Influence grows: China "recaptures" the Balkans from Russia


Despite substantial Russian medical assistance to Serbia at the height of the coronavirus infection, China is gaining a more powerful PR effect from its actions in the Balkan Peninsula, which is helping it recapture the region from Moscow. The head of the Fund for Progressive policy and the founder of the Balkanist.ru project Oleg Bondarenko in Nezavisimaya Gazeta.


China has long been competing with Russia for the Balkan markets. In 2018, the Chinese company Zijin Mining Group became the owner of the largest European copper mine, Bor, while squeezing out Russian firms. After the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic, it was the PRC that provided operational assistance to Serbia, again ahead of Russia, and the Chinese did this with great fanfare, using advertising billboards.

According to Bondarenko, Beijing is building such information campaigns "for the game in the long run", hoping to benefit from this in the future. Russia's more substantial assistance to the Serbs in the form of 12 Emergency Situations Ministry transport aircraft with equipment and special medical equipment was rendered less noticeably and did not receive such large-scale publicity.

China is trying to seize the initiative from Russia and in the introduction to the telecommunications market in Serbia. Thus, in September, a representative office of Huawei was opened in Belgrade, which will develop 5G systems for Serbian consumers of mobile and Internet services. The Chinese resource TikTok is very popular with local youth. At the same time, Russians complain that the Serbian market is, they say, too small for the media giants from Russia. It is possible that with such an approach, the Russian Federation will soon lose the Balkans in political and economic terms.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 4 December 2020 18: 12
    -1
    Thus, in September, a representative office of Huawei was opened in Belgrade, which will develop 5G systems for Serbian consumers of mobile and Internet services.

    Vucic recently went to see Trump ...

    Belgrade and Pristina agreed not to allow “unreliable operators” to deploy 5G infrastructure on their territory (thus, the United States is trying to limit the opportunities for Chinese companies to develop business in the region, experts say)

    https://www.rbc.ru/politics/07/09/2020/5f55f9ca9a7947395e8cc6ef

    We will see how successfully cooperation with Chinese comrades is developing winked
    1. Sergey Tokarev Offline Sergey Tokarev
      Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) 4 December 2020 18: 43
      -1
      Serbs in Serbia are less than the population in Moscow. Either they spin as they can, or they will be slammed with a slipper.
      1. 123 Online 123
        123 (123) 4 December 2020 19: 35
        +1
        Serbs in Serbia are less than the population in Moscow. Either they spin as they can, or they will be slammed with a slipper.

        But am I against it? belay All people are adults, let them decide how to live. But fact is fact. The Americans and the Chinese will survive each other from there.
  2. but let us not eat nat, and for money do not nat!
  3. Dmitry Donskoy Offline Dmitry Donskoy
    Dmitry Donskoy (Dmitry Donskoy) 6 December 2020 15: 57
    0
    China is technology, money, goods, weapons, and this is what attracts.

Влияние растёт: Китай «отбивает» Балканы у России


Несмотря на существенную российскую медицинскую помощь Сербии в разгар коронавирусной инфекции, Китай получает более мощный пиар-эффект от своих действий на Балканском полуострове, что помогает ему отвоевать этот регион у Москвы. Об этом пишет руководитель Фонда прогрессивной политики и основатель проекта Балканист.ру Олег Бондаренко в «Независимой газете».


Китай уже давно конкурирует с РФ за балканские рынки. В 2018 году китайская компания Zijin Mining Group стала владельцем наиболее крупного европейского медного рудника «Бор», потеснив при этом российские фирмы. После начала пандемии коронавируса именно КНР оказала оперативную помощь Сербии, снова опередив Россию, причем китайцы сделали это с большой помпой, задействуя рекламные билборды.

По мнению Бондаренко, такие информационные кампании Пекин выстраивает «для игры в долгую», надеясь получить от этого выгоды в будущем. Российская же более существенная помощь сербам в виде 12 транспортных воздушных судов МЧС с оборудованием и специальной медтехникой была оказана менее заметно и не получила столь масштабной огласки.

Китай пытается перехватить инициативу у России и во внедрении на телекоммуникационный рынок Сербии. Так, в сентябре в Белграде было открыто представительство компании Huawei, которое займется разработкой систем 5G для сербских потребителей мобильных и интернет-услуг. У местной молодежи большим успехом пользуется китайский ресурс TikTok. Россияне при этом сетуют на то, что сербский рынок, мол, слишком мал для медиа-гигантов из России. Не исключено, что с таким подходом РФ вскоре лишится Балкан в политико-экономическом отношении.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 4 декабря 2020 18:12
    -1
    Так, в сентябре в Белграде было открыто представительство компании Huawei, которое займется разработкой систем 5G для сербских потребителей мобильных и интернет-услуг.

    Вучич не так давно к Трампу ездил...

    Белград и Приштина согласились не позволять «неблагонадежным операторам» развертывать на своей территории инфраструктуру сетей 5G (таким образом США пытаются ограничить возможности для китайских компаний развивать бизнес в регионе, считают эксперты)

    https://www.rbc.ru/politics/07/09/2020/5f55f9ca9a7947395e8cc6ef

    Будем посмотреть насколько успешно развивается сотрудничество с китайскими товарищами winked
    1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 4 декабря 2020 18:43
      -1
      Сербов в Сербии меньше чем в Москве населения. Либо они вертятся как могут либо их тапком прихлопнут.
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 4 декабря 2020 19:35
        +1
        Сербов в Сербии меньше чем в Москве населения. Либо они вертятся как могут либо их тапком прихлопнут.

        А я против? belay Все люди взрослые, пусть сами решают как им жить. Но факт есть факт. Американцы с китайцами будут друг друга оттуда выживать.
  2. да пущай жрут нам не нать, и за деньги не нать!
  3. Дмитрий Донской (Дмитрий Донской) 6 декабря 2020 15:57
    0
    Китай это технологии , бабки, товары, оружие, это и привлекает.