While the US threatens Turkey with sanctions for the S-400, Greece has activated the S-300


On December 1, 2020, a two-day summit of NATO foreign ministers began in Brussels. One of the main issues on the agenda is Turkey's "behavior". Ankara needs to "think twice" before putting on alert the S-400 Triumph air defense missile systems purchased from Moscow. The activation of this system by an Alliance member is "unacceptable" and will entail consequences. US Permanent Representative to NATO Kay Bailey Hutchinson said this on the eve of the meeting at a briefing for journalists, writes The National newspaper from the UAE.


The very idea that a Russian missile defense system could be placed in the center of our bloc is outrageous. We talked about this to Turkey many times

- she said.

Hutchinson warned Turkey against a possible mistake and urged to think again. She stressed that it is not too late and Ankara can cancel the activation and break the agreement with Moscow.

The American permanent representative also drew attention to the military actions of Turkey in the Eastern Mediterranean and the Aegean Sea, where Ankara had serious disagreements with Greece and Cyprus over water areas. Countries are actively looking for hydrocarbons and various incidents often arise between them.

She noted that the recent conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh was very “problematic” for maintaining further unity in the ranks of the Alliance. This is due to the fact that not all NATO countries share Ankara's point of view on this issue.

Hutchinson recalled that the US Congress has repeatedly called on President Donald Trump to impose sanctions against Turkey, for systematic and blatant disregard of the interests of allies, in accordance with the Counter America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA). Therefore, there is a high probability that Washington may decide to take this "educational" measure in relation to Ankara.

Note that in the summer of 2020, the Greek Armed Forces led in service with the Russian S-300PMU-1. Then the Greeks used these air defense systems to counter the F-16 fighters of the Turkish Air Force, which suddenly appeared 7 km from the border with Greece.

On December 1, the Middle Eastern media reported that the Greek Armed Forces carried out rocket fire from the S-300PMU-1 at the Hanat training ground in the eastern part of the island of Crete. This was attended by the military from the United States, Germany and the Netherlands.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 1 December 2020 17: 41
    -5
    On December 1, the Middle Eastern media reported that the Greek Armed Forces carried out rocket fire from the S-300PMU-1 at the Hanat training ground in the eastern part of the island of Crete. This was attended by the military from the United States, Germany and the Netherlands.

    - Well ??? - What is the result of these shooting ??? - At least the Greeks would have voiced ... - And then our Russian people about these S-300; The S-400 and our other "unparalleled" formidable means do not really know anything ... - even if NATO members at least somehow voice ... their effectiveness ...
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 1 December 2020 18: 31
      +2
      Inspired by the "Battle of Paphos" The Turks then bombed two of their ships, one of them shot down a Turkish plane ...
    2. The comment was deleted.
    3. white gentleman Offline white gentleman
      white gentleman (Ivan) 2 December 2020 14: 30
      0
      Quote: gorenina91
      - Well ??? - What is the result of these shooting ???

      All the missiles managed to leave the containers and miss targets with a deviation of 6 km, like the Armenian Iskander when firing at Azerbaijan, Russian military experts explained this by the fact that "missiles always have a circular [probable] deviation."
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 1 December 2020 22: 41
    -1
    that the Greek Armed Forces carried out rocket fire from the S-300PMU-1 at the Khanat range

    If the result were negative, NATO members would immediately squeal with joy. And the S-400 is much better! So let them be afraid of us !!

Пока США грозят Турции санкциями за С-400, Греция привела в действие С-300


1 декабря 2020 года в Брюсселе начался двухдневный саммит глав внешнеполитических ведомств НАТО. Одним из главных вопросов повестки является «поведение» Турции. Анкаре нужно «дважды подумать» прежде чем ставить на боевое дежурство приобретенные у Москвы ЗРК С-400 «Триумф». Активация членом Альянса этой системы «неприемлема» и повлечет последствия. Об этом накануне встречи на брифинге для журналистов заявила постоянный представитель США при НАТО Кей Бейли Хатчинсон, пишет газета The National из ОАЭ.


Сама идея, что российскую систему ПРО могут поставить в центре нашего блока, является запредельной. Мы говорили об этом Турции много раз

– сказала она.

Хатчинсон предостерегла Турцию от возможной ошибки и призвала одуматься. Она подчеркнула, что ещё не поздно и Анкара может отменить активацию и разорвать соглашение с Москвой.

Американский постпред также обратила внимание на воинственные действия Турции в Восточном Средиземноморье и Эгейском море, где у Анкары возникли серьезные разногласия с Грецией и Кипром по поводу акваторий. Страны ведут активный поиск углеводородов и между ними часто возникают различные инциденты.

Она отметила, что недавний конфликт в Нагорном Карабахе был весьма «проблематичным» для поддержания дальнейшего единства в рядах Альянса. Это связано с тем, что не все страны НАТО разделяют точку зрения Анкары в данном вопросе.

Хатчинсон напомнила, что Конгресс США неоднократно призывал президента Дональда Трампа ввести санкции против Турции, за систематическое и откровенное игнорирование интересов союзников, в соответствии с «Законом о противодействии противникам Америки посредством санкций» (CAATSA). Поэтому есть высокая вероятность, что Вашингтон может решиться на принятие этой «воспитательной» меры в отношении Анкары.

Заметим, что летом 2020 года ВС Греции привели в действие находящиеся на вооружении российские С-300ПМУ-1. Тогда греки задействовали эти ЗРК для противодействия истребителям F-16 ВВС Турции, внезапно появившихся в 7 км от границы с Грецией.

1 декабря ближневосточные СМИ проинформировали, что ВС Греции осуществили ракетные стрельбы из С-300ПМУ-1 на полигоне Ханат – в восточной части острова Крита. При этом присутствовали военные из США, Германии и Нидерландов.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 1 декабря 2020 17:41
    -5
    1 декабря ближневосточные СМИ проинформировали, что ВС Греции осуществили ракетные стрельбы из С-300ПМУ-1 на полигоне Ханат – в восточной части острова Крита. При этом присутствовали военные из США, Германии и Нидерландов.

    - Ну и ??? - Каков результат этих стрельб ??? - Хоть греки бы озвучили .. бы... - А то наш российский народ про эти С-300 ; С-400 и прочие наши "не имеющие аналогов" грозные средства так ничего толком и не знает... - пусть хоть натовцы хоть как-то озвучат... их эффективность...
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 1 декабря 2020 18:31
      +2
      Навеяло "битву при Пафосе" Турки тогда разбомбили два своих корабля, один из них сбил турецкий самолёт...
    2. Комментарий был удален.
    3. белый джентельмен (Иван) 2 декабря 2020 14:30
      0
      Цитата: gorenina91
      - Ну и ??? - Каков результат этих стрельб ???

      Все ракеты сумели покинуть контейнеры и промахнуться по мишеням с отклонением на 6 км, как армянский "Искандер" при стрельбе по Азербайджану, Российские военные эксперты это объяснили тем, что "у ракет всегда есть круговое [вероятное] отклонение"
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 1 декабря 2020 22:41
    -1
    что ВС Греции осуществили ракетные стрельбы из С-300ПМУ-1 на полигоне Ханат

    Если бы результат был отрицательный, НАТО-вцы сразу бы завизжали от радости. А С-400 на порядок лучше! Вот и пусть нас бояться!!