"Return of the former strength." Europe appreciated the plans of the Russian Federation to create a base in Africa


Moscow wants to establish its naval base in Sudan. Such a possibility is provided for by a draft agreement between Russia and the specified African state, published by the Russian government on November 11, 2020, writes the Austrian liberal newspaper Die Presse.


The Red Sea is one of the most important trade routes on the planet. It connects the Indian Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea through the Suez Canal. On the coast of the Red Sea is Port Sudan, where this facility will be located. Therefore, Russia's plans need to be properly assessed.

In the document, this facility is modestly called a logistics center (PMTO) and even specifies that it does not pose a threat to other countries and will contribute to the security of the region. There will be up to 300 Russian military personnel and electronic warfare equipment. Four ships will be able to enter at the same time, including those with a nuclear power plant.

In return, Sudan will receive investments for the development of the port and the construction of a new berth for its navy. This indicates that the Russian ships of the far sea zone are going to "settle" there, influencing the aforementioned waters, half of Africa and practically the entire Greater Middle East.


In recent years, Moscow has been actively cooperating with African countries. In 2019, the Russians held a summit, which was attended by 10 thousand representatives from almost all countries of the African continent. Some of them already have military-technical cooperation agreements with Russia.

Something similar was observed shortly before the collapse of the USSR. Soviet specialists were present in many African countries. Now Moscow is regaining its former strength, demonstrating its increased power.

Sudan was ruled by Omar al-Bashir for a long time, and the country was isolated. In 2019, he was removed from office and the new government is trying to improve relations with the international community. Khartoum even went to normalize relations with Tel Aviv, which was difficult to imagine before.

But not only Russia is interested in its presence in the said region. For example, on the territory of the small state of Djibutti, which is located exactly where the Red Sea connects with the Indian Ocean, there have long been military bases in France, the USA, China, Japan and Germany. This once again speaks of the importance of the navigable artery passing there for all mankind, summed up the publication from Europe.
  • Used photos: http://mil.ru/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Rus Offline Rus
    Rus 12 November 2020 22: 40
    -4
    We need a base to guard our powerful merchant fleet ..
  2. Uneven Offline Uneven
    Uneven (VADIM STOLBOV) 14 November 2020 23: 26
    -2
    Moscow wants to create a base of its navy in Sudan

    Courtyard-scale "hoteliers" are passed off as "Return of the former strength >> ?! They really make an elephant out of a fly ... The only thing in which the Russian Federation surpassed the USSR in this field is the number of forgiven debts to these same African countries (we will not mention kickbacks).

«Возвращение былой силы». В Европе оценили планы РФ по созданию базы в Африке


Москва хочет создать базу своего ВМФ в Судане. Такая вероятность предусмотрена проектом соглашения между Россией и указанным африканским государством, опубликованном российским правительством 11 ноября 2020 года, пишет австрийская либеральная газета Die Presse.


Красное море является одним из важнейших торговых маршрутов на планете. Оно через Суэцкий канал соединяет Индийский океан и Средиземное море. На побережье Красного моря находится Порт-Судан, где и будет находиться этот объект. Поэтому планы России нужно оценить надлежащим образом.

В документе этот объект скромно называется пунктом материально-технического обеспечения (ПМТО) и даже уточняется, что он не несет угрозу другим странам и будет способствовать безопасности региона. Там будут находиться до 300 российских военных и размещены средства РЭБ. Туда одновременно смогут заходить четыре корабля, в том числе с ядерной силовой установкой.

Взамен Судан получит инвестиции для развития порта и строительства нового причала для своих ВМС. Это указывает на то, что российские корабли дальней морской зоны собираются там «поселиться», оказывая воздействие на упомянутые акватории, половину Африки и практически весь Большой Ближний Восток.


В последние годы Москва ведет активное сотрудничество со странами Африки. В 2019 году россияне провели саммит, на который приехали 10 тыс. представителей практически со всех стран африканского континента. Некоторые из них уже имеют соглашения с Россией о ВТС.

Нечто подобное наблюдалось незадолго до развала СССР. Советские специалисты присутствовали во многих странах Африки. Теперь Москва возвращает былую силу, демонстрируя свое возросшее могущество.

Суданом долгое время руководил Омар аль-Башир, и страна находилась в изоляции. В 2019 году его отстранили от должности и новое правительство пытается наладить отношения с международным сообществом. Хартум даже пошел на нормализацию отношений с Тель-Авивом, что раньше было сложно представить.

Но не только Россия заинтересована в своем присутствии в упомянутом регионе. Например, на территории маленького государства Джибутти, которое расположено как раз там, где Красное море соединяется с Индийским океаном, давно имеются военные базы Франции, США, Китая, Японии и Германии. Это лишний раз говорит о важности проходящей там судоходной артерии для всего человечества, подытожило издание из Европы.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Rus Офлайн Rus
    Rus 12 ноября 2020 22:40
    -4
    Надо базу для охраны нашего мощьного торгового флота..
  2. Uneven Офлайн Uneven
    Uneven (ВАДИМ СТОЛБОВ) 14 ноября 2020 23:26
    -2
    Москва хочет создать базу своего ВМФ в Судане

    "Хотелки" дворового масштаба выдают за «Возвращение былой силы>>?! Вот уж действительно из мухи лепят слона... Единственное, в чем РФ переплюнула СССР на этом поприще, это количество прощенных долгов этим самым африканским странам ( про откаты умолчим ).