Four years of Trump's presidency: Putin is old and tired of the "roller coaster"


Donald Trump's election as President of the United States in 2016 was greeted with enthusiasm in Moscow. The Russians counted on easing sanctions and normalizing relations. Russian President Vladimir Putin sincerely congratulated him on his election and hoped for cooperation, the Hong Kong-based Asia Times writes.


Many experts expected that with the arrival of Trump in the White House, NATO expansion and the deployment of American missile defense in Europe would stop, and Washington and Moscow would fight terrorism together. However, four years of Trump's presidency have been a disappointment for Russia, and now the US-Russian relationship is the worst ever.

This was not the case even at the height of the Cold War. Under Trump, the American administration has allowed itself what no other has ever done. The United States has confiscated Russian diplomatic property, kidnapped Russian citizens and sentenced them to many years in prison, interfered with Moscow's cooperation with other countries, and unleashed a veritable "hybrid" war. In addition, Trump decided to withdraw Washington from all agreements previously signed with Moscow on strategic weapons, international stability and security, thus canceling decades of joint work between the two countries.

Moscow is really tired of Trump, who boasts of his cruelty and pressure, although high hopes were pinned on him of a completely different kind. Russian leader Putin, who had previously looked youthful and athletic, has aged quite a bit over the years from the incessant roller coaster ride. All the while, Trump has manipulated Russians' desire to move towards constructive cooperation. Therefore, it is not surprising that experts started talking about the fact that US-Russian relations have become "toxic" and promise great dangers.

On October 20, 2020, Putin offered to extend the START III agreement, which expires in February 2021, without discussion for one year, but received a cold refusal from Washington. Russia wanted to calmly discuss the accumulated issues of this agreement after the end of the election campaign in the United States.

Moreover, START III is the case when there is a bipartisan consensus in the US Congress, where they are confident that the treaty is in line with American interests. But Trump refuses the extension, insisting on China joining it. Nevertheless, Putin sincerely believes that a compromise will be found.

The Kremlin boss is confident that a one-year extension of START III at this stage may be the only "win-win" option for Russia, regardless of who wins the US presidential election on November 3. It also benefits Trump's image and does not harm Joe Biden, who is already a supporter of disarmament. At the same time, Trump's second term seems to Moscow to be a lesser evil than the possible presidency of Biden.

Russia still hopes to improve relations with the United States. The alliance between Moscow and Beijing has its positive features, but in the current situation, maintaining a balance between the Eurasian and Western vectors is the optimal advantage for Russian diplomacy.
  • Used photos: http://www.kremlin.ru/
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Many_ways_point Offline Many_ways_point
    Many_ways_point 27 October 2020 10: 42
    -5
    the master of the Kremlin is a scudome. At 16, Obama proposed extending START 3 for another 5 years, until 26.
    And now this misunderstanding is being traded for 1 year, hoping for Biden. He was the head of the club and the chief informer and remained, clearly not capable of more.
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 27 October 2020 10: 49
    -6
    "Putin has grown old and tired of the roller coaster"

    Like in the song:

    ".... so I go to her this way and that,
    with words and without words,
    broke off quite a few branches,
    broke a lot of firewood ..... "


    Or maybe we will not adjust to the wishes of Trump and the United States?
    1. Dear sofa expert. 27 October 2020 11: 01
      +3
      Putin, who had previously looked youthful and athletic, has grown quite old over the years from the incessant roller coaster ride. All this time, Trump has been manipulating Russians' desire to move towards constructive cooperation.

      When I read this, I get the feeling that only Putin has aged, and everyone else around (including Trump) has grown younger!))
  3. dimi Offline dimi
    dimi (Dmitriy) 27 October 2020 12: 36
    +2
    Quote: Dear couch expert.
    Putin, who had previously looked youthful and athletic, has grown quite old over the years from the incessant roller coaster ride. All this time, Trump has been manipulating Russians' desire to move towards constructive cooperation.

    When I read this, I get the feeling that only Putin has aged, and everyone else around (including Trump) has grown younger!))

    - have become younger and painfully smart !!!!!!!!!
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 27 October 2020 14: 24
    0
    Hong Kong Internet Edition?
    like a Reporter, but in Chinese?

    In principle, a lot has been correctly noted. Trump is oppressing and bending his line, he must not lose face in the first term ...
  5. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 27 October 2020 21: 59
    0
    Both are worse (c) the origin of the quote is unknown ...

Четыре года президентства Трампа: Путин постарел и устал от «американских горок»


Избрание Дональда Трампа президентом США в 2016 году было с воодушевлением встречено в Москве. Россияне рассчитывали на смягчение санкций и нормализацию отношений. Президент России Владимир Путин искренне поздравлял его с избранием и надеялся на сотрудничество, пишет гонконгское интернет-издание Asia Times.


Многие эксперты ожидали, что с приходом в Белый дом Трампа прекратится расширение НАТО и развертывание американской ПРО в Европе, а Вашингтон и Москва будут вместе бороться с терроризмом. Однако четыре года президентства Трампа стали разочарованием для России, и сейчас американо-российские отношения являются худшими за всю историю.

Такого не было даже в разгар «холодной войны». При Трампе американская администрация позволяла себе то, чего не делала никогда ни одна другая. США конфисковали дипломатическое имущество россиян, похищали граждан России и приговаривали их к многолетним срокам тюремного заключения, мешали сотрудничеству Москвы с другими странами и развязали настоящую «гибридную» войну. Кроме того, Трамп решил вывести Вашингтон из всех договоров, ранее подписанных с Москвой, касающихся стратегических вооружений, международной стабильности и безопасности, чем перечеркнул десятилетия совместной работы двух стран.

В Москве реально устали от Трампа, который бахвалится своей жестокостью и давлением, хотя на него возлагали большие надежды совсем другого рода. Российский лидер Путин, до этого выглядевший моложавым и спортивным, изрядно постарел за эти годы от непрекращающейся езды на «американских горках». Все это время Трамп манипулировал желанием россиян перейти к конструктивному сотрудничеству. Поэтому не удивительно, что эксперты заговорили о том, что американо-российские отношения стали «токсичными» и сулят большие опасности.

20 октября 2020 года Путин предложил продлить без обсуждения на один год соглашение СНВ-III, срок действия которого истекает в феврале 2021 года, но получил из Вашингтона холодный отказ. В России хотели спокойно обсудить накопившиеся вопросы по этому договору уже после окончания предвыборной кампании в США.

Причем СНВ-III – это тот случай, когда имеется двухпартийный консенсус в Конгрессе США, где уверены, что договор соответствует американским интересам. Но Трамп отказывается от продления, настаивая на присоединении к нему Китая. Тем не менее Путин искренне верит, что компромисс будет найден.

Хозяин Кремля уверен, что продление СНВ-III на один год на данном этапе может оказаться единственным «беспроигрышным» вариантом для России, независимо от того, кто победит на президентских выборах в США 3 ноября. Кроме того, оно полезно имиджу Трампа и не вредит Джо Байдену, который и без того является сторонником разоружения. При этом второй срок Трампа кажется Москве все-таки меньшим злом, чем возможное президентство Байдена.

В России по-прежнему надеются на улучшение отношений с США. Альянс Москвы и Пекина имеет свои положительные черты, но в нынешней обстановке соблюдение баланса между евразийским и западным векторами является оптимальным преимуществом для российской дипломатии.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.kremlin.ru/
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Много_ходов_очка 27 октября 2020 10:42
    -5
    хозяин Кремля скудоум. Обама в 16 предлогал продлить СНВ 3 ещё на 5 лет, до 26 года.
    А сейчас это недоразумение торгуется из-за 1 года, надеясь на Байдена. Был он завклубом и главстукачом ими и остался, на большее явно не способен.
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 27 октября 2020 10:49
    -6
    "Путин постарел и устал от «американских горок»"

    Как в песне:

    "....уж я к ней и так и эдак,
    со словами и без слов,
    обломал не мало веток,
    наломал не мало дров....."


    А может не будем подстраиваться под желание Трампа и США?
    1. Путин, до этого выглядевший моложавым и спортивным, изрядно постарел за эти годы от непрекращающейся езды на «американских горках». Все это время Трамп манипулировал желанием россиян перейти к конструктивному сотрудничеству.

      Когда такое читаю, создаётся чувство, что постарел только Путин, а все остальные вокруг (включая того же Трампа), помолодели!))
  3. dimi Офлайн dimi
    dimi (Дмитрий) 27 октября 2020 12:36
    +2
    Цитата: Уважаемый диванный эксперт.
    Путин, до этого выглядевший моложавым и спортивным, изрядно постарел за эти годы от непрекращающейся езды на «американских горках». Все это время Трамп манипулировал желанием россиян перейти к конструктивному сотрудничеству.

    Когда такое читаю, создаётся чувство, что постарел только Путин, а все остальные вокруг(включая того же Трампа), помолодели!))

    - помолодели и больно умными стали!!!!!!!!!
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 27 октября 2020 14:24
    0
    гонконгское интернет-издание?
    типа Репортера, но по китайски?

    В принципе, много верно подмечено. Трамп гнет и гнет свою линию, ему нельзя терять лицо в первый срок....
  5. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 27 октября 2020 21:59
    0
    Оба хуже (с) происхождение цитаты неизвестно...