Naval base in Sudan: Russia's geopolitical revenge in Africa has begun


Russian President Vladimir Putin approved the creation of a logistics center for the Russian Navy in Sudan. The agreement, signed for 25 years with the possibility of extension, provides for the deployment on the territory of the African republic of up to 300 Russian military personnel and 4 ships.


Many experts view this event from a purely military point of view. But in reality, Russia gets much more here than just another military base.

To begin with, the Soviet Union was able to build good relations with Sudan in its time. However, after its collapse, Russia had to start everything from scratch.

However, our country has found an approach to this African state. Sudan has become the second largest importer of Russian weapons in Africa. But that's not all. In 2017, the President of the Republic, Omar al-Bashir, during his visit to Moscow, offered to locate a Russian naval base in Sudan.

Naturally, this turn of events did not suit Washington in any way. The very next year, an uprising broke out in the African republic, as a result of which Omar al-Bashir was overthrown by the "democratic opposition".

It would seem that Russia suffered a crushing defeat in this country. But that all changed when US President Donald Trump this year offered the new Sudanese government to remove the country from the "terrorist blacklist" in exchange for $ 335 million. Washington received the money, but instead of the promised lifting of sanctions, it extended it for another year.

Having found themselves in an unenviable position, the Sudanese began to seek a counterbalance to US influence. One of the best options for the authorities of the republic was the resumption of cooperation with our country.

Now, having signed an agreement on the creation of a logistics center for the Navy in Sudan, Russia gets an open outlet to the ocean, and even at the crossroads of world trade routes. As a result, our country has increased its geopolitical influence in the region and "along the way" has taken revenge from Washington.

8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 21 November 2020 11: 38
    +1
    US President Donald Trump offered the new Sudanese government to remove the country from the "terrorist blacklist" in exchange for $ 335 million. Washington received the money, but instead of the promised lifting of sanctions, it extended it for another year.

    laughing As children, well, who in our modern world believes the Americans. They do not respect themselves to believe.
    1. Volga073 Offline Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 22 November 2020 17: 29
      0
      Trump is a scammer, not a businessman.
      1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
        Afinogen (Afinogen) 22 November 2020 18: 34
        +1
        What does Trump have to do with it? Throughout history, the Americans lie to everyone, deceive, throw. We don't have to go far, I remember Gorbachev was tearfully promised to withdraw the troops from Eastern Europe, and we will not expand NATO to the east. And that, brazenly deceived. Not only did all Eastern European countries become members of NATO, but also our former Soviet republics. And these solid missile reduction agreements, sheer deception. I remember we agreed on missile defense, as time passed, they said we were withdrawing from the treaty.
  2. nbv Offline nbv
    nbv 21 November 2020 13: 00
    -5
    Friends of Russia are still such - janitors, boors such as Kem Chen In, Maduro, Assad and other such progressive dictators-cannibals as Jean-Bedel Bokassa and Idi Amin.
  3. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
    Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 21 November 2020 14: 28
    -4
    The anonymous author, firstly, Al-Bashir was recognized by the absolute majority of countries as a dictator supporting international terrorism, and there are irrefutable facts to that. Secondly, what nonsense about $ 335 million? Sudan was excluded from the list of countries sponsoring terrorism after that how he agreed to normalize relations with Israel. About the "unenviable position" and "counterbalance to the United States" is generally ridiculous - the current authorities are completely and entirely loyal to the United States, with the help of which Sudan was excluded from their list of sponsoring countries of terrorism, and consider the PMTO "revenge from Washington" can only those who have a TV box with "federal channels" instead of a head. Russia will have a second "base" (if you can call it PMTO) outside the "near abroad", and the US knows how much, the author? »Propaganda.
  4. Terry18 Offline Terry18
    Terry18 (Andrey Evdokimov) 21 November 2020 17: 35
    +1
    Russia gets open access to the ocean

    A small base in the Red Sea, a reservoir that is closed on all sides (on one side the Suez Canal, on the other a narrow strait), is not an outlet to the open ocean, but a trap for the fleet in case of hostilities.
    1. Volga073 Offline Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 22 November 2020 17: 30
      +1
      Well, you are not a strategist uncle ..
  5. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 23 November 2020 15: 12
    +2
    Today, the Russian Federation is experiencing an acute shortage of modern combat ships, especially surface ones (I'm now talking about ships, not about boats) and a small base in Sudan (and 300 military from the Russian Federation is a small base), by and large, the Russian Federation does not give anything, although, the benefits from it will be. For example, if necessary, you can place a crew on a long voyage on vacation, repair something, replenish food, fuel and ammunition supplies.

База ВМФ в Судане: геополитический реванш России в Африке начался


Президент России Владимир Путин одобрил создание пункта материально-технического обеспечения ВМФ РФ в Судане. Соглашение, подписанное на 25 лет с возможностью продления, предусматривает размещение на территории африканской республики до 300 российских военнослужащих и 4-х кораблей.


Многие эксперты рассматривают данное событие сугубо с военной точки зрения. Но на самом деле Россия получает здесь гораздо больше, чем просто очередную военную базу.

Начнем с того, что выстроить хорошие отношения с Суданом в свое время удалось Советскому Союзу. Однако после его распада России пришлось все начать с нуля.

Впрочем, и наша страна нашла подход к этому африканскому государству. Судан стал вторым по величине импортером российского вооружения в Африке. Но и это еще не все. В 2017 году президент республики Омар-аль-Башир в ходе своего визита в Москву предложил разместить в Судане базу ВМФ РФ.

Естественно, такой поворот событий никак не устраивал Вашингтон. Уже в следующем году в африканской республике вспыхнуло восстание, в результате которого Омар-аль-Башир был свергнут «демократической оппозицией».

Казалось бы, Россия потерпела сокрушительное поражение в этой стране. Но все изменилось, когда в этом году президент США Дональд Трамп предложил новому правительству Судана убрать страну из «террористического черного списка» в обмен на 335 млн долларов. Деньги Вашингтон получил, но вместо обещанного снятия санкций продлил их еще на год.

Попав в незавидное положение, суданцы стали искать противовес влиянию США. Одним из лучших вариантов для властей республики стало возобновление сотрудничества с нашей страной.

Теперь, подписав соглашение о создании пункта материально-технического обеспечения ВМФ в Судане, Россия получает открытый выход в океан, да ещё и на перекрёстке мировых торговых путей. В результате наша страна усилила свое геополитическое влияние в регионе и «попутно» взяла реванш у Вашингтона.

8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Афиноген Онлайн Афиноген
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 21 ноября 2020 11:38
    +1
    президент США Дональд Трамп предложил новому правительству Судана убрать страну из «террористического черного списка» в обмен на 335 млн. долларов. Деньги Вашингтон получил, но вместо обещанного снятия санкций продлил их еще на год.

    laughing Как дети, ну кто ж в нашем современном мире верит америкосам. Им верить себя не уважать.
    1. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 22 ноября 2020 17:29
      0
      Трамп - жук-кидала, а не бизнесмен.
      1. Афиноген Онлайн Афиноген
        Афиноген (Афиноген) 22 ноября 2020 18:34
        +2
        Причем здесь Трамп? Америкосы на протяжении всей истории всем лгут, обманывают, кидают. Не надо далеко ходить, помниться Горбачеву слезно обещали выведи войска из Восточной Европы, а мы не будем НАТО расширять на восток. И что, нагло обманули. Мало того что все восточно европейские страны стали членами НАТО, но и наши бывшие союзные республики. А эти сплошные договоры по сокращению ракет, сплошной обман. Помнится договорились по ПРО, время прошло они сказали мы выходим из договора.
  2. nbv Офлайн nbv
    nbv 21 ноября 2020 13:00
    -5
    Друзья России по-прежнему такие - дворники, хамы, такие как Кем Чен Ин, Мадуро, Асад и другие такие прогрессивные диктаторы-каннибалы, как Жан-Бедель Бокасса и Иди Амин.
  3. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
    Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 21 ноября 2020 14:28
    -4
    Анонимный автор,во- первых,Аль-Башир был признан абсолютным большинством стран диктатором,поддерживающим международный терроризм,и тому есть неопровержимые факты.Во-вторых,что за бред про 335 миллионов долларов?Судан был исключён из списка стран-спонсоров терроризма после того как согласился нормализовать отношения с Израилем.Про «незавидное положение» и «противовес США» вообще смешно - сегодняшние власти полностью и целиком лояльны США,с подачи которых Судан и был исключён их списка стран -спонсоров терроризма,а считать ПМТО «реваншем у Вашингтона» могут только те у которых вместо головы телеящик с «федеральными каналами».У России это будет вторая «база» (если так можно назвать ПМТО) за пределами «ближнего зарубежья»,а у США в курсе сколько,автор?В общем дешевая «духоподъёмная» пропаганда.
  4. Terry18 Офлайн Terry18
    Terry18 (Андрей Евдокимов) 21 ноября 2020 17:35
    +1
    Россия получает открытый выход в океан

    Небольшая база в Красном море, водоёме, который закрыт со всех сторон (с одной стороны Суэцкий канал, с другой узкий пролив), это не выход в открытый океан, а ловушка для флота в случае боевых действий.
    1. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 22 ноября 2020 17:30
      +1
      Ну не стратег ты дядя..
  5. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) Вчера, 15:12
    +2
    Сегодня РФ испытывает острый недостаток современных боевых кораблей,особенно надводных ( я сейчас о кораблях,а не о катерах ) и маленькая база в Судане ( а 300 военных из РФ это маленькая база ) по большому счету РФ ничего не дает,хотя,польза от нее будет. Можно например ,в случае необходимости,разместить на отдых экипаж находившийся в дальнем походе,отремонтировать что то,пополнить запасы продовольствия,топлива и боеприпасов.