Greece is wondering why the Russian Foreign Ministry published a picture of the death of the Turkish fleet


On Tuesday October 20, a picture of the death of the Turkish fleet in the Battle of Navarino in 1827 was published on Twitter by the Russian Foreign Ministry. Greek resource Pentapostagma found the secret meaning of this publication.


After the refusal of the Ottoman Empire to grant autonomy to Greece, the warships of Russia, Great Britain and France, led by British Rear Admiral Edward Codrington, approached the Gulf of Navarino, where the Turkish-Egyptian fleet was anchored. During the battle, the Ottoman squadron was completely destroyed. It was Russian warships that dealt the main blow to the enemy and sank most of his ships.

The losses of the Turkish-Egyptian fleet in the battle exceeded 60 ships, more than 7000 people died. The outcome of the battle secured support for the Greek liberation movement, which resulted in the conclusion of the Adrianople Peace Treaty of 1829 and the acquisition of autonomy for Greece.

Greece is wondering why the Russian Foreign Ministry published a picture of the death of the Turkish fleet

The publication of the picture of the sinking of the Turkish fleet in the Navarino Bay is significant in the context of the statement by the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs about the importance of observing the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea. It illustrates what can happen to violators of international agreements, claiming to realize their own geopolitical ambitions without regard to the opinion of neighboring countries, the newspaper writes.

The convention explicitly provides for the sovereign right of all states to territorial waters within 12 nautical miles and establishes the principles and methods for determining the boundaries of the exclusive economic zones. This also applies to the Mediterranean

- indicated in the tweet of the Russian embassy in Athens.

Russia's interest in the region remains unchanged, since the Aegean Sea (the eastern part of the Mediterranean) is a natural continuation of the Bosphorus and Dardanelles straits, which control Russia's access to the "warm seas". In addition, the upcoming visit of Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov to Athens at the end of October is a good opportunity for Moscow to demonstrate to the Greek side its common interests.
  • Photos used: http://www.belygorod.ru
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. passing by Offline passing by
    passing by (passing by) 21 October 2020 17: 41
    -1
    Well, so the Russian-Egyptian teachings are outlined ... and the Greeks rolled their lips? smile
  2. bear040 Offline bear040
    bear040 21 October 2020 18: 59
    +8
    Well, Turkey is rolling a barrel on the Russian Crimea, so it got a subtle hint of fat circumstances.
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 21 October 2020 20: 21
    0
    All this is very exotic ...)))
  4. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
    A.Lex (Secret information) 22 October 2020 21: 32
    0
    The main thing is that our state's words and deeds do not diverge ...

В Греции гадают, зачем российский МИД опубликовал картину гибели турецкого флота


Во вторник 20 октября в Твиттере российского внешнеполитического ведомства была опубликована картина гибели турецкого флота в Наваринском сражении 1827 года. Греческий ресурс Pentapostagma нашел тайный смысл этой публикации.


После отказа Османской империи предоставить автономию Греции, военные корабли России, Великобритании и Франции под руководством британского контр-адмирала Эдварда Кодрингтона подошли к заливу Наварино, где стоял на якоре турецко-египетский флот. В ходе сражения османская эскадра была полностью уничтожена. Именно российские боевые суда нанесли по противнику основной удар и потопили большую часть его кораблей.

Потери турецко-египетского флота в сражении превысили 60 судов, погибло более 7000 человек. Исход битвы обеспечил поддержку греческого освободительного движения, результатом которого стало заключение Адрианопольского мирного договора 1829 года и получение Грецией автономии.

В Греции гадают, зачем российский МИД опубликовал картину гибели турецкого флота

Публикация картины гибели турецкого флота в Наваринской бухте знаменательна в контексте заявления российского Министерства иностранных дел о важности соблюдения Конвенции ООН по морскому праву от 1982 года. Она иллюстрирует то, что может случиться с нарушителями международных соглашений, претендующих на реализацию собственных геополитических амбиций без оглядки на мнение соседних стран, пишет издание.

Конвенция прямо предусматривает суверенное право всех государств на территориальные воды в пределах 12 морских миль и устанавливает принципы и методы определения границ исключительной экономической зоны. Это также относится к Средиземному морю

– указано в твиттере российского посольства в Афинах.

Интерес России к региону неизменен, поскольку Эгейское море (восточная часть Средиземноморья) – естественное продолжение проливов Босфор и Дарданеллы, контролирующих доступ России к «теплым морям». Кроме того, предстоящий в конце октября визит министра иностранных дел России Сергея Лаврова в Афины – хорошая возможность для Москвы продемонстрировать греческой стороне общность интересов.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.belygorod.ru
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 21 октября 2020 17:41
    -1
    ну так Российско-египетские учения намечаются... а греки губу раскатали? smile
  2. медведь040 Офлайн медведь040
    медведь040 21 октября 2020 18:59
    +8
    Ну так Турция на русский Крым бочку катит,вот и получила тонкий намек на толстые обстоятельства.
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 21 октября 2020 20:21
    0
    All this is very exotic... )))
  4. A.Lex Офлайн A.Lex
    A.Lex (Секретная информация) 22 октября 2020 21:32
    0
    Главное - чтобы у нашего государства слова с ДЕЛАМИ не расходились...