Russia for the first time in many years began to sell gold


The Central Bank of the Russian Federation for the first time in many years (in 13 years) began to sell gold from its reserves. At the end of the third quarter of 2020, he sold 1,2 tons of precious metal. This is evidenced by the data of the World Gold Council (World Gold Council).


This information coincides with the statistics of the IMF, according to which at the beginning of July this year, the gold reserves of Russia were 73,94 million ounces of gold, and by the beginning of October - 73,90 million ounces. The Central Bank of Russia sold about 10 thousand ounces in July, and in September - about 30 thousand ounces. Thus, 40 thousand ounces of gold were sold, which coincides with the above 1,2 tons. One ounce is 31,1 grams.

The WGC noted that the net sales of the central banks of the countries of the world in the third quarter of 2020 amounted to 12,1 tons of gold, although in 2019 they made a net purchase of 141,9 tons. Moreover, for the first time in a decade, they sold more precious metal than they bought. The main sellers were the central banks of Uzbekistan (34,9 tons), Turkey (22,3 tons), Tajikistan (9,2 tons), the Philippines (7,8 tons) and Mongolia (2,4 tons).

Producing Countries Seized Record Gold Prices To Cushion The Impact Of The COVID-19 Pandemic On economics their states. At the same time, global demand for gold in the third quarter of 2020 fell to 892,3 tons, which was the lowest level since the third quarter of 2009.

We remind you that from April 1, 2020, the Central Bank of Russia stopped buying gold in reserves, and the Russian government began to issue licenses to gold mining companies to export precious metals. According to experts, this was due to a shortage of currency due to the reduction in oil and gas sales caused by the coronavirus.

In the third quarter of 2020, the inflow of foreign currency to Russia from the sale of oil decreased by 51%, to $ 15,3 billion, from the sale of petroleum products by 45%, to $ 8,7 billion, and from the sale of gas by 43%, to $ 4,6 billion. At the same time, according to Raiffeisenbank's estimates, the export of gold partially compensates for Russia's lack of foreign exchange and brings in up to $ 1,5 billion monthly.

In the second quarter of 2020, about 90 tons of gold were exported from Russia. In total, in the first half of 2020, 121,2 tons of gold worth $ 6.4 billion were exported from Russia, which is 7 times more in physical terms than in the same period of 2019. Moreover, in June 2020, 1,4 tons of gold was exported to Belarus, and 22,5 tons went to London.
  • Photos used: Jiaqian AirplaneFan / wikimedia.org
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. bear040 Online bear040
    bear040 1 November 2020 10: 05
    +3
    Selling gold is a bad idea. It would be better to introduce a gold ruble into the Russian Federation so that the population is confident in the future, the national currency rate becomes more stable and predictable, and the Russian Federation finally ceased its dependence on unsupported green candy wrappers

Россия впервые за долгие годы начала распродавать золото


Центральный банк РФ впервые за долгие годы (за 13 лет) начал распродавать золото из резервов. По итогам III квартала 2020 года, он продал 1,2 тонны драгметалла. Об этом свидетельствуют данные Всемирного совета по золоту (World Gold Council).


Эта информация совпадает со статистикой МВФ, согласно которой на начало июля этого года в ЗВР России было 73,94 млн унций золота, а к началу октября – 73,90 млн унций. ЦБ России реализовал в июле порядка 10 тыс. унций, а в сентябре – около 30 тыс. унций. Таким образом, было продано 40 тыс. унций золота, что совпадает с вышеуказанными 1,2 т. Одна унция – 31,1 грамм.

В WGC отметили, что чистые продажи центральных банков стран мира в III квартале 2020 года составили 12,1 т золота, хотя в 2019 году они осуществили чистую покупку 141,9 т. Причем они впервые за десятилетие реализовали драгметалла больше, чем купили. Основными продавцами стали центробанки Узбекистана (34,9 т), Турции (22,3 т), Таджикистана (9,2 т), Филиппин (7,8 тонны) и Монголии (2,4 тонны).

Страны-производители воспользовались рекордными ценами на золото, чтобы смягчить воздействие пандемии COVID-19 на экономики своих государств. При этом спрос на золото в мире в III квартале 2020 года упал до 892,3 т, что стало самым низким показателем с III квартала 2009 года.

Напоминаем, что с 1 апреля 2020 года ЦБ России прекратил покупку золота в резервы, а российское правительство начало выдавать золотодобывающим компаниям лицензии на экспорт драгметалла. По мнению экспертов, это было связано с нехваткой валюты из-за сокращения продаж нефти и газа, вызванных коронавирусом.

В III квартале 2020 года приток валюты в Россию от продажи нефти снизился на 51%, до $15,3 млрд, от продажи нефтепродуктов на 45%, до $8,7 млрд, а от продажи газа на 43%, до $4,6 млрд. При этом по оценкам Райффайзенбанка, экспорт золота частично компенсирует России нехватку валюты и приносит до $1,5 млрд ежемесячно.

Во II квартале 2020 года из России было экспортировано около 90 т золота. Всего в I полугодии 2020 года из России было экспортировано 121,2 т золота на $6.4 млрд, что в натуральном выражении в 7 раз больше, чем за аналогичный период 2019 года. Причем в июне 2020 года 1,4 т золота была экспортирована в Белоруссию, а 22,5 т отправились в Лондон.
  • Использованы фотографии: Jiaqian AirplaneFan/wikimedia.org
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. медведь040 Офлайн медведь040
    медведь040 1 ноября 2020 10:05
    +3
    Продажа золота,это плохая идея. Лучше бы ввели в РФ золотой рубль,чтобы население было уверено в завтрашнем дне,курс национальной валюты стал более стабильным и предсказуемым и РФ наконец прекратила свою зависимость от ничем не обеспеченных зеленых фантиков