"Russians are obsessed with the idea of ​​a single-engine fighter": The Drive predicts the failure of the Russian project


Currently, the Russian state corporation "Rostec" is on its own initiative, i.e. at its own expense, is working to create a future combat aviation system "in its light and medium class." However, despite decades of work on the concept of such an aircraft, the prospect of his orders seems as remote as before, writes the American edition of The Drive, predicting the failure of the Russian project.


By design, it can be a universal platform in manned and unmanned versions. The company is working on the concept and operational requirements for such a platform.

- Rostec head Sergey Chemezov explained vaguely to the media.

Obviously we are talking about a single-engine, not a twin-engine aircraft. In the past, Russians have explored a number of similar concepts that have not gained widespread acceptance. The Russians are obsessed with the idea of ​​a single-engine fighter, but the Russian Aerospace Forces hardly needs such an aircraft.

Now the twin-engine MiG-35 is the closest fighter to the concept of "light and medium class" offered by the Russian industry. But RSK MiG wants to develop a lighter analogue of the Su-57. At the same time, the Russian Ministry of Defense does not show a clear interest in such an aircraft. However, according to Chemezov, the export of such a combat vehicle is promising, so it can be developed in conjunction with one or more foreign partners.

At the same time, he did not go into details, specifying that if the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation shows interest in such an aircraft, then it will have to be upgraded to the requirements of the Russian military. This indicates that Rostec is engaged in a less complex project optimized for export, something like the Sino-Pakistani JF-17 (FC-1), nicknamed by journalists as the MiG-21 of the XXI century.

In 2017, the head of the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation Denis Manturov announced plans for the United Aircraft Corporation (part of Rostec) to develop a fifth-generation light fighter in cooperation with other countries, although a single-engine configuration was not indicated. The most probable candidate for the implementation of the project "Light multifunctional front-line aircraft" (LMFS) is RAC "MiG". In December 2019, MiG ordered aerodynamic research at TsAGI. However, it is still not clear whether they wanted to test the single-engine, twin-engine, or both concepts, and what happened at the output.

LMFS dates back to 1986, when the MiG design bureau announced the development of two fighters. The LMFS was to replace the MiG-29, and the heavy "Multifunctional front-line fighter" (MFI) was to replace the Su-27. This is how the jet plane appeared with codes "1.42", "1.44" and "1,46". After the collapse of the USSR, all work was suspended, and the Russian Air Force quickly wrote off all available single-engine MiG-23, MiG-27 and Su-17. In the late 90s, the LMFS project was revived to compete with Sukhoi for the PAK FA. But the MiG lost.

Therefore, there is a high probability that the fighter that Chemezov refers to is a single-engine LMFS. It will probably inherit the same basic configuration: a large delta wing with nose planes close to the leading edge of the wing. This type of layout is usually chosen by designers looking to optimize the maneuverability of a fighter.

However, it is not clear who will buy this fighter. The proposed MiG-35s have yet to receive any significant orders. Egypt and Algeria chose the MiG-29M / M2. Russia has ordered only six MiG-35s, which are likely to be used to re-equip an aerobatic team rather than deploy to forward units. The Russian Aerospace Forces do not seem to need aircraft of this class.


If you look into the future, the appearance of the Su-57 together with the S-70 Okhotnik drone will further reduce the chances of the LMFS. How relations with foreign partners will develop is also not yet clear, since no one has shown sufficient interest so far. In general, at least for now, it seems that the new Russian single-engine fighter is a distant prospect, summed up the publication from the United States.
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 12 December 2020 14: 04
    +2
    Well, why not create it? If, for example, India wants such an airplane, "for your money, any whim." For export, you can build such aircraft. And India is good, and we have jobs. Therefore, this idea should not be discarded. Calculate everything. Moreover, the aircraft is of the fifth generation. And those who wish, not only India, will appear.
    1. Nikolaevich I Offline Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I (Vladimir) 12 December 2020 23: 27
      -2
      Quote: steel maker
      Moreover, the aircraft is of the fifth generation.

      The fifth it will be when the US "technical passport" will sign that the "5th generation"! And now they do not want to recognize the Su-57 as the "fifth generation" and they "strongly" recommend everyone to do the same!
      1. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
        sgrabik (Sergei) 14 December 2020 10: 11
        +2
        If you noticed, the United States has long ceased to recognize objective facts and constantly pass off what they wish for reality, so you should not rely only on American opinion in such matters, for them our weapons will always be much worse and more primitive than their own, even if in reality is not at all true !!!
    2. vik669 Offline vik669
      vik669 (vik669) 13 December 2020 20: 09
      0
      Is it possible - chairs in the morning, and money in the evening? - Can! But money - go ahead! Well, the history and timing of the creation of the MiG-35 do not speak specifically about which evening it is specifically about money!
  2. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
    sgrabik (Sergei) 12 December 2020 14: 29
    +2
    RSK "MiG" has vast experience in creating single-engine aircraft, if there is a specific order from the RF Ministry of Defense, then a single-engine aircraft will certainly be created, and in much less time than it took to create the Su-57 !!!
  3. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 12 December 2020 16: 17
    +3
    In general, if anyone has not noticed, there is already a single-engine aircraft. From 70 Hunter. Around this and work. And Chemezov is not obliged to really disclose his plans.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 12 December 2020 19: 39
      +1
      You are right, today the main promising UAVs are both fighters and strike aircraft. But these are lighter and single-engine ones, so for the initial stages you can combine versions of the same fighter in both manned and unmanned versions, according to the tasks ...
  4. Yuri Mikhailovsky (Yuri Mikhailovsky) 12 December 2020 23: 43
    +1
    These, as always, know what we need ...
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 13 December 2020 13: 26
    -2
    Bad translation???

    The Russians are obsessed with the idea of ​​a single-engine fighter, but the Russian Aerospace Forces hardly needs such an aircraft.

    - contradicts itself.

    And that Russia does not have a single-engine fighter is a fact.
    And instead they shove a video about the twin-engine MIG 35.
    "New Legend", which no one ordered for a long time ...

«Русские одержимы идеей одномоторного истребителя»: The Drive предрекает неудачу российского проекта


В настоящее время российская госкорпорация «Ростех» в инициативном порядке, т.е. за свой счет, ведет работы по созданию системы боевой авиации будущего «в её легком и среднем классе». Однако несмотря на десятилетия трудов над концепцией подобного самолета, перспектива его заказов кажется столь же отдаленной, как и прежде, пишет американское издание The Drive, предрекая неудачу российскому проекту.


По конструкции это может быть универсальная платформа в пилотируемом и беспилотном вариантах. Компания работает над концепцией и эксплуатационными требованиями для такой платформы

– туманно пояснил СМИ глава Ростеха Сергей Чемезов.

Очевидно речь идет об однодвигательном, а не двухдвигательном самолете. В прошлом русские уже исследовали ряд похожих концепций, которые не получили широкого распространения. Русские одержимы идеей одномоторного истребителя, но ВКС России вряд ли нужен такой самолет.

Сейчас двухдвигательный МиГ-35 является наиболее близким истребителем к понятию «легкого и среднего класса» из предлагаемых российской промышленностью. Но РСК «МиГ» хочет разработать более легкий аналог Су-57. При этом Минобороны России явного интереса к подобному самолету не проявляет. Однако по словам Чемезова, экспорт подобной боевой машины перспективен, поэтому его можно разрабатывать совместно с одним или несколькими иностранными партнерами.

При этом он не стал вдаваться в подробности, уточнив, что если Минобороны РФ проявит интерес к подобному самолету, то его придется модернизировать до требований российских военных. Это указывает на то, что «Ростех» занимается менее сложным проектом, оптимизированным под экспорт, что-то наподобие китайско-пакистанского JF-17 (FC-1), прозванного журналистами «МиГ-21 XXI века».

В 2017 году глава Минпромторга РФ Денис Мантуров объявил о планах Объединенной авиастроительной корпорации (входит в «Ростех») разработать легкий истребитель пятого поколения в сотрудничестве с другими странами, хотя однодвигательная конфигурация не указывалась. Наиболее вероятным кандидатом на реализацию проекта «Легкий многофункциональный фронтовой самолет» (ЛМФС) является РСК «МиГ». В декабре 2019 года МиГ заказал аэродинамические исследования в ЦАГИ. Однако до сих пор не понятно, однодвигательную, двухдвигательную или обе концепции хотели проверить, и что получилось на выходе.

ЛМФС восходит к 1986 году, когда КБ «МиГ» объявило о разработке двух истребителей. ЛМФС должен был заменить МиГ-29, а тяжелый «Многофункциональный фронтовой истребитель» (МФИ) заменить Су-27. Так появился реактивный самолет с шифрами «1.42», «1.44» и «1,46». После развала СССР все работы были приостановлены, а ВВС России быстро списали все имеющиеся однодвигательные МиГ-23, МиГ-27 и Су-17. В конце 90-х проект ЛМФС был возрожден, чтобы конкурировать с компанией «Сухой» за ПАК ФА. Но «МиГ» проиграл.

Поэтому существует большая вероятность, что истребитель, на который ссылается Чемезов, является одномоторным ЛМФС. Вероятно, он унаследует ту же базовую конфигурацию: большое треугольное крыло с носовыми плоскостями, расположенными близко к передней кромке крыла. Такой вид компоновки обычно выбирают дизайнеры, стремящиеся оптимизировать маневренность истребителя.

Однако непонятно, кто будет покупателем этого истребителя. Предлагаемые МиГ-35 еще не получили каких-либо значительных заказов. Египет и Алжир выбрали МиГ-29М/М2. Россия заказала только шесть МиГ-35, которые, вероятно, будут использоваться для переоборудования пилотажной группы, а не для развертывания в передовых частях. ВКС России, похоже, не нуждаются в самолетах этого класса.


Если заглянуть в будущее, то появление Су-57 вместе с беспилотником С-70 «Охотник» ещё больше снизит шансы ЛМФС. Как сложатся отношения с иностранными партнерами, также пока не ясно, так как пока никто не проявил достаточный интерес. В целом, по крайней мере на данный момент, кажется, что новый российский однодвигательный истребитель – отдаленная перспектива, подытожило издание из США.
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 12 декабря 2020 14:04
    +2
    Ну а почему не создать? Если, допустим, Индия хочет такой самолёт, "за ваши деньги, любую прихоть". На экспорт можно строить такие самолёты. И Индии хорошо, и у нас рабочие места. Поэтому отбрасывать эту идею не стоит. Просчитать всё. Тем более что самолёт пятого поколения. И желающих, не только Индия, появится.
    1. Nikolaevich I Офлайн Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I (Владимир) 12 декабря 2020 23:27
      -2
      Цитата: сталевар
      Тем более что самолёт пятого поколения.

      Пятым он будет,когда в США "тех.паспорт" подпишут,что "5го поколения"! А сейчас там и Су-57 "пятым поколением " признавать не хотят и всем "настоятельно" рекомендуют так же поступать !
      1. sgrabik Офлайн sgrabik
        sgrabik (Сергей) 14 декабря 2020 10:11
        +2
        Если вы заметили, то США давно уже перестали признавать объективные факты и постоянно выдают желаемое ими за действительное, так что не стоит опираться лишь на американское мнение в подобных вопросах, для них всегда наше вооружение будет гораздо хуже и примитивнее чем их собственное, даже если в реальности это совсем не так!!!
    2. vik669 Офлайн vik669
      vik669 (vik669) 13 декабря 2020 20:09
      0
      А можно так — утром стулья, а вечером — деньги? — Можно! Но деньги — вперёд! Ну а история и сроки создания МИГ-35 не говорят конкретно о каком вечере речь конкретно только о деньгах!
  2. sgrabik Офлайн sgrabik
    sgrabik (Сергей) 12 декабря 2020 14:29
    +2
    У РСК "МиГ" имеется огромный опыт в создании однодвигательных самолётов, если будет конкретный заказ со стороны МО РФ, то однодвигательный самолёт обязательно будет создан, и за гораздо меньшее время, чем потребовалось на создание Су-57!!!
  3. boriz Онлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 12 декабря 2020 16:17
    +3
    Вообще, если кто не заметил, однодвигательный самолёт уже есть. С 70 Охотник. Вокруг этого и работать. А Чемезов не обязан реально раскрывать свои планы.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 12 декабря 2020 19:39
      +1
      Вы правы, сегодня уже главными перспективными идут БПЛА, как истребители, так и ударные. Но это более лёгкие и однодвигательные, вот для начальных этапов можно совмещать варианты того же истребителя и в пилотируемом и беспилотном варианте, согласно задач...
  4. Юрий Михайловский (Юрий Михайловский) 12 декабря 2020 23:43
    +1
    Эти как всегда знают , что нам нужно ....
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 13 декабря 2020 13:26
    -2
    Перевод плохой???

    Русские одержимы идеей одномоторного истребителя, но ВКС России вряд ли нужен такой самолет.

    - противоречит сам себе.

    А что у России нет одномоторного истребителя - это факт.
    А вместо него пихают видео про двухдвигательный МИГ 35.
    "Новая легенда" , которую никто долго не заказывал...