The United States saw preparations for testing a Russian nuclear cruise missile


CNN has received photographs illustrating Moscow's readiness to resume testing its nuclear cruise missile at the launch site near the Arctic Circle, according to experts who analyzed the images. The images taken from the Planet Labs satellite in September show a high level of activity at the Pankovo ​​test site - Russia previously tested a cruise missile with a nuclear installation "Burevestnik" there.


Information about the preparation of the Russian Federation for the resumption of testing comes at a time when the White House and the Kremlin are working on the prolongation of the new START treaty - an important agreement on arms control, which expires in the coming months. The US President's special envoy for arms control Marshall Billingsley said on Friday on his Twitter account of the deadlock in the negotiation process between Washington and Moscow.






But on Tuesday, representatives of the Russian foreign policy department noted their readiness to freeze their nuclear arsenals to extend the START treaty, if the United States does not put forward additional demands. A State Department spokesman welcomed the announcement, stressing Washington's desire for contacts to negotiate a treaty.

While Moscow has previously stated that its nuclear-powered cruise missiles are not subject to the new offensive arms agreement, the refusal to extend START could intensify the arms race between the two nuclear powers.

- This opinion was expressed by the analyst of the Middlebury Institute Jeffrey Lewis.

By developing nuclear-powered cruise missiles, the Kremlin can bypass New START and achieve the intercontinental range of its missile weapons - this will threaten US national security

- believes an expert on the proliferation of nuclear weapons, associate professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Vipin Narang.
  • Photos used: Planet Labs / Middlebury Institute
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. passing by Offline passing by
    passing by (passing by) 21 October 2020 17: 57
    +1
    there are still pictures of combines to pass off as multiple launch rocket systems .... what is the connection between the container and the exercises?
    1. Yuri Nemov Offline Yuri Nemov
      Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) 22 October 2020 10: 49
      0
      Fear has big eyes.

В США разглядели подготовку к испытаниям российской ядерной крылатой ракеты


CNN получила в свое распоряжение фотографии, иллюстрирующие готовность Москвы к возобновлению испытаний своей ядерной крылатой ракеты на стартовом полигоне близ Полярного круга – так полагают проанализировавшие изображения эксперты. На сделанных со спутника Planet Labs в сентябре снимках заметен высокий уровень активности на полигоне Панково – Россия раньше проводила там испытания крылатой ракеты с ядерной установкой «Буревестник».


Информация о подготовке РФ к возобновлению испытаний появляются в то время, когда Белый дом и Кремль работают над пролонгацией нового договора СНВ – важного соглашения по контролю над вооружениями, срок действия которого заканчивается в ближайшие месяцы. Спецпосланник президента США по контролю над вооружениями Маршалл Биллингсли заявил в пятницу в своем Твиттер-аккаунте о тупике переговорного процесса между Вашингтоном и Москвой.






Но во вторник представители внешнеполитического ведомства РФ отметили готовность пойти на замораживание своих ядерных арсеналов для продления договора СНВ, если Соединенные Штаты не выдвинут дополнительных требований. Представитель Госдепартамента приветствовал это заявление, подчеркнув стремление Вашингтона к контактам для согласования договора.

Хотя Москва ранее заявляла о том, что ее крылатые ракеты с ядерной установкой не подпадают под действие нового соглашения о наступательных вооружениях, отказ от продления СНВ может усилить гонку вооружений между двумя ядерными державами

– такое мнение высказал аналитик Института Миддлбери Джеффри Льюис.

Разрабатывая крылатые ракеты с ядерными двигателями, Кремль может обойти статьи нового СНВ и достичь межконтинентальной дальности своего ракетного вооружения – это будет угрожать национальной безопасности США

– полагает эксперт по распространению ядерного оружия доцент Массачусетского технологического института Випин Наранг.
  • Использованы фотографии: Planet Labs/Middlebury Institute
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 21 октября 2020 17:57
    +1
    осталось снимки комбайнов выдать за системы залпового огня.... какая связь между контейнером и учениями?
    1. Юрий Немов Офлайн Юрий Немов
      Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 22 октября 2020 10:49
      0
      У страха глаза велики.