The Czech Republic refused to change the Soviet T-72 to the Polish PT-91, which angered Warsaw


The Czech Ministry of Defense has officially refused to purchase foreign tanks to upgrade its troops. At least until the end of the decade, the Czech military will use a modernized version of the Soviet T-72.


What was the reason for this decision and why did it make the Poles so angry? Let's figure it out.

The export version of the Soviet T-72M at one time accounted for 10% of all tanks in service with the Warsaw Pact countries. With the collapse of the bloc and the expansion of NATO to the East, many former allies of the USSR decided to "transfer" to German and Israeli military vehicles.

In practice, however, it turned out that combat missions are still better performed by the proven T-72 than the beautiful, but extremely expensive to operate "Leopard".

In addition, our tank has a huge upgrade potential. Only by installing new engines and fire control systems did the Europeans improve the characteristics of the Soviet combat vehicle over and over again. At the same time, the cost of the new Leopard is 6,5 million dollars, and the modernization of the Czech T-72M4 to similar combat capabilities costs about 1,5 million.

As for the Poles, they also upgraded their own T-72s to the PT-91 Twardy version and planned to export it to other Eastern European countries, but they turned down the price and could not withstand the competition.

Now Warsaw has seriously "invested" in the project of creating a European tank EMBT, a simplified version of which also intended to sell to neighbors. But here, it seems, will not work. The extensive modernization capabilities of the T-72 seriously undermine the plans of the Poles, so they are angry.

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 16 October 2020 20: 25
    +2
    They probably have seen enough of tank biathlon. And I offered to make cuts of tank biathlon and show it at all shows. And if the Germans and Americans had agreed to participate in these competitions, they would not have been able to sell their tanks to the Poles. Hooray! Russian weapons!
  2. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 16 October 2020 21: 35
    +4
    The Poles have not yet answered for the occupation of the Czech Republic.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 16 October 2020 22: 21
    0
    On the one hand, the Czechs are absolutely right. Why should they change one T72 for another T72? When they don't even border with Belarus? And they themselves will be able to modernize. It's okay to train tankers.

    On the other hand, not a single proof of "Poland's anger" has been presented. IMHO, invented on the go.
    When many people think about abandoning classic tanks, this is generally implausible.
  4. Danila46 Offline Danila46
    Danila46 (Daniel) 17 October 2020 12: 24
    +1
    Well, the Czechs know a lot about technology and mechanics. Especially in the military. They make excellent weapons themselves and sell them all over the world. Here's what puzzled me: when did the Czech Republic buy the Israeli Merkava ??? And other VD countries? According to the author, it was so, but () expensive ...

Чехия отказалась менять советские Т-72 на польские PT-91, чем разозлила Варшаву


Минобороны Чехии официально отказалось закупать иностранные танки для обновления своих войск. Как минимум до конца десятилетия чешские военные будут использовать модернизированную версию советского Т-72.


Что стало причиной принятия подобного решения и почему оно так разозлило поляков? Давайте разбираться.

Экспортная версия советского Т-72М в свое время составляла 10% от всех танков, стоящих на вооружении стран Варшавского договора. С распадом блока и расширением НАТО на Восток многие бывшие союзники СССР решили «пересесть» на немецкие и израильские боевые машины.

Однако на практике оказалось, что боевые задачи по-прежнему лучше выполняет проверенный Т-72, чем красивый, но чрезвычайно дорогой в эксплуатации «Леопард».

Кроме того, наш танк имеет огромный потенциал модернизации. Лишь установкой новых двигателей и систем управления огнем европейцы раз за разом улучшают характеристики советской боевой машины. При этом стоимость нового «Леопарда» составляет 6,5 млн долларов, а модернизация чешского Т-72М4 до аналогичных боевых возможностей обходится примерно в 1,5 млн.

Что касается поляков, они в свое время также модернизировали собственные Т-72 до версии PT-91 Twardy и планировали экспортировать его другим странам Восточной Европы, но загнули цену и не выдержали конкуренции.

Теперь же Варшава серьезно «вложилась» в проект создания европейского танка EMBT, упрощенную версию которого также намеревалась продавать соседям. Но и здесь, похоже, не выйдет. Широкие модернизационные возможности Т-72 серьезно подрывают планы поляков, вот они и злятся.

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 16 октября 2020 20:25
    +2
    Это наверное они танковый биатлон насмотрелись. А я предлагал делать нарезки танкового биатлона и показывать на всех шоу. А если бы немцы и американцы согласились бы участвовать в этих соревнованиях, то они бы свои танки и полякам продать бы не смогли. Ура! Русскому оружию!
  2. Буланов Онлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 16 октября 2020 21:35
    +4
    Поляки еще за оккупацию Чехии не ответили.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 16 октября 2020 22:21
    0
    С одной стороны, Чехи абсолюто правы. Нафиг им менять одни Т72 на другиеТ72 ? Когда они даже с Белорусией не граничат? А модернизировать и сами смогут. Тренировать танкистов сойдет и ладно.

    С другой стороны, ни одного доказательства "гнева Польши" так и не приведено. Имхо, выдумали на ходу.
    Когда многие подумывают об отказе от классических танков, это вообще неправдоподобно.
  4. данила46 Офлайн данила46
    данила46 (даниил) 17 октября 2020 12:24
    +1
    Ну, чехи толк в технике и механнике знают. Тем более в военной. Сами собственное оружие отличное делают и продают по миру. Меня вот что озадачило: когда Чехия купила израильскую Меркаву??? Да и другие страны ВД? По заявлению автора, это так и было, но () дорого...