Soviet MiG-25 versus American F-15: who was stronger in aerial combat?


The Soviet supersonic high-altitude twin-engine fighter-interceptor of the 3rd generation MiG-25 ("Flying Fox" - Foxbat) and the American all-weather fighter of the 4th generation F-15 (Eagle - "Eagle"), designed to gain air superiority, were the heaviest and most efficient aircraft of the Cold War era. In this regard, it is interesting to find out which of the mentioned fighters was stronger in air combat, writes the Military Watch publication from the USA.


Both aircraft are very different from each other. The heavy MiG-25, which weighed 34 tons, entered service with the USSR Air Force in 1970. It was armed with the R-40, the most powerful air-to-air missile at the time. These fighters could fly farther, higher and faster than all that existed before.

The United States Air Force acquired the 15-ton F-20 in 1976 to counter this threat. The American fighter used the shorter-range AIM-7 Sparrow air-to-air missiles, but this was offset by the longer range, powerful radar and short-range superiority, where the MiG-25 was weaker. After that, modifications of the 25th generation MiG-4PD / PDS appeared in the USSR Air Force, which undermined the superiority of the American F-15 and were able to withstand them on equal terms. And later the MiG-31 appeared in the USSR.

It should be noted that the MiG-25 of the USSR Air Force and the F-15 of the US Air Force have never participated in air battles against each other. At the same time, the lowest recorded characteristics of the MiG-25 were recorded in 1981 by the Syrian Air Force. Then the F-15 of the Israeli Air Force won an unconditional victory.

However, during Operation Desert Storm in 1991, the Iraqi Air Force MiG-25 fought against the F-15 of the US and Israeli Air Forces. Then the MiG-25 adequately opposed the F-15, despite the fact that these combat vehicles were made in the export version and were inferior in their characteristics to the original Soviet fighters. At the same time, the Iraqi Air Force MiG-25s were deprived of even basic AWACS support and could only rely on their own radars. In turn, the F-15 relied on all technological and the military strength of the US Armed Forces.

If the US Air Force had to face the USSR Air Force in aerial combat, everything would be completely different. The modernized MiG-25 would have a considerable advantage over the F-15 if they fought each other on equal terms (either they would both be original, or both export versions, as well as with or without AWACS support), the publication concluded.
  • Photos used: Alex Beltyukov - RuSpotters Team / wikimedia.org
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 17 October 2020 10: 57
    +3
    if they fought each other on equal terms

    In a war, no one fights on equal terms, almost. Each side is trying to create at least some advantage. Therefore, to win, you also need trained personnel, and not just a super duper technique.
  2. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 17 October 2020 11: 46
    +2
    - The MiG-25 did not have any electronic warfare station, but the electronic warfare station on the F-15 jammed the MiG-25 radar station tightly. Summary: there is absolutely nothing to catch on the MiG-25 front.
    1. Sergey Sfiedu Offline Sergey Sfiedu
      Sergey Sfiedu (Sergey Sfyedu) 17 October 2020 14: 07
      0
      The electronic warfare station could have been suspended, but the MiG-25P / PD / PDS was still not destroyed by the frontline. The Air Force did not even have them, there were only MiG-25 - reconnaissance bombers of various modifications.
  3. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 17 October 2020 13: 46
    +2
    interceptor of the 3rd generation MiG-25 ("Flying Fox" - Foxbat) and the American all-weather fighter of the 4th generation F-15 (Eagle - "Eagle"), designed to gain air superiority,

    The MiG-25 was never intended to achieve superiority. These were: interceptor (P, PDM, PDS, etc.), reconnaissance (R) and reconnaissance bomber (RB, RBN, etc.). R flew over Israel with Soviet pilots and could not do anything with them. F-15s did not fly over the USSR. The attempt by the Syrians to use 25 as front-line fighters unfortunately ended in failure. So no need to compare "flies and cutlets"
    1. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
      Michael1950 (Michael) 17 October 2020 16: 47
      -3
      R flew over Israel with Soviet pilots and could not do anything with them.

      - They never flew over Israel. Several flights were performed over the Bar-Leva Line - over the Suez Canal and two flights - over neutral waters, 12 miles off the coastline abeam Tel Aviv.
  4. _AMUHb_ Offline _AMUHb_
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 17 October 2020 20: 25
    +2
    ... "Are you talking about a goat? Are you saying a bearded goat?"

    https://zen.yandex.ru/media/russian7/kak-polet-sovetskogo-mig25-nad-telavivom-ostanovil-iadernuiu-voinu-5d1132ed70a11800afed5a9c
  5. delvin-fil Offline delvin-fil
    delvin-fil (Alex) 18 October 2020 07: 42
    0
    Quote: Michael1950
    - The MiG-25 did not have any electronic warfare station, but the electronic warfare station on the F-15 jammed the MiG-25 radar station tightly. Summary: there is absolutely nothing to catch on the MiG-25 front.

    What kind of aircraft are you talking about right now?
  6. bear040 Offline bear040
    bear040 18 October 2020 20: 39
    +4
    It is only officially that there were no battles between the MiG-25 and the F-15 during the Soviet era. In fact, they were, but for some reason they are still classified, although they have not been a secret for a long time. The MiG-25 was predictably good at high altitudes, where the F-15 had no advantage; at medium and low altitudes, the advantage passed to the F-15. The battles ended in a draw, 2/2.
  7. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 18 October 2020 22: 44
    0
    Quote: _AMUHb_
    https://zen.yandex.ru/media/russian7/kak-polet-sovetskogo-mig25-nad-telavivom-ostanovil-iadernuiu-voinu-5d1132ed70a11800afed5a9c

    - No need to collect stupidity on different sites ...
  8. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 18 October 2020 22: 47
    -2
    Quote: bear040
    It is only officially that there were no battles between the MiG-25 and the F-15 during the Soviet era. In fact, they were, but for some reason they are still classified, although they have not been a secret for a long time. The MiG-25 was predictably good at high altitudes, where the F-15 had no advantage; at medium and low altitudes, the advantage passed to the F-15. The battles ended in a draw, 2/2.

    - "Fights" ended 2: 0, the victory of the Israeli F-15. No "2: 2" has ever happened anywhere. From that moment on, the Syrians no longer ventured into the Israeli sky - neither on the MiG-25, nor on anything else.
  9. Michael I Offline Michael I
    Michael I (Michael I) 27 October 2020 07: 46
    -1
    However, during Operation Desert Storm in 1991, the Iraqi Air Force MiG-25 fought against the US Air Force F-15 and Israel... Then the MiG-25 adequately opposed the F-15

    Israel took part in Desert Storm?
    How did the MiG stand up to the F-15 with dignity? How many did you manage to shoot down?
    How can you write such nonsense without providing minimal evidence?

Советский МиГ-25 против американского F-15: кто был сильнее в воздушном бою?


Советский сверхзвуковой высотный двухдвигательный истребитель-перехватчик 3-го поколения МиГ-25 («Летучая лисица» – Foxbat) и американский всепогодный истребитель 4-го поколения F-15 (Eagle – «Орел»), предназначенный для завоевания превосходства в воздухе, представляли собой самые тяжелые и боеспособные самолеты эпохи «холодной войны». В связи с этим интересно выяснить, какой из упомянутых истребителей был сильнее в воздушном бою, пишет издание Military Watch из США.


Оба самолета сильно отличаются друг от друга. Тяжелый МиГ-25, весивший 34 тонны, поступил на вооружение ВВС СССР в 1970 году. Он был вооружен самыми мощными на то время ракетами класса «воздух-воздух» Р-40. Эти истребители могли летать дальше, выше и быстрее всех существовавших до этого.

ВВС США обзавелись F-15, весом в 20 тонн, в 1976 году для противостояния этой угрозе. Американский истребитель использовал менее дальнобойные ракеты класса «воздух-воздух» AIM-7 Sparrow, но это компенсировалось большей дальностью полета, мощной РЛС и превосходством на коротких дистанциях, где МиГ-25 был слабее. После этого в ВВС СССР появились модификации МиГ-25ПД/ПДС 4-го поколения, которые подорвали превосходство американских F-15 и смогли противостоять им на равных. А позже в СССР появился МиГ-31.

Нужно отметить, что МиГ-25 ВВС СССР и F-15 ВВС США никогда не участвовали в воздушных боях друг против друга. При этом самые низкие зарегистрированные характеристики МиГ-25 были зафиксированы в 1981 году у ВВС Сирии. Тогда F-15 ВВС Израиля одержали безоговорочную победу.

Однако во время операции «Буря в пустыне» в 1991 году МиГ-25 ВВС Ирака воевали против F-15 ВВС США и Израиля. Тогда МиГ-25 достойно противостояли F-15 несмотря на то, что эти боевые машины были выполнены в экспортном варианте и уступали по своим характеристикам оригинальным советским истребителям. При этом МиГ-25 ВВС Ирака были лишены даже базовой поддержки ДРЛО и могли полагаться только на собственные РЛС. В свою очередь, F-15 полагались на всю технологическую и военную мощь ВС США.

Если бы ВВС США в воздушных боях пришлось столкнуться с ВВС СССР, все было бы совершенно иначе. Модернизированные МиГ-25 имели бы немалое преимущество перед F-15, если бы они сражались друг с другом на равных условиях (либо они оба были бы оригинальными, либо оба экспортными вариантами, а также с наличием либо отсутствием поддержки ДРЛО), подытожило издание.
  • Использованы фотографии: Alex Beltyukov - RuSpotters Team/wikimedia.org
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 17 октября 2020 10:57
    +3
    если бы они сражались друг с другом на равных условиях

    На войне на равных никто не сражается, почти. Каждая сторона пытается создать хоть какое то преимущество. Поэтому для победы надо ещё и подготовленные кадры, а не только супер пупер техника.
  2. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 17 октября 2020 11:46
    +2
    - У МиГ-25 не было никакой станции РЭБ, а вот станция РЭБ на F-15 глушила БРЛС МиГ-25 наглухо. Резюме: на фронте МиГ-25 "нечего ловить" абсолютно.
    1. Сергей Сфыеду (Сергей Сфыеду) 17 октября 2020 14:07
      0
      Станцию РЭБ можно было и подвесить наверно, но МиГ-25П/ПД/ПДС все равно не фронтовые истребили. В составе ВВС их и не было, были только МиГ-25 - разведчики-бомбардировщики разных модификаций.
  3. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 17 октября 2020 13:46
    +2
    перехватчик 3-го поколения МиГ-25 («Летучая лисица» – Foxbat) и американский всепогодный истребитель 4-го поколения F-15 (Eagle – «Орел»), предназначенный для завоевания превосходства в воздухе,

    МиГ-25 никогда не предназначался для завоевания превосходства. Это были: перехватчик (П, ПДМ, ПДС и т.д), разведчик (Р) и разведчик- бомбардировщик (РБ, РБН и т.д.). Р с советскими летчиками летали над Израилем и с ними ничего сделать не могли. F-15 над СССР не летали. Попытка сирийцев использовать 25 в качестве фронтовых истребителей к сожалению кончилась плачевно. Так что не надо сравнивать "мухи и котлеты"
    1. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
      Michael1950 (Michael) 17 октября 2020 16:47
      -3
      Р с советскими летчиками летали над Израилем и с ними ничего сделать не могли.

      - Над Израилем они не летали никогда. Несколько полётов было выполнено над "Линией Бар-Лева" - над Суэцким каналом и два полёта - над нейтральными водами, в 12 милях от береговой черты на траверзе Тель-Авива.
  4. _AMUHb_ Онлайн _AMUHb_
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 17 октября 2020 20:25
    +2
    ..."козёл говоришь? бородатый говоришь?"...не летали говоришь?

    https://zen.yandex.ru/media/russian7/kak-polet-sovetskogo-mig25-nad-telavivom-ostanovil-iadernuiu-voinu-5d1132ed70a11800afed5a9c
  5. delvin-fil Офлайн delvin-fil
    delvin-fil (Alex) 18 октября 2020 07:42
    0
    Цитата: Michael1950
    - У МиГ-25 не было никакой станции РЭБ, а вот станция РЭБ на F-15 глушила БРЛС МиГ-25 наглухо. Резюме: на фронте МиГ-25 "нечего ловить" абсолютно.

    А вы щас о каких самолетах то?
  6. медведь040 Офлайн медведь040
    медведь040 18 октября 2020 20:39
    +4
    Это только официально боев между МиГ-25 и Ф-15 во времена СССР не было. На самом деле они были,но отчего то засекречены до сих пор,хотя,секретом давно не являются. МиГ-25 предсказуемо был хорош на больших высотах,где преимущества у Ф-15 не было,на средних и малых высотах преимущество переходило к Ф-15. Бои закончились в ничью, 2/2.
  7. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 18 октября 2020 22:44
    0
    Цитата: _AMUHb_
    https://zen.yandex.ru/media/russian7/kak-polet-sovetskogo-mig25-nad-telavivom-ostanovil-iadernuiu-voinu-5d1132ed70a11800afed5a9c

    - Не надо глупости по разным сайтам собирать...
  8. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 18 октября 2020 22:47
    -2
    Цитата: медведь040
    Это только официально боев между МиГ-25 и Ф-15 во времена СССР не было. На самом деле они были,но отчего то засекречены до сих пор,хотя,секретом давно не являются. МиГ-25 предсказуемо был хорош на больших высотах,где преимущества у Ф-15 не было,на средних и малых высотах преимущество переходило к Ф-15. Бои закончились в ничью, 2/2.

    - "Бои" закончились 2:0, победой израильских F-15. Никаких "2:2" никогда и нигде не бывало. С того момента сирийцы больше не рисковали соваться в израильское небо - ни на МиГ-25, ни на чём другом.
  9. Михаил Я Офлайн Михаил Я
    Михаил Я (Михаил Я) 27 октября 2020 07:46
    0
    Однако во время операции «Буря в пустыне» в 1991 году МиГ-25 ВВС Ирака воевали против F-15 ВВС США и Израиля. Тогда МиГ-25 достойно противостояли F-15

    Израиль принимал участие в Буря в пустыне?
    Каким образом МиГ достойно противостоял Ф-15? Сколько удалось сбить?
    Как можно писать такой бред, не предоставив минимальных доказательств?