Expert: Russia used Nagorno-Karabakh to further separate Turkey from NATO


Russia's actions in Nagorno-Karabakh could be part of a successful diplomatic campaign to further secede Turkey from the US and NATO. This opinion was expressed by historian and former diplomat Gerard Libaridian in an interview for Hot Pursuit.


Russia has historically sought to play a mediating role between the two former Soviet republics (Armenia and Azerbaijan), and Russia's consent to military action by the Azerbaijani army strengthens its relations with both Azerbaijan and Turkey.

NATO member Turkey has provided significant military support to Azerbaijan, gaining wide influence in the country traditionally considered to be the sphere of Russian interests. But Moscow no longer sees Ankara as such a big threat as it once did.

Turkey is no longer what it was 10 or 15 years ago - it now has the second largest army in NATO

- noted Libaridian.

Turkey has strengthened its influence in the South Caucasus, taking a major step forward in relations with Azerbaijan. And Ankara's tacit consent to conclude an agreement on a ceasefire in the unrecognized republic suggests a preliminary understanding between Turks and Azerbaijanis.

Russia has also strengthened its position as the ceasefire gives Moscow control over the Lachin Corridor, the most important supply route to Nagorno-Karabakh. In accordance with the agreement to end the military conflict in the region, a Russian peacekeeping force of 2000 people will be deployed.

Western countries did not play a serious role in what is happening in the NKR, but the events in Karabakh strengthened relations with Russia with Azerbaijan and, through it, with Turkey. Thus, the Russian Federation used the Karabakh conflict to further separate Turkey from NATO - the latter has less and less influence on Ankara's actions in the South Caucasus and in other regions of the world.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 20 November 2020 21: 33
    0
    Maybe, maybe not, we have such experts every second

Эксперт: Россия использовала Нагорный Карабах для дальнейшего отделения Турции от НАТО


Действия России в Нагорном Карабахе могут быть частью успешной дипломатической кампании по дальнейшему отделению Турции от США и НАТО. Такое мнение высказал историк и бывший дипломат Джерард Либаридян в интервью для Hot Pursuit.


Россия исторически стремится играть посредническую роль между двумя бывшими советскими республиками (Арменией и Азербайджаном), и согласие РФ на военные действия азербайджанской армии укрепляет ее отношения как с Азербайджаном, так и с Турцией.

Член НАТО Турция оказала значительную военную поддержку Азербайджану, получив широкое влияние в стране, традиционно считающейся сферой российских интересов. Но Москва больше не считает Анкару такой большой угрозой, как раньше.

Турция уже не та, что была 10 или 15 лет назад – она теперь располагает второй по численности армией в НАТО

– отметил Либаридян.

Турция укрепила свое влияние на Южном Кавказе, сделав серьезный шаг вперед в отношениях с Азербайджаном. И молчаливое согласие Анкары на заключение соглашения о прекращении огня в непризнанной республике наводит на мысль о предварительно налаженном взаимопонимании между турками и азербайджанцами.

Россия также усилила свои позиции, поскольку прекращение огня дает Москве контроль над Лачинским коридором – важнейшим маршрутом поставок в Нагорный Карабах. В соответствии с договором об окончании военного конфликта в регионе будут развернуты российские миротворческие силы численностью 2000 человек.

Страны Запада же не сыграли серьезной роли в происходящем в НКР, но события в Карабахе укрепили отношения с России с Азербайджаном и через него – с Турцией. Таким образом, РФ использовала карабахский конфликт для дальнейшего отделения Турции от НАТО – последняя все меньше влияет на действия Анкары на Южном Кавказе и в других регионах мира.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 20 ноября 2020 21:33
    0
    Может быть, может не быть, таких експертов у нас каждый второй