NI: Kaliningrad has become Russia's "best weapon" against NATO


The existence of a Russian enclave like Kaliningrad gives Moscow great advantages. With the help of this strip of land, Russia can manage the dynamics of relations with NATO, increasing or decreasing pressure on the Alliance countries. Kaliningrad has become the "best weapon" of the Russian Federation, writes the American edition of The National Interest.


In 1945, the USSR took control of East Prussia and, following the results of World War II, part of it became part of it. Stalin was not inclined to leave this strategically important territory to Germany. This is how the Kaliningrad region appeared. Since 1991, it has been separated from the rest of the Russian Federation, making it vulnerable. But Russia has figured out how to protect its region.

Now, when Moscow needs it, it puts on spectacular shows, deploying in Kaliningrad some other weapon that frightens its neighbors. The region, located in the heart of the Western bloc, has already accumulated a whole arsenal that poses a serious threat.

Moscow has deployed there the S-400 air defense system - one of the most effective air defense systems in the world. These complexes can operate at ranges of up to 400 km, which makes air cover for NATO operations in the Baltic a very difficult task. In addition, the S-400 can also be used as an offensive weapon. For example, they can paralyze civil air traffic of a potential enemy, causing great harm to him the economy.

Kaliningrad also hosts Iskander-M missile systems, the real characteristics of which have not yet been established, but they can potentially overcome any air defense / missile defense system. In the West, they do not know if these complexes can use nuclear warheads. But even with the usual ones, they can easily disrupt mobilization plans in neighboring countries.

However, whatever threat Kaliningrad poses to the Alliance, it cannot last long and will only have a temporary effect. Moscow has no reliable means of long-term defense for the enclave, other than an offensive that would open a corridor to Belarus.

Russia has superiority over the Baltic states and Poland, but NATO forces will undoubtedly focus on an early seizure of Kaliningrad if necessary. The alliance will subject the enclave to powerful cyberattacks and missile strikes to rob the Russians of the initiative.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 24 November 2020 14: 25
    +5
    Any attack on Kaliningrad is the beginning of a war with all subsequent processes ... Russia will only defend itself, right up to Lisbon, or London.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 24 November 2020 15: 21
      +1
      The Americans are specifically promoting the topic of Kaliningrad, as if emphasizing the foreign territory inherited by the results of WWII - propaganda war in its purest form ... There is only one conclusion, you need to be strong, otherwise everything will be gnawed off ...
  2. beeper Offline beeper
    beeper 24 November 2020 15: 53
    -1
    Well, there, in the Kaliningrad exclave, not only was it "imposed on the outside", but also from the inside, "in the long run" - "quietly", "partners" are carrying out subversive work!
    There were enough of all kinds of zapadoidny "clubs of fans of the history of Konigsberg" there before! But now, in the boundlessly communicative (the dream of intelligence and extremist "revolutionaries" has come true!) "Era of the Internet" and the Naglo-Saxon neo-colonial "export of revolutions", all these "quivering amateurs" have found their special "new breath (ideological direction)" and " targeted funding (overseas) "- with an eye on the" color revolution "and" referendum for the peaceful accession to Germany "! fool
    As the sad experience of the USSR during the "Gorbachev reforms" has shown, military superpower is by no means a 100% guarantee against betrayal, alas! request
    It is by no means a "fact" that the frankly feeble-minded and faint-hearted "leaders", Judas Gorby or the "holy" EBN, if they held out a little longer at the "helm of power" the return "or the sale of the Kaliningrad exclave to Germany (and with the venal" return "of the Kuril Islands to Japan, after all, they almost" thought out "it, it was not for nothing that the Japanese were so" over-excited by the northern territories "then, at the end of the" perestroika "1980s, in the" holy 90s ", .. ..?!) ??! winked
  3. steelmaker Online steelmaker
    steelmaker 24 November 2020 16: 26
    +3
    Stalin was not inclined to leave this strategically important territory to Germany

    They also forgot to remind that this territory was completely cleared of the Germans, having been deported to Germany. Therefore, there is really no one to buzz there. Without destroying Kaliningrad, attacking Russia is suicide. Thanks to Comrade Stalin for our peaceful sky!
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 25 November 2020 14: 16
      +2
      The main war has moved into the minds, here are the Westerners experts, brainwashing has been going on for twenty years in the Kaliningrad region, and the results are already visible ... After all, Ukraine was made anti-Russian in 20 years, of course, with the connivance of the Kremlin prisoners ...
  4. Mikhail Petrov Offline Mikhail Petrov
    Mikhail Petrov (Mikhail Petrov) 24 November 2020 16: 46
    -4
    Inhabitants of that region still prefer to stock up on cheaper and better quality food in NATO (Poland and Lithuania), and if the West cuts off oxygen for them, then they will just run there (to the food), leaving Putin's miracle weapon.

NI: Калининград стал «лучшим оружием» России против НАТО


Существование такого российского анклава как Калининград, дает Москве большие преимущества. При помощи этой полоски земли Россия может управлять динамикой отношений с НАТО, нагнетая или ослабляя давление на страны Альянса. Калининград стал «лучшим оружием» РФ, пишет американское издание The National Interest.


В 1945 году СССР взял Восточную Пруссию под свой контроль и по итогам Второй мировой войны её часть вошла в его состав. Сталин не был склонен оставлять эту стратегически важную территорию Германии. Так появилась Калининградская область. С 1991 года она отделена от остальной части РФ, что сделало её уязвимой. Но Россия придумала как защитить свой регион.

Теперь, когда Москве надо, она устраивает зрелищные шоу, разворачивая в Калининграде какое-нибудь очередное пугающее соседей оружие. В регионе, находящемся в самом сердце западного блока, уже накопился целый арсенал, представляющий серьезную угрозу.

Москва развернула там ЗРК С-400 – одну из самых эффективных систем ПВО в мире. Эти комплексы могут действовать на дальности до 400 км, что делает воздушное прикрытие операций НАТО на Балтике весьма затруднительным занятием. Кроме того, С-400 можно задействовать и в качестве наступательного оружия. Например, они могут парализовать гражданские авиаперевозки вероятного противника, нанеся огромный вред его экономике.

В Калининграде также размещены ОТРК «Искандер-М», реальные характеристики которых до сих пор не установлены, но они потенциально могут преодолевать любую систему ПВО/ПРО. На Западе не знают, могут ли эти комплексы применять ядерные боевые части. Но даже обычными они могут запросто сорвать планы мобилизации в соседних странах.

Однако какую бы угрозу Калининград ни представлял для Альянса, она не может длиться долго и будет иметь лишь временный эффект. У Москвы нет надежных средств долгосрочной защиты анклава, кроме наступления, которое открыло бы коридор в Белоруссию.

Россия имеет превосходство над странами Прибалтики и Польшей, однако силы НАТО, несомненно, сосредоточатся на скорейшем захвате Калининграда, если это будет необходимо. Альянс подвергнет анклав мощным кибератакам и ракетным ударам, чтобы лишить россиян инициативы.
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 24 ноября 2020 14:25
    +5
    Любое нападение на Калининград - это начало войны со всеми последующими процессами... Россия будет только защищаться, вплоть до Лиссабона, или Лондона.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 24 ноября 2020 15:21
      +1
      Америкосы специально раскручивают тему Калининграда, как бы подчёркивая доставшуюся по итогам ВМВ чужую территорию,- пропагандистская война в чистом виде...Вывод один, необходимо быть сильными, иначе отгрызать будут всё...
  2. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 24 ноября 2020 15:53
    -1
    Ну там, в Калининградском эксклаве, не только "обложили снаружи", но ведь и изнутри, "в долгую"-"тихим сапом", "партнёрами" проводится подрывная работа!
    Всяких-яких западоидных "клубов любителей истории Кенигсберга" там и раньше хватало! Но теперь, в безгранично-коммуникационную( мечта разведки и экстремистов-"ррэволюционэров" сбылась!) "эру Интернета" и наглосаксонского неоколониального "экспорта революций", все эти "трепетные любители" обрели своё особое "новое дыхание( идейное направление)" и "целевое финансирование( закордонное)"-с прицелом на "цветную революцию" и "референдум за мирное присоединение к Германии"! fool
    Как показал печальный опыт СССР периода "горбачёвских реформ"-военная сверхмощь отнюдь не является 100% гарантией от предательства, увы! request
    Отнюдь "не факт", что, откровенно слабоумные и малодушные "лидеры", иудушка Горби либо "святой" ЕБН, продержись они чуть подольше у "кормила власти", с чужого "кондачка" не "удумали" бы "чего такого" с "возвратом" или продажей Калининградского эксклава Германии( да и с продажным "возвратом" Курил Японии, ведь почти "удумывали" же, недаром япошки так "перевозбудились северными территориями" тогда, в конце "перестроечных" 1980х-в "святых 90х",....?!)??! winked
  3. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 24 ноября 2020 16:26
    +3
    Сталин не был склонен оставлять эту стратегически важную территорию Германии

    Забыли ещё напомнить, что эту территорию полностью зачистили от немцев- депортировав в Германию. Поэтому и бузить там особо не кому. Не уничтожив Калининград, нападать на Россию самоубийство. Спасибо товарищу Сталину за наше мирное небо!
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 25 ноября 2020 14:16
      +2
      Главная война перемеместилась в умы , вот промывать мозги западники спецы, в Калиниградской области промывание мозгов идёт двадцатилетием и результаты уже видны... Ведь и Украину антироссийской сделали за 20 лет, конечно при попустительстве кремлёвских сидельцев...
  4. Михаил Петров (Михаил Петров) 24 ноября 2020 16:46
    -4
    Обитатели того региона и сейчас-то предпочитают затариваться более дешёвой и качественной едой в НАТО (Польше и Литве), а если им Запад перекроет кислород, то они просто туда (к еде) все и сбегут, побросав путинское чудо-оружие.