Le Monde: "Yesterday's Revolutionaries" of Armenia Facing Harsh Reality


The revolutionary movement two years ago in Armenia, in the wake of the fight against corruption, which brought the current Prime Minister of the country Nikol Pashinyan to power, has exhausted itself and gave way to a feeling of hopelessness and uncertainty in the future. The French edition of Le Monde writes about the mood on the streets of Armenian cities.


In 2018, people were full of hopes for political и economic change, and the popularly supported Pashinyan rid the country of local grassroots corruption. Serzh Sargsyan's post-Soviet regime was overthrown, and euphoric crowds dreamed of a "new Armenia". Nikol Pashinyan was very popular among the citizens of the country.

Two years have passed, and the results of the war in Nagorno-Karabakh put an end to the aspirations of the people. The country is experiencing defeat in many senses - the loss of territories, the death of about 2300 people, an influx of about 100 thousand refugees from the unrecognized republic, ravaged by war, and an explosive increase in coronavirus diseases (Armenia has one of the highest levels of Covid-19 infection per capita). The reforms and prosperity of Armenia promised by the Prime Minister have long been forgotten - more important events and problems have come to the fore.

We were showered with false statements. This is a betrayal

- believes 38-year-old Gagik Hakobyan, professor at the French University in Armenia, who took an active part in revolutionary events in his time.

For two and a half years (after 2018), I proudly said that we made the velvet revolution and overthrew the old regime. But today I have to admit that he's coming back

- This is the opinion of Nancy Mkrtchyan, who is watching the unrest on Freedom Square in Yerevan with demands for the Prime Minister's resignation.

"Yesterday's revolutionaries," who once laid great trust in Pashinyan and supported his democratic aspirations, faced harsh reality and are reaping the bitter fruits of their disillusionment with the "velvet revolution." The economic crisis could sweep away the government in Yerevan, but what awaits ordinary citizens of the country?
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 23 November 2020 15: 37
    +8
    A newsreel from Armenia shows that all signs there are written in Armenian and English. They completely forgot about the Russian language. Now, when Russia is pouring huge material resources into the Armenian people, can the situation with signs and other plates change and they will be written in Russian as well? Otherwise, it seems that the Russians have left this territory. For what reasons?
    1. beeper Online beeper
      beeper 23 November 2020 16: 05
      -1
      hi What is so far beyond / foreign "sunny" Armenia, non-Russian Yerivan region ?!
      Much closer, in neighboring "blue-eyed" Belarus, in "union" Minsk, because street signs, too, have long since been renamed from Russian, now only in Belarusian and English!
      Like the announcements in the Minsk metro, they are in Belarusian and English, not at all in Russian! request
      At least two years ago, this was the case in Minsk (now, has something changed for the better in the Russian direction, or maybe Chinese inscriptions have been added to the Belarusian-English signs?). winked
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) 24 November 2020 03: 25
        +1
        At least two years ago, this was the case in Minsk (now, has something changed for the better in the Russian direction, or maybe Chinese inscriptions have been added to the Belarusian-English signs?).

        Nothing will change for the better until Fedya shaves off his mustache.
        Here are 4 new stations, all in Mov and in bourgeois. Russian-speaking people of the second class.

        1. Volga073 Offline Volga073
          Volga073 (MIKLE) 24 November 2020 19: 28
          0
          Russia was building ..
    2. passing by Offline passing by
      passing by (passing by) 23 November 2020 16: 08
      +2
      .. Armenian historians claim that the first appearance of the Armenian population on the territory of Krasnodar Territory dates back to the 1st century BC. - this happened during the stay here of the thousands of Armenian legions of the mythical Tigran the Great. That is, this territory is part of "Great Armenia" and then there were no Russians here at all. They even want to create the Kuban Armenian autonomy. Armenian claims and separatism, like a headache for Azerbaijan, are transferred to the territory of Russia.

      https://www.trend.az/life/interview/3338187.html?utm_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fzen.yandex.com&utm_campaign=dbr
    3. Volga073 Offline Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 24 November 2020 19: 29
      0
      They will not write in Russian - Turkey will write in Muslim ..
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 23 November 2020 20: 43
    -5
    Who knows how much it costs to maintain the base in Gyumri and the border guards on the Armenian-Turkish and Armenian-Iranian border? Or maybe it’s better to build several hospitals with this money?
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 23 November 2020 21: 22
      +4
      Under I. Stalin, a military base on the territory meant the transition of the state to the side of the USSR, and often with the entry into the USSR .. Today's liberals condemn I. Stalin and do the opposite, the bases of the Russian Federation become the reason for leaving the union. with the Russian Federation ... The reasons are not in the bases, but in the leadership of the state of the Russian Federation, in the anti-Russian and comprador government ...
    2. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 24 November 2020 03: 26
      -2
      Who knows how much it costs to maintain the base in Gyumri and the border guards on the Armenian-Turkish and Armenian-Iranian border? Or maybe it’s better to build several hospitals with this money?

      And in them to treat the wounded in clashes at the border?
      1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 25 November 2020 20: 30
        -1
        Hello! This is not the first time I have seen and always put a plus. I don't know how old you are - you and from what country, I'm 67, Moscow. He was in bed and operated on at City Clinical Hospital 56, 57, 1st Gradskaya, 64, in this one - four times. The staff and doctors are excellent, but the living conditions, I will say so, are modest. Good luck, Peter ...
        1. 123 Offline 123
          123 (123) 25 November 2020 20: 49
          -1
          Good
          -17, Siberia, in hospitals, it seems, everything is not bad. Operated at OKB Khanty-Mansiysk.
          I just mean that the cost items are all so slightly different. It will not work to transfer everything to healthcare. Leaving the border unattended will end up sideways.
          Good luck and health hi
  3. Armenians learn to fly!
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. Volga073 Offline Volga073
    Volga073 (MIKLE) 24 November 2020 19: 30
    -1
    Musliks kill Christians, while Armenians still hope for Trump ..

Le Monde: «Вчерашние революционеры» Армении столкнулись с суровой реальностью


Революционное движение двухлетней давности в Армении, на волне борьбы с коррупцией приведшее к власти нынешнего премьер-министра страны Никола Пашиняна, исчерпало себя и уступило место чувству безысходности и неуверенности в будущем. О настроениях на улицах армянских городов пишет французское издание Le Monde.


В 2018 году люди были полны надежд на политические и экономические перемены, и поддерживаемый народом Пашинян избавил страну от местной низовой коррупции. Постсоветский режим Сержа Саргсяна был свергнут, и полные эйфории толпы мечтали о «новой Армении». Никол Пашинян пользовался огромной популярностью граждан страны.

Прошло два года, и результаты войны в Нагорном Карабахе поставили крест на чаяниях людей. Страна переживает поражение во многих смыслах – потеря территорий, гибель порядка 2300 человек, наплыв около 100 тыс. беженцев из разоренной войной непризнанной республики и взрывной рост заболеваний коронавирусом (в Армении один из наивысших уровней заражения Covid-19 на душу населения). Об обещанных премьер-министром реформах и процветании Армении давно забыто – на первый план вышли более важные события и проблемы.

Нас осыпали ложными утверждениями. Это предательство

– полагает профессор Французского университета в Армении 38-летний Гагик Акопян, принимавший в свое время активное участие в революционных событиях.

В течение двух с половиной лет (после 2018 года) я с гордостью говорила, что мы совершили бархатную революцию и свергли старый режим. Но сегодня я вынуждена признать, что он возвращается

– так считает Нэнси Мкртчян, наблюдающая за волнениями на площади Свободы в Ереване с требованиями отставки премьера.

«Вчерашние революционеры», возлагавшие когда-то большие надежны на Пашиняна и поддерживавшие его демократические устремления, столкнулись с суровой реальностью и пожинают горькие плоды своего разочарования в «бархатной революции». Экономический кризис может смести правительство в Ереване, но что ожидает простых граждан страны?
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 23 ноября 2020 15:37
    +8
    По кинохронике из Армении видно, что все указатели там написаны на армянском и английском языках. О русском языке забыли напрочь. Теперь, когда Россия вливает огромные материальные ресурсы в армянский народ, может положение с указателями и другими табличками изменится и их станут писать в том числе и на русском языке? А то создаётся впечатление, что русские покинули эту территорию. А по каким причинам?
    1. пищак Офлайн пищак
      пищак 23 ноября 2020 16:05
      -1
      hi Что уж далёкая за/заграничная "солнечная" Армения, нерусский ериванский край?!
      Гораздо ближе, в сопредельной "синеокой" Белоруссии, в "союзном" Минске, ведь тоже уличные таблички, давно уж, переименованы с русского языка-теперь только на белорусском и английском!
      Как и объявки в Минском метро-на белорусском и английском, отнюдь не по-русски! request
      По крайней мере, два года назад так в Минске было( теперь разве там поменялось что-то к лучшему в русскую сторону, или, м.б., к белорусско-английским указателям ещё и китайские надписи добавились?). winked
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 24 ноября 2020 03:25
        +1
        По крайней мере, два года назад так в Минске было( теперь разве там поменялось что-то к лучшему в русскую сторону, или, м.б., к белорусско-английским указателям ещё и китайские надписи добавились?).

        Ничего там в лучшую сторону не поменяется пока "Феде" усы не сбреют.
        Вот новые 4 станции, все на мове да на буржуйском. Русскоязычные люди второго сорта.

        1. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
          Volga073 (MIKLE) 24 ноября 2020 19:28
          0
          Россия строила..
    2. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 23 ноября 2020 16:08
      +2
      ..армянские историки утверждают, что первое появление армянского населения на территории Краснодарского края относится к 1 веку до н.э. - это происходило во время пребывания здесь многотысячных армянских легионов мифического Тиграна Великого. То есть, эта территория входит в состав "Великой Армении" и тогда здесь русских вообще не было. Они даже хотят создать Кубанскую армянскую автономию. Армянские притязания и сепаратизм, как головная боль Азербайджана, переходят на территорию России.

      https://www.trend.az/life/interview/3338187.html?utm_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fzen.yandex.com&utm_campaign=dbr
    3. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 24 ноября 2020 19:29
      0
      Не будут на русском писать - Турция на мусульманском напишет..
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 23 ноября 2020 20:43
    -5
    Ой, кто в курсе, во сколько обходится содержание базы в Гюмри и погранцов на армяно-турецкой и армяно-иранской границе? А может на эти деньги лучше несколько больниц построить?
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 23 ноября 2020 21:22
      +4
      При И. Сталине военная база на территории означала переход государства на сторону СССР, и часто с вхождением в состав СССР.. Сегодняшние либерасты осуждают И. Сталина и делают наоборот, базы РФ становятся причиной ухода от союза. с РФ... Причины не в базах, а в руководстве государством РФ, в правлении антироссийском и компрадорском...
    2. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 24 ноября 2020 03:26
      -2
      Ой, кто в курсе, во сколько обходится содержание базы в Гюмри и погранцов на армяно-турецкой и армяно-иранской границе? А может на эти деньги лучше несколько больниц построить?

      И в них лечить раненых в боестолкновениях на границе?
      1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 25 ноября 2020 20:30
        -1
        Привет! Не первый раз вижу и всегда ставлю плюс. Не знаю сколько тебе - Вам и из какой страны, мне 67, Москва. Лежал и оперировался в ГКБ 56, 57, 1-й Градской, 64, в этой - четыре раза. Персонал и врачи отличные, а вот бытовые условия - скажу так, скромные. Удачи, Пётр...
        1. 123 Офлайн 123
          123 (123) 25 ноября 2020 20:49
          -1
          Доброго!
          -17, Сибирь, в больницах вроде все не плохо. Оперировался в ОКБ Ханты-Мансийск.
          Я просто к тому, что статьи расходов все так несколько разные. Не получится все на здравоохранение перекинуть. Оставить границу без присмотра, в итоге боком выйдет.
          Удачи и здоровья hi
  3. Арррмяне учатся летать!
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
    Volga073 (MIKLE) 24 ноября 2020 19:30
    -1
    Муслики убивают христиан, а армяне еще на Трампа надеются..