What will a naval base on the Red Sea give Russia


A Russian naval base will appear on the African coast. A corresponding agreement was signed between Moscow and Khartoum. What can give our country the presence of its reference point on the Red Sea?


The Russian government signed an agreement with Sudan to open a logistics center for the Russian Navy in its only seaport. In accordance with this document, the necessary territory will be provided for a period of 25 years and free of charge, which is good news. The base will be able to accommodate up to 300 military personnel, no more than four vessels, including those with a nuclear power plant, will be able to enter the adjacent water area in a simplified manner for repair and technical equipment. All equipment, weapons and supplies can be imported by our sailors for their needs without additional duties and fees from the Sudanese authorities. Khartoum is responsible for the external security of the PMTO, and the Russian side for the internal security. This event belongs to the category of positive, however, it is necessary to take into account some important nuances.

At first, PMTO should not be confused with a full-fledged naval base. Its purpose is precisely the maintenance of ships, replenishment of supplies. No troops with tanks, missiles and aircraft are expected in Sudan yet.

Secondly, four warships, even with "Calibers", the force is not so great. Of course, "Peter the Great" or "Admiral Nakhimov", which refer to ships with a nuclear power plant, are formidable warships, but they belong to our Northern Fleet, where they are destined to carry out their service. In the Red Sea, if they appear, then only temporarily and to demonstrate the flag. Strictly speaking, it is the display of the flag, as well as the fight against pirates, that will be the main real tasks of our modest flotilla in this region.

However, one should not underestimate the appearance of a PMTO in Port Sudan in Russia. It is through the Red Sea that the path from the Mediterranean to the Indian Ocean passes. The interests of many players are concentrated in this strategically important point on the planet, and our country has not yet been among them. The Russian Navy is already receiving a second stronghold after the Syrian Tartus, where Russian warships can be repaired and replenished, and their crews can get rest.

Among other things, Moscow is forced to rebuild relations with Khartoum. We will remind, recently a military coup took place in Sudan. Deposed President Omar al-Bashir was considered almost a friend of Vladimir Putin, but now the military is in charge of everything in this African country. Before the coup d'état, Russian corporations Rosatom and Russian Railways showed interest in projects in Sudan, the company of businessman Yevgeny Prigozhin intended to develop gold deposits. Al-Bashir directly asked the Kremlin for help against the Americans:

We are grateful to Russia for its position on the international arena, including for Russia's position on the defense of Sudan. We need protection from the aggressive actions of the United States ... America managed to divide Sudan into two countries, and now it is trying to divide it even more ... We believe that what happened in our country is the result of American policy.

Unsurprisingly, the Sudanese president was overthrown suddenly. However, powerful influence from Washington still requires the new authorities to try to reduce it by attracting additional external power in the person of Russia. It is significant that Khartoum agreed to sign an agreement on the opening of the PMTO of the Russian Navy, which was agreed upon by al-Bashir. At the same time, Moscow managed to get ahead of Ankara in this matter, which also tried to gain a foothold in the Red Sea. At least in some way we have bypassed the Turks.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 16 November 2020 14: 55
    -1
    Let the tail lie down for a start ...
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 16 November 2020 16: 02
    0
    A base in Sudan is needed in the direction of the Middle East problem, where the main snitch of all jihadists and their warrior is Saudi Arabia, and other Qatars to boot. Right here on the Red Sea is the RF checkpoint. with possible pressure on the Saudis and others, it will become uncomfortable and impudent will be less ...

Что даст России военно-морская база на Красном море


На африканском побережье появится российская военно-морская база. Соответствующее соглашение было подписано между Москвой и Хартумом. Что же может дать нашей стране наличие своей опорной точки на Красном море?


Правительство РФ подписало соглашение с Суданом об открытии в его единственном морском порту пункта материально-технического обеспечения (ПМТО) российского ВМФ. В соответствии с данным документом, необходимая территория будет предоставлена сроком на 25 лет и безвозмездно, что не может не радовать. На базе сможет находиться до 300 военнослужащих, в прилегающую к ней акваторию смогут в упрощенном порядке заходить не более четырех судов, в том числе, с ядерной силовой установкой, для ремонта и технического оснащения. Все оборудование, вооружение и припасы могут завозиться нашими моряками для своих нужд без дополнительных пошлин и сборов со стороны суданских властей. За внешнюю охрану ПМТО отвечает Хартум, за внутреннюю – российская сторона. Данное событие относится к категории позитивных, однако необходимо учитывать некоторые важные нюансы.

Во-первых, ПМТО не стоит путать с полноценной военно-морской базой. Его предназначение состоит именно в техническом обслуживании кораблей, пополнении припасов. Никаких войск с танками, ракетами и авиацией у нас в Судане пока не предвидится.

Во-вторых, четыре боевых корабля, даже с «Калибрами», сила не такая уж и великая. Конечно, «Петр Великий» или «Адмирал Нахимов», которые относятся к судам с ядерной силовой установкой, это грозные военные корабли, но они относятся к нашему Северному флоту, где им и суждено нести свою службу. В Красном море они если и появятся, то лишь временно и для демонстрации флага. Собственно говоря, именно демонстрация флага, а также борьба с пиратами, и будут основными реальными задачами нашей скромной флотилии этом регионе.

Впрочем, не стоит и недооценивать появление у России ПМТО в Порт-Судане. Именно через Красное море проходит путь от Средиземного в Индийский океан. В этой стратегически важной точке планеты сосредоточены интересы множества игроков, и нашей страны до сих пор среди них не было. ВМФ РФ получает уже второй опорный пункт после сирийского Тартуса, где российские боевые корабли могут отремонтироваться и пополнить запасы, а их экипажи – получить отдых.

Помимо всего прочего, Москва вынуждена заново выстраивать отношения с Хартумом. Напомним, недавно в Судане произошел военный переворот. Смещенный президент Омар аль-Башир считался чуть ли не другом Владимира Путина, но теперь в этой африканской стране всем заправляют военные. До госпереворота интерес к проектам в Судане проявляли российские корпорации «Росатом» и РЖД, компания бизнесмена Евгения Пригожина намеревалась разрабатывать месторождения золота. Аль-Башир прямо просил помощи у Кремля против американцев:

Мы благодарны России за ее позицию на международной арене, в том числе за позицию России по защите Судана. Мы нуждаемся в защите от агрессивных действий Соединенных Штатов... Америке удалось разделить Судан на две страны, и теперь она пытается еще больше разделить его… Мы считаем, что то, что произошло в нашей стране, является результатом американской политики.

Неудивительно, что суданский президент был скоропостижно свергнут. Однако мощное влияние со стороны Вашингтона по-прежнему требует от новых властей попытаться снизить его за счет привлечения дополнительной внешней силы в лице России. Показательно, что Хартум пошел на подписание соглашения об открытии ПМТО ВМФ РФ, о котором договаривался еще аль-Башир. При этом Москве удалось опередить в данном вопросе Анкару, которая также пыталась закрепиться на Красном море. Хотя бы в чем-то мы турок обошли.
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 16 ноября 2020 14:55
    -1
    Пусть для начала хвостик полежит...
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 16 ноября 2020 16:02
    0
    База в Судане необходима по направлению на Ближневовсточные проблемы, где главный закопёрщик всех джихадистов и их воин,- Саудовская Аравия, да и прочие Катары в придачу. Вот под боком на Красном море и блок-пост РФ. с возможным давлением на саудовцев и прочих, неуютно станет и наглет менее будут......