Forbes: China became a US ally in the "oil war" against Russia


US President Donald Trump was probably very unpleasant to learn that in his "oil war" against Russia and Saudi Arabia an ally appeared in the person of China, writes the American magazine Forbes.


Over the past four months (May-August), Trump's fiercely criticized Beijing has bought more oil in the US than anyone else, according to information released October 6, 2020. Before that, the Chinese had never ranked first on the list of American oil importers for two consecutive months. Moreover, until May 2020, China was last in first place only in March 2018.

It was then that Trump launched a "trade war" against Beijing by increasing tariffs on Chinese goods. At the same time, Chinese leader Xi Jinping retaliated by increasing duties on US soybeans, which are mostly grown in states controlled by the Republican Party.

It's the same with oil. Most of the oil exported from the US is produced in Texas, which is a stronghold of the Republicans. The state has been hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic that caused economic crisis and collapse of demand for raw materials in the world. In addition, Moscow and Riyadh have flooded the world markets with their oil, trying to strip Washington of its status as the largest oil producer.

And then the Chinese came to the rescue, they pushed aside Canada, the traditional largest buyer, and became the largest importer of oil from the United States. In May 2020, with total U.S. trade down nearly 30% from May 2019, China bought more than $ 1 billion in U.S. oil, double what the Chinese had bought earlier in the year. In 2015, Canada accounted for 90% of all US oil exports, which amounted to only $ 8.82 billion.In 2019, the US exported $ 60,02 billion of oil.In August 2020, the US sold this crude for $ 4,2 billion.

The volume of oil supplies to Canada is growing, but the share of this country in the total structure of US exports is declining. In the period 2016-2019, it fell from 60 to 15,8%. For 8 months of 2020, it became a record low - 12,45%.

At the same time, in 2015, China accounted for about 0,25% of total US oil exports. But already in 2017, this figure rose to 19,17%. Then Trump launched a "trade war" with Beijing, after which China's share began to decline. In 2018, it was 11,27%, and in 2019 - 4,55%. For 8 months of 2020, China's share amounted to 10,29%, which for the first time puts Beijing and Ottawa on practically one line in the list of the largest importers of American oil.
  • Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Ky Ky Offline Ky Ky
    Ky Ky 10 October 2020 10: 05
    0
    Well, it's not quite that, China is progmatics - they don't put anything in one basket. So to speak, they created a base, "glued it to themselves" and they are already choosing where they feed tastier. Well, you see, the buns were from the United States, such as the sanctions moved or took an easy option.
    Everything is logical. And his ego - that everything in the world is being done because of Russia is better to remove. It's time to calm down. We ourselves are the biggest problem at the moment.
  2. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 10 October 2020 15: 06
    +1
    There is a dump of dollars - they get resources for the paper. Iran does not need dollars, the Saudis are under OPEC restrictions. Therefore, the best way to get rid of dollars is to buy everything in the US.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 10 October 2020 18: 04
    -1
    So if it's cheap, what not to buy then?
    Remember, in the news they wrote that they first bought from the Arabs. Then we have. Then again at the Arabs. Now at yus.

    It can be seen that there are storage containers, money does not smell, but the Chinese do not read with their weekly "kapets to the Arabs and the USA")))
  4. Semyon Semyonov_2 (Semyon Semyonov) 10 October 2020 22: 35
    -1
    China will never go with the Americans in the same team. NEVER.
  5. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 11 October 2020 17: 59
    0
    Quote: Oyo Sarkazmi
    There is a dump of dollars - they get resources for the paper. Iran does not need dollars, the Saudis are under OPEC restrictions. Therefore, the best way to get rid of dollars is to buy everything in the US.

    As humor? It's funny.
    The Americans have banned dollar deals with Iran. Iran is suffocating without currency, primarily the dollar.

Forbes: Китай стал союзником США в «нефтяной войне» против России


Президенту США Дональду Трампу, наверное, было очень неприятно узнать о том, что в его «нефтяной войне» против России и Саудовской Аравии появился союзник в лице Китая, пишет американский журнал Forbes.


По информации, опубликованной 6 октября 2020 года, за последние четыре месяца (май-август) Пекин, которого Трамп яростно критиковал, купил нефти в США больше, чем кто-либо еще. До этого китайцы никогда не занимали первое место в списке импортеров американской нефти два месяца подряд. Причем до мая 2020 года Китай последний раз был на первом месте лишь в марте 2018 года.

Именно тогда Трамп начал «торговую войну» против Пекина, увеличив пошлины на китайские товары. При этом китайский лидер Си Цзиньпин в качестве ответной меры увеличил пошлины на соевые бобы из США, которые в основном выращиваются в штатах, находящихся под контролем Республиканской партии.

С нефтью все обстоит точно также. Большая часть нефти, экспортируемой из США, добывается в Техасе, который является оплотом республиканцев. Штат сильно пострадал из-за пандемии COVID-19, вызвавшей экономический кризис и обвал спроса на сырье в мире. Кроме того, Москва и Эр-Рияд наполнили мировые рынки своей нефтью, пытаясь лишить Вашингтон статуса крупнейшего нефтедобытчика.

И тут на выручку пришли китайцы, они оттеснили Канаду, традиционного крупнейшего покупателя, и стали самым большим импортером нефти из США. В мае 2020 года, когда общий объем торговли США упал почти на 30% по сравнению с маем 2019 года, Китай купил американской нефти на более чем $1 млрд, что в два раза больше, чем китайцы приобретали раньше за год. В 2015 году на Канаду приходилось 90% всего экспорта нефти из США, который составлял всего $8.82 млрд. В 2019 году США экспортировали нефти на $60,02 млрд. В августе 2020 года США продали этого сырья на $4,2 млрд.

Объемы поставок нефти в Канаду растут, но доля этой страны в общей структуре американского экспорта снижается. В период 2016-2019 годов она упала с 60 до 15,8%. За 8 месяцев 2020 года она стала рекордно низкой – 12,45%.

При этом в 2015 году на долю Китая приходилось около 0,25% общего объема экспорта нефти из США. Но уже в 2017 году этот показатель поднялся до 19,17%. Затем Трамп начал «торговую войну» с Пекином, после чего доля Китая начала снижаться. В 2018 году она составила 11,27%, а в 2019 году – 4,55%. За 8 месяцев 2020 года доля Китая составила 10,29%, что впервые ставит Пекин и Оттаву практически на одну строчку в списке крупнейших импортеров американской нефти.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Ky Ky Офлайн Ky Ky
    Ky Ky 10 октября 2020 10:05
    0
    Ну тут не совсем то, Китай прогматики - они в одну корзину ничего не кладут. Так сказать, создали базу, её "приклеили к себе" и уже выбирают - где вкусней кормят. Ну и видать плюшки были от США, типа санкции двигали или принимали лёгкий вариант.
    Всё логично. А эго своё - что всё в мире делается из-за России лучше убрать. Пора успокоиться. Мы себе сами на данный момент самая большая проблема.
  2. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 10 октября 2020 15:06
    +1
    Идёт сброс долларов - получают ресурсы за бумагу. Ирану доллары не нужны, саудиты под ограничением ОПЕК. Поэтому лучший способ избавиться от долларов - покупать в США всё подряд.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 10 октября 2020 18:04
    -1
    Так если дешево, что не купить то?
    Помните , в новостях писали, что сначала скупили у арабов. Потом у нас. Потом опять у арабов. Теперь у юса.

    Видно, емкости для хранения есть, деньги не пахнут, а уря-сми с их еженедельным "капец арабам и США" китайцы не читают)))
  4. Семен Семенов_2 (Семен Семенов) 10 октября 2020 22:35
    -1
    Никогда Китай не пойдёт с омериканцами в одной упряжке.НИКОГДА.
  5. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 11 октября 2020 17:59
    0
    Цитата: Оё Сарказми
    Идёт сброс долларов - получают ресурсы за бумагу. Ирану доллары не нужны, саудиты под ограничением ОПЕК. Поэтому лучший способ избавиться от долларов - покупать в США всё подряд.

    На правах юмора? Смешно.
    Американцы запретили проводить долларовые сделки с Ираном. Иран задыхается без валюты, в первую очередь доллара.