Turkey's aggressive policy put an end to the Altai tank


Turkey is pursuing an increasingly active expansionist policies in the territories that once belonged to the Ottoman Empire. The revanchist sentiments played by President Erdogan demand more and more victories and symbols of renewed power. These symbols include the ambitious Turkish military programs of attack UAVs, its own fifth generation fighter and the "national" tank "Altai".


However, if you take a closer look, the greatness turns out to be somewhat “exaggerated”. Yes, Turkish UAVs are knocking out machinery the enemy on the battlefield in batches, but it is easy to see that the Bayraktar TB series drones, which have become famous recently, have Israeli roots: a lot has been borrowed from the IAI Heron and Aerostar drones. The fifth generation Turkish fighter TF-X (Turkish Fighter Experimental) cannot be created on its own, Ankara is forced to look for partners in Sweden, Italy, South Korea and even Brazil. Equally great is the dependence of the Turkish military-industrial complex on foreigners in the project of the “national” tank “Altai”.

Currently, the Turkish army uses German and American tanks, but in 2011 a project of its own main battle tank was presented. The MBT has nothing to do with our Altai, the tank is named after a Turkish military hero. Despite its patriotic swing, due to the lack of experience in tank building, Ankara was forced to turn to other people's technologies. The German corporation KMW refused to transfer the license for its Leopard 2, so the Altai is 60% a modernized but simplified South Korean tank K2 Black Panther. Hyundai Rotem was then a partner. It was supposed to create several versions of the combat vehicle: 250 units of T1, T2 with improved armor and even T3 with an uninhabited turret and automatic loader.

But then problems arose. The Turkish "national" tank, in addition to the Korean genes, was to be equipped with a German RENK transmission and an MTU Friedrichshafen turbodiesel with a capacity of 1500 hp. Armor for MBT was supposed to be made in France. However, Ankara's relations with Berlin and Paris have deteriorated sharply in recent years due to Turkey's intensified aggressive foreign policy in the Eastern Mediterranean and the Middle East. Presidents Macron and Erdogan have become almost the worst enemies, and Germany has joined the anti-Turkish arms embargo. The former empire does not have enough power to cope with these technological problems.

There is one more curious nuance characterizing the internal politics of modern Turkey. The MBT project was developed by Otokar, which created several of the first prototypes of the tank. But after the tender of the Ministry of Defense for the production of MBT, the Turkish-Qatari company BMC Otomotiv Sanayi ve Ticaret unexpectedly won. The multibillion-dollar government contract went to a company whose shareholder is one of the members of the Justice and Development Party of Recep Erdogan. In addition, the state transferred to BMC Otomotiv Sanayi ve Ticaret a whole military plant for the next 25 years free of charge. It also happens.


However, for some reason the change of the general contractor did not lead to a technological breakthrough. Now Turkey is forced to turn to the South Korean Hyundai Rotem for help, which was at the origin of the project. It is reported that in parallel negotiations are underway with the Korean engine manufacturer Doosan and S&T Dynamics, which deals with automatic transmissions. Ankara expects to make only tank armor on its own. In fact, the output is a South Korean tank with production localized in Turkey.

However, the question is not entirely unambiguous. On the one hand, the technological and production capabilities of modern Turkey clearly do not correspond to its swing towards a new empire. On the other hand, the military expansion of Rome at one time was built on borrowing the best weapons from their opponents. If the Koreans help the Turks, Ankara will receive its conditionally own main battle tank in a couple of years, which is not something outstanding, but it will be able to fulfill the tasks assigned to it. However, it will no longer be an advertised "Altai", but a different combat vehicle.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 23 November 2020 15: 01
    +4
    South Korea is primarily the fiefdom of the United States, on which South Korea depends in its confrontation with North Korea, so Turkey will only get what the Yankees will allow, if at all, and Ankara's relations with Washington are not the best now. In addition, only today an article was passed about the pre-default state of the Turkish economy, and this will not have the best impact on the army in general, but on the pace of rearmament and on the stability of the Sultan's regime as a whole.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 23 November 2020 16: 15
    -3
    Bullshit everything.
    Well, they won't have their own main tank for a while. Will buy from neighbors, if necessary.
    They invested in the Oplot, they can take it cheaply, for example.

    But, they wrote, one of the first made a light tank and are promoting it, UAV and so on. The economy has grown quite well.
    Not bad at all for a country that was weak until recently.
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 24 November 2020 00: 47
      +4
      The economy has grown quite well.

      Here are just garbage ratings earned.

      UAV and stuff.

      Back in early October, the United States and Canada with engines and sights on Bayraktar broke off.

      But, they wrote, one of the first made a light tank

      A light tank is not the most important thing in a war. Again, we must wait to see how they show themselves in the war. Well, where is the guarantee that they will be able to make this tank entirely.

      Well, they won't have their own main tank for a while. Will buy from neighbors, if necessary.

      If there is anything. See the beginning of the comment.

      They invested in the Oplot, they can take it cheaply, for example.

      I think it's smart enough to consult with Thailand. They'll tell you a lot about the Stronghold. And about the ability of 404 to fulfill orders.
  3. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 23 November 2020 17: 38
    -5
    The author quite rightly noted that even the ancient Romans did not consider it shameful to borrow weapon technologies from their opponents. I can say that we see similar trends both before the Romans and after - everyone always tried to adopt other people's achievements and use them in their own interests. The final result is important - successes on the battlefield, here all means are used. Therefore, there is nothing unusual in the actions of the Turks - yes, their drones have Israeli roots, F-16 fighters are produced in Turkey under license, and they are developing their MBT with the help of foreign partners. I know that I will get a bunch of drawbacks, but let me remind you that the USSR acted with similar methods - the T-26 is the British Vickers Mk E, the famous "Sorokopyatka" was created at the factory # 8 on the basis of the German 37mm. anti-tank gun, and the first Soviet strategic bomber Tu-4 was copied by the Tupolev Design Bureau from the American B-29 at the direction of I.V. Stalin. The list of borrowings of Soviet developers of military equipment from foreign manufacturers can be continued for a long time ...
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 24 November 2020 00: 09
      +2
      You are not about that.
      What, Tu 4 helped us to release Truman? Themselves ripped apart, and did it.
      They ripped apart - well done. What to compare the war-torn Russia and modern Turkey and China.
      But now the great and mighty China, with all the money and spies, cannot ruin the engines.
      And flies, so far, on Tu 16, a bomber do not.
      And Turkey and rock the boat to no avail. No resources. And he managed to spit with everyone (he already wrote about this a hundred times). This country is not powerful enough to play solo.
      Here are the results. Now Turkey will be quietly swept under the rug.
      And Israel should look at the example of Turkey. It is worth realizing your place in the sun. Finintern will collapse (more precisely, the Jewish faction in it) and neighbors will tear the British flag like a hot water bottle. Run to Putin for protection.
      1. Binder Offline Binder
        Binder (Miron) 24 November 2020 15: 05
        -1
        Quote: boriz
        Run to Putin for protection.

        When did the Israelites run to someone for protection? Themselves always beat the enemies and won.
        1. isofat Offline isofat
          isofat (isofat) 24 November 2020 15: 16
          -2
          Quote: Bindyuzhnik
          When did the Israelites run to someone for protection? Themselves always beat the enemies and won.

          Binder, Stop lying. You were defeated and taken over the country more than two thousand years ago.
    2. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 24 November 2020 00: 22
      +1
      And you better be silent in a rag. Look at your Galil, does it look like anything? Not AK, by chance?
      For you, the entire military-industrial complex was created by Jews in the USSR, trained and gained experience there.
      1. Binder Offline Binder
        Binder (Miron) 24 November 2020 15: 15
        -2
        Galil was developed on the basis of the Finnish Valmet Rk 62 assault rifle, which was a variant of the AK, every student in Israel knows this. And the fact that the Israeli military-industrial complex was created by former Soviet specialists is complete nonsense.
  4. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 24 November 2020 00: 16
    +2
    It seems that in his bad attempts to get into Karabakh, Erdogan finally went overboard.
    As I have repeatedly noted, he spat with everyone, tried to behave like a power of the first level.
    So they began to lower it together.
    Assigned a garbage rating, arrested the ship.
    Did he bother Macron? Cool, cool! Internal lohtorat appreciated! But armor for tanks will have to be made of shit and sticks.
    As the classic film says:

    Nothing in this world happens just like that. Even sheep in sheepskin coats.

    laughing You must answer for the bazaar.

Агрессивная политика Турции поставила крест на танке «Алтай»


Турция проводит все более активную экспансионистскую политику на территориях, некогда принадлежавших Османской империи. Реваншистские настроения, на которых играет президент Эрдоган, требуют все новых побед и символов возрожденной мощи. К таким символам можно отнести амбициозные турецкие военные программы ударных БПЛА, собственного истребителя пятого поколения и «национального» танка «Алтай».


Однако если присмотреться повнимательнее, то величие получается несколько «дутым». Да, турецкие БПЛА выбивают технику противника на поле боя пачками, но нетрудно заметить, что у прославившихся в последнее время дронов серии Bayraktar TB есть израильские корни: многое позаимствовано у беспилотников IAI Heron и Aerostar. Турецкий истребитель пятого поколения TF-X (Turkish Fighter Experimental) не может быть создан самостоятельно, Анкара вынуждена искать партнеров в Швеции, Италии, Южной Корее и даже Бразилии. Столь же велика зависимость ВПК Турции от иностранцев в проекте «национального» танка «Алтай».

В настоящее время турецкая армия использует немецкие и американские танки, но в 2011 году был представлен проект собственного основного боевого танка. К нашему Алтаю ОБТ отношения не имеет, танк назван в честь турецкого военного героя. Несмотря на патриотический замах, из-за отсутствия опыта танкостроения Анкара была вынуждена обратиться к чужим технологиям. Германская корпорация KMW отказалась передавать лицензию на свой «Leopard 2», поэтому «Алтай» на 60% представляет собой модернизированный, но при этом упрощенный южнокорейский танк «K2 Black Panther». В качестве партнера тогда выступила Hyundai Rotem. Предполагалось создание нескольких версий боевой машины: 250 единиц Т1, T2 с улучшенной броней и даже T3 с необитаемой башней и автоматом заряжания.

Но потом возникли проблемы. Турецкий «национальный» танк, помимо корейских генов, должен был оснащаться немецкой трансмиссией RENK и турбодизелем MTU Friedrichshafen мощностью 1500 л.с. Броня для ОБТ предполагалась французского производства. Однако отношения с Берлином и Парижем у Анкары в последние годы резко испортились из-за активизировавшейся агрессивной внешней политики Турции в Восточном Средиземноморье и на Ближнем Востоке. Президенты Макрон и Эрдоган превратились чуть ли не в худших врагов, а Германия присоединилась в антитурецкому оружейному эмбарго. Справиться с данными технологическими проблемами своих сил у бывшей империи не хватает.

Есть еще один любопытный нюанс, характеризующий внутреннюю политику современной Турции. Проект ОБТ был разработан компанией Otokar, которая создала несколько первых прототипов танка. Но после тендер Министерства обороны на производство ОБТ неожиданно выиграла турецко-катарская компания BMC Otomotiv Sanayi ve Ticaret. Многомиллиардный госконтракт ушел к компании, акционером которой является один из членов Партии справедливости и развития Реджепа Эрдогана. Ко всему прочему, государство передало BMC Otomotiv Sanayi ve Ticaret бесплатно целый военный завод на ближайшие 25 лет. Бывает и так.


Однако к технологическому прорыву смена генподрядчика почему-то не привела. Теперь Турция повторно вынуждена обратиться за помощью к южнокорейской Hyundai Rotem, которая и стояла у истоков проекта. Сообщается, что параллельно ведутся переговоры с корейским производителем двигателей Doosan и S&T Dynamics, занимающейся автоматическими трансмиссиями. Анкара рассчитывает своими силами сделать только танковую броню. По сути, на выходе получает южнокорейский танк с локализацией производства в Турции.

Впрочем, вопрос не вполне однозначный. С одной стороны, технологические и производственные возможности современной Турции явно не соответствуют ее замаху на новую империю. С другой стороны, военная экспансия Рима в свое время была построена на заимствовании лучших образцов вооружений у своих противников. Если корейцы туркам помогут, Анкара через пару лет получит свой условно собственный основной боевой танк, который не является чем-то выдающимся, но вполне сможет выполнять поставленные перед ним задачи. Однако это будет уже не разрекламированный «Алтай», а иная боевая машина.
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 23 ноября 2020 15:01
    +4
    Ю.Корея ,это прежде всего вотчина США,от которых Ю.Корея зависит в своем противостоянии с С.Корей,так что Турция получит только то,что разрешат янки,если вообще разрешат,а отношения Анкары с Вашингтоном сейчас не лучшие. Кроме того только сегодня прошла статья о преддефолтном состоянии экономики Турции,а это не лучшим образом аукнется на армии в целом,а темпах перевооружения и на стабильности режима султана в целом
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 23 ноября 2020 16:15
    -3
    Фигня все.
    Ну, не будет у них еще какоето время своего собственного основного танка. Купят у соседей, если надо.
    В Оплот вкладывались, могут его по дешовке взять, например.

    Зато, писали, одни из первых сделали легкий танк и продвигают, Бпла и прочее. Экономика неплохая выросла.
    Для слабой еще недавно страны, совсем неплохо.
    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 24 ноября 2020 00:47
      +4
      Экономика неплохая выросла.

      Вот только что мусорный рейтинг заработали.

      Бпла и прочее.

      Ещё в начале октября их США и Канада с двигателями и прицелами на Байрактар обломали.

      Зато, писали, одни из первых сделали легкий танк

      Лёгкий танк - не самое главное в войне. Опять же, надо подождать, как они себя проявят в войне. Ну и, где гарантия, что они целиком этот танк смогут делать.

      Ну, не будет у них еще какоето время своего собственного основного танка. Купят у соседей, если надо.

      Если будет на что. См. начало комента.

      В Оплот вкладывались, могут его по дешовке взять, например.

      Думаю, ума хватит с Тайландом посоветоваться. Там мноооого про Оплот порасскажут. И про способность 404 выполнять заказы.
  3. Биндюжник Онлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 23 ноября 2020 17:38
    -5
    Автор совершенно справедливо отметил что ещё древние римляне не считали зазорным заимствовать оружейные технологии у своих противников. Могу сказать что подобные тенденции мы видим и до римлян и после - все всегда старались перенимать чужие достижения и использовать в собственных интересах. Важен конечный результат - успехи на поле боя, тут все средства идут в ход. Поэтому ничего необычного в действиях турок нет - да, их беспилотники имеют израильские корни, истребители F-16 производятся в Турции по лицензии, а свой ОБТ они разрабатывают с помощью зарубежных партнеров. Знаю что получу кучу минусов, однако напомню что и СССР действовал схожими методами - Т-26 это британский Vickers Mk E, знаменитая "Сорокопятка" была создана на заводе №8 на основе немецкой 37мм. противотанковой пушки, а первый советский стратегический бомбардировщик Ту-4 был по указанию И.В.Сталина скопирован КБ Туполева с американского В-29. Список заимствований советских разработчиков военной техники у зарубежных производителей можно продолжать долго...
    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 24 ноября 2020 00:09
      +2
      Вы не о том.
      Что, Ту 4 нам помогал выпускать Трумэн? Сами передрали, сами и делали.
      Передрали - молодцы. Что сравнивать разорённую войнами Россию и современные Турцию и Китай.
      А вот сейчас великий и могучий Китай, при всех деньгах и шпионах, не может передрать двигатели.
      И летает, до сих пор, на Ту 16, своего бомбера сделать не в состоянии.
      А Турции и рыпаться без толку. Ресурсов никаких. И умудрился со всеми расплеваться (сто раз уже об этом писал). Не настолько это мощная страна, чтобы выступать соло.
      Вот результаты. Теперь Турцию будут тихо заметать под коврик.
      А Израилю стоит присмотреться к примеру Турции. Стоит осознать своё место под солнцем. Рухнет Фининтерн (точнее, еврейская фракция в нём) и порвут соседи на британский флаг, как тузик грелку. К Путину за защитой побежите.
      1. Биндюжник Онлайн Биндюжник
        Биндюжник (Мирон) 24 ноября 2020 15:05
        -1
        Цитата: boriz
        К Путину за защитой побежите.

        Когда это израильтяне к кому-либо за защитой бегали? Сами всегда врагов били и побеждали.
        1. isofat Офлайн isofat
          isofat (isofat) 24 ноября 2020 15:16
          -2
          Цитата: Биндюжник
          Когда это израильтяне к кому-либо за защитой бегали? Сами всегда врагов били и побеждали.

          Биндюжник, хватит врать. Вас победили и забрали страну больше двух тыс. лет тому назад.
    2. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 24 ноября 2020 00:22
      +1
      А вам лучше молчать в тряпочку. На свой Galil посмотрите, ничего не напоминает? Не АК, случаем?
      Вам весь ВПК создали евреи в СССР обученные и опыт работы там получившие.
      1. Биндюжник Онлайн Биндюжник
        Биндюжник (Мирон) 24 ноября 2020 15:15
        -2
        Galil был разработан на основе финского автомата Valmet Rk 62, являвшегося вариантом АК, это в Израиле каждый школьник знает. А то что израильский ВПК создали бывшие советские специалисты - чушь полная.
  4. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 24 ноября 2020 00:16
    +2
    Похоже, в своих дурных попытках влезть в Карабах, Эрдоган, наконец то, зарвался окончательно.
    Как я уже неоднократно отмечал, расплевался он со всеми, пытался вести себя, как держава первого уровня.
    Вот его и начали дружно опускать.
    Присвоили мусорный рейтинг, арестовали судно.
    Облаял он Макрона? Здорово, круто! Внутренний лохторат оценил! А вот броню на танки придётся делать из дерьма и палок.
    Как сказано в классическом фильме:

    Ничего в этом мире не бывает просто так. Даже овцы в тулупах.

    laughing За базар надо отвечать.