The largest strategic kaolin deposit has been discovered in Russia


The largest kaolin deposit in the country was discovered in the Orenburg region. This is an important event for Russia, as this raw material is of strategic importance.


After the collapse of the USSR, we had to buy "white clay" in Ukraine, where there are huge reserves of it. We also have kaolin, but it is of lower quality.

Annually Russia was forced to import hundreds of thousands of tons of "white clay" from Ukraine. Indeed, this raw material is necessary for the production of: ceramics, fabrics, rubber, plastics, paper, etc. Moreover, in the process of making paper, it is precisely high quality kaolin that is required.

And now, as it became known, geological work is being completed in the Orenburg region, which already confirms the discovery of the largest Russian deposit of high-quality kaolin with reserves of 400 million tons, which in the future will make it possible to abandon the purchase of Ukrainian raw materials for about 1000 years.

However, this is not all. The discovery of the above-mentioned deposit could have a positive effect on the aluminum industry as well. The production of this metal requires alumina, which is obtained from bauxite. We have to buy the latter abroad, in particular, in Africa, Australia and Brazil. But what if we could use white clay instead of bauxite?

Since 2012, domestic institutes have been working on this together with the Rusala research center. To date technology completely ready. Moreover, it has significant advantages over traditional methods of producing alumina.
So, for the production of 1 ton of raw materials, only 3 tons of "white clay" will be required against 4,5 tons of ore in the case of the traditional method. In addition, the new technology allows you to burn less fuel and, along the way, obtain other demanded products from kaolin.

Now on the territory of the Achinsk Alumina Refinery, it is planned to open a pilot site for the production of alumina from kaolin. Later, a full-fledged plant with a capacity of 1 million tons will start operating here. At the same time, it is possible that such production will appear at the field itself in the Orenburg region.

  • Used photographs: Reinhard Jahn / wikimedia.org
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 23 October 2020 19: 13
    0
    And the hole in the photo, what's this?
    1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
      Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 23 October 2020 19: 46
      +1
      Career. I recommend to go to Zheleznogorsk - there is a gorgeous observation deck next to the quarry.
  2. Cudgel Offline Cudgel
    Cudgel (Dubina) 23 October 2020 20: 37
    -9
    This is news from the agitation "Time Forward!", Then the dashing tone of the article is clear! A little earlier on this site they found colossal reserves of Gold! What other mega-discovery of stocks of something valuable will we soon hear?
    Putin is preparing his fans for the depreciation of the ruble with such furious positive news. Before the pension reform, Putin's weapon cartoons were shown to us, prepared for the worst. Probably, the soldiers' pension will be taken away!
    1. Fourth Horseman Offline Fourth Horseman
      Fourth Horseman (Fourth Horseman) 24 October 2020 06: 30
      +7
      It's ridiculous to hear this from the evil Buratins, who ruined their own industry, sold their land, refuse to pay pensions to old people, and themselves scattered abroad to wash the toilet bowls ..
    2. The comment was deleted.
    3. Cetron Offline Cetron
      Cetron (Peteris) 27 October 2020 00: 14
      0
      Whatever the article is about, a club about pensions and pension reform!
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. depavel Offline depavel
    depavel (Pavel Pavlovich) 25 October 2020 12: 06
    0
    It is a pity that Rusal is a foreign company.

В России открыто крупнейшее месторождение каолина стратегического значения


В Оренбургской области открыто крупнейшее в стране месторождение каолина. Это важное событие для России, так как данное сырье имеет стратегическое значение.


После распада СССР мы вынуждены были закупать «белую глину» на Украине, где расположены огромные ее запасы. У нас каолин тоже есть, но он более низкого качества.

Ежегодно Россия была вынуждена импортировать с Украины сотни тысяч тонн «белой глины». Ведь данное сырье необходимо для производства: керамики, тканей, резины, пластмасс, бумаги и др. При этом в процессе изготовления бумаги требуется именно каолин высокого качества.

И вот, как стало известно, в Оренбургской области завершаются геологические работы, которые уже подтверждают открытие крупнейшего в России месторождения высококачественного каолина с запасами в 400 млн тонн, что в перспективе позволит отказаться от закупки украинского сырья примерно на 1000 лет.

Впрочем, это еще не все. Открытие вышеупомянутого месторождения может положительно повлиять и на алюминиевую отрасль. Для производства данного металла требуется глинозем, который получают из бокситов. Последние нам приходится закупать за границей, в частности - в Африке, Австралии и Бразилии. Но что, если бы мы смогли использовать «белую глину» вместо бокситов?

Над этим еще с 2012 года трудятся отечественные институты совместно с исследовательским центром «Русала». На сегодняшний день технология полностью готова. При этом она обладает существенными преимуществами перед традиционными методами получения глинозема.
Так, для выработки 1 тонны сырья понадобится всего 3 тонны «белой глины» против 4,5 тонны руды в случае с традиционным методом. Кроме того, новая технология позволяет сжигать меньше топлива и попутно получать другие востребованные продукты из каолина.

Сейчас на территории Ачинского глиноземного комбината планируется открытие опытно-промышленного участка по получению глинозема из каолина. Позднее здесь начнет работать полноценный завод мощностью 1 миллион тонн. При этом не исключено, что подобное производство появится и на самом месторождении в Оренбургской области.

  • Использованы фотографии: Reinhard Jahn/wikimedia.org
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 23 октября 2020 19:13
    0
    А дыра на фотке, это что?
    1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
      Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 23 октября 2020 19:46
      +1
      Карьер. Рекомендую в Железногорск съездить - там есть шикарная смотровая площадка рядом с карьером.
  2. Дубина Офлайн Дубина
    Дубина (Дубина) 23 октября 2020 20:37
    -9
    Это новость из агитки "Время вперед!", тогда понятен залихватский тон статьи! Чуть раньше на этом сайте нашли колосальные запасы Золота! Какое еще мегаоткрытие запасов чего то ценного мы вскоре услышим?
    Готовит Путин своих поклонников к обесцениванию рубля такими зубодробительными положительными новостями. Перед пенсионной реформой, путинские оружейные мультики нам показывали, готовили к худщему. Наверное, у вояк пенсион отнимут!
    1. Четвертый Всадник (Четвертый Всадник) 24 октября 2020 06:30
      +7
      Смешно слышать это от злобных буратин, угробивших собственную промышленность, продавших свою землю, отказывающихся платить пенсии старикам, и самих разбежавшихся по заграницам мыть унитазы..
    2. Комментарий был удален.
    3. Cetron Офлайн Cetron
      Cetron (Peteris) 27 октября 2020 00:14
      0
      О чем бы не была статья, дубина о пенсиях и пенсионной реформе!
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. depavel Офлайн depavel
    depavel (Павел Павлович) 25 октября 2020 12:06
    0
    Жаль, что Русал иностранная компания.