastructure facilities are one thing, but nuclear power plants are quite another. Even Hitler, when he was retreating along the entire front, did not dare to transfer the conventional war to the non-conventional one. But he had a large arsenal of chemical weapons and had nothing to lose. The consequences will be disastrous for everyone in the region. Fonit will be for centuries. Radionuclides will get into the Caspian Lake and you can forget about fishing. I don’t even speak about radioactive dust, it’s like someone will be lucky. And one more important point, if God forbid this happens, sooner or later the Armenian people will answer symmetrically according to whom they need. Sincerely.

    And the impact on the hydroelectric power station, the result of which was the flooding of the infrastructure of more than half of the country? What is it equal to? Just a terrorist attack? Do you remember that the Russian Federation actively counteracts terrorists or has it stopped already?
  9. Dust Offline Dust
    Dust (Sergei) 15 October 2020 21: 47
    +1
    Author, a strike on a nuclear power plant will instantly provoke a big war in the region! A nuclear cloud can cover the adjoining countries of Georgia, Russia, Iran, Turkey, Azerbaijan .... And God forbid this cloud will go towards Russia .... I will not envy Azerbaijan. He will be destroyed along with Turkey if the latter dashes to protect her.

За удар по азербайджанской ГЭС Ереван может поплатиться своей атомной станцией


Война в Нагорном Карабахе может привести к настоящей региональной гуманитарной и экологической катастрофе. Ереван угрожает затопить половину Азербайджана, уничтожив Мингечевирскую ГЭС, а Баку – превратить столицу Армении в радиоактивную пустошь, нанеся удар по атомной электростанции, находящейся всего в 30 километрах от города. Подобные угрозы звучали и раньше, но многое изменилось после вмешательства в давний конфликт внешнего игрока, Турции.


Армянская армия постепенно отступает перед натиском более многочисленной и лучше вооруженной азербайджанской. В небе над Нагорным Карабахом демонстративно появились турецкие истребители F-16. Если Анкара активно начнет применять свою авиацию в поддержку союзников, дела у непризнанной республики пойдут совсем плохо. Ереван предупредил, что в таком случае будет вынужден применить ОТРК «Искандер-Э». Насколько это будет эффективно как средство сдерживания, и не навлечет ли на армянский народ еще большей беды?

Рассуждая на эту тему, необходимо учитывать ряд факторов:

Во-первых, ракетные комплексы «Искандер-Э» в Армении имеют ограниченную дальность поражения, примерно 280 километров вместо 500 у «Искандер-М». На территории Азербайджана есть масса важных объектов, которые могли бы послужить целями: Бакинский НПЗ, Гарадагский НПЗ, месторождения нефти на шельфе, Сангачальский газовый терминал и т.д. Проблема заключается в том, что все они находятся за радиусом действия экспортной версии «Искандера». Зато в него попадает Мингечевирская ГЭС.

Это один из важнейших источников энергоснабжения Азербайджана. Уничтожение ее плотины ракетным ударом может моментально смыть с лица Земли половину страны, проживающей в долине ниже по течению. Это будет настоящая гуманитарная и экологическая катастрофа, которую в дальнейшем с полным на то основанием в международном трибунале определят как военное преступление и геноцид азербайджанского народа.

Во-вторых, Баку будет чем ответить Еревану. Используя имеющиеся в распоряжении у них израильские ракеты LORA, азербайджанские военные могут разрушить АЭС в Мецаморе. Мощность ее двух энергоблоков составляет 407,5 МВт. В результате маленькая Армения может получить свой локальный «Чернобыль».

В-третьих, не вполне понятно, кто конкретно управляет ОТРК «Искандер-Э». По одной информации, они находятся на территории нашей базы в Гюмри. Но по словам министра обороны Вигена Саркисяна, комплексы с 2016 года в распоряжении армянских военных:

То, что «Искандеры» поставлены в Армению, по-моему, для всех очевидно, потому что их все видели воочию. То, что они принадлежат Вооруженным силам Армении, тоже могу подтвердить со стопроцентной уверенностью.

Вполне очевидно, что Россию, которая считается неформальным посредником в Нагорно-Карабахском конфликте, ни один из описанных выше сценариев не устроит. Но есть важные нюансы. В распоряжении защитников Нагорного Карабаха имеются ракетные комплексы «Точка-У», которые они якобы уже безуспешно запускали в направлении Мингечевирской ГЭС. Непонятно, насколько подобные атаки вообще могут контролироваться со стороны Минобороны РФ.

Вторая сложность заключается в том, что практически невозможно контролировать действия президента Эрдогана, который может отдать приказ свой авиации атаковать позиции армян. Если нечто подобное произойдет, то Еревану и стоящему за ним Кремлю все-таки придется ответить. Разумеется, речи о разрушении водохранилища идти не может, но в качестве объекта ракетного удара могут быть выбраны нефтепровод Баку – Тбилиси – Джейхан, нефтепровод из Баку в грузинский порт Супса, а также газопровод Баку– Тбилиси – Эрзурум на территории Азербайджана. Повредив или уничтожив инфраструктуру по транспортировке углеводородов, Москва может добиться временного прекращения поставок в Турцию и Грузию, что будет достаточно сильным ответным ударом.
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 7 октября 2020 16:20
    -4
    За удар по азербайджанской ГЭС.

    Неужели с потерей Карабаха, армяне могут пойти на такое? А почему тогда Азербайджан за 30 лет не додумался атаковать АЭС? Получается Пашинян совсем больной на голову? А в окружении Путина тогда вообще есть кто с головой дружит? Я такие версии автора, даже представлять не хочу. Не расстраивайте меня.
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 7 октября 2020 17:56
    0
    Нужен Чернобыль на территории пяти стран? Нормально...
  3. Короче, похоже всё идёт к большой беде, а потому, России нужно уже сейчас более активно включаться в этот конфликт.
    Отсидеться в стороне так и так не получается.
    Хотя бы взять армянскую АЭС под защиту всеми своими возможными средствами ПВО.
    Естественно, предостеречь и армян от этой вопиющей глупости, с разрушением гидроэлектростанции.
  4. rrt Офлайн rrt
    rrt (rrt) 7 октября 2020 21:44
    +1
    Автор в курсе, что по международным конвенциям удар по АЭС приравнен к ядерному нападению? это тоже самое что на Армению кто то бросит ЯО. Судя по тому,как рутинно и спокойно преподносится материал ,ест сомнения. Об/екты инфраструктуры это одно, а АЭС - совсем другое. Даже Гитлер ,когда отступал по всему фронту, не рискнул перевести конвенциональную войну на НЕ конвенциональную. А ведь у него был большой арсенал хим оружия и нечего было терять. Последствия будут катастрофическими для всех в регионе. Фонить будет на протяжении столетий. Радионуклиды попадут в Каспийское озеро и о промысле можно будет забыть. О радиоактивной пыли даже не говорю, это как кому ,,повезет,, .И еще один важный момент ,если это не дай Бог произойдет, армянский народ рано или поздно ответит симметрично по кому надо. С уважением.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 8 октября 2020 07:27
      0
      Цитата: rrt
      Автор в курсе, что по международным конвенциям удар по АЭС приравнен к ядерному нападению? это тоже самое что на Армению кто то бросит ЯО. Судя по тому,как рутинно и спокойно преподносится материал ,ест сомнения.

      А вы хотите, чтобы я устроил истерику в тексте? laughing
      Я же и пишу спокойно потому, что такого сценария не допустят.
  5. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 8 октября 2020 16:26
    0
    Совсем рехнулись?
  6. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 9 октября 2020 12:05
    -2
    В небе над Нагорным Карабахом демонстративно появились турецкие истребители F-16.

    Информация с сомнительной достоверностью. Единственный источник - минобороны Армении.
  7. Shapalla Офлайн Shapalla
    Shapalla (Rustam) 11 октября 2020 10:39
    -1
    Цитата: сталевар
    За удар по азербайджанской ГЭС.

    Неужели с потерей Карабаха, армяне могут пойти на такое? А почему тогда Азербайджан за 30 лет не додумался атаковать АЭС? Получается Пашинян совсем больной на голову? А в окружении Путина тогда вообще есть кто с головой дружит? Я такие версии автора, даже представлять не хочу. Не расстраивайте меня.

    Не получается а так и есть.
  8. Shapalla Офлайн Shapalla
    Shapalla (Rustam) 11 октября 2020 10:41
    0
    Цитата: rrt
    Автор в курсе, что по международным конвенциям удар по АЭС приравнен к ядерному нападению? это тоже самое что на Армению кто то бросит ЯО. Судя по тому,как рутинно и спокойно преподносится материал ,ест сомнения. Об/екты инфраструктуры это одно, а АЭС - совсем другое. Даже Гитлер ,когда отступал по всему фронту, не рискнул перевести конвенциональную войну на НЕ конвенциональную. А ведь у него был большой арсенал хим оружия и нечего было терять. Последствия будут катастрофическими для всех в регионе. Фонить будет на протяжении столетий. Радионуклиды попадут в Каспийское озеро и о промысле можно будет забыть. О радиоактивной пыли даже не говорю, это как кому ,,повезет,, .И еще один важный момент ,если это не дай Бог произойдет, армянский народ рано или поздно ответит симметрично по кому надо. С уважением.

    А удар по ГЭС результат которого затопление инфраструктуры большей половины страны? К чему приравнивается? Просто к терракту? Помнится РФ активно противодействует террористам или перестали уже?
  9. Dust Офлайн Dust
    Dust (Сергей) 15 октября 2020 21:47
    +1
    Автор, удар по АЭС моментально спровоцируют большую войну в регионе! Ядерное облако может накрыть прилигающие страны Грузию, Россию, Иран, Турцию,Азербайджан .... И не дай Бог это облако пойдёт в сторону России.... Я не позавидую Азербайджану. Он будет уничтожен вместе с Турцией если последняя дёрнется на её защиту .