Why did Russia take up the "digitalization" of the Arctic


Last week, Russia began building a transcontinental fiber-optic link from Murmansk to Vladivostok. The project is very difficult, but extremely important for our country.


The main task of the communication line with a length of 12,5 thousand km is to provide the Russian Arctic with reliable access to the Internet. Modern production is becoming more and more "digital", so the integration of existing enterprises into a single network is no less important than the construction of roads.

Until now, data transmission in the Arctic has been carried out via satellite Internet. However, the latter does not provide adequate coverage, is very expensive and is also provided by the American operator Iridium.

The underwater fiber-optic highway will have many branches to the shore, which will provide stable communication not only for existing, but also for future industrial and social facilities.

By analogy with the gas Nord Stream 1, this line can be called Digital Stream 1. At the same time, like the brainchild of Gazprom, the pipeline will be continued. Already, preparatory work is underway for the construction of Digital Stream - 2.

The Arctic Connect project envisages the construction of a fiber-optic line from Finland to Japan with the possibility of extension to China and even the west coast of the United States. This is an even more ambitious idea, the work under which is being carried out on schedule. In particular, the first stage of marine research has already been completed, which will make it possible to choose the optimal place for laying the future cable along the Northern Sea Route.

However, this is not all. We have a draft of the third line for the needs of the Ministry of Defense. Russia is actively and consistently moving to the North. Consequently, in the coming decades, new industrial and military facilities will appear there, as well as settlements that will need an affordable, high-quality connection that does not depend on foreign suppliers.

Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. passing by Offline passing by
    passing by (passing by) 23 November 2020 12: 13
    0
    will stretch, the main thing is that some sort of selyuk does not think of copper in the optical fiber to look for.
  2. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 23 November 2020 13: 53
    +2
    Digitalization in the Arctic might look something like this:

  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 23 November 2020 14: 21
    -1
    In general, similar news was about 2 years ago. And silence...
    It is interesting that in 2 years they will write ...

Зачем Россия взялась за «цифровизацию» Арктики


На прошлой неделе Россия начала строить трансконтинентальную оптоволоконную линию связи от Мурманска до Владивостока. Проект очень непростой, но крайне важный для нашей страны.


Основная задача линии связи протяженностью в 12,5 тыс. км заключается в обеспечении русской Арктики надежным доступом в интернет. Современное производство становится все более «цифровым», поэтому объединение имеющихся предприятий в единую сеть является не менее актуальным, чем прокладка дорог.

До сих пор передача данных в Арктике осуществлялась посредством спутникового интернета. Однако последний не обеспечивает надлежащего покрытия, стоит очень дорого и ко всему прочему предоставляется американским оператором Iridium.

Подводная оптоволоконная магистраль будет иметь множество ответвлений на берег, что обеспечит стабильной связью не только существующие, но и будущие промышленные и социальные объекты.

По аналогии с газовым «Северным потоком – 1» данную линию можно назвать «Цифровым потоком – 1». При этом, как и детище «Газпрома», магистраль получит продолжение. Уже сейчас ведутся подготовительные работы к строительству «Цифрового потока – 2».

Проект Arctic Connect предусматривает строительство оптоволоконной линии от Финляндии до Японии с возможностью продления до Китая и даже западного побережья США. Это еще более амбициозная задумка, работы в рамках которой ведутся по графику. В частности, уже завершен первый этап морских исследований, которые позволят выбрать оптимальное место для прокладки будущего кабеля по Севморпути.

Впрочем, и это еще не все. У нас имеется проект третьей линии для нужд Минобороны. Россия активно и последовательно движется на Север. Следовательно, уже в ближайшие десятилетия там появятся новые промышленные и военные объекты, а также населенные пункты, которым потребуется доступная, качественная и не зависящая от иностранных поставщиков связь.

Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 23 ноября 2020 12:13
    0
    протянут, главное чтобы какой нибудь селюк не додумался в оптоволокне медь искать.
  2. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 23 ноября 2020 13:53
    +2
    Цифровизация в Арктике возможно будет выглядеть примерно так:

  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 23 ноября 2020 14:21
    -1
    Вобщето, похожая новость была года 2 назад. И тишина...
    Интересно, что через 2 года напишут...