Disable SWIFT: why Ukraine invites the West to a financial war with Russia


Obviously inspired by Azerbaijan's Karabakh success, Ukraine immediately stepped up in the direction of Donbass. Former President Leonid Kravchuk, who heads the Independence delegation to the Contact Group on the future of the unrecognized republics, set a tough deadline until the end of 2020 and threatened Russia with disconnecting from the SWIFT system. What is this, an imitation by Kiev of stormy activity, or preparation for something else?


The Ukrainian side interprets the Minsk agreements in its own way, demanding the complete demilitarization of the DPR and LPR, the withdrawal of heavy weapons and demobilization in the unrecognized republics, as well as the restoration of control over the border with the assistance of the OSCE. Kiev wants to achieve all this before the elections are held in this territory, and not after, as was stipulated in the Belarusian capital. Leonid Kravchuk demanded that the Kremlin fulfill its requirements by December 31, 2020, otherwise he threatened to turn to Western countries so that they disconnect Russia from the international SWIFT payment system. At the same time, Leonid Makarovich clearly took his breath away from the realization of his own significance:

If Russia is removed from this international settlement system, it economy would ... I don't know what words to use.

On this occasion, I would like to note several important points:

At first, no one will forbid Kiev to demand or, rather, ask the West for something like that, but not the fact that his request will be satisfied. SWIFT is an international interbank corporation based in Brussels. Threats to disconnect Russia from SWIFT sounded in 2014, but they remained empty threats. Yes, for example, the United States has serious leverage over the Europeans, but they take an emphatically neutral position and refuse to meet them halfway on this issue. And to Washington in terms of influence Kiev, as to the moon.

Secondly, the time for such a threat is already lost. The greatest sanctions effect would have been in 2014, but since then Russia has created its own analogue of this payment system. Let the System for the transmission of financial messages (SPFS) and is inferior in functionality and popularity to SWIFT, but its presence gives guarantees that a complete financial collapse will not occur. Also, the Mir payment system was created, to which Russian state employees were transferred. In addition, China has created its national payment system called CIPS (China International Payments System), and a number of Russian banks have already joined it. That is, there are now workarounds in case of Western sanctions, although some financial processes will undoubtedly become more complex and more expensive.

Then the question arises, why did Mr. Kravchuk decide to threaten Russia with disconnecting from SWIFT? On the one hand, these unconvincing threats that Western uncles will come and punish our country for Ukraine can be a banal shaking of the air. On the other hand, it is extremely annoying that there are certain clear deadlines and statements by Leonid Makarovich that “if Russia withdraws from the Minsk agreements, Ukraine will independently resolve issues with a territory called“ Separate areas of Donetsk and Luhansk regions ”.

A few months ago, such threats caused a laugh, but after the 45-year war in Nagorno-Karabakh, which ended in an unexpected victory for Azerbaijan, it was somehow no laughing matter. Our great friend and partner, Turkish President Erdogan, may well help Kiev with the supply of attack UAVs and military experts for planning an offensive operation. The date of "Kravchuk's ultimatum" expires on December 31, and we will have to recall that in the post-Soviet space there is a bad tradition of starting armed conflicts with reference to major holidays.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Ukraine threatened
    Disconnect us from swift
    All Russia burst into tears
    How are we going to live now?
  2. boriz Online boriz
    boriz (boriz) 7 December 2020 13: 21
    +4
    The date of "Kravchuk's ultimatum" expires on December 31, ...

    It will be very funny if Russia from 01.01.2021/XNUMX/XNUMX. it will disconnect itself from SWIFT and from the dollar. In order not to be nervous anymore.
    Although, of course, not a fact. But they can also bring ...
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 7 December 2020 15: 02
      -1
      Exactly, not a fact.
  3. Bulanov Online Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 7 December 2020 13: 22
    +1
    If Russia is disconnected from SWIFT, Ukraine will immediately cease to receive payment for gas transit through its territory. Do not carry money with trucks!
  4. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 7 December 2020 15: 19
    +3
    The Ukrainian side interprets the Minsk agreements in its own way, demanding the complete demilitarization of the DPR and LPR, the withdrawal of heavy weapons and demobilization in the unrecognized republics, as well as the restoration of control over the border with the assistance of the OSCE.

    It is a normal desire, because after Ukraine regains control over the border, no OSCE will interfere with the purge in the DPR-LPR, after which the election result will be unambiguously predictable.
    In this regard, an indicative reaction of the West to the murders of the leaders of the DPR-LPR by the Ukrainian special services is exactly like the murder of Iranian citizens. Everyone is fighting terrorism, but acts of terrorism are selectively condemned.

    Threats to disconnect Russia from SWIFT sounded in 2014, but they remained empty threats

    It would have been shut down long ago if Russian citizens hadn't been working for foreign owners of the "steamship newspaper factories." They will shut it down, but how can these gentlemen export their profits from the Russian Federation - by caravans of trucks?
    The Russian analogue of SWIFT, firstly, the Russian (!), And secondly, it has a very limited use even in the CIS, SCO and other organizations friendly to the Russian Federation, and therefore is considered as a backup system for internal use.
    There are always workarounds in case of Western sanctions, but firstly, they are foreign, and secondly, everyone understands the possible risks of Russia's joining them. At one time, Chinese banks simply blocked all financial transactions of the Russian Federation under the threat of falling under US sanctions.

    after the war in Nagorno-Karabakh, which ended in an unexpected victory of Azerbaijan

    Is Azerbaijan's victory in what, did Nagorno-Karabakh come under the jurisdiction of Azerbaijan? This did not happen.
    Armenia transferred only five regions to the control of Azerbaijan and retained the Lachin corridor, the road connecting Armenia with Nagorno-Karabakh.

    Erdogan may well help Kiev with the supply of shock UAVs and military experts to plan an offensive operation

    Maybe not only Erdogan but our Western “partners”, then, as Y. Kedmi once said, the Ukrainian army will not have time to cross the Dnieper. Apparently our Western “partners” understand this and therefore behave very restrainedly.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 8 December 2020 06: 54
      -1
      Quote: Jacques Sekavar
      Maybe not only Erdogan but our Western “partners”, then, as Y. Kedmi once said, the Ukrainian army will not have time to cross the Dnieper. Apparently our Western “partners” understand this and therefore behave very restrainedly.

      Kedmi is still an authority to refer to. Imagine what your heart desires.
  5. ioan-e Offline ioan-e
    ioan-e (Boris) 7 December 2020 15: 44
    +1
    Just the same, the picture in the eyes is like a sweating pan Kravchuk on New Year's Eve manually disconnects Russia from the swift))))))))
  6. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 7 December 2020 19: 08
    0
    In the 80s, the SWIFT system did not exist. The whole world paid by "telegraph".
  7. Tamara Smirnova Offline Tamara Smirnova
    Tamara Smirnova (Tamara Smirnova) 7 December 2020 19: 47
    +2
    Have the Turks already found a replacement for the components of those countries that refused to supply Turkey?

  8. bear040 Offline bear040
    bear040 7 December 2020 22: 26
    +2
    1) But Turkey has no UAVs now so that Ukraine can distribute them. Some were lost in the battles, and now it is not destiny to build new ones, because Canada and the EU have imposed sanctions on the supply of engines, optics and electronics for UAVs to Turkey, and Turkey cannot build them independently. The Turks are trying to replace components from Canada and the EU with their own and Ukrainian parts, but when this is still possible, the quality of the UAVs themselves will noticeably decrease from this.
    2) The Russian Federation did not fight in Karabakh, since Armenia itself did not officially recognize Karabakh, and relations between the Russian Federation and Armenia are far from being the best because of the Russophobes of Pashinyan and the company. Donbass is a different matter, and neither Ukraine nor Turkey will pull against the Russian Federation, especially since Ukraine has quite serious problems with Hungary, and it is a NATO member, but Ukraine is not.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 8 December 2020 06: 57
      0
      Turkey was mentioned as an example. Our Israeli friends and partners also have a lot of UAVs. The fact that Ukraine cannot defeat the DPR-LPR with Russia standing behind them does not mean that it cannot try again, right?
      1. bear040 Offline bear040
        bear040 11 December 2020 20: 57
        +3
        She can try, but what will she get in return ?! There are 2 options:
        1) UKROPov rolls into asphalt GDP
        2) Donbass will merge the GDP, the Russian Federation will merge the GDP and the company, and those who come to power after, and this is definitely not Navalny, it is possible that they will hang him and Yavlinsky on the same bitch with Makarevich, Sobchak and other Russophobes, gouging the whole UKROPIA to zero.

Отключить SWIFT: зачем Украина приглашает Запад на финансовую войну с Россией


Явно вдохновившись карабахским успехом Азербайджана, Украина немедленно активизировалась в направлении Донбасса. Экс-президент Леонид Кравчук, возглавляющий делегацию Незалежной в Контактной группе по вопросу будущего непризнанных республик, установил жесткий дедлайн до конца 2020-го года и пригрозил России отключением от системы SWIFT. Что это, имитация Киевом бурной деятельности, или же подготовка к чему-то иному?


Украинская сторона по-своему трактует Минские соглашения, требуя полной демилитаризации ДНР и ЛНР, вывода тяжелых вооружений и демобилизации в непризнанных республиках, а также восстановления контроля над границей при содействии ОБСЕ. Всего этого Киев хочет добиться до проведения выборов на данной территории, а не после, как было обусловлено в белорусской столице. Леонид Кравчук потребовал от Кремля выполнения своих требований до 31 декабря 2020 года, в противном случае пригрозил обратиться к западным странам с тем, чтобы они отключили Россию от международной системы платежей SWIFT. При этом у Леонида Макаровича явно захватило дух от осознания собственной значимости:

Если Россию вывести из этой международной расчетной системы, ее экономика стала бы... я не знаю, какие применить слова.

По этому поводу хотелось бы отметить несколько важных моментов:

Во-первых, никто не запретит Киеву потребовать или, вернее, попросить Запад о чем-то таком, но не факт, что его просьбу удовлетворят. SWIFT – это международное межбанковское объединение, базирующееся в Брюсселе. Угрозы отключить Россию от SWIFT звучали и в 2014 году, но так и остались пустыми угрозами. Да, например, США имеют серьезные рычаги влияния на европейцев, но те занимают подчеркнуто нейтральную позицию и отказываются идти им навстречу в данном вопросе. А до Вашингтона по влиятельности Киеву, как до Луны.

Во-вторых, время для такой угрозы уже упущено. Наибольший санкционный эффект был бы в 2014 году, но с тех пор в России был создан собственный аналог данной платежной системы. Пусть Система передачи финансовых сообщений (СПФС) и уступает по функциональности и популярности SWIFT, но ее наличие дает гарантии того, что полного финансового коллапса уже не произойдет. Также создана платежная система «Мир», на которую перевели российских бюджетников. Кроме того, свою национальную платежную систему под названием CIPS (China International Payments System) создал Китай, и к ней уже подключился ряд российских банков. То есть, обходные варианты на случай западных санкций теперь имеются, хотя несомненно произойдет усложнение и удорожание некоторых финансовых процессов.

Тогда, спрашивается, зачем господин Кравчук решил пригрозить России отключением от SWIFT? С одной стороны, эти неубедительные угрозы, что придут западные дяди и накажут за Украину нашу страну, могут быть банальным сотрясанием воздуха. С другой стороны, крайне напрягает наличие неких четких дедлайнов и заявлений Леонида Макаровича о том, что «в случае выхода России из Минских соглашений Украина самостоятельно решит вопросы с территорией под названием «Отдельные районы Донецкой и Луганской областей».

Еще несколько месяцев назад такие угрозы вызывали усмешку, но после 45-девной войны в Нагорном Карабахе, закончившейся неожиданной победой Азербайджана, уже как-то не до смеха. Наш большой друг и партнер турецкий президент Эрдоган вполне может помочь Киеву с поставками ударных БПЛА и военспецов для планирования наступательной операции. Дата «ультиматума Кравчука» истекает 31 декабря, и придется напомнить, что на постсоветском пространстве есть дурная традиция начинать вооруженные конфликты с привязкой к большим праздникам.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Украина пригрозила
    Нас от свифта отключить
    Зарыдала вся Россия
    Как теперь мы будем жить?
  2. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 7 декабря 2020 13:21
    +4
    Дата «ультиматума Кравчука» истекает 31 декабря, ...

    Будет очень смешно, если Россия с 01.01.2021г. сама отключится от СВИФТа и от доллара. Чтобы больше не нервничать.
    Хотя, конечно, не факт. Но могут ведь и довести ...
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 7 декабря 2020 15:02
      -1
      Точно, не факт.
  3. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 7 декабря 2020 13:22
    +1
    При отключении России от СВИФТа, Украины сразу же перестанет получать оплату за транзит газа по своей территории. Не грузовиками же деньги возить!
  4. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 7 декабря 2020 15:19
    +3
    Украинская сторона по-своему трактует Минские соглашения, требуя полной демилитаризации ДНР и ЛНР, вывода тяжелых вооружений и демобилизации в непризнанных республиках, а также восстановления контроля над границей при содействии ОБСЕ.

    Нормальное желание, т.к после восстановления Украиной контроля над границей, никакое ОБСЕ не помешает проведению зачистки в ДНР-ЛНР, после которой результат выборов будет однозначно предсказуем.
    В этом плане показательная реакция запада на убийства украинскими спецслужбами лидеров ДНР-ЛНР – в точности как на убийство граждан Ирана. Все с терроризмом борются, но акты террора осуждают избирательно.

    Угрозы отключить Россию от SWIFT звучали и в 2014 году, но так и остались пустыми угрозами

    Давно бы отключили, если бы российские граждане не батрачили на иностранных хозяев “заводов газет пароходов”. Отключат, а как этим господам вывозить свои прибыли из РФ – караванами грузовиков ?
    Российский аналог SWIFT, во-первых – российский(!), а во-вторых имеет сильно ограниченное использование даже в СНГ, ШОС и прочих дружественных РФ организациях, а потому рассматривается как резервная система для внутреннего пользования.
    Обходные варианты на случай западных санкций всегда имеются, но во-первых – они иностранные, а во-вторых – все понимают возможные риски подключения к ним РФ. Одно время банки КНР просто блокировали все финансовые операции РФ под угрозой попасть под санкции США.

    после войны в Нагорном Карабахе, закончившейся неожиданной победой Азербайджана

    Победа Азербайджана в чём, Нагорный Карабах перешёл под юрисдикцию Азербайджана ? Так этого не случилось.
    Армения передала под контроль Азербайджана только пять районов и сохранила Лачинский коридор, дорогу связывающую Армению с Нагорным Карабахом.

    Эрдоган вполне может помочь Киеву с поставками ударных БПЛА и военспецов для планирования наступательной операции

    Может, и не только Эрдоган но наши западные “партнёры”, тогда, как однажды сказал Я.Кедми, украинская армия за Днепр не успеет переправиться. Видимо наши западные “партнёры” это понимают и потому ведут себя весьма сдержанно.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 8 декабря 2020 06:54
      -1
      Цитата: Jacques Sekavar
      Может, и не только Эрдоган но наши западные “партнёры”, тогда, как однажды сказал Я.Кедми, украинская армия за Днепр не успеет переправиться. Видимо наши западные “партнёры” это понимают и потому ведут себя весьма сдержанно.

      Кедми тот еще авторитет, чтобы на него ссылаться. Фантазируйте, что вашей душе угодно.
  5. ioan-e Офлайн ioan-e
    ioan-e (Борис) 7 декабря 2020 15:44
    +1
    Прям таки картина в глазах стоит, как потеющий от напряжения пан Кравчук в новогоднюю ночь вручную отключает Россию от свифта))))))))
  6. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 7 декабря 2020 19:08
    0
    В 80-е системы SWIFT не существовало. Весь мир расплачивался по "телеграфке".
  7. Тамара Смирнова (Тамара Смирнова) 7 декабря 2020 19:47
    +2
    Турки уже нашли замену комплектующим тех стран, что отказали турции в поставках?

  8. медведь040 Офлайн медведь040
    медведь040 7 декабря 2020 22:26
    +2
    1)Вот только БПЛА у Турции сейчас нет,чтобы Украине их раздавать. Часть потеряна в боях,а новые построить сейчас не судьба,ибо Канада и ЕС ввели санкции на поставку в Турцию моторов,оптики и электроники для БПЛА,а самостоятельно их Турция строить не может. Турки пытаются заместить комплектующие из Канады и ЕС собственными и украинскими деталями,но когда это еще будет и качество самих БПЛА от этого заметно снизится.
    2) В Карабахе РФ не воевала,так как Карабах официально не признала сама Армения,да и отношения между РФ и Арменией из за русофобов Пашиняна и компании сейчас далеко не лучшие. Донбасс иное дело,а против РФ ни Украина ни Турция не потянут,тем более,что у Украины появились вполне серьезные проблемы с Венгрией,а она член НАТО,а Украина нет.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 8 декабря 2020 06:57
      0
      Про Турцию было сказано для примера. Куча БПЛА есть и у наших израильских друзей и партнеров. То, что Украина не может победить ДНР-ЛНР со стоящей за ними Россию не значит, что она не может попробовать в очередной раз, верно?
      1. медведь040 Офлайн медведь040
        медведь040 11 декабря 2020 20:57
        +3
        Попробовать то она может,но что получит взамен?! Тут 2 варианта:
        1) УКРОПов укатает в асфальт ВВП
        2) ВВП сольет Донбасс,РФ сольет ВВП и компанию и те кто придут к власти после и это точно не Навальный,его с Явлинским не исключено,что повесят,на одном суку с Макаревичем, Собчак и прочими русофобами,раздолбают всю УКРОПию под ноль.