Expert: Norway seeks an increasingly tough confrontation with Russia


Norway itself is provoking Russia by militarizing its High North and inviting the United States there, writes Professor Turmud Heyer on the High North News website, commenting on a recent government report to the kingdom's parliament.


According to the military expert, the report appears to “continue policies, which is mainly aimed at tough confrontation with Russia. Benefiting from the protection of the United States, Oslo refuses to respect and consider any interests of Moscow, preferring only uncompromising pressure.

This tactic, in turn, forces the Russian Federation to respond symmetrically, increasing its military activity in order to protect its interests in the region. In particular, we are talking about the defense of the most important submarine bases.

Russians take action to counter the growing American presence that Norway is pushing in the High North

- says Heyer.

In his opinion, the Norwegian tactics at the active invitation of the United States do not bode well in the end.

This “invitation policy” increases the strategic importance of Northern Norway for Russia and America, making it difficult to achieve the declared goals outlined in the report, such as peace, stability and predictability.

- the text says.

The policy of the Scandinavian country is becoming an ever greater problem for the Russian Federation.

Russia [...] is concerned that Norway will be used as a staging ground for US operations against Russia's most important foreign policy instrument: nuclear forces, which are only 40-120 kilometers from the border

- continues Heyer.

The expert believes that the latest government document in Norway, which actually encourages the expansion of the American presence, will contribute to the escalation.

Norway must build its own defenses as quickly as possible. Thus, the authorities will have the opportunity to demonstrate their presence in the regions bordering the Russian Federation.

- the expert is convinced.

In the meantime, the Norwegian strategy towards Russia is only to arrange a "tough confrontation" with the help of American forces. However, in the event of a military crisis, first of all, the local residents, subjects of the kingdom, will suffer.

It is noteworthy that this is not the first material from the Norwegian press that the government in Oslo, because of the broad back of Washington, is behaving arrogantly and unreasonably towards its eastern neighbor. The riskiness of such a policy is often pointed out, which could one day lead to devastating consequences.
  • Photos used: Norwegian Armed Forces
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. white gentleman Offline white gentleman
    white gentleman (Ivan) 3 December 2020 20: 17
    -1
    The United States has reopened the nuclear submarine base near the borders of Russia.

    A new underground naval base for nuclear attack submarines of the US Navy is being deployed in northern Norway. It will be located just 350 km from the Russian border, not far from the city of Tromsø, right in the rock, at the mouth of one of the deep-water fjords.
    Right inside the cliff, at the top - 300 meters of rocks, there is a huge underground city with deep-water berths, fuel storage bases, a dry dock for repairs and even residential buildings for submarine crews.
    The US Navy plans to deploy at least three SeaWolf-class nuclear attack submarines, armed with Tomahawk cruise missiles. SeaWolf carries on board deep-sea vehicles that, in unmanned mode, are able to detect special communication cables laid along the ocean floor at depth.

    https://www.mk.ru/politics/2020/10/19/ssha-raskonservirovali-bazu-atomnykh-podlodok-u-granic-rossii.html
  2. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 4 December 2020 16: 22
    +2
    In WWII they lay down under Hitler, now under the Finintern. What else to expect from them? It is necessary to denounce the Medvedev agreement on the transfer of the water area.

Эксперт: Норвегия стремится ко все более жесткому противостоянию с Россией


Норвегия сама провоцирует Россию, милитаризируя свой Крайний Север и приглашая туда США, пишет профессор Турмуд Хейер на сайте High North News, комментируя недавний отчет правительства для парламента королевства.


По словам военного эксперта, данный отчет, похоже, «продолжает политику, которая в основном направлена на жесткое противостояние России. Пользуясь защитой Соединенных Штатов, Осло отказывается уважать и учитывать какие-либо интересы Москвы, предпочитая лишь бескомпромиссное давление.

Такая тактика, в свою очередь, заставляет РФ отвечать симметрично, наращивая военную активность с тем, чтобы защитить свои интересы в регионе. В частности, речь идёт об обороне важнейших баз подводных лодок.

Русские применяют меры, чтобы противостоять растущему американскому присутствию, которое продвигается Норвегией на Крайнем Севере

– утверждает Хейер.

По его мнению, норвежская тактика по активному приглашению Соединённых Штатов не сулит в итоге ничего хорошего.

Такая «политика приглашения» увеличивает стратегическое значение Северной Норвегии для России и Америки, что затрудняет достижение декларируемых целей, изложенных в докладе, таких, как мир, стабильность и предсказуемость

– говорится в тексте.

Политика скандинавской страны становится всё большей проблемой для РФ.

Россия […] обеспокоена тем, что Норвегия будет использована в качестве плацдарма для американских операций против самого важного инструмента внешней политики России: ядерных сил, которые находятся всего в 40–120 километрах от границы

– продолжает Хейер.

Эксперт полагает, что новейший правительственный документ Норвегии, фактически поощряющий расширение американского присутствия, будет способствовать эскалации.

Норвегия должна сама строить собственную оборону, и как можно быстрее. Таким образом, власти получат возможность продемонстрировать присутствие в приграничных с Российской Федерацией регионах

– убежден эксперт.

Пока же норвежская стратегия в отношении России заключается лишь в том, чтобы с помощью американских сил устроить той «жесткое противостояние». Однако пострадают в случае возникновения военного кризиса прежде всего местные жители, подданные королевства.

Примечательно, что это не первый материал норвежской прессы о том, что правительство в Осло из-за широкой спины Вашингтона ведет себя задиристо и неразумно по отношению к восточному соседу. Часто указывается на рискованность такой политики, которая однажды способна привести к разрушительным последствиям.
  • Использованы фотографии: Вооруженные силы Норвегии
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. белый джентельмен (Иван) 3 декабря 2020 20:17
    -1
    США расконсервировали базу атомных подлодок у границ России.

    На севере Норвегии развертывается новая подземная военно-морская база ударных атомных субмарин ВМС США. Она будет расположена всего в 350 км от границ России, неподалеку от города Тромсё, прямо в скале, в устье одного из глубоководных фьордов.
    Прямо внутри скалы, сверху - 300 метров горных пород, располагается огромный подземный город с глубоководными причалами, базами хранения горючего, сухим доком для ремонта и даже жилыми корпусами для экипажей субмарин.
    ВМС США планируют разместить там как минимум три ударных атомных подлодки класса SeaWolf («Морской волк»), вооруженных крылатыми ракетами Tomahawk. SeaWolf несут на борту глубоководные аппараты, которые в беспилотном режиме способны обнаруживать на глубине кабели спецсвязи, проложенные по дну океана.

    https://www.mk.ru/politics/2020/10/19/ssha-raskonservirovali-bazu-atomnykh-podlodok-u-granic-rossii.html
  2. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 4 декабря 2020 16:22
    +2
    Во ВМВ легли под Гитлера, сейчас - под Фининтерн. Чего от них ещё ждать? Надо денонсировать медведевский договор о передаче акватории.