First photo of secret stealth drone RQ-180 is being studied in the USA


The first photo of the newest American secret stealth drone RQ-180 has appeared on the Web, writes Aviation Week from the USA.


The photograph was taken a few weeks ago in the military operations area around the Edwards Air Force Base in California. Now amateurs are studying it with interest.

The drone was captured during daylight hours, when it flew at an altitude of 6 meters.At first, it was mistaken for an aircraft of unknown design, but then it became clear that this was the same reconnaissance RQ-180 that Northrop Grumman had developed as part of the JUCAS project.

His first flight, according to the military, he made in 2013 over the territory of Area-51 in the state of Nevada. But up to this point, there were no photographs of him. This image comes a year after the US Air Force adopted the RQ-180.

From the image above, the stealth drone configuration confirms many of its alleged features. It is built on the aerodynamic "flying wing" design and has a simple trailing edge. Its wingspan seems to be significantly larger than that of all known drones and has a relatively small sweep angle. According to the contrail, the drone is equipped with two closely paired twin-circuit turbofan engines.

The RQ-180 is painted in an unusual light color. For this he received the nickname - "Big White Bat". Sometimes called "Shikaka" - the fictional sacred white bat from the 1995 movie "Ace Ventura 2".

The White Bat symbol also appeared on the 74th Reconnaissance Squadron badge. This unit is believed to have become a training squad for the RQ-180 and was specially created in early 2020 following the activation of Task Force 2018 Squad 5 at Beale Air Force Base in California in 9.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. aries2200 Offline aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 4 November 2020 00: 04
    -1
    an article about anything ...................

В США изучают первую фотографию секретного стелc-дрона RQ-180


В Сети появилась первая фотография новейшего американского секретного стелс-дрона RQ-180, пишет издание Aviation Week из США.


Снимок был сделан несколько недель назад в военной оперативной зоне вокруг авиабазы ВВС США «Эдвардс» в штате Калифорния. Теперь любители с интересом изучают его.

Беспилотник был запечатлен в светлое время суток, когда летел на высоте 6 тыс. м. Сначала его приняли за самолет неизвестной конструкции, но затем пришло понимание, что это тот самый разведывательный RQ-180, который компания Northrop Grumman разработала в рамках проекта JUCAS.

Свой первый полет, со слов военных, он совершил в 2013 году над территорией Зоны-51 в штате Невада. Но до этого момента его фотографий не было. Этот снимок появился через год после того, как ВВС США приняли RQ-180 на вооружение.

Судя по изображению, конфигурация стелс-дрона подтверждают многие из его предполагаемых особенностей. Он построен по аэродинамической схеме «летающее крыло» и имеет простую заднюю кромку. Размах его крыльев кажется значительно большим, чем у всех известных беспилотников и имеет относительно небольшой угол стреловидности. Судя по инверсионному следу беспилотник оснащен двумя тесно спаренными двухконтурными турбовентиляторными двигателями.

RQ-180 выкрашен в необычный светлый цвет. За это он получил прозвище – «Большая белая летучая мышь». Иногда его еще называют «Шикака» – вымышленная священная белая летучая мышь из фильма 1995 года «Эйс Вентура 2».

Символ «белая летучая мышь» также появился на значке 74-й разведывательной эскадрильи. Предполагается, что это подразделение стало тренировочным отрядом для RQ-180 и было специально создано в начале 2020 года после активации в 2018 году 5-го отряда 9-й оперативной группы на авиабазе ВВС США «Бил» в штате Калифорния.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. aries2200 Офлайн aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 4 ноября 2020 00:04
    -1
    ни о чем статейка...................