Moldavian U-turn: Will Russia Get Nagorno-Karabakh-2 in Transnistria


The victory in the presidential election in Moldova, won by Maia Sandu, who is considered a politician with a distinctly pro-Western orientation, should not be dramatized. However, it would be fundamentally wrong to underestimate the potential risks that it carries. First of all, for our country. A good-natured and "relaxed" attitude to a situation that at first glance poses no real danger to Russia and does not promise immediate negative consequences has already cost us too much.


Let's try to analyze the issue more deeply and figure out what the current change of president in Chisinau can lead to, both in the short and long term.

Chisinau: between East and West


The fact that Moscow does not make a tragedy out of the electoral sympathies of Moldovans is clear from the fact that Vladimir Putin, without delay, congratulated Maia Sanda on her victory - the third, if I’m not mistaken, among all world leaders. This is understandable - the newly elected lady-president is not Poroshenko, and Dodon is certainly not Lukashenko (in his current incarnation, radiant with transcendental love for our country). Sandu, for all her completely open sympathy for the West, seems to be not a noteworthy Russophobe. But exactly what "seems to be" ... At least one such leader among our neighbors already exists. In the sense - for now. Nikol Pashinyan also, I remember, was broadcasting about "balanced relations" with everyone around, about "fruitful dialogue" and about unwillingness to create problems for Moscow. Just like Sandu now. But his activity as the head of Armenia resulted in such consequences that our country has to “clean up” today. Could something similar happen in Moldova? Alas, very easy.

This country, like Armenia, by the way, is willy-nilly "tied" to Russia by a great many visible and invisible threads - from energy flows and our market, which it desperately needs, to many of its own citizens working in the Russian open spaces. Again, a third of Moldovans are still Russian-speaking and perceive Russian culture as their own, despite the best efforts of local nationalists. Even with the greatest desire of Sandu or the forces behind her, it will not work to instantly turn them into "non-brothers". How it will not work out and at once to get away from economic interaction with Moscow. As practice has shown, in the European Union, the Association Agreement with which Moldova signed almost simultaneously with the “non-existent” one, if something is expected from this country, then only new flows of migrant workers. But 33% of its inhabitants already work outside the cordon.

And, nevertheless, the said Agreement has been signed in its entirety and, taking into account the fact that the newly elected President has spoken many times about her most ardent commitment to "European integration", as well as her desire to implement it not in words, but in deeds, one should expect that the western vector of Chisinau may significantly increase. At the same time, unlike the same Ukraine, Moldova has every chance of being in the EU, as they say, even tomorrow. True, it is exclusively a part of Romania, which quite sincerely considers it not a sovereign state, but its own "temporarily lost" province. The most unpleasant thing is that such ideas do not cause much objection from a fairly large part of Moldovans. Approximately 30% of those are quite ready to "turn to the Romanians," 40% are unlikely to agree to this, since they consider the course of friendship and cooperation with Russia correct. The rest are hesitant or those who do not care what flag they live under. Tellingly, many representatives of all these categories have Romanian passports today - it is easier and easier to travel to the EU, and even more so to find a job there. It's more profitable this way.

It is not known how the majority of Moldovans will vote in the event of a referendum on joining Bucharest, but it is clear that they would not even think of resisting such an "Anschluss" with arms in hand. Naturally - with the exception of those who inhabit the Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic, which is not just a bone in the throat for local “European integrators” and supporters of Romanization, but the main obstacle to the implementation of their plans. And this is where we come to the main potential problem that may arise in Moscow's relations not only with Chisinau, but also with all our other "best friends" - the European Union, the United States and NATO.

Transnistria and Karabakh - what are the similarities and what are the differences?


In no case will Moldova be able to enter the EU, the North Atlantic Alliance, or, in fact, the “kindred” Romania, Moldova, without resolving the issue with Transnistria and leaving it in its current state. This is precisely the main difference between this incident and the problem of Nagorno-Karabakh. If in the Caucasus we are dealing with the stubborn desire of the two peoples to return (retain) the "ancestral lands" at any cost, then in the case of Transnistria everything is different. Moldovan "nationalists", who in fact are patriots of "Greater Romania", for all their talk about the need to "deal with the separatists" and "liberate the illegally occupied territories" with great pleasure would get rid of the PMR as a real nightmare. But how? Now in Russia they are very vividly discussing possible options for such actions, which could be initiated by the election of Sandu. All too apocalyptic predictions, such as those voiced by Mr. Markov - that “Transnistria will be surrendered to Bandera Ukraine”, after which “Russia’s war with Kiev and Bucharest, and then with the whole of NATO, will certainly begin”, in truth implausible.

First of all, personally, I definitely do not see on the basis of what international legal mechanisms the PMR, even theoretically, could become “non-existent”. Moreover, such an escapade (even with the hypothetical support of Romania), which has been unable to take control of Donbass for almost seven years now, is simply too tough for Ukraine militarily. Even if we "leave out of brackets" the Russian peacekeepers stationed in the PMR. In addition, unlike the “Crimean spring” of 2014, this will definitely be aggression and annexation in their purest form. Inhabitants of Pridnestrovie in all referendums speak only and exclusively for joining Russia. After such an adventure Kiev will have to shut up tightly about Crimea and not even try to raise questions about it.

Scenarios in which Chisinau and Bucharest will try to “pacify” the PMR look less fantastic. Especially after the military success achieved in the Caucasus by Baku with Turkish support. Agree - very similar alliances. However, nothing like that is even close as long as the 14th Army of the Russian Armed Forces is stationed in the PMR. Consequently, the main vector of the West's efforts in the near future will be directed precisely at the withdrawal of these peacekeeping forces. Alas, Sandu herself has repeatedly spoken in favor of the fact that the Russian contingent should be replaced by some kind of "international" (read - a NATO warrior), since it "is a factor of instability for the whole of Europe." At the same time, she, in fact, word for word, repeats the demands constantly put forward on this matter to our country by the US State Department. "The Russians must go!" - this is repeated there with a tenacity worthy of a better application. While Dodon was in power, this message at least was not duplicated by the official Chisinau. Now everything can change.

Additional difficulties in this case are created (as, by the way, in the situation with Armenia), the absence of a common border with Russia for the PMR. Moldova together with Ukraine (and judging by Sandu herself, she is going to solve this issue just "with the active participation of the Ukrainian side") may well arrange a blockade of Transnistria and complicate the life of both local residents and our military to the limit. On the other hand, it is far from the fact that the winner of the current elections will want, and most importantly, will be able to do this. Do not forget that in Moldova the republic is not a presidential, but a parliamentary one, and a greater amount of power is concentrated in the hands of legislators and the government, and not the formal head of state - which the same Dodon was shown very clearly in his time. For a final victory, Sandu and her political forces must also organize, and then win early parliamentary elections, after which a cabinet of ministers completely loyal to itself must be formed.

Whether this will succeed is a very big question. Here again it is impossible to refrain from parallels with Armenia. Like Pashinyan in his time, Sandu came to power under the slogans of "fighting corruption", "improving economics"And the like. Roughly speaking, they expect everything from her at once. As practice shows, such bright hopes are never justified, and the larger they are, the deeper and more bitter the disappointment in policyon which they were pinned. The socialists (with or without Dodon) will be quite able to take revenge from the "European integrators" - especially since this has already happened in Moldova, and more than once. The question is, what will Sandu and his company manage to heap up during his time in power ... In Armenia, the “fight against corruption” announced by Pashinyan ultimately resulted in a banal prosecution of his personal “offenders” and political opponents, among whom, strangely, “ accidents ”were almost all of the most pro-Russian local politicians. And also military men with real combat experience. It all ended, in fact, with the creation by the Armenian side of the preconditions for the Karabakh war, now shamefully lost by it ...

Why Moscow allowed in Moldova the defeat of the one who was called almost its direct protege and whether Dodon was in fact such is a topic for a completely separate discussion. At present, our country, building a policy towards Chisinau and the new leadership of the country, will have to deal with the realities that are available. Whether at the same time Transnistria will turn into a new arena for a geopolitical clash, or even another local military conflict, depends on many factors, but not least of all - on the balanced and adequate decisions taken in the Kremlin.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Online Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 17 November 2020 09: 56
    +1
    In Moldova, the Orthodox Church dominates in religion. The question is, how does she view reunification with Romania? And there are also the Gagauz people who are against Romanization. Together with Pridnestrovie, in the event of Romanization, they can create an alliance, or a federation of non-alignment. Will be like Liechtenstein or Monaco ...
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 17 November 2020 15: 09
      +2
      Today, nationalism has been raised on the shield, and it is winning, the issue of Moldova's annexation to Romania is a foregone conclusion, only a delay in time, and in this state of affairs Russia is a colonial raw material appendage with a corrupt ruling elite. Hope for a change of top, only then the vector of rapprochement can turn to Russia.
  2. Xuli (o) Tebenado 17 November 2020 23: 02
    -2
    Again, a third of Moldovans are still Russian-speaking

    This was the case 30 years ago. Now Russian-speaking - about 24% (according to official data), and in fact - even less. The number of ethnic Russians in 30 years has fallen from 12% to 5% today, most of whom are aged 70+.

    while the 14th army of the Russian armed forces is in the PMR

    There has been no 14th army there for a long time. There is OGRV - a Limited Group of Russian Troops, guarding military depots with ammunition made 35-50 years ago. Plus MS - peacekeeping forces.

    Do not forget that in Moldova, the republic is not a presidential, but a parliamentary one, and a greater amount of power is concentrated in the hands of legislators and the government, and not the formal head of state.

    This is true, so fears about Sandu are greatly exaggerated. The President of Moldova is a representative position.

    In general, it is a difficult-to-read mess from Armenia, Ukraine, Moldova-Transnistria.
  3. Uneven Offline Uneven
    Uneven (VADIM STOLBOV) 20 November 2020 22: 02
    -3
    On June 22, 2018, the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution on the withdrawal of Russian troops from Transnistria.
    The UN General Assembly resolution requires the withdrawal of the Russian military from the Transnistrian region of Moldova and the removal of weapons from the military depot of the Soviet era.
  4. Teacher Offline Teacher
    Teacher (Wise) 22 November 2020 11: 50
    +1
    To avoid the horrors of war and imminent global shame, in the event of leaving Transnistria, do the following:
    1. To recognize the PMR (there are decisions of two referendums);
    2. Admit to the Russian Federation (example of the Crimea);
    3. Unscrew the hands of both Moldova and Ukraine with the requirement of a transport corridor to the region of the Russian Federation (is it really impossible ?!);
    4. The Transnistrian region has already survived in the harshest conditions of the economic blockade, and will flourish as part of the Russian Federation.
    5. All neighboring regions of the poorest Moldova and Ukraine will become empty. residents will seek to the Russian Federation (PMR) or will raise uprisings at home with the aim of joining the Russian Federation along with their land.
    With all this, not a drop of blood, not a single tear of a child will be shed!

Молдавский разворот: получит ли Россия «Нагорный Карабах-2» в Приднестровье


Победу на президентских выборах в Молдавии, доставшуюся считающейся политиком отчетливо прозападной ориентации Майе Санду, не стоит драматизировать. Однако было бы в корне неверно и недооценивать те потенциальные риски, которые она несет в себе. Прежде всего – для нашей страны. Благодушное и «расслабленное» отношение к ситуации, на первый взгляд не представляющей для России реальной опасности и не сулящей немедленных негативных последствий, уже не раз обходилось нам слишком дорого.


Попробуем проанализировать вопрос более глубоко и разобраться с тем, к чему может привести нынешняя смена президента в Кишиневе как в краткосрочной, так и в долгосрочной перспективе.

Кишинев: между Востоком и Западом


То, что в Москве не делают трагедии из электоральных симпатий жителей Молдавии, ясно уже из того, что Владимир Путин, не мешкая, поздравил Майю Санду с победой – третий, если не ошибаюсь, среди всех мировых лидеров. Оно и понятно – новоизбранная дама-президент - это никак не Порошенко, а уж Додон точно не Лукашенко (в нынешней его ипостаси, лучащейся запредельной любовью к нашей стране). Санду, при всей своей совершенно не скрываемой симпатии к Западу, записной русофобкой, вроде бы, не является. Но именно что «вроде бы»... Как минимум, один такой лидер среди наших соседей уже имеется. В смысле – пока имеется. Никол Пашинян тоже, помнится, вещал о «сбалансированных отношениях» со всеми вокруг, о «плодотворном диалоге» и о нежелании создавать проблемы Москве. В точности как Санду сейчас. Вот только вылилась его деятельность на посту главы Армении в такие последствия, «разгребать» которые сегодня приходится как раз нашей стране. Может ли нечто подобное произойти в Молдавии? Увы, очень даже легко.

Эта страна, как, кстати, и Армения, волей-неволей «привязана» к России великим множеством зримых и незримых нитей – от энергетических потоков и нашего рынка, в котором она отчаянно нуждается, до множества собственных граждан, работающих на российских просторах. Опять же, треть молдавских жителей все еще являются русскоязычными и воспринимают русскую культуру в качестве родной, несмотря на все усилия местных националистов. Даже при самом большом желании Санду или гипотетически стоящих за ней сил моментально превратить их в «небратьев» не получится. Как не получится и враз уйти от экономического взаимодействия с Москвой. Как показала практика, в Европейском Союзе, Соглашение об ассоциации с которым Молдавия подписала едва ли не одновременно с «нэзалэжной», от этой страны если чего-то и ждут, то лишь все новых потоков гастарбайтеров. А ведь 33% ее жителей и так уже трудятся за кордоном.

И, тем не менее, упомянутое Соглашение подписано по всей форме и, с учетом того, что новоизбранная президент множество раз говорила о своей самой горячей приверженности «евроеинтеграции», а также желании осуществлять ее не на словах, а на деле, следует ожидать, что западный вектор Кишинева может существенно усилиться. При этом, в отличие от той же Украины, Молдавия имеет все шансы оказаться в ЕС, как говорится, хоть завтра. Правда – исключительно в составе Румынии, которая совершенно искренне считает ее не суверенным государством, а собственной «временно утраченной» провинцией. Самое неприятное, что подобные идеи не вызывают особого возражения у достаточно большой части молдаван. Примерно 30% таковых вполне готовы «поверстаться» в румыны, 40% вряд ли на это согласятся, поскольку правильным считают курс на дружбу и сотрудничество с Россией. Остальные – колеблющиеся или те, кому совершенно все равно, под каким флагом жить. Что характерно, румынские паспорта сегодня имеются у многих представителей всех этих категорий – так проще и легче ездить в ЕС, а тем более, там трудоустраиваться. Так выгоднее.

Неизвестно, как проголосует большинство жителей Молдавии в случае проведения референдума о присоединении к Бухаресту, однако совершенно ясно, что с оружием в руках они такому «аншлюсу» сопротивляться и не подумают. Естественно – за исключением тех, кто населяет Приднестровскую Молдавскую республику, являющуюся для местных «евроинтеграторов» и сторонников романизации не просто костью в горле, а самым главным препятствием на пути воплощения в жизнь их планов. И вот тут-то мы подходим к основной потенциальной проблеме, которая может возникнуть во взаимоотношениях Москвы не только с Кишиневом, но также и со всеми остальными нашими «лучшими друзьями» – Евросоюзом, США и НАТО.

Приднестровье и Карабах – в чем сходство и в чем различия?


Ни в ЕС, ни в Североатлантический альянс, ни, по сути дела, в состав «родственной» Румынии Молдавия, не решив вопрос с Приднестровьем и оставив его в нынешнем состоянии, войти не сможет ни в коем случае. В этом как раз и кроется главное отличие данного казуса от проблемы Нагорного Карабаха. Если на Кавказе мы имеем дело с упертым желанием двух народов вернуть (удержать) «исконные земли» любой ценой, то в случае с Приднестровьем все иначе. Молдавские «националисты», по сути дела являющиеся патриотами «Великой Румынии», при всех своих разговорах о необходимости «разобраться с сепаратистами» и «освободить незаконно оккупированные территории» с огромным удовольствием избавились бы от ПМР, как от сущего кошмара. Но как? Сейчас в России весьма живо обсуждаются возможные варианты таких действий, начало которым может положить избрание Санду. Вовсе уж апокалиптические прогнозы, вроде тех, что озвучивает господин Марков – относительно того, что «Приднестровье сдадут бандеровской Украине», после чего непременно «начнется война России с Киевом и Бухарестом, а потом и со всем НАТО», по правде говоря, выглядят совершенно неправдоподобно.

Прежде всего, лично я решительно не вижу, на основании каких международно-правовых механизмов ПМР даже теоретически могла бы отойти «нэзалэжной». Мало того – неспособной на протяжении вот уже почти семи лет взять под контроль Донбасс Украине подобная эскапада (даже при гипотетической поддержке той же Румынии) попросту не по зубам в военном отношении. Даже если «вывести за скобки» российских миротворцев, дислоцированных в ПМР. Кроме того, в отличие от «крымской весны» 2014 года вот это будет уже точно агрессией и аннексией в чистейшем их виде. Жители Приднестровья на всех референдумах высказываются только и исключительно за присоединение к России. После подобной авантюры Киеву придется наглухо замолчать про Крым и даже не пытаться поднимать вопросы относительно него.

Менее фантастическим выглядят сценарии, в рамках которых «умиротворить» ПМР попытаются все-таки Кишинев с Бухарестом. В особенности – после военного успеха, достигнутого на Кавказе Баку при турецкой поддержке. Согласитесь – очень даже сходные альянсы. Однако ничто подобное невозможно даже близко до тех пор, пока в ПМР стоит 14-я армия вооруженных сил России. Следовательно, основной вектор усилий Запада в ближайшем будущем будет направлен как раз на вывод этих миротворческих сил. Увы, сама Санду неоднократно высказывалась именно в пользу того, что российский контингент должен быть заменен на некий «интернациональный» (читай – на вояк НАТО), поскольку он «является фактором нестабильности для всей Европы». При этом она, фактически слово в слово, повторяет требования, постоянно выдвигаемые по данному поводу нашей стране Госдепом США. «Русские должны уйти!» – это там твердят с упорством, достойным лучшего применения. Пока у власти находился Додон, данный посыл хотя бы не дублировался официальным Кишиневом. Теперь все может измениться.

Дополнительные сложности в данном случае создает (как, кстати, и в ситуации с Арменией) отсутствие у ПМР общей границы с Россией. Молдавия совместно с Украиной (а судя по словам самой Санду, решать данный вопрос она собирается как раз «при активном участии украинской стороны») вполне могут устроить блокаду Приднестровья и до предела осложнить жизнь как тамошних жителей, так и наших военных. С другой стороны, далеко не факт, что победительница нынешних выборов захочет, а главное, сможет это осуществить. Не стоит забывать, что в Молдавии республика не президентская, а парламентская, и больший объем власти сосредоточен как раз в руках законодателей и правительства, а не формального главы государства – что тому же Додону в свое время демонстрировали весьма наглядно. Для окончательной победы Санду и ее политсиле надо еще организовать, а потом и выиграть досрочные парламентские выборы, после чего сформировать полностью лояльный себе кабинет министров.

Получится ли это – очень большой вопрос. Тут снова никак нельзя удержаться от параллелей с Арменией. Как в свое время Пашинян, Санду пришла к власти под лозунгами «борьбы с коррупцией», «оздоровления экономики» и тому подобных вещей. От нее ждут, грубо говоря, всего и сразу. Как показывает практика, подобные радужные надежды не оправдываются никогда, и чем они масштабнее, тем более глубоким и горьким будет разочарование в политике, на которого их возлагали. Социалисты (с Додоном или же без него) вполне смогут взять у «енвроинтеграторов» реванш – тем более, что в Молдавии так уже бывало, причем не раз. Вопрос в том, что успеют наворотить за отпущенное им время пребывания у власти Санду и компания... В Армении объявленная Пашиняном «борьба с коррупцией» в конечном итоге вылилась в банальное преследование его личных «обидчиков» и политических оппонентов, среди которых по странной «случайности» оказались едва ли не все наиболее пророссийски настроенные местные политики. А также – военные с реальным боевым опытом. Закончилось все, по сути дела, созданием армянской стороной предпосылок для Карабахской войны, ныне ею позорно проигранной...

Почему Москва допустила в Молдавии поражение того, кого называли чуть ли не прямым ее ставленником и был ли Додон таковым на самом деле – тема для совершенно отдельного разговора. В настоящее же время нашей стране, строя политику в отношении Кишинева и нового руководства страны, придется иметь дело с теми реалиями, которые имеются в наличии. Превратится ли при этом Приднестровье в новую арену геополитической схватки, а то и очередного локального военного конфликта, зависит от множества факторов, но далеко не в последнюю очередь – от взвешенности и адекватности решений, принимаемых в Кремле.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Буланов Онлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 17 ноября 2020 09:56
    +1
    В Молдавии, в религии господствует Православная церковь. Вопрос, как она смотрит на воссоединение с Румынией? А есть ещё и гагаузы, которые против румынизации. Вместе с Приднестпровьем они могут создать в случае румынизации альянс, или федерацию неприсоединения. Будут, как Лихтенштейн, или Монако...
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 17 ноября 2020 15:09
      +2
      Сегодня на щит поднят национализм, и он побеждает, вопрос присоединения Молдавии к Румынии предрешён,только во времени затяжка, и при таком состоянии России, - колониального сырьевого придатка с правящей коррумпированой верхушкой. Надежда на смену верхов, только тогда вектор сближений может повернутся к России..
  2. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
    Xuli(o)Tebenado 17 ноября 2020 23:02
    -2
    Опять же, треть молдавских жителей все еще являются русскоязычными

    Так было 30 лет назад. Сейчас русскоязычных - порядка 24% (по официальным данным), а фактически - ещё меньше. Численность этнических русских за 30 лет упала с 12% до 5% в настоящее время, большинство из которых пребывает в возрасте 70+.

    пока в ПМР стоит 14-я армия вооруженных сил России

    Нет там давно никакой 14-й армии. Есть ОГРВ - Ограниченная Группа Российских Войск, охраняющая военные склады с боеприпасами, изготовленными 35-50 лет назад. Плюс МС - миротворческие силы.

    Не стоит забывать, что в Молдавии республика не президентская, а парламентская, и больший объем власти сосредоточен как раз в руках законодателей и правительства, а не формального главы государства.

    Это действительно так, поэтому страхи относительно Санду сильно преувеличены. Президент Молдавии - должность представительская.

    В целом - трудно-читабельная мешанина из Армении, Украины, Молдавии-Приднестровья.
  3. Uneven Офлайн Uneven
    Uneven (ВАДИМ СТОЛБОВ) 20 ноября 2020 22:02
    -3
    22 июня 2018 года Генассамблея ООН приняла резолюцию о выводе российских войск из Приднестровья.
    Резолюция Генассамблеи ООН требует вывода из Приднестровского региона Молдавии военных РФ и вывоза оружия с военного склада времен СССР.
  4. Учитель Офлайн Учитель
    Учитель (Учитель) 22 ноября 2020 11:50
    +1
    Для избежания ужасов войны и неминуемого всемирного позора, в случае ухода из Приднестровья, на до сделать следующее:
    1. Признать ПМР (есть решения двух референдумов);
    2. Принять в состав РФ ( пример Крыма);
    3. Выкрутить руки и Молдове и Украине с требованием транспортного коридора в регион РФ (неужели это невозможно?!);
    4. Приднестровский регион и так выжил в жесточайших условиях экономической блокады, а в составе РФ - расцветет.
    5. Все соседние регионы беднейших Молдовы и Украины опустеют т.к. жители будут стремиться в РФ (ПМР) или будут поднимать восстания у себя с целью присоединения к РФ вместе со своей землей.
    При всем этом не прольется ни капли крови, ни одной слезинки ребенка!