American press: the United States will have to strain in the information war against Russia and China


Before the current election of the head of the American state, the power of the disinformation machines of Moscow and Beijing has greatly increased, so Washington will have to strain pretty hard in the ongoing information war in order not to lose, writes the Foreign Policy magazine from the United States.


The influence of Russian and Chinese propagandists is growing, so it is time for the US to strike back at them. Washington should take advantage technological achievements and the most powerful national security system on the planet, using both of these factors at the same time.

Fake information attacks on social media have reached such a level that 4 out of 5 Americans are concerned that the spread of information about the COVID-19 pandemic and protests in the United States could significantly affect the results of these elections. This has become an unconventional method of influencing American voters. Moreover, Washington does not yet have a clear strategy on how to counteract this phenomenon.

Over the past two decades, the information space has become a major battleground. The impact of information weapons can lead to the fact that the attacked country will lose the ability to respond promptly and adequately to what is happening, including external threats. And disinformation is a key element of this strategy, but not the only one.

Russia and China are actively experimenting with both defensive and offensive information campaigns. In the hands of Moscow and Beijing, they have become instruments of internal control and external policy... Therefore, the United States needs to take three important steps.

First, Washington must begin to treat disinformation as it does any other threat to national security. The simple destruction of suspicious accounts and publications will not force propagandists to back down. Moscow and Beijing are able to hire an unlimited number of "trolls" much faster than the US can react. Therefore, new technological solutions (automatic search engines) are needed that can identify massive accumulations of accounts and content on digital media platforms.

Secondly, Washington must realize that disinformation will become an essential element of political and economic life in the United States throughout the COVID-2019 pandemic. Therefore, it is necessary to create a special and open portal that would allow individuals and legal entities to easily establish where this or that content originally appeared and how it reached your device. This is extremely important, since fakes initially appear on unreliable sources of information, and then they are picked up by more serious and trustworthy media outlets.

Third, there is a need to develop public-private partnerships in the United States. It is necessary to help the military as soon as possible to develop and commission new equipment, including in the field of artificial intelligence. Washington must adopt a more comprehensive approach to the technology race that is shaping our current information warfare competition with Moscow and Beijing.
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 17 October 2020 19: 46
    +1
    American democracy in all its glory: connect artificial intelligence to massively block opponents ...
    1. beeper Offline beeper
      beeper 17 October 2020 23: 24
      +1
      Quote: GRF
      American democracy in all its glory: connect artificial intelligence to massively block opponents ...

      hi Well, "American democracy" is modern fascism! USA is a neo-colonial aggressor power! And her methods are appropriate, combined with previously unthinkable total global surveillance, even of her own citizens!
      And for the “dissidents”, these fascist “democracies” have learned to “shut their mouths”, tightly under the hypocritical slogans of “freedom of speech”, worse than any “dictatorial regime”!
      But out of themselves these hardened "wolves in sheep's clothing" are building a sort of innocent "squirrel girl", manneredly "frightened" and "suspecting" that Russia and China are not involved in the "attacks" of their own meanings!
      After all after years of Senate "investigation" of the past allegedly "Russian interference in the presidential elections," the Americans have not presented any facts or evidence of their sweeping accusations! request
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 18 October 2020 12: 14
    +1
    The main thing is forgotten, the fundamental state of citizens in the state, if citizens live sufficiently well off in everything, from rights to living conditions, then it is significantly difficult for someone else's propaganda to act ... Therefore, the main thing is to raise the standard of living of Russians, then propaganda will become secondary, which is today this is not seen in Russia ...

Американская пресса: США придётся напрячься в информационной войне против России и Китая


Перед нынешними выборами главы американского государства мощность машин дезинформации Москвы и Пекина сильно возросла, поэтому Вашингтону придется изрядно напрячься в идущей информационной войне, чтобы не проиграть, пишет журнал Foreign Policy из США.


Воздействие российских и китайских пропагандистов растет, поэтому настало время США нанести по ним удар в ответ. Вашингтон должен воспользоваться технологическими достижениями и самой сильной на планете системой обеспечения национальной безопасности, задействовав оба эти фактора одновременно.

Фейковые информационные атаки в социальных сетях достигли такого уровня, что 4 из 5 американцев обеспокоены тем, что распространяемые сведения о пандемии COVID-19 и протестах в США могут значительно повлиять на результаты этих выборов. Это стало нетрадиционным методом воздействия на американских избирателей. Причем у Вашингтона пока вообще нет ясной стратегии, как противодействовать этому явлению.

За два последних десятилетия информационное пространство стало основным полем битвы. Воздействие информационного оружия может приводить к тому, что страна, подвергшаяся атаке, потеряет способность своевременно и адекватно реагировать на происходящее, включая внешние угрозы. И дезинформация – ключевой элемент данной стратегии, но не единственный.

Россия и Китай активно экспериментируют как с оборонительными, так и наступательными информационными кампаниями. В руках Москвы и Пекина они стали инструментами осуществления внутреннего контроля и проведения внешней политики. Поэтому США нужно сделать три важных шага.

Во-первых, Вашингтон должен начать относиться к дезинформации так же, как и к любой другой угрозе национальной безопасности. Простое уничтожение подозрительных аккаунтов и публикаций не заставит пропагандистов отступить. Москва и Пекин в состоянии нанять неограниченное количество «троллей» гораздо быстрее, чем в США успеют отреагировать. Поэтому нужны новые технологические решения (автоматические поисковые системы), которые смогут идентифицировать массовые скопления аккаунтов и контента на цифровых медийных платформах.

Во-вторых, в Вашингтоне должны осознать, что дезинформация станет важнейшим элементом политической и экономической жизни США на всем протяжении пандемии COVID-2019. Поэтому необходимо создать специальный и открытый портал, который позволил бы физическим и юридическим лицам легко устанавливать, где изначально появился тот или иной контент и как он достиг вашего устройства. Это крайне важно, поскольку изначально фейки появляются на ненадежных источниках информации, а потом их подхватывают более серьезные и заслуживающие доверие СМИ.

В-третьих, нужно развивать отношения партнерства между государственным и частным секторами в США. Необходимо помочь военным как можно скорее разработать и ввести в строй новое оборудование, в том числе в области искусственного интеллекта. В Вашингтоне должны принять на вооружение более комплексный подход к технологической гонке, которой определяется наше нынешнее соревнование в области информационной войны с Москвой и Пекином.
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 17 октября 2020 19:46
    +1
    Американская демократия во всей своей красе: подключить искусственный интеллект для массовой блокировки оппонентов...
    1. пищак Офлайн пищак
      пищак 17 октября 2020 23:24
      +1
      Цитата: GRF
      Американская демократия во всей своей красе: подключить искусственный интеллект для массовой блокировки оппонентов...

      hi Ну так, "американская демократия"-это современный фашизм! США-неоколониальная держава-агрессор! И методы у неё соответствующие, сочетающиеся с немыслимой прежде тотальной глобальной слежкой, даже за собственными гражданами!
      А уж "инакомыслящим" эти фаши-"демократики" ещё как научились "рот затыкать", намертво-под лицемерными лозунгами "свободы слова", похлеще любого "диктаторского режима"!
      Но из себя эти матёрые "волки в овечьей шкуре" строят этакую невинную "девочку-белочку", манерно "пугаясь" и "подозревая" в собственных же подлостях непричастные к "атакам" Россию и Китай!
      Ведь после многолетнего сенатского "расследования" прошлого якобы "российского вмешательства в президентские выборы" американцы так и НЕ представили никаких фактов и доказательств своих огульных обвинений! request
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 18 октября 2020 12:14
    +1
    Забывается главное, фундаментальное состояние граждан в государстве, если граждане живут достаточно обеспечены во всём, от прав до жизненных условий, тогда чужой пропаганде существенно затрудненено действовать... По сему главным, поднимать уровень жизни россиян, тогда и пропаганда станет вторичной, что на сегодня такого не видится в России...