Oilprice: Russia and Saudi Arabia are trapped in their own "oil game"


In April 2020, 23 OPEC + countries agreed on a new deal, which should be valid until April 2022. But the situation in the global oil market indicates growing tensions within OPEC +, which could lead to a split and termination of the agreement, writes the American Internet publication OilPrice.


When the agreement was concluded, contradictions and disagreements between the main oil producers, Russia and Saudi Arabia, were contained by the COVID-19 pandemic and the crisis caused by it, which led to a drop in demand for raw materials in the world, collapsing prices and overflowing oil storage facilities. However, Moscow and Riyadh have fallen into the trap of their own “oil game”.

There is some optimism on the stock exchanges now and crude oil prices are forecast to rise in 2021. This is even indicated in the IEA World Energy 2020 Report. But the reality is much darker.

The pandemic has not gone anywhere. Therefore, there is a real threat of the resumption of total quarantine measures around the world. For a while, stimulating financial "injections" from governments helped keep economies afloat. But the outlook remains bleak as unemployment continues to rise. This will lead to a drop in oil demand again.

OPEC + looks at what is happening differently. For example, Saudi Arabia, Russia and a number of other countries are planning to start producing more oil. So far, the commitments to cut production are being fulfilled, and another price war has not begun. But the threat is real.

Whatever Moscow and Riyadh do now, the markets will react poorly. Therefore, they are guaranteed damage. Countries like Russia and Saudi Arabia may be on the brink of financial ruin. The scale is difficult to predict, but if markets do not recover quickly, these countries face serious problems as they depend on oil exports.

Given this, Russia and Saudi Arabia may find themselves in such a situation that they will be forced to play each for himself. Riyadh has already said that the kingdom is "fed up with speculators" playing for lower oil prices.

The situation is also influenced by the ongoing transformation of energy consumption in the world. Moving away from fossil fuels has already begun to address weaknesses in the oil, gas and energy industries. Therefore, Moscow and Riyadh will have to fight for survival according to the theory of Charles Darwin.

Saudi Arabia has already announced that it wants to remain the last oil producer in the world, i.e. "Sole survivor". This should not be neglected, the “glove will be thrown” in the coming months and the markets should be ready for this.
  • Photos used: https://www.flickr.com/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 18 October 2020 12: 08
    -1
    Another American prediction -

    Countries like Russia and Saudi Arabia may be on the brink of financial collapse.

    It would be better if they wrote oil price tags about their oil industry, maybe then there would be less guesswork - maybe - it cannot.
    and the smiling smiles sprinkled less gloomy colors ...
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 18 October 2020 12: 10
    0
    Moscow and Riyadh will have to fight for survival according to the theory of Charles Darwin

    So allegorically, the American reader is conveyed the idea that the Texas revolutionaries in shale have dropped out of this competition.
  3. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 18 October 2020 15: 27
    +1
    It's funny. Not so long ago it was written that the Saudis are running out of oil, and now they will become the last and only ones. Confusion and vacillation in the infospace - what to believe?

Oilprice: Россия и Саудовская Аравия попали в ловушку собственной «нефтяной игры»


В апреле 2020 года 23 страны ОПЕК+ договорились о новой сделке, которая должна действовать до апреля 2022 года. Но обстановка на мировом рынке нефти указывает на растущую напряженность внутри ОПЕК+, что может привести к расколу и прекращению соглашения, пишет американское интернет-издание OilPrice.


Когда заключалось соглашение, противоречия и разногласия между основными нефтедобытчиками, Россией и Саудовской Аравией, сдерживались пандемией COVID-19 и вызванным ею кризисом, который привел к падению спроса на сырье в мире, обрушению цен и переполнению хранилищ с нефтью. Однако Москва и Эр-Рияд попали в ловушку собственной «нефтяной игры».

Сейчас на биржах присутствует некоторый оптимизм и прогнозируется рост цен на сырую нефть в 2021 году. Об этом даже указывается в докладе МЭА (IEA) World Energy 2020 Report. Но реальность значительно более мрачная.

Пандемия никуда не делась. Поэтому существует реальная угроза возобновления тотальных карантинных мер по всему миру. На некоторое время стимулирующие финансовые «инъекции» правительств, способствовали удержанию экономик на плаву. Но перспектива по-прежнему выглядит безрадостно, поскольку безработица продолжает расти. Это снова приведет к падению спроса на нефть.

В ОПЕК+ смотрят на происходящее иначе. Например, в Саудовской Аравии, России и ряде других стран планируют начать добывать больше нефти. Пока обязательства по сокращению добычи выполняются, и очередная ценовая война не началась. Но угроза реальна.

Чтобы сейчас не предприняли Москва и Эр-Рияд, рынки будут реагировать слабо. Поэтому их гарантировано ждет ущерб. Такие страны, как Россия и Саудовская Аравия, могут оказаться на грани финансового краха. Масштабы предсказать сложно, но, если рынки не восстановятся быстро, эти страны ждут серьезные проблемы, ведь они зависят от экспорта нефти.

Учитывая это, Россия и Саудовская Аравия могут оказаться в такой ситуации, что будут вынуждены играть каждый сам за себя. Эр-Рияд уже заявил, что королевство «сыто по горло спекулянтами», играющими на понижение цен на нефть.

На обстановку также влияет начавшаяся трансформация энергопотребления в мире. Отказ от использования ископаемого топлива уже начал устранять слабые звенья в нефтегазовой и энергетической отраслях. Поэтому Москве и Эр-Рияду придется бороться за выживание согласно теории Чарлза Дарвина.

Саудовская Аравия уже заявила, что хочет остаться последним нефтедобытчиком в мире, т.е. «единственным выжившим». Этим не стоит пренебрегать, вероятно, «перчатка будут брошена» в ближайшие месяцы и рынки должны быть готовы к этому.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.flickr.com/
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 18 октября 2020 12:08
    -1
    Очередное Американское предсказание -

    Такие страны, как Россия и Саудовская Аравия, могут оказаться на грани финансового краха.

    Лучше б про свою нефтянку писали нефтяные ценники, авось тогда б было меньше гаданий - может - не может.
    да и мрачными красками поменьше брызгали улыбчивые ...
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 18 октября 2020 12:10
    0
    Москве и Эр-Рияду придется бороться за выживание согласно теории Чарлза Дарвина

    Так иносказательно до американского читателя доносят мысль, что техасские революционеры в сланцах из данного соревнования выбыли.
  3. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 18 октября 2020 15:27
    +1
    Забавно. Не так давно писалось о том, что у саудитов нефть заканчивается, а теперь - они станут последними и единственными. В инфопространстве разброд и шатание - чему верить?