NYT: In Karabakh, Putin uses a clever new trick


The war between Baku and Yerevan over Nagorno-Karabakh has turned into a tense truce, backed by well-armed Russian peacekeepers. For Moscow, this is a new role, thanks to which it is trying to maintain its influence in the post-Soviet space, writes the American edition of The New York Times.


It should be noted that Russian President Vladimir Putin, having concluded a trilateral agreement on the disputed region, used a skillful new technique. Many residents of Nagorno-Karabakh are really grateful to him for this. In their opinion, it was the Kremlin that stopped the war, which took the lives of thousands of people and was going to continue the bloody harvest.

The latest escalation of the conflict has become the most violent. But Putin has moved away from the practice of the "iron fist", which Russia used before on the territory of Georgia and Ukraine, making these countries its enemies. In this case, Moscow abandoned the tactics of threatening others with its enormous military power. Now the Kremlin is using a subtle combination of soft and hard power.

Now Putin is only warning of the possible consequences if the sides start firing at each other again. And the parties have to reckon with this, since the peacekeepers are on the spot. At the same time, the Russian leader has excellent relations with Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev. The Kremlin can be congratulated on the emergence of another military foothold in the Transcaucasus. This time Moscow received only dividends.

Now Armenia is firmly attached to Russia, and Baku does not consider Moscow an enemy. It is no secret that in recent years Yerevan has been actively improving relations with the West. But the new round of the conflict reminded the Armenians very clearly that Russia is critically important for their survival. Without the presence of Russians, the long-term threats to Turkey, an ally of Azerbaijan, can be realized at any time, and there has already been a similar precedent in history, the US newspaper concluded.
  • Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. goncharov.62 Offline goncharov.62
    goncharov.62 (Andrei) 3 December 2020 17: 25
    +3
    In this case, Moscow abandoned the tactics of threatening others with its enormous military power.

    Where and when did Russia after 1991 threaten someone with military might (although it should have been).?
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 3 December 2020 20: 02
      0
      Georgia. Syria. Donbass, there is a reinforced division on the border, especially in case of exacerbation of ukrobonapartism.
  2. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 3 December 2020 19: 17
    -2
    NYT: In Karabakh, Putin uses a clever new trick

    - This is all the same technique, which is the notorious HPP, or what ???
    - The whole point of the article. this is "in the elderberry garden - in Kiev * or rather (in Yerevan) uncle" ...

    Now Armenia is firmly attached to Russia, and Baku does not consider Moscow an enemy. It is no secret that in recent years Yerevan has been actively improving relations with the West. But the new round of the conflict reminded the Armenians very clearly that Russia is critically important for their survival. Without the presence of Russians, the long-term threats to Turkey, an ally of Azerbaijan, can be realized at any time, and there has already been a similar precedent in history, the US newspaper concluded.

    - What's that ... - are the Americans suddenly become apologists for our guarantor ??? - And decided to support Russia's actions in Karabakh ??? - Well, yeah ...
    - Something I can't believe ... - And in general ... - "Fear the Danians, who bring gifts" ...
    - To my great regret ... - everything is just beginning in Karabakh ... - Until Russia openly and directly participated in this conflict ... - she was relatively invulnerable ... - And now our contingent is open to all kinds of provocations ... -At least with Armenian; even with the American; even from the Azerbaijani (that is, from the Turkish side) ... -And you will have to somehow respond to all these provocations ...
    - Yes, and Russia also planted the "improvement" of Karabakh on its budget; and, most likely ... - providing the residents of Karabakh (Armenians) with medical care and humanitarian aid ...
    - What's next ??? - And then ... - the Americans, racing with the Turks, will begin to come up with all sorts of tricks and sabotage against our peacekeepers ... - Now it is quite easy to do it with the help of all sorts of militants and bandits of all stripes ...
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 3 December 2020 20: 41
    -2
    They played really well here.
    Turkey is a partner.
    Azerbaijan too
    Yerevan is in the union, whatever it is.

    Are there residents in Karabakh now? - kind of grateful.

    Benefit everywhere. And again they no longer speak aloud about biolaboratories, etc.
  4. Gennady1959 Offline Gennady1959
    Gennady1959 (Gennady) 4 December 2020 17: 35
    0
    When Russian military doctors were working in Italy (in connection with the pandemic), I wrote that the Italians would still spit in Russia for this. At the forum, I was almost torn to the British flag.
    So it happened, as soon as the doctors left, publications began: "the medicines are bad, and the doctors are illiterate, and in general who called them (Russians) here ...."
    Something my pessimism tells me that the Armenians will still spit in the back of Russia. There will be clever guys (yes, the same Pashinyan, to justify his lack of talent of the leader) who will blame Russia, intervened too late, they say, they waited until the Azerbaijanis grab a larger piece, why they did not liberate the regions occupied by Azerbaijanis, why ... why Russian boys were not sent back to slaughter villas in Karabakh?
    God grant that I am wrong

NYT: В Карабахе Путин применил новый искусный прием


Война между Баку и Ереваном за Нагорный Карабах перешла в состояние напряженного перемирия, поддерживаемого хорошо вооруженными российскими миротворцами. Для Москвы это новая роль, благодаря которой она пытается сохранить свое влияние на постсоветском пространстве, пишет американское издание The New York Times.


Нужно отметить, что президент России Владимир Путин, заключив трехстороннее соглашение по спорному региону, применил новый искусный прием. Многие жители Нагорного Карабаха реально благодарны ему за это. По их мнению, именно Кремль остановил войну, которая забрала жизни тысяч людей и собиралась продолжить кровавую жатву.

Последняя эскалация конфликта стала самой ожесточенной. Но Путин отошел от практики «железного кулака», которую Россия использовала прежде на территории Грузии и Украины, сделав эти страны своими врагами. В данном случае, Москва отказалась от тактики грозить окружающим своей огромной военной мощью. Теперь Кремль применяет тонкое сочетание мягкой и жесткой силы.

Сейчас Путин лишь предупреждает о возможных последствиях, если стороны опять начнут стрелять друг в друга. И сторонам приходится с этим считаться, так как миротворцы находятся на месте. При этом у российского лидера прекрасные отношения с президентом Азербайджана Ильхамом Алиевым. Кремль можно поздравить с появлением еще одного военного плацдарма в Закавказье. На этот раз Москва получила одни дивиденды.

Теперь Армения накрепко привязана к России, а Баку не считает Москву врагом. Не секрет, что в последние годы Ереван активно налаживал отношения с Западом. Но новый виток конфликта очень наглядно напомнил армянам, что Россия критически важна для их выживания. Без присутствия россиян многолетние угрозы Турции, союзника Азербайджана, могут быть реализованы в любой момент и подобный прецедент в истории уже был, подытожила газета из США.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. goncharov.62 Офлайн goncharov.62
    goncharov.62 (Андрей) 3 декабря 2020 17:25
    +3
    В данном случае, Москва отказалась от тактики грозить окружающим своей огромной военной мощью.

    Где и когда Россия после 1991 года грозила кому-то военной мощью (хотя-надо было).?
    1. boriz Онлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 3 декабря 2020 20:02
      0
      Грузия. Сирия. Донбасс, там на границе стоит усиленная дивизия, специально на случай обострения укробонапартизма.
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 3 декабря 2020 19:17
    -2
    NYT: В Карабахе Путин применил новый искусный прием

    - Это всё тот же приём , который является пресловутым ХПП , что ли ???
    - Весь смысл статьи . это "в огороде бузина -в Киеве *вернее (в Ереване) дядька"...

    Теперь Армения накрепко привязана к России, а Баку не считает Москву врагом. Не секрет, что в последние годы Ереван активно налаживал отношения с Западом. Но новый виток конфликта очень наглядно напомнил армянам, что Россия критически важна для их выживания. Без присутствия россиян многолетние угрозы Турции, союзника Азербайджана, могут быть реализованы в любой момент и подобный прецедент в истории уже был, подытожила газета из США.

    - Это что ... - это американы вдруг стали апологетами нашего гаранта ??? - И решили поддержать действия России в Карабахе ??? - Ну , делаааа...
    - Что-то не верится... - Да и вообще ... - "Бойтесь данайцев , дары приносящих"...
    - К великому сожалению ... - в Карабахе всё только начинается... - Пока Россия открыто и непосредственно не участвовала в этом конфликте ... -она была относительно неуязвима... - А теперь наш контингент открыт для всевозможнейших провокаций ... -хоть с армянской ; хоть с американской ; хоть с азербайджанской (то бишь - с турецкой стороны) ... -И ведь придётся как-то отвечать на все эти провокации...
    - Да и Россия на свой бюджет посадила ещё и "благоустройство" Карабаха ; и , скорее всего ... - обеспечение жителей Карабаха (армян) медицинским обслуживанием и гуманитарной помощью...
    - А что дальше ??? - А дальше ...- американы наперегонки с турками начнут придумывать всевозможные каверзы и диверсии против наших миротворцев... -теперь это достаточно просто сделать с помощью всевозможных боевиков и бандитов всех мастей...
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 3 декабря 2020 20:41
    -2
    Здесь реально хорошо сыграли.
    Турция - партнер.
    Азербайджан - тоже
    Ереван - в союзе, как там его.

    Теперь и в Карабахе - жители? - как бы благодарны.

    Везде выгода. И опять уже не говорят вслух о биолабораториях и т.п.
  4. ГЕННАДИЙ1959 Офлайн ГЕННАДИЙ1959
    ГЕННАДИЙ1959 (Геннадий) 4 декабря 2020 17:35
    0
    Когда российские военные врачи работали в Италии(в связи с пандемией) я написал, за это еще итальянцы плюнут в Россию. На форуме меня чуть не порвали на британский флаг.
    Так ислучилось, только врачи уехали начались публикации:" и лекарства плохие, и врачи безграмотные, и вообще кто их(русских) сюда звал...."
    Что-то мне мой пессимизм подказывает, что армяне еще плюнут в спину России. Найдутся умники (да тот же Пашинян чтобы оправдать свою бездарность руководителя), которые обвинят Россию, слишком поздно вмешались, мол ждали пока азербайджанцы отхватят кусок побольше, почему не освободила занятые азербайджанцами районы, почему.... почему русских мальчишек не послали на убой возвращать виллы в Карабахе?
    Дай бог чтобы я ошибся