"At the Syrian or Armenian border": the expert told where Turkey will supply the S-400


Turkey can deploy the S-400 air defense system in the Armenian and Syrian directions. This opinion was expressed by Metin Gurcan in his new article for the Al-Monitor website.


The author recalls that in its desire to use the S-400 air defense systems, Turkey still risks incurring the wrath of the United States, which has long warned its ally against such actions. Nevertheless, the Turks conducted test launches in October on the Black Sea coast, near Sinop.

Experts who analyzed the footage of the launch in this area on October 16 identified the missile from the S-400 40N6E complex, the range of which is 400 kilometers. [...] The tests, which reportedly lasted about six hours, represent the most important milestone towards the deployment of S-400 systems since the November 2019 exercise. Then Turkey used American-made F-16 and F-4 fighters to test other components of the air defense system, most likely radars, at its air base outside Ankara.

- noted in the text.

The expert emphasizes that the new tests cross the symbolic "red line" previously drawn by the United States in front of Turkey.

Now the last step before full use will be the official enrollment of the S-400 systems in the combat structure of the Turkish Air Force, most likely at the regiment level, as well as their operational deployment at the duty station. At the same time, one battery will almost certainly remain in Ankara.

Given the military power of Turkey in the Aegean and the eastern Mediterranean, two other batteries are likely to be deployed in areas overlooking these waters. The fourth battery, most likely, will be either at the Syrian or at the Armenian border.

- suggests Mr. Gurkan.

The most important test of the S-400 air defense system occurred at a time when Washington is busy with its own presidential elections, which are less than three weeks away.

However, back in July 2019, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo warned Turkey about "additional sanctions" after excluding the country from the F-35 strike fighter program, stressing that the adoption of the S-400 was "unacceptable."

Republican chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee Jim Risch said Turkey had "crossed the line" and called on the Trump administration to "send a powerful message."

NATO, for its part, said that "any test of the S-400 air defense system by Turkey, if confirmed, would be regrettable."
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. passing by Offline passing by
    passing by (passing by) 21 October 2020 07: 24
    0
    NATO is bursting at the seams ... the s-400 can be delivered against the Greeks.
  2. greenchelman Offline greenchelman
    greenchelman (Grigory Tarasenko) 21 October 2020 23: 11
    +1
    What nonsense, to put the S-400 against the Russian aviation located in Syria and Armenia (there is no other, not counting the Soviet one))). All S-400s will travel to the shores of the Mediterranean and Aegean Seas. There, this SAM is the place.
  3. John Hart Offline John Hart
    John Hart (John Hart) 22 October 2020 00: 22
    -1
    Well, hello to all sous and their own moment in their own leg, then again without tomatoes the Russian Federation will sit))

«У сирийской или армянской границы»: эксперт рассказал, где Турция поставит С-400


Турция может развернуть ЗРК С-400 на армянском и сирийском направлениях. Такое мнение высказал Метин Гуркан (Metin Gurcan) в своей новой статье для сайта Al-Monitor.


Автор напоминает, что в своем стремлении использовать комплексы ПВО С-400 Турция все еще рискует навлечь на себя гнев Соединенных Штатов, которые давно предостерегали союзника от подобных действий. Тем не менее турки провели в октябре испытательные пуски на черноморском побережье, недалеко от Синопа.

Эксперты, анализировавшие кадры запуска в этом районе 16 октября, идентифицировали ракету от комплекса С-400 40Н6Е, дальность которой составляет 400 километров. […] Испытания, которые, как сообщается, длились около шести часов, представляют собой наиболее важный этап на пути к развертыванию систем С-400 после учений ноября 2019 года. Тогда Турция использовала истребители американского производства F-16 и F-4 для обкатки других компонентов ЗРК, вероятнее всего, радаров, на своей авиабазе за пределами Анкары

– отмечается в тексте.

Эксперт подчеркивает, что новые испытания пересекают символическую «красную линию», проведенную ранее Соединенными Штатами перед Турцией.

Теперь последним шагом перед полноценным использованием станет официальное зачисление комплексов С-400 в боевую структуру ВВС Турции, вероятнее всего, на уровне полка, а также их оперативное развертывание по месту службы. При этом одна батарея почти наверняка останется в Анкаре.

Принимая во внимание военную мощь Турции в Эгейском и восточной части Средиземного моря, две другие батареи, вероятно, будут размещены в районах, выходящих на эти акватории. Четвертая же батарея, по всей видимости, окажется либо у сирийской, либо у армянской границы

– предполагает г-н Гуркан.

Важнейшее испытание ЗРК С-400 произошло в то время, когда Вашингтон занят своими собственными президентскими выборами, до которых осталось менее трех недель.

Тем не менее еще в июле 2019 года госсекретарь Майк Помпео предупредил Турцию о «дополнительных санкциях» после исключения страны из программы по производству ударных истребителей F-35, подчеркнув, что принятие на вооружение С-400 «неприемлемо».

Председатель комитета сената по международным отношениям республиканец Джим Риш сказал, что Турция «пересекла черту», и призвал администрацию Трампа «послать мощный сигнал».

НАТО, со своей стороны, заявило, что «любое испытание системы противовоздушной обороны С-400 со стороны Турции, если таковое будет подтверждено, будет достойно сожаления».
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 21 октября 2020 07:24
    0
    НАТО трещит по швам... с-400 могут поставить и против греков.
  2. greenchelman Офлайн greenchelman
    greenchelman (Григорий Тарасенко) 21 октября 2020 23:11
    +1
    Глупость какая, ставить С-400 против российской авиации находящейся в Сирии и Армении (там нет другой, не считая еще советской))). Все С-400 поедут на побережье Средиземного и Эгейского морей. Там этим ЗРК самое место.
  3. Джон Харт Офлайн Джон Харт
    Джон Харт (Джон Харт) 22 октября 2020 00:22
    -1
    Ну вот и привет всем су и миг свои сами себе в ногу, потом опять без томатов рф сидеть будет))