Military Watch: C-400 will meet with "Turkish F-35" in the Greek Air Force


Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis has announced plans for Athens to purchase 20 F-35A stealth fighters, originally intended for the Turkish Air Force, as part of a program to modernize the country's armed forces. Military Watch reports on the initiative of the Greek authorities.


The deal comes amid growing tensions between Greeks and Turks over territorial disputes in the Eastern Mediterranean, as well as Washington’s discontent with Ankara over the purchase of Russian S-400 air defense systems. Greece is currently counting on its F-4s, F-16s and Mirage 2000s, but none of them are able to compete with the S-400 complex or the advanced Russian Su-35 and Su-57 fighters that Turkey is considering for acquisition. Thus, in theory, the S-400 could in the future meet on the battlefield with the "Turkish F-35" in the Greek air force.

The F-35's advanced electronics, stealth and electronic warfare could revolutionize the Greek Air Force, as well as facilitate closer integration with NATO forces in Eastern Europe through improved combat aircraft communication systems.

The F-35 is expected to replace the outdated F-4E Phantom fighters in service. Although Athens has suffered from unfavorable economic conditions, the state's armed forces are still generously funded, and Greece remains one of the largest countries in terms of defense spending in relation to GDP in all of NATO.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 30 October 2020 10: 25
    0
    but none of them unable to compete with the S-400 complex or advanced Russian fighters Su-35 and Su-57, which Turkey is considering for acquisition.

    Of course, the aircraft in service with Greece are not capable of competing with aircraft that Turkey does not have (and the Su-57 is not even in service with the Russian Aerospace Forces). How can you compete with something that does not exist? :)
  2. Many_ways_point Offline Many_ways_point
    Many_ways_point 30 October 2020 11: 32
    0
    none of them is able to compete with the S-400 complex

    Are able. Even F4 with anti-radar missiles can crash him.

    or advanced Russian fighters Su-35 and Su-57

    SU 57 is not yet in nature. And the F16 of the latest modifications can quite compete with the SU35
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 30 October 2020 12: 21
    0
    with the S-400 complex or the advanced Russian Su-35 and Su-57 fighters, which Turkey is considering for acquisition. Thus, in theory, the S-400 can in the future meet on the battlefield with "Turkish F-35" in the Greek air force.

    - Anonymous has a rich fantasy
  4. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 30 October 2020 15: 36
    -2
    It makes me laugh when the non-existent Su-57 is spoken of as something real. lol And the Greeks have to spend significant sums on defense - they have Turkey at their side with an inadequate Erdogan, who only understands the language of force. But even this, to put it mildly, not the wisest politician is in no hurry to acquire something from Russia its widely publicized fifth-generation fighter, although he is a Turk, he is not half-wit. bully

Military Watch: C-400 встретятся с «турецкими F-35» в составе ВВС Греции


Премьер-министр Греции Кириакос Мицотакис объявил о планах Афин по закупке 20 стелс-истребителей F-35A, первоначально предназначенных для ВВС Турции, в рамках программы модернизации вооруженных сил страны. Об инициативе греческих властей сообщает Military Watch.


Сделка осуществится на фоне растущей напряженности между греками и турками из-за территориальных споров в Восточном Средиземноморье, а также недовольства Вашингтона Анкарой из-за покупки российских ЗРК С-400. В настоящее время Греция рассчитывает на свои F-4, F-16 и Mirage 2000, но ни один из них не способен конкурировать с комплексом С-400 или передовыми российскими истребителями Су-35 и Су-57, которые Турция рассматривает для приобретения. Таким образом, теоретически С-400 могут в будущем встретиться на поле боя с «турецкими F-35» в составе греческих военно-воздушных сил.

Усовершенствованная электроника, скрытность и средства радиоэлектронной борьбы F-35 могут произвести революцию в ВВС Греции, а также поспособствовать более тесной интеграции с силами НАТО в Восточной Европе благодаря усовершенствованным системам обмена данными в боевом самолете.

Ожидается, что F-35 заменят находящиеся на вооружении устаревшие истребители F-4E Phantom. Хотя Афины более десяти лет страдают от неблагоприятных экономических условий, вооруженные силы государства по-прежнему щедро финансируются, и Греция остается одной из самых крупных стран по расходам на оборону по отношению к ВВП во всей НАТО.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 30 октября 2020 10:25
    0
    но ни один из них не способен конкурировать с комплексом С-400 или передовыми российскими истребителями Су-35 и Су-57, которые Турция рассматривает для приобретения.

    Конечно, стоящие на вооружении Греции самолеты не способны конкурировать с самолетами, которых нет у Турции (а Су-57 не стоит и на вооружении ВКС РФ) Как можно конкурировать с тем, чего нет? :)
  2. Много_ходов_очка 30 октября 2020 11:32
    0
    ни один из них не способен конкурировать с комплексом С-400

    Способны. Даже Ф4 с антирадарными ракетами может его грохнуть.

    или передовыми российскими истребителями Су-35 и Су-57

    СУ 57 ещё в природе нет. А Ф16 последних модификаций вполне себе может тягаться с СУ35
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 30 октября 2020 12:21
    0
    с комплексом С-400 или передовыми российскими истребителями Су-35 и Су-57, которые Турция рассматривает для приобретения. Таким образом, теоретически С-400 могут в будущем встретиться на поле боя с «турецкими F-35» в составе греческих военно-воздушных сил.

    - Фантазия у анонимов богатая
  4. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 30 октября 2020 15:36
    -2
    Меня смешит когда о несуществующем Су-57 говорят как о чем-то реальном. lol А грекам приходится тратить значительные суммы на оборону - у них под боком Турция с неадекватным Эрдоганом, который понимает лишь язык силы. Но даже этот, мягко говоря, не самый мудрый политический деятель не спешит что-то приобретать у России её широко распиаренный истребитель пятого поколения, он хоть и турок, но не полудурок. bully