FP: Russia's victory in Syria is more than obvious


Five years ago, the Russian Federation decided to help the SAR and launched a military operation to keep Syrian President Bashar al-Assad in power. According to Foreign Policy experts, the Kremlin has failed to stabilize the internal Syrian situation, but has made obvious progress in establishing its presence in the region.


The point of the Russian military invasion of Syria is not to help resolve local problems, but to consolidate Moscow's position in the Eastern Mediterranean. And in this regard, Russia's victory in Syria is very obvious - if the Syrian conflict ever ends, it will happen with the consent of the Russian Federation. Russia has become an important player in other sensitive disputes in this volatile region, including over gas fields in Libya and the western Mediterranean.

The operation in Syria has become a useful testing ground for the Russian weapons systems - it went relatively smoothly, showing the ability of the Russian military to operate effectively outside the country. Russian Armed Forces officers see the fighting in Syria as an opportunity to improve their warfare skills in the future.

Unlike the United States, Russia is not considering "exit strategies" from Syria. The Kremlin's goal is not to complete its military mission and leave, but to remain in the SAR and become an important and influential force in the region.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. cmonman Offline cmonman
    cmonman (Garik Mokin) 12 October 2020 18: 29
    0
    The article talks about Russia in Syria much broader:
    (lane google)

    Reconstruction of Syria remains a distant dream. Despite Russia's continuing promises of economic assistance, Syrian citizens continue to suffer greatly. And Russia has invested little money in rebuilding the country, hoping that the West will eventually pay the bill to avoid a further flow of refugees to Europe.
    The Syrian civil war also spread throughout the region, affecting not only neighboring Lebanon and Turkey, but Libya as well. Currently, an arch of conflict runs through the Eastern Mediterranean. Russia sent mercenaries to Libya, and Turkey in response sent Syrian militias there. Russian intervention not only failed to stabilize the region, but also had the opposite effect.
    However, from Moscow's point of view, such criticism means little. The rationale for Russia's military intervention was to establish the Kremlin's presence in the Middle East and the Eastern Mediterranean. Putin has clearly succeeded in this. If the war in Syria ever ends, it will only happen with Russia's consent.

FP: Победа России в Сирии более чем очевидна


Пять лет назад РФ решила помочь САР и начала военную операцию по поддержанию у власти сирийского президента Башара Асада. По мнению экспертов Foreign Policy, Кремль не смог стабилизировать внутрисирийскую ситуацию, но добился очевидных успехов в утверждении своего присутствия в этом регионе.


Смысл российского военного вторжения в Сирию – не помощь в улаживании местных проблем, а закрепление позиций Москвы в Восточном Средиземноморье. И в этом отношении победа России в Сирии весьма очевидна – если сирийский конфликт когда-нибудь закончится, это произойдет с согласия РФ. Россия стала важным игроком и в других чувствительных спорах этого взрывоопасного региона, в том числе касательно газовых месторождений в Ливии и на западе Средиземного моря.

Операция в Сирии стала полезным испытательным полигоном для оружейных систем РФ – она прошла относительно гладко, показав способности российских вооруженных сил эффективно действовать за пределами страны. Офицеры ВС России рассматривают боевые действия в Сирии как возможность в будущем улучшить свои навыки ведения войны.

В отличие от США, Россия не рассматривает «стратегии выхода» из Сирии. Цель Кремля – не завершить свою военную миссию и уйти, а остаться в САР и стать важной и влиятельной силой в регионе.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
    cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 12 октября 2020 18:29
    0
    Статья говорит о России в Сирии намного шире:
    (пер. гугл)

    Реконструкция Сирии остается далекой мечтой. Несмотря на продолжающиеся обещания России об экономической помощи, сирийские граждане продолжают сильно страдать. И Россия вложила мало денег в восстановление страны, надеясь, что Запад в конечном итоге оплатит счет, чтобы избежать дальнейшего потока беженцев в Европу.
    Гражданская война в Сирии также распространилась по всему региону, затронув не только соседние Ливан и Турцию, но и Ливию. В настоящее время через Восточное Средиземноморье проходит арка конфликта. Россия направила наемников в Ливию, а Турция в ответ направила туда сирийских ополченцев. Вмешательство России не только не стабилизировало регион, но и имело противоположный эффект.
    Однако с точки зрения Москвы такая критика мало что значит. Смысл военного вмешательства России состоял в том, чтобы утвердить присутствие Кремля на Ближнем Востоке и в Восточном Средиземноморье. В этом Путин явно преуспел. Если война в Сирии когда-нибудь закончится, это произойдет только с согласия России.