Russian army in Karabakh: benefits and possible negative consequences


On the night of November 9-10, 2020, Russia, Azerbaijan and Armenia signed an agreement to end hostilities in Nagorno-Karabakh. One of the conditions of the agreement was the deployment of Russian peacekeepers in the NKR. Experts from Modern Diplomacy argue about the benefits and possible negative consequences of such a decision by the Kremlin.


One of the advantages of the presence of the Russian army in the region, analysts say, is the ability of Russia to sell weapons to both opposing sides of the calmed conflict. Yerevan will buy Russian arms in order to prevent the withdrawal of the Russian peacekeeping forces from the republic and win the favor of Moscow, Baku - for reasons of greater diplomatic rapprochement with Russia in order to obtain the latter's approval for the return of the occupied regions and their subsequent integration.

Among the negative consequences of the Russian military presence in Karabakh is the need, as a peacekeeper, to be responsible for protecting the civilian population of the unrecognized republic, since the withdrawal of Russian troops could lead to a resumption of hostilities.

Russia is actually becoming the only country on which the settlement of the military confrontation depends, but this advantage is unlikely to be appreciated by the "Western partners" - in the eyes of the representatives of the Minsk Group, the Russian Federation has a destructive effect on the state of affairs in the NKR. In addition, Moscow will be forced to incur significant financial costs in providing for its troops on the line of contact, without receiving any material benefits.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladimir_ Voronov (Vladimir) 18 November 2020 12: 06
    -2
    Analysts say that one of the advantages of the presence of the Russian army in the region is Russia's ability to sell weapons.

    Moscow will have to incur significant financial costs in providing for its troops on the line of contact, without receiving any material benefits.

    Selling and receiving profit is the key glory of all "shopkeepers", and therefore Western politicians are treated like hucksters or thieves. Destroy, plunder, profit and dump. After them only poverty and ruin.
    The very civilizational approach that does not allow them to simply live and work in peace.
    They cannot understand Us ...
  2. Xuli (o) Tebenado 19 November 2020 11: 22
    0
    Russian army in Karabakh

    One of the conditions of the agreement was the deployment of Russian peacekeepers in NKR.

    So the army or the peacekeepers?
    As far as I can imagine, they have completely different tasks and conditions of stay. But the suspicion of arms trafficking is especially comical. The newest AK-12 assault rifles will now be "sold to enemies" :)

Российская армия в Карабахе: выгода и возможные негативные последствия


В ночь с 9 на 10 ноября 2020 года Россия, Азербайджан и Армения подписали соглашение об окончании боевых действий в Нагорном Карабахе. Одним из условий договора стало размещение в НКР российских миротворцев. О выгодах и возможных отрицательных последствиях такого решения Кремля рассуждают эксперты Modern Diplomacy.


Одним из плюсов присутствия российской армии в регионе аналитики называют возможность России продавать оружие обеим противоборствующим сторонам затихшего конфликта. Ереван будет закупать российские вооружения, чтобы не допустить вывода миротворческих сил РФ из республики и завоевать расположение Москвы, Баку – из соображений большего дипломатического сближения с Россией с целью получения одобрения последней на возвращение оккупированных областей и их последующей интеграции.

Среди негативных последствий военного присутствия РФ в Карабахе – необходимость в качестве миротворца отвечать за защиту гражданского населения непризнанной республики, так как вывод российских войск может привести к возобновлению боевых действий.

Россия фактически становится единственной страной, от которой зависит урегулирование военного противостояния, но это преимущество вряд ли оценят «западные партнеры» – в глазах представителей Минской группы РФ оказывает деструктивное влияние на положение дел в НКР. Кроме того, Москва вынуждена будет идти на немалые финансовые издержки в обеспечении своих находящихся на линии соприкосновения войск, не получая при этом никакой материальной выгоды.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владимир_Воронов (Владимир) 18 ноября 2020 12:06
    -2
    Одним из плюсов присутствия российской армии в регионе аналитики называют возможность России продавать оружие

    Москва вынуждена будет идти на немалые финансовые издержки в обеспечении своих находящихся на линии соприкосновения войск, не получая при этом никакой материальной выгоды.

    Продавать и получать выгоду - вот ключевые слава всех "лавочников", поэтому Западным политикам и относятся, как торгашам или ворам. Разрушить, разграбить, поживиться и свалить. После них только нищета и разруха.
    Тот самых цивилизационный подход, который не дает им просто спокойно жить и работать.
    Им Нас не понять...
  2. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
    Xuli(o)Tebenado 19 ноября 2020 11:22
    0
    Российская армия в Карабахе

    Одним из условий договора стало размещение в НКР российских миротворцев.

    Так армия или миротворцы?
    Насколько я представляю, у них совершенно разные задачи и условия пребывания. Но особенно комично подозрение в торговле оружием. Новейшие автоматы АК-12 сейчас "продадут врагам":)