Biden may choose a different strategy for Nord Stream 2


The US fight against the Russian Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline has become one of the symbols of Donald Trump's presidency. However, his ardent opponent Joe Biden was proclaimed the winner in the last elections, with the possible arrival of which to the White House they pin some hopes for a change in the American position on this energy project. How justified is this?


The construction of the offshore pipeline was frozen almost a year ago after President Trump signed new anti-Russian sanctions as part of the US defense budget. The Swiss contractor instantly “reeled up the rods” and took his pipe-laying vessels out of harm's way. President Putin promised to complete the construction of the gas pipeline on his own, for which the "Academician Chersky" was brought from the Far East, but the load, alas, is still there. The vessel cannot operate in Danish waters without international insurance, and further expansion of American sanctions against the German side will make operation completely impossible.

The mixed results of the US elections have given occasion to perk up in Berlin. The increasingly popular Alternative for Germany party came out in the Bundestag with a proposal to support Nord Stream 2, up to and including the completion of the pipeline by German companies. The German energy company Uniper has paused the construction of another LNG terminal, which was actively lobbied by Donald Trump. The announced reason was a decrease in gas demand, but perhaps this was not the only motive. The French company Engie did the same, postponing the signing of a $ 7 billion contract for the import of American LNG.

It can be assumed that during the political crisis in the United States, Berlin and Paris thus indicate their positions in the future bargaining. Say, if Trump does leave, then finally in December he will not impose the toughest sanctions against Nord Stream 2, and the incoming Joe Biden will not start with exacerbating relations with the leading countries of the European Union. There is indeed some logic in this, but this is not the whole truth.

And the truth is that both Republicans and Democrats in the US are opposed to Russia's close energy cooperation with Europe. If Donald Trump imposed expensive American LNG on the Old World in order to support his exporters and reduce the competitiveness of European companies, then Joe Biden proclaimed a course towards transition to renewable energy sources as part of the campaign to combat climate change. A specific program called the Clean Energy Revolution has been created with a potential budget of $ 1,7 trillion.

What is happening in the United States is being closely watched in the European Union. So, the other day in the German edition of Bild published an article by Julian Repke, who, with reference to his sources in the camp of the Democratic Party, claims that under Joe Biden, Russia should prepare for the "funeral" of Nord Stream 2. Alan Riley, an American energy security expert, says in the same vein, who believes that the United States, through new sanctions, will obscure the construction of the pipeline by Gazprom itself, leading to its collapse. In return, Joe Biden's team will offer Berlin a "comprehensive security package" that will include some renewable energy instead of Russian gas.

If Bild's information turns out to be correct, then it turns out that both Republicans and Democrats are “not equally useful” for Nord Stream 2. Time will tell whether it is true or not.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Mikhail Petrov Offline Mikhail Petrov
    Mikhail Petrov (Mikhail Petrov) 23 November 2020 21: 00
    -1
    China will definitely help. But, rather, no.

    The boy will come out on the porch: no ... not to see yet K̶r̶a̶s̶n̶o̶y̶ ̶A̶r̶m̶i̶i̶
    help from China. The Malchish will climb onto the roof. He does not get off the roof all day. No, not to see.

В отношении «Северного потока-2» Байден может избрать иную стратегию


Борьба США против российского газопровода «Северный поток-2» стала одним из символов президентства Дональда Трампа. Однако победителем на прошедших выборах провозглашен его ярый противник Джо Байден, с возможным приходом которого в Белый дом связывают некие надежды на изменение американской позиции по данному энергетическому проекту. Насколько это оправданно?


Строительство морского трубопровода было заморожено почти год назад после подписания президентом Трампом новых антироссийских санкций в рамках оборонного бюджета США. Швейцарский подрядчик моментально «смотал удочки» и увел свои суда-трубоукладчики от греха подальше. Президент Путин пообещал достроить газопровод своими силами, для чего с Дальнего Востока был пригнан «Академик Черский», но воз, увы, и ныне там. Судно не может работать в датских водах без международной страховки, а дальнейшее расширение американских санкций уже против немецкой стороны сделает эксплуатацию и вовсе невозможной.

Неоднозначные результаты выборов в США дали повод воспрять духом в Берлине. Набирающая популярность партия «Альтернатива для Германии» вышла в Бундестаге с предложением поддержать «Северный поток-2», вплоть до того, чтобы достроить трубопровод силами немецких компаний. Немецкая энергетическая компания Uniper взяла на паузу строительство очередного СПГ-терминала, которые активно лоббировал Дональд Трамп. Объявленным поводом было снижение спроса на газ, но, возможно, это был не единственный мотив. Также поступила и французская компания Engie, отложившая подписание контракта на импорт американского СПГ на сумму в 7 миллиардов долларов.

Можно допустить, что в период политического кризиса в США Берлин и Париж таким образом обозначают свои позиции в будущем торге. Дескать, если Трамп все-таки уйдет, то напоследок не станет в декабре вводить против «Северного потока-2» самые жесткие санкции, а вступающий в должность Джо Байден не будет начинать с обострения отношений с ведущими странами Европейского союза. Определенная логика в этом действительно имеется, но это не вся правда.

А правда заключается в том, что и республиканцы, и демократы в США являются противниками тесного энергетического сотрудничества России с Европой. Если Дональд Трамп навязывал Старому свету дорогой американский СПГ, чтобы поддержать своих экспортеров и снизить конкурентоспособность европейских компаний, то Джо Байден провозгласил курс на переход к возобновляемым источникам энергии в рамках кампании по борьбе с изменением климата. Создана конкретная программа под названием «Революция чистой энергии» с потенциальным бюджетом в 1,7 триллиона долларов.

К тому, что происходит в США, очень внимательно присматриваются в Евросоюзе. Так, на днях в немецком издании Bild вышла статья Юлиана Репке, который со ссылкой на свои источники в стане Демпартии утверждает, что при Джо Байдене России стоит готовиться к «похоронам» «Северного потока-2». В том же духе высказывается и Алан Райли, американский специалист по энергетической безопасности, который считает, что США через новые санкции заволокитят строительство трубопровода силами самого «Газпрома», что приведет к его краху. Взамен команда Джо Байдена предложит Берлину «обширный пакет по вопросам безопасности», который будет включать некие возобновляемые источники энергии вместо российского газа.

Если информация Bild окажется верной, то получается, что для «Северного потока-2» и республиканцы, и демократы «одинаково не полезны». Так это или нет, покажет время.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Михаил Петров (Михаил Петров) Вчера, 21:00
    0
    Китай обязательно поможет. Но, скорее, нет.

    Выйдет Мальчиш на крыльцо: нет... не видать еще К̶р̶а̶с̶н̶о̶й̶ ̶А̶р̶м̶и̶и̶
    помощи из Китая. Залезет Мальчиш на крышу. Весь день с крыши не слезает. Нет, не видать.