Gas in exchange for Cyprus: Turkey intends to conclude a deal with Israel


Turkey plans to offer Israel to conclude a new border agreement in the Mediterranean Sea, providing for Israeli control of gas fields in the region in exchange for Tel Aviv's refusal of militarypolitical support for Greek Cyprus. The details of Ankara's proposal are not yet known.


In November 2019, Turkey and Libya signed an agreement, according to which Ankara considers almost the entire eastern Mediterranean Sea its zone of economic influence. In May 2020, Turkey announced plans for mining operations west of Cyprus, alarming Athens and Nicosia. In response to the active actions of the Turkish authorities, Greece and Egypt created their own economic zone by signing the corresponding agreement on August 6, 2020.

The confrontation between Ankara and Athens for control of the oil and gas-rich Mediterranean shelf escalated this summer when the Turkish exploration ship Oruk Reis, accompanied by five warships, sailed into the disputed sea region. The Greek military fleet moved into the area of ​​operation of the Turks. France, as well as Cyprus and Israel took the side of Greece.

Turkey's deal with Israel could greatly influence the balance of power in the struggle for the resources of the Mediterranean. Who will benefit from the new agreement between the regional powers, the near future will show.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 7 December 2020 18: 02
    0
    It was smooth on paper .... (c)
  2. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 7 December 2020 22: 21
    0
    The Turks, of course, are trying by all means to participate in the development of hydrocarbon deposits on the shelf of the Eastern Mediterranean. Moreover, if with the Greeks and Cypriots the Ottomans habitually try to act from a position of strength, then with the Israelis they do not dare to such behavior, they understand that they can easily get Lyuli here. Therefore, they are trying to negotiate with Israel, the naive Turks are hoping to fool the Jews. lol
  3. Tramp1812 Offline Tramp1812
    Tramp1812 (Tramp 1812) 8 December 2020 06: 32
    0
    This is hardly possible. The fact that Turkey recognizes something, or does not recognize something, nothing will change. For the reason that the Mediterranean is not the personal property of Ankara. And the solution of this issue does not depend on Turkey's will. There are legal ways to resolve such disputes. Based on recognized international treaties, the existing regulatory framework, legal precedents in the form of completed and effective court decisions. As for me, there is an unspecified injection of inaccurate information. In order to complicate Israel's relations with Greece, Greek Cyprus and Egypt. At first glance, this is beneficial to Turkey. But this is not the case. If anyone is interested, then Lebanon. Because Israel quickly agreed with the Greek part of Cyprus on joint interests in the areas of the sea controlled by Israel, rich in hydrocarbons. And Lebanon claims them as part of its economic zone. And there is a third person who does not generally care. And this third one is Turkey.

Газ в обмен на Кипр: Турция намерена заключить сделку с Израилем


Турция планирует предложить Израилю заключить новое соглашение о границах в Средиземном море, предусматривающее контроль израильтян над газовыми месторождениями в регионе в обмен на отказ Тель-Авива от военно-политической поддержки греческого Кипра. Детали предложения Анкары пока не известны.


В ноябре 2019 года Турция и Ливия подписали договор, согласно которому Анкара считает зоной своего экономического влияния практически всю восточную часть Средиземного моря. В мае 2020 года в Турции заявили о планах добычи полезных ископаемых к западу от Кипра, что встревожило Афины и Никосию. В ответ на активные действия турецких властей Греция и Египет создали свою экономическую зону, подписав соответствующее соглашение 6 августа 2020 года.

Противостояние Анкары и Афин за контроль над богатым нефтью и газом средиземноморским шельфом обострился летом этого года, когда турецкий геологоразведочный корабль «Орук Рейс» в сопровождении пяти военных судов вышел в спорный регион моря. В район действий турок выдвинулся греческий военный флот. На стороне Греции выступили Франция, а также Кипр и Израиль.

Сделка Турции с Израилем может сильно повлиять на расстановку сил в борьбе за ресурсы Средиземного моря. Кому будет выгодно новое соглашение между региональными державами, покажет ближайшее будущее.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 7 декабря 2020 18:02
    0
    Гладко было на бумаге.... (с)
  2. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 7 декабря 2020 22:21
    0
    Турки конечно пытаются всеми способами поучаствовать в разработке месторождений углеводородов на шельфе Вост.Средиземноморья. Причем если с греками и киприотами османы по привычки пытаются действовать с позиции силы то с израильтянами они на подобное поведение не отваживаются, понимают что тут легко могут получить люлей. Поэтому с Израилем пытаются договариваться, наивные турки - надеются евреев обдурить. lol
  3. Бродяга1812 Офлайн Бродяга1812
    Бродяга1812 (Бродяга1812) 8 декабря 2020 06:32
    0
    Вряд ли такое возможно. От того ,что Турция что-то признает ,или что-то не признает ,ничего не изменится. По той причине ,что Средиземное море не личная собственность Анкары. И не от желания Турции зависит решение этого вопроса. Есть правовые способы разрешения подобных споров . На основании признанных международных договоров , имеющейся нормативной базы, юридических прецедентов в виде состоявшихся и вступивших в силу судебных решений. Как по мне ,имеет место не конкретизированный вброс недостоверной информации. С целью осложнить отношения Израиля с Грецией , греческим Кипром и Египтом. На первый взгляд это выгодно Турции. Но это не так. Если кому и интересно - то Ливану. Потому что Израиль быстро договорился с греческой частью Кипра о совместных интересах на контролируемых Израилем богатых углеводородами участках моря. А Ливан на них претендует ,как часть своей экономической зоны. И есть третий ,кого это в целом не волнует. И этот третий - Турция.