The only Romanian nuclear power plant will be developed by the United States: greater control of nuclear energy in Eastern Europe


Washington is expanding its energy cooperation with Bucharest and Warsaw, writes the Polish Internet portal Energetyka24.


The US Department of Energy has informed the public that the head of the department Dan Bruyette and the economics, Energy and Environment of Romania Virgil Popescu initialed the draft intergovernmental agreement, which provides for the Romanian-American cooperation in the field of maintenance and completion of the Cernavoda nuclear power plant. The document provides for the participation of American specialists and of technologies during the construction of power units No. 3 and No. 4, as well as in the maintenance of the operating power unit No. 1, the only NPP in Romania.

According to Romania Insider, the Romanian government is going to hold a meeting with the President of Ex-Im Bank (US Export-Import Bank) Kimberly Reed to conclude an agreement to finance the development of the Cernavoda nuclear power plant. Ex-Im Bank is owned by the US federal government and provides loans on the international market. The approximate cost of the project is $ 8 billion.

In the near future, the Polish government will sign a similar intergovernmental agreement with the United States, which will provide for the development of a joint nuclear project. Back in 2019, Poland's Ambassador to the United States, Piotr Wilczek, announced that Warsaw expects the participation of American capital in the construction of the Polish nuclear power plant.

Note that Eastern Europe really needs electricity very much. But the United States' vigorous activity in this matter began only after the completion of the construction of power unit No. 1 of the Belarusian NPP. Washington is very much afraid of Moscow's further advance in this energy sector. Therefore, the United States decided to combine its economic and political interests in the region. Therefore, the United States is going to control the nuclear power industry in Eastern Europe to a greater extent, to make profit from this and to increase competition with Rosatom, which is engaged, for example, in the project of the Hungarian nuclear power plant Paks II.

At the same time, it is not clear from the Romanian-American agreement what will happen to the operating power unit No. 2 of the Cernavoda NPP, since nothing has been said about it at all. What reactors the United States is going to supply for power units 3 and 4 of this nuclear power plant is also not said.

It should also be recalled that in 1990, under pressure from the "democratic" and "ecological" public, Russophobes and other similar publics, the construction of the four-unit Zarnowiec NPP was solemnly and very "patriotically" stopped in northern Poland. At that time, the construction of the nuclear power plant had already been underway for 7 years, enormous money was spent on it, two power units were almost ready.

US interests do not stop with Poland and Romania. Recently Washington proposed Sofia has its own version of energy cooperation. Moreover, in Bulgaria, whose government is not very happy with this proposal, the Americans have someone protect US interests on the street.
  • Used photos: Bogdan / wikimedia.org
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 11 October 2020 16: 24
    +2
    The only Romanian nuclear power plant will be developed by the USA

    The same as the Fukushima nuclear power plant? They developed Fukushima.
  2. Semyon Semyonov_2 (Semyon Semyonov) 11 October 2020 17: 37
    0
    you need to drive them. (
  3. What is America? We have built this station, and we should develop it!
  4. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 12 October 2020 04: 28
    +1
    Do they still know how? What have they built in the last 25 years?
  5. oracul Offline oracul
    oracul (leonid) 12 October 2020 08: 12
    +1
    The usual tactic of the Anglo-Saxon hybrid war is to seize the initiative of Russia, where it appears with its own interests. We are hindered by slowness and confidence in our righteousness, which sooner or later will win. Alas! But this does not always work, time is wasted, and the United States simply buys the elite and turns it into Russophobes.

Единственную румынскую АЭС будут развивать США: больший контроль атомной энергетики Восточной Европы


Вашингтон расширяет энергетическое сотрудничество с Бухарестом и Варшавой, пишет польский интернет-портал Energetyka24.


Министерство энергетики США проинформировало общественность, что глава ведомства Дэн Бруйетт и министр экономики, энергии и окружающей среды Румынии Вирджил Попеску парафировали проект межправительственного соглашения, которое предусматривает румынско-американское сотрудничество в области техобслуживания и достройки АЭС Чернаводэ. Документ предусматривает участие американских специалистов и технологий при строительстве энергоблоков №3 и №4, а также в ТО действующего энергоблока №1, единственной в Румынии АЭС.

По данным Romania Insider, правительство Румынии собирается провести встречу с президентом Ex-Im Bank (Экспортно-импортный банк США) Кимберли Ридом для заключения договора о финансировании работ по развитию АЭС Чернаводэ. Ex-Im Bank принадлежит федеральному правительству США и выдает займы на международном рынке. Приблизительная стоимость проекта составляет $8 млрд.

В ближайшее время правительство Польши подпишет похожее межправсоглашение с США, которое будет предусматривать развитие совместного ядерного проекта. Еще в 2019 году посол Польши в США Петр Вильчек сообщил, что Варшава ожидает участия американского капитала в строительстве польской АЭС.

Заметим, что Восточная Европа действительно очень нуждается в электроэнергии. Но бурная активность США в этом вопросе началась лишь после окончания строительства энергоблока №1 Белорусской АЭС. В Вашингтоне очень боятся дальнейшего продвижения Москвы на этом энергетическом направлении. Поэтому США решили совместить свои экономические и политические интересы в регионе. Поэтому США собираются в большей мере контролировать атомную энергетику Восточной Европы, извлекать из этого прибыль и наращивать конкуренцию с Росатомом, который занят, например, в проекте венгерской АЭС Пакш-II.

При этом из румынско-американского соглашения не понятно, что будет с работающим энергоблоком №2 АЭС Чернаводэ, так как о нем вообще ничего не сказано. Какие реакторы США собираются поставить для энергоблоков №3 и №4 этой АЭС, тоже не говорится.

Нужно также напомнить, что в 1990 году под давлением «демократической» и «экологической» общественности, русофобов и другой похожей публики, на севере Польши было торжественно и очень «патриотично» остановлено строительство четырехблочной АЭС Жарновец. На тот момент строительство АЭС велось уже 7 лет, на него потратили колоссальные деньги, два энергоблока были практически готовы.

На Польше и Румынии интересы США не останавливаются. Недавно Вашингтон предложил Софии свой вариант энергетического сотрудничества. Причем в Болгарии, правительство которой не очень устраивает это предложение, у американцев есть кому защищать интересы США на улице.
  • Использованы фотографии: Bogdan/wikimedia.org
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 11 октября 2020 16:24
    +2
    Единственную румынскую АЭС будут развивать США

    Так же как АЭС "Фукусима" ? "Фукусиму" они развивали.
  2. Семен Семенов_2 (Семен Семенов) 11 октября 2020 17:37
    0
    гнать их надо.(
  3. Какая Америка? Мы эту станцию построили, нам и развивать!
  4. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 12 октября 2020 04:28
    +1
    А они еще умеют? Что они построили за последние лет 25?
  5. oracul Офлайн oracul
    oracul (леонид) 12 октября 2020 08:12
    +1
    Привычная тактика гибридной войны англосаксов: перехватить инициативу России , где она появляется со своими интересами. Нам мешает медлительность и уверенность в своей правоте, которая рано или поздно победит. Увы! Но это срабатывает не всегда, теряется время, а США просто покупает элиту и превращает её в русофобов.