"Alarming situation in the Navy": the US is discussing a rusted ship


On December 4, 2020, the US Navy supply vessel USNS Washington Chambers (T-AKE-11) entered San Diego Bay, home to the second largest US naval base, in a dire state. This is a relatively new dry cargo ship of the Lewis and Clark class (in service since February 2011), designed to deliver ammunition, food, drinking water and oil products for the US Navy ships at sea, which allows the fleet to maintain combat readiness for a long time, writes the American edition of The Drive ...


The Pentagon is pushing its navy to the brink. This is manifested in the fact that its ships and vessels become unusable after prolonged operations (long-term operation at high rates without proper maintenance). The USNS Washington Chambers in San Diego is a case in point.

Its entire hull and superstructure are covered with dark spots of "running rust". The poor appearance of the ship, which entered service less than a decade ago, is a testament to the alarming trend and situation that has developed in the US Navy in recent years.

However, this appearance is not surprising to anyone. Recently, the "veteran of the fleet" (in service since August 1994), the Arleigh Burke-class destroyer USS Stout (DDG-55) on the Atlantic coast appeared before the public in a similar state. But the USNS Washington Chambers still looks more "shabby and tired".

It can be stated that the US Navy is now working at the limit of its capabilities, and there is no real end in sight. This will have serious consequences, as such exploitation results in longer and more costly maintenance periods and reduced combat readiness. Not to mention the condition of the crews, i.e. sailors on these ships and ships.

How long the USNS Washington Chambers was out of service is unknown. The Pentagon is "courageously" silent. From this we can conclude that the command of sea shipping is a potentially weak point in the entire US naval strategy. Especially if Washington has to go to war. But even just to see such a young and important ship in such a state is very unpleasant, the newspaper concluded.
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 6 December 2020 11: 51
    -2
    Ha. They found a dry cargo ship that had been sailing for 9 years at sea, and now they are being drained. The Drive. Without signing.
    1. Rum rum Offline Rum rum
      Rum rum (Rum rum) 6 December 2020 17: 00
      0
      Is this different - you need to understand?
  2. Dmitry Donskoy Offline Dmitry Donskoy
    Dmitry Donskoy (Dmitry Donskoy) 6 December 2020 11: 56
    -8
    We are all like that. Ships, what's wrong with that?
    1. rotkiv04 Offline rotkiv04
      rotkiv04 (Victor) 6 December 2020 13: 17
      +1
      Where does such awareness come from, you are the admiral of which fleet?
      1. Aleks Min Offline Aleks Min
        Aleks Min (Aleks Min) 7 December 2020 01: 03
        +1
        Sofa ..
    2. 123 Online 123
      123 (123) 6 December 2020 13: 45
      +2
      We are all like that. Ships, what's wrong with that?

      Who do we have?
  3. Sergey Semenov Offline Sergey Semenov
    Sergey Semenov (Sergey Semenov) 6 December 2020 14: 04
    +5
    Appearance does not indicate technical condition.
    The deck crew is probably reduced to a minimum, so there is not enough time for painting work. A good boatswain does not stop painting for a day.
  4. faiver Offline faiver
    faiver (Andrei) 6 December 2020 14: 21
    +3
    For American journalists, it will probably be a discovery that ships are constantly covered with rust ...
  5. Piramidon Offline Piramidon
    Piramidon (Stepan) 6 December 2020 17: 35
    +3
    Well, that's the same. And then they raised the hi - "Kuzya smokes, Kuzya smokes!"
  6. Ren_2 Offline Ren_2
    Ren_2 (rinat isyanguzhin) 7 December 2020 04: 28
    0
    They love to look into someone else's yard.
  7. Looks like the government paint was stolen and sold at the bazaar!

«Тревожная ситуация в ВМС»: в США обсуждают покрытый ржавчиной корабль


4 декабря 2020 года судно-снабженец ВМС США USNS Washington Chambers (T-AKE-11) в ужасающем состоянии вошло в залив Сан-Диего, где находится вторая по величине американская военно-морская база. Это относительно новый сухогруз класса Lewis and Clark (в строю с февраля 2011 года), предназначенный для доставки боеприпасов, продовольствия, питьевой воды и нефтепродуктов для кораблей ВМС США, находящихся в море, что позволяет флоту поддерживать боеготовность длительное время, пишет американское издание The Drive.


Пентагон доводит свой военно-морской флот до грани. Это проявляется в том, что его корабли и суда приходят в негодность после продолжительных операций (длительной эксплуатации с высокими темпами без надлежащего обслуживания). Зашедший в Сан-Диего USNS Washington Chambers является наглядным доказательством.

Весь его корпус и надстройка покрыты темными пятнами «бегущей ржавчины». Плохой внешний вид корабля, который был принят на вооружение менее десяти лет назад – это свидетельство той тревожной тенденции и ситуации, которая сложилась в ВМС США в последние годы.

Впрочем, подобный внешний вид уже мало кого удивляет. Недавно в похожем состоянии предстал перед публикой «ветеран флота» (в строю с августа 1994 года), эсминец УРО типа «Арли Бёрк» USS Stout (DDG-55) на Атлантическом побережье. Но USNS Washington Chambers все-таки выглядит более «потрепанным и уставшим».

Можно констатировать, что ВМС США сейчас работают на пределе своих возможностей, и реального конца этому не видно. Это будет иметь серьезные последствия, так как подобная эксплуатация приводит к более длительным и дорогостоящим периодам техобслуживания и снижению боеготовности. Не говоря про состояние экипажей, т.е. моряков на этих судах и кораблях.

Как долго USNS Washington Chambers находился без обслуживания, неизвестно. Пентагон «мужественно» хранит молчание. Из этого можно сделать вывод, что командование морских перевозок является потенциально слабым местом во всей военно-морской стратегии США. Особенно, если Вашингтону придется вступить в войну. Но даже просто видеть такое молодое и важное судно в подобном состоянии очень неприятно, подытожило издание.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 6 декабря 2020 11:51
    -2
    Ха. Отыскали сухогруз , плавающий 9 лет в море, и теперь сливают. The Drive. Не подписывая.
    1. Ром Ром Офлайн Ром Ром
      Ром Ром (Ром Ром) 6 декабря 2020 17:00
      0
      Это другое - понимать надо?
  2. Дмитрий Донской (Дмитрий Донской) 6 декабря 2020 11:56
    -8
    У нас все такие. Корабли, что тут плохого?
    1. rotkiv04 Офлайн rotkiv04
      rotkiv04 (Виктор) 6 декабря 2020 13:17
      +1
      откуда такая осведомленность, Вы адмирал какого флота?
      1. Aleks Min Офлайн Aleks Min
        Aleks Min (Aleks Min) 7 декабря 2020 01:03
        +1
        Диванного..
    2. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 6 декабря 2020 13:45
      +2
      У нас все такие. Корабли, что тут плохого?

      У "нас" это у кого?
  3. Сергей Семенов (Сергей Семенов) 6 декабря 2020 14:04
    +5
    Внешний вид не говорит о тех.состоянии.
    Палубная команда вероятно сокращена до минимума, поэтому и не хватает времени на покрасочные работы. У хорошего боцмана покраска не прекращается ни на день.
  4. faiver Офлайн faiver
    faiver (Андрей) 6 декабря 2020 14:21
    +3
    Для американских журналистов видимо станет открытием что корабли постоянно покрываются ржавчиной.....
  5. Piramidon Офлайн Piramidon
    Piramidon (Степан) 6 декабря 2020 17:35
    +3
    Ну вот, то то же. А то хай подняли - "Кузя дымит, Кузя дымит!"
  6. Ren_2 Офлайн Ren_2
    Ren_2 (ринат исянгужин) 7 декабря 2020 04:28
    0
    Любят в чужой двор заглядывать.
  7. Видать, краску казенную сперли и продали на базаре!