Russia uses formidable Cold War weapons to guard Crimea


The Russian Armed Forces use for the defense of Crimea a powerful anti-ship coastal defense system "Utes", which was put into service in the late 50s as the first such complex of the Soviet Navy, writes The Drive.


Recently, rocket firing took place with the participation of the Navy frigate "Admiral Grigorovich" - the lead ship of its class, and the Sevastopol battery "Utes". During the exercise, the 3M44 Progress anti-ship missile was launched from the coastal complex and then successfully intercepted by the frigate's air defense systems from a distance of more than 6,2 miles (1 nautical mile - 1,852 km).

Launched from the Cliff, the 3M44 was shot down by the Shtil air defense missile, known in NATO as the SA-N-7C Gollum. The 9M317M rocket is an improved version of the ammunition used in the Buk ground-based mobile anti-aircraft missile system.

For safety reasons, the naval training ground in the waters of Sevastopol, where the live-fire exercises were held, was closed to other sea vessels - the area of ​​maneuvers was patrolled by more than 10 warships and auxiliary vessels of the Black Sea Fleet.


While these exercises showcase the latest Russian weapons, they also underscore the enduring importance of the Utes system, a formidable Cold War weapon, to guard the Crimean peninsula.

Recently, the latest mobile anti-missile systems "Bastion-P" and "Ball" have begun to be used for the defense of Crimea - they were used during the recent "Kavkaz-2020" maneuvers. Compared to the aging Utes system, Bastion-P and Bal are more difficult to detect - these complexes are capable of quickly launching their solid-propellant missiles and then quickly moving to another location. They can receive target data from a variety of sources, including unmanned aerial vehicles, which was also practiced during the Caucasus 2020 exercise.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 19 October 2020 11: 11
    0
    This is how old missiles should be disposed of. How else to train personnel and test the latest weapons? But it's nice that the rocket of the 50s is still combat-ready.
    1. Rum rum Offline Rum rum
      Rum rum (Rum rum) 19 October 2020 17: 18
      0
      The complex was built in the late 50s, and the missiles are there at the end of the 80s, also modernized. And not modernized ones are used as targets.
    2. Sapsan136 Online Sapsan136
      Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 20 October 2020 20: 28
      +3
      The author writes rotten, frankly confusing the Sopka anti-ship missile system, created on the basis of the MiG-15 (development began under Stalin), with the Progress anti-ship missile system, which was put into service in 1982. Crimean stationary coastal installations use Progress anti-ship missiles with a firing range of up to 460 km, the rocket has increased noise immunity (for its time)
  2. The comment was deleted.
  3. John Hart Offline John Hart
    John Hart (John Hart) 21 October 2020 00: 45
    -2
    The Soviet more or less works, but the modern zilch, where this su57 is in the troops where c500 prometheus where the boats are where the armats, at parades and then stall, the su57 has already collapsed without getting into service, the shells have already collapsed like nuts snapping bayraktars and tp c300 iai click and, most importantly, all the money wasted , although why did they get lost on Western accounts if WikiLeaks is not lying)

Россия использует грозное оружие времен «холодной войны» для охраны Крыма


Вооруженные силы России используют для обороны Крыма мощную противокорабельную систему береговой обороны «Утес», принятую на вооружение еще в конце 50-х годов прошлого века в качестве первого подобного комплекса ВМФ СССР, пишет The Drive.


Недавно проходили ракетные стрельбы с участием фрегата ВМФ «Адмирал Григорович» – головного корабля своего класса, и севастопольской батареи «Утес». В ходе учений с берегового комплекса была запущена противокорабельная ракета 3М44 «Прогресс» и затем успешно перехвачена системами ПВО фрегата с расстояния более 6,2 мили (1 морская миля – 1,852 км).

Пущенная с «Утеса» 3М44 была сбита ракетой системы ПВО «Штиль», известной в НАТО как SA-N-7C Gollum. Ракета 9М317М – усовершенствованная версия боеприпаса, используемого в наземном мобильном зенитно-ракетном комплексе «Бук».

В целях безопасности морской полигон в водах Севастополя, на котором проходили учения с боевой стрельбой, был закрыт для других морских судов – район маневров патрулировали более 10 боевых кораблей и вспомогательных судов Черноморского флота.


Хотя эти учения демонстрируют новейшие российские вооружения, они также подчеркивают непреходящую важность системы «Утес» – этого грозного оружия времен «холодной войны», для охраны Крымского полуострова.

В последнее время для обороны Крыма начали применять и новейшие мобильные противоракетные системы «Бастион-П» и «Бал» – они использовались во время недавних маневров «Кавказ-2020». По сравнению со стареющей системой «Утес», «Бастион-П» и «Бал» труднее обнаружить – эти комплексы способны оперативно запускать свои твердотопливные ракеты и затем быстро перемещаться в другое место. Они могут получать данные о целях из самых разных источников, включая беспилотные летательные аппараты, что также практиковалось в ходе учений «Кавказ-2020».
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 19 октября 2020 11:11
    0
    Вот так и надо утилизировать старые ракеты. А как ещё тренировать личный состав и проверять новейшее оружие? Но приятно, что ракета 50-х годов ещё боеспособна.
    1. Ром Ром Офлайн Ром Ром
      Ром Ром (Ром Ром) 19 октября 2020 17:18
      0
      Комплекс построен в конце 50х, а ракеты там стоят конца 80х, еще и модернизированные. А не модернизированные используют как мишени.
    2. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
      Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 20 октября 2020 20:28
      +3
      Автор пишет тухляк,откровенно путая ПКР Сопка,созданную на базе МиГ-15 ( разработка началась еще при Сталине ) с ПКР Прогресс принятой на вооружение в 1982 году. Крымские стационарные береговые установки используют ПКР Прогресс с дальностью стрельбы до 460 км,ракета имеет повышенную помехозащищенность ( для своего времени)
  2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Джон Харт Офлайн Джон Харт
    Джон Харт (Джон Харт) 21 октября 2020 00:45
    -2
    Советское более менее работает а современное пшик, где этот су57 в войсках где с500 прометей где лодки где арматы, на парадах и то глохнут, су57 не встав в строй уже рухнул панцири как орехи щелкают байрактары и тп с300 iai щелкают а главное и деньги все профукали, хотя почему профукали вон они на западных счетах если викиликс не врет)