Turkish media: Nagorno-Karabakh may turn into a second Syria for Moscow


On October 23, 2020, it was Washington's turn to make a diplomatic move regarding the conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh. Before that, Moscow twice acted as an intermediary between Yerevan and Baku, but these efforts were not enough to end the bloodshed, the Turkish newspaper Daily Sabah writes.


No one expects long-term results and breakthroughs from the talks between US State Department Head Mike Pompeo and the Foreign Ministers of Armenia and Azerbaijan. One thing is clear. While the Azerbaijani army daily takes control of new territories of Nagorno-Karabakh, Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan continues to feverishly seek opportunities for salvation.

Yesterday he talked about the war of rival civilizations, and today he condemns the Russians and tries to play the American card. On the eve of the presidential elections in the United States, Yerevan seeks to involve the Armenian diaspora and is trying to get the international community to recognize the independence of Nagorno-Karabakh.

At the same time, failing to turn the situation in Nagorno-Karabakh into a full-scale conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan, Pashinyan threatens a protracted war in the enclave. It will last for years and will have a destabilizing effect on the entire region. Pashinyan wants to turn Nagorno-Karabakh into a second Syria and fuels fears in Russia, Iran and the European Union.

It is obvious that Moscow is not interested in such a development of events. It absolutely does not need another Syria at its southern borders. A protracted war could undermine Russia's influence in the region and lead to US and NATO intervention.

Tehran is also not happy with the prospect of the emergence of the United States, and possibly Israel, in the Transcaucasus. They can use jihadists against Iran, starting activity not only on its borders, but also on its territory.

As for Europe, it has already had enough refugees from Syria and does not want to repeat this.

The military situation in Nagorno-Karabakh suggests that Armenia is not at all ready for a protracted war. She is simply unable to fight for attrition. The military campaign is not in favor of the Armenians. Pashinyan's threat to create a new Syria is an admission of Armenia's helplessness. At the same time, regional and global powers have a certain amount of experience to prevent Yerevan from being dragged into a dangerous and costly adventure.

Given Russia's strong influence in the Caucasus, it looks like Moscow is simply letting Yerevan run out of options. The Russians give Pashinyan Armenia the opportunity to face the consequences of refusing to withdraw from five regions (we are talking about five regions of Azerbaijan out of seven that were not part of the Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Region under the USSR) - as Moscow demanded.

Probably, not having received what he wanted from the United States, Pashinyan would eventually turn to Russia. At the same time, Russia and Azerbaijan also have common interests. Therefore, Moscow cannot follow the lead of the intractable Yerevan.

In addition, Ankara supports Baku, and this could change the entire balance of power in the region. Iran understands this. Tehran has already called for trilateral negotiations similar to those in Astana for Syria with the participation of Turkey, Russia and Iran. It would be extremely surprising if the armed conflict in the Russian sphere of influence ended under US pressure. Therefore, one can expect that Moscow will enter into negotiations with Ankara, and not with Washington, and put pressure on Yerevan.
  • Used photos: http://www.kremlin.ru/
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 24 October 2020 15: 48
    +2
    Here is such a triumph of romanticism over practicality.
    Fighters for all good against all bad promise mountains of gold, as a result, people receive coffins.
    A little time has passed and life is no longer so beautiful. And promises not to close Russian schools were forgotten. And much more.

  2. Don36 Offline Don36
    Don36 (Don36) 24 October 2020 17: 21
    +1
    On what grounds is Turkey trying to frighten the Russian Federation with Karabakh and with what forces is Turkey going to fight ?! The Turks obviously caught a cold in their heads, because they are constantly running into the Russian Federation, then France, then Saudi Arabia ...
    1. Binder Offline Binder
      Binder (Miron) 24 October 2020 17: 41
      -2
      The main Turk is not at all as stupid as you think - he is clearly aware of the real possibilities of Turkey and is not at all going to seriously fight on all fronts at once - in Libya, Syria, in the eastern Mediterranean with Greece and in Karabakh. It's like trading in an Istanbul bazaar - first they ask for an unrealistic price and then they seem to meet the buyer halfway, getting from him what they planned. So in politics - Erdogan, in communication with the leaders of Europe and the United States, can, like, make concessions - "Allah is with you, I am leaving Libya and I am not butting with the Greeks, but in return, do not bother me in Syria and the Azerbaijanis in Karabakh." And he may well have a ride ...
      1. Shadow041 Offline Shadow041
        Shadow041 25 October 2020 00: 44
        +2
        In Karabakh, he can get a ride only because of the Armenian arrogance and stupidity multiplied by the Armenian Russophobia, but not because of threats. Turkey is no one to threaten Russia, France, or even Saudi Arabia ...
        1. Binder Offline Binder
          Binder (Miron) 25 October 2020 05: 47
          0
          Quote: Shadow041
          Turkey is no one to threaten Russia, France, or even Saudi Arabia ...

          You clearly underestimate the military potential of Turkey.
          1. Shadow041 Offline Shadow041
            Shadow041 29 October 2020 04: 08
            +2
            Oh whether. And what am I underestimating there ?! 90% of the tank park of Turkey are museum Leopard-1 and M-60. The best tanks in Turkey are Leopard-2, and they burned like candles in Syria, with detonation of ammunition and the death of crews. Turkish fleet with 50% decommissioned ships from the US and EU fleets. The Turkish Air Force is about 200 F-16 of which 25% can be considered modern. Not much . And given the fact that the Russian Federation can cover any point on the territory of Turkey with its missiles, and Turkey cannot respond to the Russian Federation in kind, Turkey will very quickly merge the war of the Russian Federation
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 24 October 2020 17: 23
    0
    The EU survived millions of migrants (whom the local agitprop for some reason calls "refugees", the population of N. Karabakh (how many is there, 120?) In its entirety will survive. Well, not everyone in Nerezinovaya ... Refugees were settled in 000, and real , I saw it myself from Baku to the rest houses of the Union ministries, but now these houses, like the ministries, do not exist.
    1. Binder Offline Binder
      Binder (Miron) 24 October 2020 20: 43
      -2
      There is a grain of truth in your commentary - if the Azerbaijanis supplied each Armenian leaving Karabakh with a certain amount of euros from their oil revenues and offered them a route: suitcase-station-Europe, then in two weeks not one of 120 thousand Armenians would be in Karabakh ... And the costs would be less than for the war ...
  4. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 24 October 2020 18: 36
    -1
    All bullshit. Can not.
    Friends V and E simply solve their problems. Together.
  5. Semyon Semyonov_2 (Semyon Semyonov) 24 October 2020 23: 59
    -1
    In any case, the war must be stopped. am
  6. zz811 Offline zz811
    zz811 (Vlad Pervovich) 25 October 2020 17: 52
    0
    and for Turkey, what is this Syria?

Турецкие СМИ: Нагорный Карабах может превратиться для Москвы во вторую Сирию


23 октября 2020 года настала очередь Вашингтона сделать дипломатический ход в отношении конфликта в Нагорном Карабахе. Перед этим Москва дважды выступала посредником между Ереваном и Баку, но этих усилий оказалось недостаточно для прекращения кровопролития, пишет турецкая газета Daily Sabah.


От общения главы Госдепа США Майка Помпео с руководителями МИД Армении и Азербайджана также никто не ждет долгосрочных результатов и прорыва. Ясно пока одно. Пока азербайджанская армия ежедневно берет под свой контроль новые территории Нагорного Карабаха, премьер-министр Армении Никол Пашинян продолжает лихорадочно искать возможности для спасения.

Еще вчера он говорил о войне соперничающих цивилизаций, а сегодня он осуждает русских и пытается разыграть американскую карту. В преддверии президентских выборов в США Ереван стремится задействовать армянскую диаспору и пытается добиться от мирового сообщества признания независимости Нагорного Карабаха.

Одновременно с этим, не сумев превратить ситуацию в Нагорном Карабахе в полномасштабный конфликт между Арменией и Азербайджаном, Пашинян угрожает затяжной войной в анклаве. Она будет длиться годами и окажет дестабилизирующее воздействие на весь регион. Пашинян хочет превратить Нагорный Карабах во вторую Сирию и подогревает опасения России, Ирана и Евросоюза.

Очевидно, что Москва не заинтересована в подобном развитии событий. Очередная Сирия ей абсолютно не нужна у своих южных границ. Затяжная война может подорвать влияние России в регионе и привести к вмешательству США и НАТО.

Тегеран также не в восторге от перспективы появления США, а возможно и Израиля в Закавказье. Они могут использовать джихадистов против Ирана, начав активность не только у его границ, а и на его территории.

Что касается Европы, то ей уже хватило беженцев из Сирии и повторять подобное она не хочет.

Военная обстановка в Нагорном Карабахе говорит о том, что Армения совсем не готова к затяжной войне. Она просто не в состоянии воевать на истощение. Военная кампания складывается не в пользу армян. Угроза Пашиняна о создании новой Сирии – это признание беспомощности Армении. При этом региональные и глобальные державы обладают определенным опытом, чтобы не позволить Еревану втянуть себя в опасную и дорогостоящую авантюру.

Учитывая сильное влияние России на Кавказе, похоже, что Москва просто позволяет Еревану исчерпать все варианты. Русские дают возможность пашинянской Армении столкнуться с последствиями отказа от ухода из пяти районов (речь идет о пяти районах Азербайджана из семи, которые не входили в состав Нагорно-Карабахской автономной области при СССР) – как того требовала Москва.

Вероятно, не получив желаемого от США, Пашинян в итоге обратится к России. При этом у России и Азербайджана также имеются общие интересы. Поэтому Москва не может идти на поводу у несговорчивого Еревана.

Кроме того, Анкара поддерживает Баку, а это может изменить весь баланс сил в регионе. Это понимают в Иране. Из Тегерана уже призвали к трехсторонним переговорам по типу астанинских для Сирии с участием Турции, России и Ирана. Было бы крайне удивительно, если бы вооруженный конфликт в сфере влияния России прекратился бы под давлением США. Поэтому можно ожидать, что Москва вступит в переговоры с Анкарой, а не с Вашингтоном, и надавит на Ереван.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.kremlin.ru/
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 24 октября 2020 15:48
    +2
    Вот такой вот триумф романтизма над практицизмом.
    Борцы за все хорошее против всего плохого обещают золотые горы, в итоге люди получают гробы.
    Прошло немного времени и жизнь уже не так прекрасна. И обещания не закрывать русские школы забылись. И много еще чего.

  2. Дон36 Офлайн Дон36
    Дон36 (Дон36) 24 октября 2020 17:21
    +1
    На каких основаниях Турция пытается пугать Карабахом РФ и какими силами Турция собирается воевать?! Турки явно голову простудили,потому что все время нарываются,то на РФ,то на Францию,то на Саудовскую Аравию...Кончится тем,что турки огребут по полной.
    1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 24 октября 2020 17:41
      -2
      Главный турок вовсе не так глуп как вам представляется - он явно отдает себе отчет в реальных возможностях Турции и вовсе не собирается всерьёз воевать сразу на всех фронтах - в Ливии, Сирии, на востоке Средиземноморья с Грецией и в Карабахе. Это как торговля на стамбульском базаре - сперва запрашивают нереальную цену а затем вроде как идут навстречу покупателю, получая с него то что и планировали. Так и в политике - Эрдоган в общении с лидерами Европы и США может типа пойти на уступки - "Аллах с вами, я ухожу из Ливии и не бодаюсь с греками, но вы взамен не мешайте мне в Сирии и азербайджанцам в Карабахе." И у него вполне может прокатить...
      1. Тень041 Офлайн Тень041
        Тень041 25 октября 2020 00:44
        +2
        В Карабахе у него может прокатить только из за армянской наглости и тупости помноженные на армянскую русофобию,но никак не из за угроз. Турция никто,чтобы угрожать РФ,Франции ,или даже Саудовской Аравии...
        1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
          Биндюжник (Мирон) 25 октября 2020 05:47
          0
          Цитата: Тень041
          Турция никто,чтобы угрожать РФ,Франции ,или даже Саудовской Аравии...

          Вы явно недооцениваете военный потенциал Турции.
          1. Тень041 Офлайн Тень041
            Тень041 29 октября 2020 04:08
            +2
            Ой ли. И что же я там недооцениваю?! 90% танкового парка Турции музейные Леопард-1 и М-60. Лучшие танки Турции,это Леопард-2,а они в Сирии горели,как свечки,с детонацией боезапаса и гибелью экипажей. Турецкий флот на 50% списанные из флотов США и ЕС корабли. ВВС Турции около 200 F-16.из которых современными можно считать 25%. Не густо . А с учетом того,что РФ может накрыть своими ракетами любую точку на территории Турции,а Турция не может ответить РФ тем же,Турция очень быстро сольет войну РФ
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 24 октября 2020 17:23
    0
    Пережил ЕС миллионы мигрантов (которых тамошний агитпроп почему-то называет "беженцами", переживёт и население Н.Карабаха (сколько там, 120 000?) в полном составе. Ну не всем же в Нерезиновую... В 89 селили беженцев, причём реальных, из Баку в домах отдыха союзных министерств, сам видел, а сейчас этих домов, как и министерств, нет.
    1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 24 октября 2020 20:43
      -2
      В вашем комменте имеется зерно истины - если бы азербайджанцы снабдили каждого выезжающего из Карабаха армянина определенной суммой евро из своих нефтяных прибылей и предложили им маршрут: чемодан-вокзал-Европа, то через две недели ни одного из 120 тыс. армян в Карабахе не было бы. А затраты были бы меньше чем на войну...
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 24 октября 2020 18:36
    -1
    Фигня все. Не может.
    Друганы В и Э просто решают свои задачи. Сообща.
  5. Семен Семенов_2 (Семен Семенов) 24 октября 2020 23:59
    -1
    При любом раскладе-войну надо прекращать. am
  6. zz811 Онлайн zz811
    zz811 (Vlad Pervovich) 25 октября 2020 17:52
    0
    а для Турции, это какая Сирия?