Russian plan to build icebreakers may fail


In recent years, the Arctic has become noticeably warmer and the period of free navigation has expanded significantly. Therefore, Novatek doubts the advisability of building four icebreakers operating on LNG to pilot gas carriers along the Northern Sea Route.


On October 28, 2020, the IV conference "LNG Fleet, LNG Bunkering and Other Alternatives" was held. During the event, Alexander Semyonov, Director of the Sea Transportation Department of Novatek, made a speech. He stated that Novatek and Atomflot may abandon plans to build these icebreakers.

He substantiated this position by the fact that in May this year the large-capacity gas carrier Christophe de Margerie, owned by Sovcomflot, for the first time in history crossed the eastern part of the Northern Sea Route two months earlier than usual. The journey from the port of Sabetta to Cape Dezhnev in Chukotka took 12 days. It was a commercial flight from the Yamal LNG project to China.

There were difficult areas where the support of nuclear-powered ships was required, but we had a unique experience, it forces us, together with Atomflot, to revise the concept of icebreaking support for our LNG projects

He explained.

Semenov added that in January-February 2021, Novatek plans to organize another experimental flight along the Northern Sea Route.

Perhaps we will not need so many icebreakers, given that the state program is being implemented to upgrade the icebreaker fleet.

- he explained.

Gazprom Neft and Norilsk Nickel operate in the same region, so so far we have no answer whether we will build them

- he noted, stressing that the company is now assessing the required sufficiency of the icebreaker fleet.

Earlier, the private Novatek and the state-owned Rosatom agreed to set up a joint venture to build the aforementioned icebreakers, intended for escorting ships along the Northern Sea Route to Asia. Thus, the plan to build icebreakers may fail.

We remind you that according to the strategy for the development of the Arctic, approved by Russian leader Vladimir Putin, by 2024 the volume of cargo transportation along the Northern Sea Route should reach 80 million tons per year, and by 2030 - 90 million tons. The document provides for year-round shipping and the construction of the required number of icebreakers.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 29 October 2020 19: 11
    -2
    Maybe it can't - just yesterday they reported about breakthroughs and victories?
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 29 October 2020 19: 47
      0
      Private traders scratched the back of their heads - yes, well, it's nafig, the state is building nuclear power plants. If there are enough nuclear ones, why build your own?
      1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 October 2020 13: 20
        +2
        Well, here with the state, as with God - .. Hope for God, but don’t make a mistake yourself. ”The state icebreakers will first of all go to solve the problems of the state, and not the private sharaga.
  2. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 29 October 2020 19: 55
    0
    - Ha ... - Personally, I've already written about this NOVATEK so many times; compared to which Gazprom looks just like a card newbie ... next to a hardened card sharper ...
    - It's just that there is no time now ... in detail again ... and again to present everything in a new way about this Novatek; and I'm tired of repeating myself more than once ...
    -NOVATEK is a very serious scammer ... - the icebreaker scam ... is just the "tip of the iceberg" ...
  3. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 October 2020 13: 17
    +2
    Refusal to build icebreakers, this is reliable for the notorious `` maybe ''. Today it has become warmer, tomorrow it may get colder, but no one can build an icebreaker in one night, and then what, send this chatterbox to gnaw the ice with his teeth ?!
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 31 October 2020 10: 46
      0
      To build icebreakers as needed, because we already have unnecessarily built (Turkish stream, etc.) LNG is promising, because pipelines to Europe no longer give the desired economic result, and LNG can be transported all over the world, where consumption is increasing ...
      1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 31 October 2020 22: 29
        +4
        An icebreaker is not a pipe somewhere out there, it is a universal resource that can be used flexibly, anywhere and both for civilian and military ships. As for me, this business is necessary, only they need to be built in the Russian Federation, so as not to step on the mistral rake and not overpay, since in the Russian Federation it is cheaper to build and built ships, despite any sanctions, will always belong to the Russian Federation

Российский план постройки ледоколов может сорваться


В последние годы в Арктике стало заметно теплее и период свободной навигации значительно расширился. Поэтому в компании «Новатэк» сомневаются в целесообразности постройки четырех ледоколов, работающих на СПГ, для проводки судов-газовозов по Севморпути.


28 октября 2020 года состоялась IV конференция «СПГ-флот, СПГ-бункеровка и другие альтернативы». В ходе мероприятия выступил директор департамента морской транспортировки компании «Новатэк» Александр Семенов. Он заявил, что «Новатэк» и «Атомфлот» могут отказаться от планов строительства этих ледоколов.

Он обосновал такую позицию тем, что в мае этого года крупнотоннажное судно-газовоз «Кристоф де Маржери», принадлежащее «Совкомфлоту», впервые в истории преодолело восточную часть Севморпути на два месяца раньше обычного. Путь из порта Сабетта до мыса Дежнева на Чукотке занял 12 суток. Это был коммерческий рейс с проекта «Ямал СПГ» в Китай.

Были сложные участки, где требовалась поддержка атомоходов, но у нас появился уникальный опыт, он заставляет нас вместе с «Атомфлотом» пересматривать концепцию ледокольного обеспечения наших СПГ-проектов

– объяснил он.

Семенов добавил, что в январе-феврале 2021 года «Новатэк» планирует организовать еще один экспериментальный рейс по Севморпути.

Возможно, нам не понадобится такое количество ледоколов, учитывая, что реализуется государственная программа по обновлению ледокольного флота

– пояснил он.

В том же регионе работают «Газпром нефть», «Норильский никель», так что пока у нас нет ответа, будем ли мы их строить

– отметил он, подчеркнув, что сейчас компания делает оценку необходимой достаточности флота ледоколов.

Ранее частная «Новатэк» и государственный «Росатом» договорились о создании СП по строительству упомянутых ледоколов, предназначенных для проводки судов по Севморпути, которые следуют в Азию. Таким образом, план постройки ледоколов может сорваться.

Напоминаем, что согласно стратегии развития Арктики, утвержденной российским лидером Владимиром Путиным, к 2024 году объем грузоперевозок по Севморпути должен достигнуть 80 млн тонн в год, а к 2030 году – 90 млн тонн. Документ предусматривает круглогодичное судоходство и строительство нужного количества ледоколов.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 29 октября 2020 19:11
    -2
    Может, не может - буквально вчера же отрапортовали о прорывах и победах?
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 29 октября 2020 19:47
      0
      Частники почесали затылок - да ну его нафиг, государство атомные строит. Если хватает атомных, зачем строить свои?
      1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 октября 2020 13:20
        +2
        Ну тут с государством,как с богом - ..На бога надейся,да сам не плошай'' Государственные ледоколы в первую очередь пойдут решать проблемы государства,а не частной шараги.
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 29 октября 2020 19:55
    0
    - Ха ... - Лично Я уже столько раз писала про этот НОВАТЭК ; по сравнению с которым Газпром выглядит просто как картёжный новичок ...рядом с прожжённым карточным шулером...
    -Просто некогда сейчас ...подробно вновь... и вновь всё по новому излагать про этот НОВАТЭК ; да и надоело уже повторяться и не один раз...
    -НОВАТЭК - очень серьёзный мошенник ... - афёра с ледоколами ... -это просто "верхушечка айсберга"...
  3. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 30 октября 2020 13:17
    +2
    Отказ от строительства ледоколов,это надежна на пресловутое ,,авось'' . Сегодня потеплело,завтра может похолодать,а ледокол за одну ночь никто построить не сможет и что тогда,посылать этого болтуна лед зубами прогрызать?!
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 31 октября 2020 10:46
      0
      Строить ледоколы по необходимости, ибо уже имеем излишне построенных (турецкий поток и тд...) СПГ перспективен, ибо трубопроводы в Европу уже не дают должного экономического результата, а СПГ можно возить по всему миру, где потребление увеличивается...
      1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 31 октября 2020 22:29
        +4
        Ледокол,это не труба куда то там,это универсальный ресурс,который можно использовать гибко,где угодно и как для гражданских,так и для обеспечения военных судов. Как по мне,это дело нужное,только строить их нужно в РФ,чтобы не наступать на мистральные грабли и не переплачивать,так как в РФ и строить дешевле и построенные суда не смотря на любые санкции всегда будут принадлежать РФ