Why is the US connecting its Marine Corps to the hunt for Russian submarines


"Cold War-2" in the Old World is reaching a new level. The United States intends to intensify its hunt for Russian submarines by connecting its Marine Corps (ILC) to this. Presumably, the American military presence in Norway will only increase after that.


The commander of the ILC, General David Berger, on the pages of a specialized military publication, stated in plain text the following:

Submarine combat will be so critical in the High North and Western Pacific that the Marine Corps should be part of it.

Several conclusions can be drawn from this one proposal: the United States considers the Arctic region to be of critical importance; they fear not so much our surface as the submarine fleet; they are ready to fight it in any way they can. The fight is understood as a set of measures for their preventive detection and escort with the aim of destruction at any time after receiving the appropriate order.

To date, the most real threat to the US Navy is posed by a series of Russian Project 885 M Yasen-M nuclear submarines. Their cruise missiles are supposed to sink warships and convoys leaving US soil to help NATO allies in Europe in the event of hostilities there. In order to track the entry of the Russian Northern Fleet's nuclear submarines into the Atlantic, the Americans created during the Cold War-1 a whole underwater defense line of many hydrophones. However, their SOSUS system is outdated and no longer adequately meets modern challenges, therefore it was largely mothballed and switched to automatic operation.

Now the US Marine Corps will be involved in the search for our submarines. US Marines will begin installing DIFAR-type radio buoys and hydrophone arrays associated with NATO coastal bases. Upon receiving the signal, they will practice pursuing Russian submarines and pointing naval fighters at them. The close interaction of the US Navy and the ILC will create an additional headache for the RF Ministry of Defense. Unfortunately, these are not the only new threats.


Most likely, the Pentagon is using this pretext to increase its presence in Norway. Recall that since 1949, this northern country has conducted policies a ban on the deployment of foreign military bases on their territory. However, after the events in Crimea and the Donbass, Oslo asked Washington to help ensure its safety. In response, 700 American Marines were deployed to Norway, which caused great displeasure in Moscow. Recall that during the "Cold War-1" one of the tasks of the ILC in the Arctic was the capture or destruction of Soviet military bases, sabotage activities and the operational deployment of airfields.

Last August, Washington decided to withdraw almost all of its Marines from Norway to redeploy them to Asian countries, where they should strengthen the containment of the PRC. However, then Oslo said that at any time for conducting exercises on a rotational basis, their number could again be increased. During this period, NATO forces in the region will significantly outnumber the 700 Marines that the Americans have withdrawn. Judging by the statement of the Corps Commander, now such "exercises" will take place constantly, which means that the potential threat to the Russian Northern Fleet will increase from Norway.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 7 November 2020 16: 14
    +3
    Everything is as usual. smile An endless search for who, where and what problems or threats can create for us, both real and imaginary. winked
  2. Dimy4 Offline Dimy4
    Dimy4 (Dmitriy) 7 November 2020 18: 18
    0
    I'm not a specialist, but that all these systems cannot be secretly broken, and then thrown off with your hands?
    1. General Black Offline General Black
      General Black (Gennady) 8 November 2020 12: 21
      +1
      So the Marines will break. There are now a dime a dozen of gifted and tech-savvy people.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 7 November 2020 20: 42
    -1
    This is ordinary news, only it is presented in a strange way.
    To put it simply: the new sensor system will not be installed by technicians, but by the marines.
    At the same time, they will practice.

Зачем США подключают к охоте за русскими подлодками свой Корпус морской пехоты


«Холодная война-2» в Старом свете выходит на новый уровень. США намерены усилить свою охоту за русскими субмаринами, подключив к этому свой Корпус морской пехоты (КМП). Надо полагать, что американское военное присутствие в Норвегии после этого только усилится.


Командующий КМП генерал Дэвид Бергер на страницах специализированного военного издания заявил прямым текстом следующее:

Подводная борьба будет настолько критической на Крайнем Севере и в западной части Тихого океана, что Морской корпус должен быть частью ее.

Из этого одного предложения можно сделать сразу несколько выводов: США считают критически важным именно арктический регион; опасаются они не столько нашего надводного, сколько подводного флота; они готовы бороться с ним любыми доступными способами. Под борьбой понимается комплекс мер по их превентивному обнаружению и сопровождению с целью уничтожения в любой момент после получения соответствующего приказа.

На сегодняшний день наиболее реальную угрозу для американского военно-морского флота представляет серия российских атомных субмарин проекта 885 М «Ясень-М». Их крылатые ракеты должны топить боевые корабли и конвои, идущие с территории США на помощь союзникам по НАТО в Европе в случае начала там военных действий. Для того, чтобы отслеживать выход АПЛ Северного флота РФ в Атлантику, американцы создали в ходе «Холодной войны-1» целый подводный рубеж обороны из множества гидрофонов. Однако их система SOSUS порядком устарела и уже не отвечает в должной мере современным вызовам, потому в значительной степени была законсервирована и перешла в автоматический режим работы.

Теперь к поиску наших субмарин будет подключен Корпус морской пехоты США. Американские морпехи начнут установку буев-радиопередатчиков типа DIFAR и гидрофонных решеток, связанных с береговыми базами НАТО. Получив сигнал, они будут отрабатывать преследование российских подводных лодок и наведение на них истребителей морской авиации. Плотное взаимодействие ВМС США и КМП создаст дополнительную головную боль для Минобороны РФ. К сожалению, этим новые угрозы не исчерпываются.


Вероятнее всего, Пентагон использует этот предлог для того, чтобы нарастить свое присутствие в Норвегии. Напомним, с 1949 года эта северная страна проводила политику запрета на размещение иностранных военных баз на своей территории. Однако после событий в Крыму и на Донбассе Осло обратился с просьбой к Вашингтону помочь обеспечить его безопасность. В ответ в Норвегию были переброшены 700 американских морпехов, что вызвало большое неудовольствие Москвы. Напомним, во времена «Холодной войны-1» одной среди задач КМП в Арктике были захват или уничтожение советских военных баз, диверсионная деятельность и оперативное развертывание аэродромов.

В минувшем августе Вашингтон принял решение о выводе почти всех своих морпехов из Норвегии для передислокации их в страны Азии, где они должны усилить сдерживание КНР. Однако тогда в Осло заявили, что в любой момент для проведения учений на ротационной основе их количество вновь может быть наращено. В этот период силы НАТО в регионе будут значительно превосходить те 700 морпехов, что вывели американцы. Если судить по заявлению командующего Корпусом, теперь такие «учения» будут проходить постоянно, а значит, со стороны Норвегии возрастет потенциальная угроза для Северного флота РФ.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 7 ноября 2020 16:14
    +3
    Все как обычно. smile Нескончаемый поиск кто, где и какие проблемы или угрозы может нам создать, как реальные так и мнимые. winked
  2. Dimy4 Офлайн Dimy4
    Dimy4 (Дмитрий) 7 ноября 2020 18:18
    0
    Я не спец, а что эти все системы нельзя как нибудь втихушку изломать, а потом руками развести?
    1. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 8 ноября 2020 12:21
      +1
      Так морпехи и изломают. Там сейчас одаренных и технически подкованных- пруд пруди.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 7 ноября 2020 20:42
    -1
    Таки рядовая новость, только подана странно.
    Если просто: новую систему датчиков будут устанавливать не технические специалисты, а морпехи.
    Заодно и потренируются.