FT: The Unjustified Dollar Privilege Comes to an End


By the end of 2021, the US dollar may collapse by 35%. After this unjustified privilege of the American currency will come to an end, writes the British newspaper Financial Times.


Back in the 60s of the twentieth century, the head of the French Ministry of Finance, future president Valerie Giscard d'Estaing said that Washington was using its position in bad faith, maintaining a high standard of living at the expense of others. He called it unfair and offered to end this state of affairs. Now there is a chance that his wish will come true very soon.

In the United States, there is a catastrophic decline in domestic savings, which is accompanied by an increase in the current account deficit in the balance of payments. In Q2020 1,2, net domestic savings were at the level of -4,1%, i.e. they became negative, which is 1947 p.p. below the first quarter, the largest drop in history since 3,5. At the same time, Washington, having no internal reserves, but having a great desire to ensure growth, simply took advantage of its privilege. This led to a change in the current account deficit to -1,4% of the country's GDP in the II quarter, which is XNUMX percentage points. lower than in the first quarter, and was the largest decline on record.

The United States has become very vulnerable - if in the period from 1960 to 2005 the level of net domestic savings there was 7%, then in 2011-2019 it dropped to 2,9%. And now this indicator is simply not there. As the budget deficit widens, financial pressures rise and economic Problems. The federal budget deficit in 2020 will be 16% of the country's GDP, and in 2021 it is likely to become much larger. This will have dire consequences for the future of the United States.

After that, the dollar will lose its special position in the world. The financial situation in the United States has been slowly but steadily deteriorating since 2000. The dollar is now the most overvalued currency in the world and this makes it vulnerable.

The dollar has always benefited from the seductive charm of its lack of alternative, but now the euro, yuan, gold and cryptocurrencies have become an alternative to the once invincible "green". Therefore, there is no doubt that a real disaster looms for the dollar, which has become vulnerable to impact.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 8 October 2020 11: 34
    -3
    What a nightmare!
    And the state of the Russian oligarchs is considered in dollars ... and not in rubles

    It's scary to think what will happen to the ruble ... at 21 ... with the oligarchs' money ... I suppose tomorrow everything will be thrown into rubles, and the exchange rate will immediately become visible ...
  2. Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) 8 October 2020 11: 52
    -5
    As Vysotsky sang -

    But as for me - she was in Paris,
    And Marcel Marceau himself said something to her!


    Let's better talk about the Motherland -

    The budget deficit in Russia grew by 85% over the month.
    The deficit is more than RUB 1,5 trillion. formed as a result of the excess of federal budget expenditures over its revenues - 11,92 trillion against 10,399 trillion rubles.

    https://www.rbc.ru/economics/12/08/2020/5f34061f9a7947e48902933d
  3. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 8 October 2020 12: 05
    +4
    The kapets comes not to the dollar itself, but to the bubbles that are inflated so that it does not fall from heaven where it climbed.
    They will not collapse with a stone, but the tailbone will suffer so that it will be uncomfortable to sit. Who saw how a deflated balloon drags a basket with balloonists along the ground? Something like this, but the economy, which will be deflated to a real product, will drag them with their muzzle on the sinful Earth. (unless, of course, they generate a new planetary-scale scam or, for lack of choice, zero the world with a global war).
  4. Alexzn Online Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 8 October 2020 16: 52
    -2
    This is the third kapit of the dollar this week. I even felt sorry for him.
  5. Oleg Rambover Offline Oleg Rambover
    Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 October 2020 18: 07
    -1
    What's again? How long to.

FT: Неоправданной привилегии доллара приходит конец


К концу 2021 года возможен обвал доллара США на 35%. После этого неоправданной привилегии американской валюты наступит конец, пишет британская газета Financial Times.


Еще в 60-х годах ХХ века глава Минфина Франции, будущий президент Валери Жискар д’Эстен говорил, что Вашингтон недобросовестно использует свое положение, поддерживая у себя высокий уровень жизни за счет других. Он назвал это несправедливым и предложил покончить с таким положением дел. Теперь есть вероятность, что его желание сбудется совсем скоро.

В США наблюдается катастрофическое снижение внутренних сбережений, которое сопровождается увеличением дефицита текущих счетов платежного баланса. Во II квартале 2020 года чистые внутренние сбережения были на уровне -1,2%, т.е. они стали отрицательными, что на 4,1 п.п. ниже показателей I квартала – это самое большое падение в истории с 1947 года. При этом Вашингтон, не обладая внутренними резервами, но имея большое желание обеспечить рост, попросту воспользовался своей привилегией. Это привело к изменению дефицита текущего счета до -3,5% от ВВП страны во II квартале, что на 1,4 п.п. ниже, чем в I квартале, и стало самым большим снижением за всю историю.

США стали очень уязвимыми - если в период с 1960 по 2005 год уровень чистых внутренних сбережений там составлял 7%, то в 2011-2019 годах он снизился до 2,9%. А теперь этого показателя попросту нет. По мере увеличения дефицита бюджета, растет финансовое давление и обостряются экономические проблемы. Дефицит федерального бюджета в 2020 году составит 16% от ВВП страны, а в 2021 году, вполне вероятно, он станет намного больше. Это будет иметь чудовищные последствия для будущего США.

После этого доллар потеряет свое особое положение в мире. Финансовая ситуация в США медленно, но неуклонно ухудшается с 2000 года. Сейчас доллар является самой переоцененной валютой в мире и это делает его уязвимым.

Доллар всегда извлекал выгоду из обольстительного очарования своей безальтернативности, но теперь евро, юань, золото и криптовалюты стали альтернативой некогда непобедимому «зеленому». Поэтому нет сомнений, что на доллар, ставшим уязвимым для воздействий, надвигается настоящая катастрофа.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 8 октября 2020 11:34
    -3
    Какой кошмар!
    А состояние русских олигархов считают в баксах.... а не в рублях

    Страшно подумать, что тогда будет с рублем...в 21 году...с деньгами олигархов.... небось завтра все кинуться в рубли переводить, и по курсу сразу станет видно...
  2. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 8 октября 2020 11:52
    -5
    Как пел Высоцкий -

    Но что ей до меня - она была в Париже,
    И сам Марсель Марсо ей что-то говорил!


    Давайте лучше поговорим о Родине -

    Дефицит бюджета России за месяц вырос на 85%.
    Дефицит более чем 1,5 трлн руб. сложился в результате превышения расходов федерального бюджета над его доходами - 11,92 трлн против 10,399 трлн руб.

    https://www.rbc.ru/economics/12/08/2020/5f34061f9a7947e48902933d
  3. g1washntwn Офлайн g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 8 октября 2020 12:05
    +4
    Капец наступает не самому доллару, а пузырям которые раздуты чтоб он не рухнул с небес куда взобрался.
    Камнем не рухнут, но копчик пострадает так что сидеть будет некомфортно. Кто видел как сдутый воздушный шар тащит по земле корзину с воздухоплавателями? Вот примерно так, но тащить мордочкой о грешную Землю их будет сдутая до реального продукта экономика. (если, конечно не сгенерируют новую аферу планетраного масштаба или за неимением выбора не обнулят мир глобальной войной).
  4. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 8 октября 2020 16:52
    -2
    На этой неделе это уже третий капец доллара. Мне его даже стало жалко.
  5. Oleg Rambover Офлайн Oleg Rambover
    Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 октября 2020 18:07
    -1
    Что опять? Сколько можно.