"India is ready to give a tough response to Beijing": Indian Prime Minister appeared on the Arjun tank


Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, dressed in camouflage, was spotted on a 68-ton Arjun Mark 1-A Hunter Killer tank equipped with a 120mm cannon during a trip to Longuewala post in Rajasthan. The head of the government went there to celebrate the largest Indian holiday Diwali ("fire cluster" - a kind of analogue of the New Year) with soldiers, writes The Print newspaper from India.


Modi said that if China decides to encroach on the country, then India is ready to give a tough response to Beijing. The appearance of the premier on a tank made in India has sparked excitement at the Defense Research and Development Organization (DRDO). They expressed the hope that this is a signal in support of the local manufacturer and that the Indian army will not refuse to order 118 such tanks.

I was so happy to see the Prime Minister on the Arjun MBT. At the same time, we hope that the order by the army of two battalions Mk 1-A will be accelerated

- said the representative of the Center for Research and Development of Combat Vehicles (CVRDE) in Chennai (part of DRDO).

The COVID-19 pandemic and tensions with China have slowed the arrival of Arjun tanks into the army. At the same time, he received 14 improvements and became the most protected MBT in the Indian arsenal. He now has mine plows, and the 12,7 mm machine gun can now be controlled from inside the tank.


The Arjun MBT project was launched in the mid-70s. However, it was only in 2004 that the first two tank battalions entered the army. In 2010, the Arjun MBT surpassed the Russian T-90 during tests in the desert. At least that's what the Indian side claims. But a number of problems, including being overweight, made it difficult to use. An improved version of the Indian tank has now appeared.

The Indian army currently has 124 Arjun tanks deployed in the Jaisalmer desert along the border with Pakistan, Indian broadcaster NDTV reported. The appearance of the prime minister on a tank on such a day also became symbolic and indicates “the victory of light over darkness,” as the Indian media write. The holiday lasts five days and is dedicated to the fact that, according to legend, a divine doctor, the embodiment of the god Vishnu, the father of medicine and Ayurveda, Dhanvantari, who healed everyone, appeared from the waters of the Ocean of Milk.
  • Photos used: http://ajaishukla.blogspot.com/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
    sgrabik (Sergei) 15 November 2020 11: 03
    +3
    Yes, no words, instead of active protection, this "Arjun" has sandbags, and the 12,7 mm machine gun that has just appeared on it, controlled from the inside, has been used in our tanks since the beginning of the 90s, weighing almost 70 tons does not speak at all about his invulnerability, but in terms of cross-country ability and mobility with such overweight, he clearly has problems !!!
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 15 November 2020 12: 07
    +3
    How protected is this Indian miracle from defeat from above (air strikes), which today are becoming the main destructive means of armor. The same question for our MBT, especially the Armata, and it's not time to move on to unmanned armored vehicles, instead of MBT, because the recent battles in Karabakh clearly demonstrated future trends ...
  3. lahudra Offline lahudra
    lahudra (Nikolay Kondrashkin) 16 November 2020 07: 21
    0
    Sandbags must be placed on the roof of the tank, then no drones will certainly hit Arjun. A mighty weight can prevent the use of this miracle weapon in the conditions of a military operation with China, but not for me, a civilian shtafirka, to teach Indian soldiers.

«Индия готова дать жёсткий ответ Пекину»: индийский премьер появился на танке «Арджун»


Премьер-министр Индии Нарендра Моди, одетый в камуфляж, был замечен на 68-тонном танке «Арджун» (Arjun) Mark 1-A «Hunter Killer», оснащенном 120-мм пушкой, во время поездки на пост Лонгевала в Раджастане. Глава правительства отправился туда, чтобы отпраздновать самый большой индийский праздник Дивали («огненная гроздь» - своеобразный аналог Нового года) с солдатами, пишет газета The Print из Индии.


Моди заявил, что если Китай вздумает посягнуть на страну, то Индия готова дать жёсткий ответ Пекину. Появление премьера на танке, сделанного в Индии, вызвало восторг в Организации оборонных исследований и разработок (DRDO). Там выразили надежду, что это является сигналом в поддержку местного производителя и индийская армия не откажется от заказа 118 таких танков.

Я был так счастлив видеть премьер-министра на ОБТ «Арджун». При этом мы надеемся, что заказ армией двух батальонов Mk 1-A будет ускорен

– сказал представитель Центра исследований и разработок боевых машин (CVRDE) в Ченнаи (входит в DRDO).

Пандемия COVID-19 и напряженность в отношениях с Китаем замедлили процесс поступления танков «Арджун» в армию. При этом он получил 14 усовершенствований и стал самым защищенным ОБТ в арсенале Индии. У него появились противоминные плуги, а 12,7-мм пулеметом теперь можно управлять изнутри танка.


Проект ОБТ «Арджун» был начат в середине 70-х годов. Однако только в 2004 году первые два танковых батальона поступили в войска. В 2010 году ОБТ «Арджун» превзошел российский Т-90 во время испытаний в пустыне. По крайней мере, так утверждает индийская сторона. Но ряд проблем, включая избыточный вес, затрудняли его использование. Теперь появилась улучшенная версия индийского танка.

В настоящее время армия Индии имеет 124 танка «Арджун», которые развернуты в пустынной местности Джайсалмера вдоль границы с Пакистаном, сообщила индийская телекомпания NDTV. Появление премьера на танке в такой день стало также символичным и указывает «на победу света над тьмой», как пишут СМИ Индии. Праздник длится пять суток и посвящён тому, что, по преданию, из вод Молочного океана появился божественный врач, воплощение бога Вишну, отец медицины и аюрведы, Дханвантари, который всех исцелил.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://ajaishukla.blogspot.com/
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. sgrabik Офлайн sgrabik
    sgrabik (Сергей) 15 ноября 2020 11:03
    +3
    Да уж, нет слов, вместо активной защиты у этого "Арджуна" мешки с песком, а только что появившийся на нём 12,7 мм пулемёт, управляемый изнутри, в наших танках применялся уже с начала 90-х годов, масса почти в 70 тонн совсем не говорит о его неуязвимости, а в плане проходимости и мобильности с таким избыточным весом у него явно имеются проблемы!!!
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 15 ноября 2020 12:07
    +3
    Как защищёно это индийское чудо от поражений с верху ( воздушные удары), что на сегодня становятся главными поражающими средствами брони. Тот же самый вопрос к нашим ОБТ, особенно Армате, и не пора переходить к безэкипажным бронированным средствам, в замену ОБТ, ибо последние бои в Карабахе наглядно продемонстрировали будущие тенденции...
  3. лахудра Офлайн лахудра
    лахудра (Николай Кондрашкин) 16 ноября 2020 07:21
    0
    Мешки с песком необходимо разместить на крыше танка, тогда то уж точно никакие беспилотники не поразят Арджуна. Могучий вес может помешать применению этого чудо-оружия в условиях твд с Китаем, но не мне, гражданской штафирке, учить индийских воинов.