The bitter experience of the Chechen war: why a unique BMPT was created in Russia


The Russian army has received the first 8 units of BMPT "Terminator" for army tests - according to Defense News, military technique entered the 90th tank division stationed in Chelyabinsk. Why does Russia need a unique tank support combat vehicle (nothing like this in the troops of NATO countries), says Popular Mechanics.


The chassis of the T-90 tank was used as the basis of the BMPT; in place of the tower there are various weapons systems. The Terminator is equipped with two 30-mm 2A42 automatic cannons, two AGD-12 automatic grenade launchers, four 9M120-1 “Attack” missiles for destroying tanks, some models also have a 7,62-mm remote-controlled machine gun. Covered with powerful armor, the crew of the combat vehicle consists of 5 people.

The main purpose of the BMPT is to search, find and destroy enemy anti-tank weapons during a battle. The Terminator was designed in the late 80s, but it was remembered after the Chechen war of 1994-1995, during which militants in the city destroyed many tanks of the Russian Armed Forces, unable to protect themselves from attacks from terrorists shooting from above - Russian and Soviet tanks had a low landing, which made it almost impossible to move the gun barrel vertically. The armament of the new BMPT is capable of effectively attacking the positions of enemies entrenched on a hill. The bitter experience of the war in Chechnya forced Russia to return to the need to create the Terminator.

NATO troops rely heavily on anti-tank infantry, and a vehicle like the Terminator could in principle be useful in the future.

- notes the American edition.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. That's what the army benefits from from wars - all the holes will pop out at once!
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 10 December 2020 16: 49
    +1
    The main criterion for evaluating samples is the use in a combat situation with different opponents. What is suitable for bandit formations will not suit the enemy's high-tech army ... Therefore, to develop different options, especially with the use of jointly different UAVs - shock, reconnaissance ... It seems that the "terminators" will replace MBT tanks, both in terms of high-precision fire , and versatility ...
  3. Bitter Offline Bitter
    Bitter (Gleb) 11 December 2020 11: 01
    +1
    The bitter experience of the Chechen war ...

    But something suggests that the army at that time could quite successfully cope with all the tasks available at that time with the technical means. It was a matter of planning, execution and political influence (betrayal) of some figures on the actions of the military, both from the Ministry of Defense and from the Kremlin.
    The vehicle is good, but it cannot replace the infantry.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 12 December 2020 19: 54
      +1
      Gleb. Now the infantry of the Armed Forces is only for securing the areas that have been cleaned up, otherwise the losses will go off scale (demonstrative actions of the American Air Force and against the same Syrians with Wagnerians) ... In the guerrilla warfare gangs that are hiding behind the civilian population, specialized police forces should fight this, perhaps Rosgvardia, - for why such a whopper was created ... But in the article the mentioned "terminator" is suitable for all cases ...
      1. Bitter Offline Bitter
        Bitter (Gleb) 13 December 2020 19: 35
        0
        I'm talking about a "bitter" experience, it would not be so bitter if, after the start of hostilities, the military were simply given the opportunity to conduct their operations according to their plans, without shouts from the Kremlin and petty betrayals and frames from ministries and various spills of committees and ombudsmen. The same American military, if they start major operations, then all other departments quietly smoke on the sidelines and watch if they are allowed. Since they value the life of their soldiers first of all, and not what someone and somewhere thinks or writes.

        But in the article the mentioned "terminator" is suitable for all cases ...

        Naturally suitable, but not a substitute.
        1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 14 December 2020 13: 07
          +3
          The MBT cannon no longer fulfills its main task - anti-tank weapons, and more for solving general combat tasks, therefore lighter and most importantly guided missile ammunition from light multi-charge launchers becomes preferable ... "Terminators" at the first stage of development, then the set of weapons will change and so on, but he will be given anticipation ...
          1. Bitter Offline Bitter
            Bitter (Gleb) 15 December 2020 02: 19
            +1
            The MBT cannon no longer fulfills its main task ...

            So what, it means you need to adjust. New ammunition is needed, the cannon can be rationalized, the maximum firing angle, for example, can be increased. If anything, the tanks will fight again. After the first wave of the eforia of the outbreak of hostilities, the prose of the war will begin. And there is not a fact that the industry will be able to rivet high-tech equipment like those 34 at one time. It is the same with aircraft and other weapons. So the same 72s still have a good chance, especially if the crew is smart and will not hope for it.
            1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 15 December 2020 12: 58
              +1
              The shooting of Armenian tanks (in any places) in Karabakh did not give you any conclusions ... Back in the Iran-Iraq war of 1980, a couple of helicopter squadrons (Cobras) thwarted the Iraqi offensive, destroying more than 60 Iraqi MBTs in a few days ... Even then it became visible sunset MBT, but the backlog of a thousand MBT in the USSR has nowhere to go, so today they are modernizing this reserve ... Too many anti-tank weapons and too low the relative cost effectiveness of MBT in combat use. In a war with weakly armed band formations, the MBT is no longer so significant, in the presence of ATGMs (TOU-2, etc.). The fate of the MBT is similar to the fate of the cavalry in the middle of the 20th century. it's time to abandon old ideas and delve into today's and tomorrow's weapons and tactics ...
              1. Bitter Offline Bitter
                Bitter (Gleb) 16 December 2020 00: 10
                -1
                ..the shooting of Armenian tanks ...
                ... MBT Iraq ...
                ... it's time to give up ...

                I disagree. For example, in response to some pair of squadrons, you can send a couple of tactical charges to the takeoff sites of these same squadrons and voila - the helicopter war ended before it could begin. So it continued along the spiral, until the very last helicopter plant. The Armenians did not cover their tanks practically in any way, because there was nothing or they did not allow it. The Iraqis also did not manage without a conspiracy of the generals. The same Soviet Union, its leaders collapsed by common efforts without any war. It's not about tactical weapons, but primarily about people. It is not enough to have advanced weapons, you need to be able to use it competently and effectively, and the main thing is to have the will to do it. MBT will still fight, the tactics of application and support need to be revised.
                1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 17 December 2020 12: 16
                  0
                  In short: Terminator, this is an MBT without a cannon and with a different set of weapons. The tank gun is more successfully replaced by the SPG ...

Горький опыт Чеченской войны: зачем в России создана не имеющая аналогов БМПТ


Российская армия получила первые 8 единиц БМПТ «Терминатор» для армейских испытаний – по информации Defense News, военная техника поступила в дислоцированную в Челябинске 90-ю танковую дивизию. Зачем России нужна уникальная в своем роде боевая машина поддержки танков (ничего подобного не в войсках стран НАТО), рассказывает Popular Mechanics.


В качестве основы БМПТ использовано шасси танка Т-90, на месте башни находятся различные системы вооружений. «Терминатор» оснащен двумя 30-мм автоматическими пушками 2А42, двумя автоматическими гранатометами АГД-12, четырьмя ракетами 9М120-1 «Атака» для уничтожения танков, на некоторых экземплярах также имеется 7,62-мм пулемет на дистанционном управлении. Укрытый мощной броней экипаж боевой машины состоит из 5 человек.

Основное назначение БМПТ – поиск, нахождение и уничтожение противотанковых средств неприятеля во время боя. Спроектирован «Терминатор» был в конце 80-х годов, но о нем вспомнили после Чеченской войны 1994-1995 годов, в ходе которой боевики в условиях города уничтожили множество танков ВС РФ, неспособных защитить себя от атак стрелявших сверху террористов – российские и советские танки имели низкую посадку, что делало практически невозможным перемещение ствола пушки по вертикали. Вооружение же новой БМПТ способно эффективно атаковать позиции засевших на возвышении врагов. Горький опыт войны в Чечне заставил Россию вернуться к необходимости создания «Терминатора».

Войска НАТО в значительной степени полагаются на пехоту, имеющую на вооружении противотанковые средства, и такая машина, как «Терминатор», в принципе может пригодиться в будущем

– отмечает американское издание.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Вот в чем польза для армии от войн - сразу все дыры вылазят!
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 10 декабря 2020 16:49
    +1
    Главный критерий оценки образцов, - применение в боевой обстановке с разными противниками. Что годится для бандформирований, не подойдёт к высокотехнологичной армии противника... По сему разрабатывать разные варианты, особенно с применением совместно разных БПЛА, - ударных, разведывательных...Похоже, что "терминаторы" станут заменой танков ОБТ, как по огневому высокоточному воздействию, так и по универсальности...
  3. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
    Bitter (Глеб) 11 декабря 2020 11:01
    +1
    Горький опыт Чеченской войны...

    Но что то подсказывает, что армия по тем временам могла вполне успешно справиться со всеми задачами имеющимися на тот момент техническими средствами. Дело было скорре в планировании, исполнении и политическом влиянии(предательстве) некоторых деятелей на действия военных, как из МО так и из Кремля.
    Машина хорошая, но пехоту она никак не заменит.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 12 декабря 2020 19:54
      +1
      Глеб. Ныне пехота ВС только на закрепление разутюженных подчистую территорий, иначе потери зашкалят (показательные действия американских ВВС и по тем же сирийцам с вагнеровцам)... По бандформированиям с партизанской войной, что прячутся за гражданским населением, с таким должны бороться специализированные полицейские силы, возможно Росгвардия, - ибо для чего такая громадина создана...А вот в статье упомянутый "терминатор" на все случаи подойдёт...
      1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
        Bitter (Глеб) 13 декабря 2020 19:35
        0
        Я о "горьком" опыте, он был бы не таким горьким если бы после начала боевых действий военными им просто дали возможность проводить свои операции по своим планам, без окриков из Кремля и подленьких предательств и подстав из министерств и разного разлива комитетов и омбудсменов. Те же американские военные если начинают крупные операции то, все остальные ведомства тихонько курят в сторонке и наблюдают, если разрешат. Так как им дорога в первую очередь жизнь своих солдат, а не то что кто то и где то подумает или напишет.

        А вот в статье упомянутый "терминатор" на все случаи подойдёт...

        Естественно подойдёт, но не заменит.
        1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 14 декабря 2020 13:07
          +3
          Пушка ОБТ уже не выполняет своей главной задачи,- противотанкового оружия, а более для решения общебоевых задачь, потому более лёгкие и главное управляемые ракетные боеприпасы с лёгких многозарядных пусковых становятся предпочтительней... "Терминаторы" на первом этапе развития, далее будет менятся набор вооружения и прочее , но ему отдадут предвочтение...
          1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
            Bitter (Глеб) 15 декабря 2020 02:19
            +1
            Пушка ОБТ уже не выполняет своей главной задачи...

            Ну и что, значит надо подогнать. Нужны новые боеприпасы, можно и пушку рационализировать, максимальный угол стрельбы к примеру увеличить. Если что, танки ещё повоюют. По прошестви первой волны эфории начала боевых действий, начнётся проза войны. А там не факт что промышленность сумеет клепать высокотехнологичную технику как те 34-ки в своё время. Так же и самолётами и прочими вооружениями. Так что теже 72-ки ещё вполне имеют шанс, особенно если экипаж толковый и на авось надеяться не будет.
            1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 15 декабря 2020 12:58
              +1
              Вам отстрел армянских танков (в любых местах) в Карабахе никаких выводов не дал... Ещё в Ирано-Иракской войне 1980 годов пара эскадрилий вертолётов (Кобр) сорвали иракское наступление уничтожив за несколько дней более 60 ОБТ Ирака... Уже тогда стал виден закат ОБТ, но задел тысячь ОБТ в СССР некуда девать, вот сегодня и модернизируют этот задел... Слишком много противотанковых средств и слишком мала сравнительная к цене эффективность ОБТ в боевом применении . В войне с слабовооружёнными банформированиями и то ОБТ уже не так значим, при наличии ПТУРС (ТОУ-2 и др). Судьба ОБТ похоже на судьбу каваллерии в середине 20 века. пора отказыватся от старых представлений и вникнуть в сегоднешнее и завтрашнее вооружение и тактики...
              1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
                Bitter (Глеб) 16 декабря 2020 00:10
                -1
                ..отстрел армянских танков...
                ...ОБТ Ирака...
                ...пора отказыватся ...

                Не согласен. К примеру, в ответ на какие нибудь пару эскадрилий, можно и пару тактических зарядов в места взлёта этих самых эскадрилий заслать и вуа ля - вертолётная война закончилась, не успев начаться. Так и дальше по спирали, до самого последнего вертолётного завода. Армяне не прикрывали свои танки практически никак, ибо нечем было или не разрешили. У иракцев без заговора генералитета тоже не обошлось. Тот же Советский Союз, его вожаки общими усилиями рухнули без всякой войны. Дело не в тактических вооружениях, а в первую очередь в людях. Передовое вооружение недостаточно иметь, его нужно уметь грамотно и эффективно применять и главное иметь волю это делать. ОБТ ещё повоюет, тактику применения и поддержки надо пересмотреть.
                1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 17 декабря 2020 12:16
                  0
                  Коротко: Терминатор, это ОБТ без пушки и с другим набором вооружения. Танковую пушку более успешно заменяют САУ...