DIie Zeit: Democracy has failed in the USA


It doesn't matter who wins the next US elections in 2020, Donald Trump or Joe Biden. American democracy has already failed, writes the German newspaper Die Zeit.


The idea that unites Americans no longer exists. While the "hesitating" states scrupulously count each ballot, Trump openly declares about "theft of votes and stuffing by mail", the need to stop counting the results of the expression of will and calls on his supporters to "protect the nation."

This could bring the showdown to the US Supreme Court, although there are other scenarios. For example, Trump can simply stay in the White House, ignoring any numbers that do not suit him. At the same time, aggressive supporters of the American president will again begin to arrange clashes with the "leftists". No one knows which tweet Trump will post next to his account. No one knows where and when anger and despair will spill out on the streets of American cities.

One thing with certainty is that after these elections, the rift in American society will be greater than after the Civil War of 1861. Trump has done tremendous damage to the presidency, democracy and, above all, the United States. Polarization undermined the U.S. from within long before Trump's arrival in policy... But he was the biggest result of this process.

Previously, the United States could rely on its democracy. The principle of independent elections was adhered to in any crisis. But under Trump, this order was broken. Previously, the United States could lecture to almost any state on the planet, citing its electoral system as an example. But now this system has been destroyed and is subject to mandatory reform. If Trump wins, he will simply cement the resulting state.

Nor will Biden's victory change what happened overnight. He wants to heal the nation's soul, but after this election, Republicans and Democrats are unlikely to be nice to each other. Biden can do little to ease the pain of what the US has become. It takes a long way to get everything back. But there is a feeling that the American idea no longer exists.
  • Photos used: Tiraspolsky / wikimedia.org
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Berkham Ali-Tyan (Berkham Ali-Tyan) 5 November 2020 19: 56
    +5
    There has never been a democracy there. Whoever has a Colt barrel longer and a thicker purse is right!
  2. Tamara Smirnova Offline Tamara Smirnova
    Tamara Smirnova (Tamara Smirnova) 5 November 2020 20: 55
    +2
    They can't even stop lying to themselves. It's awful. In the mattress there is demonocracy, but not democracy.
  3. oracul Offline oracul
    oracul (leonid) 6 November 2020 07: 07
    +1
    How much democracy in the United States does not wriggle, but the end will be. For democracy is the opinion of the majority, which, in the opinion of unbiased political scientists, is about 60%, but for this, all its institutions must be transparent and understandable to this majority. And therefore it votes for power, which is stability.

DIie Zeit: Демократия потерпела крах в США


Абсолютно неважно, кто одержит победу на очередных выборах в США в 2020 году, Дональд Трамп или Джо Байден. Американская демократия уже потерпела крах, пишет немецкая газета Die Zeit.


Объединяющей американцев идеи больше нет. Пока в «колеблющихся» штатах скрупулезно подсчитывают каждый бюллетень, Трамп открыто заявляет про «кражу голосов и вбросы почтой», необходимость прекратить подсчет результатов волеизъявления и призывает своих сторонников «защитить нацию».

Это может довести выяснение отношений до Верховного суда США, хотя есть и другие варианты развития событий. Например, Трамп может просто остаться в Белом доме, игнорируя любые не устраивающие его цифры. При этом агрессивные сторонники американского президента снова начнут устраивать стычки с «леваками». Никто не знает, какой твит Трамп опубликует в следующий раз в своем аккаунте. Никто не знает, где и когда на улицах американских городов выплеснется ярость и безысходность.

С уверенностью можно сказать одно, что после этих выборов разлом в американском обществе будет сильнее, чем после гражданской войны 1861 года. Трамп нанес огромный ущерб должности президента, демократии и, прежде всего, США. Поляризация подорвала США изнутри задолго до появления Трампа в политике. Но он стал самым большим результатом этого процесса.

Раньше США могли полагаться на свою демократию. Принципа независимых выборов придерживались при любых кризисах. Но при Трампе этот порядок нарушился. Раньше США могли читать нотации практически любому государству на планете, приводя в пример свою избирательную систему. Но теперь эта система разрушена и подлежит обязательному реформированию. Если победит Трамп, он просто зацементирует образовавшееся состояние.

Победа Байдена также не изменит произошедшее в одночасье. Он хочет излечить душу нации, но после этих выборов республиканцы и демократы вряд ли будут друг с другом любезничать. Байден может лишь немного смягчить боль от того, во что превратились США. Чтобы вернуть все назад, нужно совершить долгий путь. Но возникает ощущение, что американской идеи больше не существует.
  • Использованы фотографии: Tiraspolsky/wikimedia.org
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Беркхам Али-Тян (Беркхам Али-Тян) 5 ноября 2020 19:56
    +5
    Никогда там не было демократии. У кого ствол кольта длиннее и кошель толще - тот и прав!
  2. Тамара Смирнова (Тамара Смирнова) 5 ноября 2020 20:55
    +2
    Даже самим себе не могут перестать врать. Страаааашно. В матрасии демонократия, но не демократия.
  3. oracul Офлайн oracul
    oracul (леонид) 6 ноября 2020 07:07
    +1
    Сколько демократии в США не извиваться, а конец будет. Ибо демократия это мнение большинства, которое по мнению неангажированных политологов составляет примерно 60%, но для этого все её институты должны быть прозрачны и понятны этому большинству. И потому оно голосует за власть, а это стабильность.