How Gazprom will seek to raise gas prices for Poles


Poland intends to once again demand from Russia to reduce gas prices. However, "Gazprom" resisted and not only did not "caved in", but in turn demanded an increase in the price of the "blue fuel" supplied by it. Warsaw is unlikely to agree with this formulation of the issue, so most likely the dispute will be resolved in court. But for the first time after a series of offensive defeats in European instances from Ukraine and Poland, the state corporation was faced with an opportunity to gain a judicial victory. What has changed?


In accordance with the current contract for the supply of gas from Yamal, Warsaw and Moscow have the right to revise the cost of one thousand cubic meters every three years if it does not meet market conditions. Poland has already successfully used its right and recovered from Gazprom an amount of $ 1,5 billion for overpayment under the agreement since the beginning of 2014. But now the situation looks somewhat different.

Earlier, in Gazprom's contracts, the price of 70 cubic meters of “blue fuel” was tied to oil prices. With expensive oil, Russian gas was also expensive, which did not suit, in particular, Polish consumers. This is what gave rise to the Stockholm Arbitration to side with Warsaw. However, to date, about XNUMX% of the contracts of the domestic monopolist are tied to spot prices on European exchanges, and the cost of "black gold" is at its lowest. This radically changes the situation from the point of view of ideas about the "fairness" of pricing.

In addition, there is one more weighty argument related to the price of gas on the spot exchanges. This year, the price of a thousand cubic meters set a real anti-record: in the spring of 2020 it fell to $ 34. This was a direct consequence of the drop in fuel demand caused by the six-week "oil war" and the coronavirus pandemic that coincided with it, which brought down industrial production and consumption. In order to stay in business, LNG suppliers were forced to sell their feedstock at a price below profitability. It got to the point that it was more profitable for traders to pay a penalty for non-delivery than to drive a tanker across the ocean to its buyer.

In anticipation of winter, gas prices on spot exchanges are starting to rise again, but prices for "blue fuel" in Europe and Asia are still at historic lows. Gazprom is suffering huge losses due to the loss of market share and low quotations. In the period from the beginning of the year to August, he was able to earn 50% less than expected from supplies to the EU. In the first, most difficult quarter of 2020, the state corporation generally showed a loss of 116 billion rubles.

Under such market conditions, demanding further reduction of the contract price from Gazprom is a real mockery and pushing the monopolist to bankruptcy. It is clear that the Europeans traditionally do not really feel sorry for Russia, but certain ideas about common sense and legality in making decisions should also be in fairly committed Western courts. It is possible that the Stockholm arbitration will side with the Russian company this time and even raise the price of gas for Poland.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 12 November 2020 16: 02
    -1
    Our Gazprom has repeatedly shown lack of education. Winter in Europe must be very fierce for Gazprom to win anything in European courts.
  2. Polente the Wanderer 12 November 2020 19: 16
    0
    Abracadabra in evidence that it is possible to raise the price of gas
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 13 November 2020 00: 10
    0
    So let's see if the Gazprom oligarchs will be able to win something over the hill.
    Or again the population is screwing up and screwing up.
  4. Rus Offline Rus
    Rus 13 November 2020 08: 35
    -1
    There is nothing they can not ... Only for us they will raise 100% of the price.
  5. Yurets Offline Yurets
    Yurets (Yuri) 15 November 2020 19: 06
    0
    All the author's reasoning is built in Russian "maybe"!

Как «Газпром» будет добиваться повышения цены на газ для поляков


Польша намерена в очередной раз потребовать от России снижения цены на газ. Однако «Газпром» уперся и не только не «прогнулся», но и в свою очередь потребовал увеличения цены на поставляемое им «голубое топливо». Едва ли Варшава согласится с такой постановкой вопроса, поэтому вероятнее всего спор будет решаться в суде. Но впервые после череды обидных проигрышей в европейских инстанциях от Украины и Польши перед госкорпорацией замаячила возможность одержать судебную победу. Что же изменилось?


В соответствии с действующим контрактом на поставку газа с Ямала, Варшава и Москва вправе раз в три года пересматривать стоимость тысячи кубометров, если она не отвечает рыночным условиям. Польша своим правом уже успешно воспользовалась и взыскала с «Газпрома» сумму в 1,5 миллиарда долларов за переплату по договору в период с начала 2014 года. Но сейчас ситуация выглядит несколько иначе.

Ранее в контрактах «Газпрома» цена на тысячу кубометров «голубого топлива» была привязана к нефтяным котировкам. При дорогой нефти дорого стоил и российский газ, что не устраивало, в частности, польских потребителей. Именно это и дало основания Стокгольмскому арбитражу встать на сторону Варшавы. Однако к настоящему моменту порядка 70% договоров отечественного монополиста привязано к спотовым ценам на европейских биржах, а стоимость «черного золота» находится на минимальных значениях. Это кардинально меняет ситуацию с точки зрения представлений о «справедливости» ценообразования.

Кроме того, есть и еще один весомый аргумент, связанный со стоимостью газа на спотовых биржах. В этом году цена тысячи кубометров поставила настоящий антирекорд: весной 2020-го она падала до 34 долларов. Это стало прямым следствием падения спроса на топливо, вызванного шестинедельной «нефтяной войной» и совпавшей с ней по времени пандемией коронавируса, которые обрушили объемы промышленного производства и потребления. Чтобы остаться в деле, поставщики СПГ были вынуждены продавать свое сырье по цене ниже рентабельности. Доходило до того, что трейдерам было выгоднее заплатить штраф за непоставку, чем гнать танкер через океан его покупателю.

В ожидании зимы стоимость газа на спотовых биржах опять начинает расти, но цены на «голубое топливо» в Европе и Азии по-прежнему остаются на исторических минимумах. «Газпром» несет огромные убытки из-за потери доли рынка и низких котировок. В период с начала года до августа он смог заработать на поставках в ЕС на 50% меньше ожидаемого. В первом, самом сложном квартале 2020-го госкорпорация вообще показывала убыток в размере 116 миллиардов рублей.

При таких рыночных условиях требовать от «Газпрома» дальнейшего снижения контрактной цены – настоящее глумление и подталкивание монополиста к банкротству. Понятно, что европейцам Россию традиционно не очень жалко, но определенные представления о здравом смысле и законности в вынесении решений должны быть и у достаточно ангажированных западных судебных инстанций. Не исключено, что Стокгольмский арбитраж на этот раз встанет на сторону российской компании и даже повысит цену на газ для Польши.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 12 ноября 2020 16:02
    -1
    Наш Газпром уже не раз показывал необразованность. Зима в Европе должна быть очень лютой, чтобы Газпром в европейских судах что нибудь выиграл.
  2. Странник Поленте 12 ноября 2020 19:16
    0
    Абракадабра в доказательствах что есть возможность поднять цену на газ
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 13 ноября 2020 00:10
    0
    Вот и посмотрим, Олигархи газпромовские смогут ли чтото выграть за бугром.
    Или опять лажанется и трабанет население.
  4. Rus Офлайн Rus
    Rus 13 ноября 2020 08:35
    -1
    Нечего они не смогут... Только для нас поднимут 100% цены.
  5. Юрец Офлайн Юрец
    Юрец (Юрий) 15 ноября 2020 19:06
    0
    Все рассуждения автора построены на русском "авось"!